DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11, 13-14, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-11 and 13-20, as filed 10 October 2025, are examined herein.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest wherein the cell stack unit and the partition wall member are accommodated in the pack housing while a side surface of the cell stack unit and a side surface of the partition wall member are in contact with each other, without interposing a module housing between the side surface of the cell stack unit and the side surface of the partition wall member. This argument is moot in light of a new reference, Ju.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ju (US 20180183119 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ju teaches a battery pack (abstract: housing configured to accommodate cells) comprising:
a plurality of cell stack units (FIG. 4 and [0040] stacked battery cells 21), each cell stack unit including a stack of a plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction; (as shown FIG. 4)
one partition wall member disposed between the cell stack units adjacent to each other in the first direction; and (FIG. 4 cooling plate 12)
a pack housing accommodating the plurality of cell stack units and a plurality of partition wall members, (FIG. 7 housing 11, 30)
wherein the plurality of cell stack units and the one partition wall member are accommodated in the pack housing while a side surface of one of the plurality of cell stack units and a side surface of the partition wall member are in contact with each other, without interposing a module housing between the side surface of the one of the plurality of cell stack units and the side surface of the partition wall member in the first direction, (As shown FIG. 4, FIG. 6)
wherein the side surface of the partition wall member is in contact with a side surface of a battery cell provided in the one of the plurality of cell stack units or a side surface of a buffer pad provided in the one of the plurality of cell stack units, the buffer pad being deformed to be compressed, and , (As shown FIG. 4, FIG. 6)
wherein the partition wall member is fixed to a bottom surface of the pack housing. (FIG. 4 11, 12 [0051] fixedly coupled)
This also meets the limitation of claim 5, wherein the partition wall member is directly and fixedly installed on a bottom surface of the pack housing.
Regarding claim 9, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju further teaches wherein the plurality of cell stack units and a plurality of partition wall members constitute a unit assembly, and wherein the unit assembly is assembled to be integrated with the pack housing. ([0039] “a plurality of battery cells 21 may be stacked and disposed in the housing 11”)
Regarding claim 10, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju further teaches wherein the pack housing includes a bottom portion having the bottom surface (FIG. 4 11), an external sidewall extending upwardly of a circumference of the bottom portion (FIG. 7 side walls 11, 30), and a cooling member installed below the bottom portion. ([0009] least one cooling plate coupled to one surface of the housing)
Regarding claim 15, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and further teaches wherein the pack housing includes a cross member connecting opposing external sidewalls of the pack housing to each other (FIG. 7 cooling plate 12), and wherein the partition wall member is installed such that both ends of the partition wall member are in contact with at least one of the external sidewall and the cross member. (As shown)
Regarding claim 16, Ju teaches a battery pack (abstract) comprising:
a pack housing; (FIG. 7 housing 11, 30)
a plurality of partition wall members being fixed to the pack housing and spaced apart at a regular interval from each other; (FIG. 4 cooling plate 12)
a plurality of cell stack units, each of the plurality of the cell stack units being positioned between consecutive partition wall members, (FIG. 4 and [0040] stacked battery cells 21)
wherein one partition wall member is disposed between adjacent the cell stack units; (as shown FIG. 4)
wherein each cell stack unit includes a plurality of battery cells stacked adjacent to each other in a first direction, (FIG. 4 and [0040] stacked battery cells 21)
wherein the side surface of the partition wall member is in contact with a side surface of a battery cell provided in the cell stack unit or a side surface of a buffer pad provided in the cell stack unit, the buffer pad being deformed to be compressed, and (as shown FIG 4)
wherein opposite side surfaces of each of the cell stack units are in contact with a corresponding side of the two consecutive partition wall members between which the cell stack unit is positioned, without interposing a module housing between the opposite side surfaces of each of the cell stack units and the corresponding side of the two consecutive partition wall members. (as shown FIG 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, 11, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (US 20180183119 A1) as set forth in claim 1 and in further view of Merino (US 20220336900 A1, with priority to the provisional application filed 6 September 2019).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju teaches wherein the pack housing includes a projection having a structure protruding upwardly of the bottom surface. (FIG. 4 partition 12) However Ju does not explicitly teach wherein the partition wall member includes a coupling portion where the projection is inserted therein for fixing the partition wall member on the bottom surface of the pack housing, and wherein the projection has a height equal to 0.5 or less of a height of the partition wall.
Merino, in the field of (abstract) battery housings, teaches the pack housing includes a projection (ribs 56) having a structure protruding upwardly of the bottom surface, wherein the projection has a height equal to 0.5 or less of a height of the partition wall (as shown in FIG. 2) wherein the partition wall member includes a coupling portion coupled to the projection for fixing the partition wall member on the bottom surface of the pack housing. ([0040] and FIG. 2) spacer members 60 are connected to a top surface of ribs 56 for connection to the battery modules and absorb side-to-side motion during the operation of an automobile.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, that the fixed partition walls of Ju can be replaced with the spacer members and ribs of Merino, with a reasonable expectation of successfully absorbing side-to-side motion during operation of an automobile.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 3, “wherein the projection has a shape linearly protruding in a length direction of the partition wall member, or has a shape partially protruding in the length direction of the partition wall member” (Merino [0040]; FIG. 2]), and the limitation of claim 4, “wherein the projection (ribs 56) has a height equal to half a height of the partition wall member (spacer member 60) or less.”)
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju teaches [0047] that the cooling plates 12 may have a cooling path for water, but does not teach wherein at least a portion of the partition wall member includes a hollow portion having a hollow structure to absorb swelling of any one of the plurality of battery cells.
Merino, in the field of (abstract) battery housings, teaches the pack housing includes a beam (partition wall) (FIG. 10C 224C and [0049]) which includes a hollow portion. At [0040] the spacer members 60 are able to absorb side to side motion. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the beams 224C can also absorb side to side motion and protect the cells. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to replace cooling plate 12 of Ju with the beam 224C, with a reasonable expectation of successfully absorbing side to side motion, therefore rendering obvious the selection of a partition wall member includes a hollow portion having a hollow structure to absorb swelling of any one of the plurality of battery cells. This renders obvious the limitation of claim 7, the hollow portion extending in a vertical direction.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju does not explicitly teach a heat transfer member positioned between a lower surface of the plurality of battery cells and the bottom surface of the bottom portion of the pack housing, and wherein heat generated by the plurality of battery cells is transferred to the cooling member through the heat transfer member and the bottom portion.
Merino, in the field of (abstract) battery housings, teaches [0058] a thermal management layer 700 which may be positioned between the battery module and the batter holder (case). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the external thermal management layer of Merino to the battery housing of modified Ju, with a reasonable expectation of successfully improving thermal management and heat transfer from the battery cell stacks.
Regarding claim 17, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju teaches wherein the pack housing includes a projection having a structure protruding upwardly of the bottom surface. (FIG. 4 partition 12) However Ju does not explicitly teach wherein the partition wall member includes a coupling portion where the projection is inserted therein for fixing the partition wall member on the bottom surface of the pack housing, and wherein the projection has a height equal to 0.5 or less of a height of the partition wall.
Merino, in the field of (abstract) battery housings, teaches the pack housing includes a projection (ribs 56) having a structure protruding upwardly of the bottom surface, wherein the projection has a height equal to 0.5 or less of a height of the partition wall (as shown in FIG. 2) wherein the partition wall member includes a coupling portion coupled to the projection for fixing the partition wall member on the bottom surface of the pack housing. ([0040] and FIG. 2) spacer members 60 are connected to a top surface of ribs 56 for connection to the battery modules and absorb side-to-side motion during the operation of an automobile.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, that the fixed partition walls of Ju can be replaced with the spacer members and ribs of Merino, with a reasonable expectation of successfully absorbing side-to-side motion during operation of an automobile.
Regarding claims 18, Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju does not explicitly teach wherein the projections have a shape complimentary to a shape of a coupling of the corresponding partition wall members for coupling the projections to the corresponding partition wall members.
Merino further teaches (FIG. 2 rib 56 and spacer member 60). At [0041], the spacer member 60 may “clip the top sections 78A, 78B together” (top sections of rib 56). Therefore, spacer member 60 has a shape complimentary to a shape of a coupling of the corresponding partition wall members. At [0040], the spacer members 60 absorb side to side movement.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to replace the cooling plates of Ju with the spacer members and ribs of Merino, with a reasonable expectation of successfully absorbing side to side movement.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (US 20180183119 A1) in view of Merino (US 20220336900 A1), as set forth in claim 6, and in further view of Kim (US20110294000 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Ju in view of Merino teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju does not teach wherein each partition wall member includes an external wall defining a hollow portion and a partition wall crossing the hollow portion and connecting opposite sides of the external wall, and wherein the partition wall has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the external wall of the partition wall member.
However, Merino teaches at [0040] that the partition wall member (i.e., spacer members 60) absorbs side-to-side movement during operation of automobile].
In this regard, Kim, in the field of battery housings, teaches a battery pack housing 110 including sidewalls 112 wherein the sidewalls include an external wall defining hollow portions and a partition wall (latticed ribs 112a) crossing the hollow portion, wherein the partition wall has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the external wall of the partition wall member in order to increase the strength of the housing [0024]; FIG. 5 so that the battery pack can be suppressed from being deformed due to external impact while safely protecting the plurality of battery cells accommodated therein against the external impact [0011]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant applicant, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify Ju in view of Merino’s partition member to create a partition wall having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the external wall of the partition wall member, for the purpose of suppressing the battery pack from being deformed due to external impact while safely protecting the plurality of battery cells accommodated therein against the external impact. This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 19, wherein each partition wall member includes an external wall defining a hollow portion and a partition wall crossing the hollow portion and connecting opposite sides of the external wall, and wherein the partition wall has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the external wall of the partition wall member.
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (US 20180183119 A1) as set forth in claim 1, above, and in further view of Xiao (US 20190067744 A1.)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, modified Ju teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Ju appears to teach a pouch cell, (FIG. 7 cells 30) but does not explicitly use the term pouch cell. Ju does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of battery cells comprise a pouch-type secondary battery having an accommodation portion, accommodating an electrode assembly therein, and a sealing portion sealing the accommodation portion. Xiao, in the field of energy storage, teaches [0004] pouch-type cells and [0031] that battery cells are typically hermetically sealed, contain electrochemical cell components, and that the common types of casing include cylindrical, prismatic, or button cell casings. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of the effective filing date of the instant application, to select a sealed cell having a pouch, cylindrical, prismatic, or button cell casing for use in the battery housing of modified Ju, because it is “obvious to try” selecting a battery type from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. This also renders obvious the limitation of the limitation of claim 14 “wherein plurality of battery cells comprise a can-type secondary battery.”
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/9/2026