---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
3. Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informality:
In claim 11, line 23 (third line from the bottom), “the optical element” should read “the transmissive optical element”, in order to maintain proper antecedent basis
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks dated 10/27/2025) with respect to claims 1-2, 4-15 have been considered, but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
On page 9, while addressing Hino, the applicant cites Figure 7, which represents Hino’s third embodiment. However, the examiner’s previous rejection had relied upon Hino’s Figs. 1A-B, which represent its first embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Aschwanden et al. (EP 2884637 A1, of record) in view of Watanabe et al. (US 8089692 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Aschwanden discloses optical device comprising an optical element ([0077], 10), which is mounted on a carrier ([0078]-[0079], 90) by means of a platform (Fig. 9, wherein the platform comprises 501 and 60),
the platform comprises a base ([0080], 501) and an elastic structure ([0079], 60), wherein the base is connected to the optical element ([0080]),
the elastic structure connects the base and the carrier ([0079]-[0080]),
the platform extends along an x-y plane defined by an x-direction and a y-direction (Fig. 8, along the depicted x- and y-axes),
an actuator is arranged to apply a force to the base ([0077], 20) in a direction along the x-y-plane (Fig. 8, along the depicted x- and y-axes),
the elastic structure is elastic in the x-direction and in the y-direction (Fig. 9, 60, along the x-and y-axes as depicted by Fig. 8), and
the optical element is a transmissive optical element ([0008], the optical element acts as a diffusor),
wherein
the elastic structure comprises an x-spring (Fig. 9, bottom-right of the four springs shown adjacent with 501) and a y-spring (Fig. 9, top-right of the four springs 60 shown adjacent with 501), wherein the x-spring comprises at least one bending beam of a first kind (Fig. 9, 60) and the y-spring comprises at least one bending beam of a second kind (Fig. 9, 60), wherein in an undeflected state the bending beam of the first kind extends perpendicularly to the x-direction (Fig. 9, 60), and in an undeflected state the bending beam of the second kind extends perpendicularly to the y-direction (Fig. 9, 60), and wherein the base and the elastic structure are formed by a common bent metal sheet ([0080], 50 comprises 501; [0087], 50 and 60 are made from a single metal sheet), wherein the base comprises a first portion of the metal sheet (Fig. 9, 501) and the elastic structure comprises a second portion of the metal sheet (Fig. 9, 60), wherein the first portion is bent with respect to the second portion (Fig. 9, 501 is bent with respect to 60), and wherein the actuator comprises multiple coils ([0058], “plurality of coils [30] … of the reluctance actuator means 20”) that are integrated in the carrier (Fig. 24, coils 30 in carrier frame 100).
Aschwanden does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastic structure extends at an angle to the x-y plane.
However, Watanabe teaches a similar optical despeckling device (column 1 lines 6-19), and discloses wherein elastic structures (Figs. 12-14, springs 71-73) extend at an angle to an x-y plane (Figs. 12-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Aschwanden and Watanabe such that the elastic structure was to extend at an angle to the x-y plane, motivated by reducing speckle without causing distortion (column 11 lines 2-3, “scintillation can be reduced without causing distortion”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Aschwanden discloses wherein the platform has a first resonance frequency along the x-direction and a second resonance frequency along the y-direction (Aschwanden - [0058], wherein a Lissajous figure necessitates a superposition of oscillations in both x- and y-directions) and
a deviation between the first and the second resonance frequency is less than 1% or less than 0.1% from an average frequency of the first and the second resonance frequency (Aschwanden - Fig. 9 and [0019], when the elastic structure is symmetric in x- and y-directions and four springs of identical shape and material are used), or
the first and the second resonance frequency differ from each other between 1% and 5% (Aschwanden - [0058], where the frequencies may differ by such an amount when controlled).
Regarding claim 4, modified Aschwanden discloses wherein the base has an outer contour (Aschwanden - Fig. 9, outer contour of 501), the bending beam of the first kind extends along a first region of the outer contour (Aschwanden - Fig. 9, wherein the x-spring extends along a region of 501), the bending beam of the second kind extends along a second region of the outer contour (Aschwanden - Fig. 9, wherein the y-spring extends along a region of 501).
Regarding claim 6, modified Aschwanden discloses comprising
a sensor which is arranged to detect a position of the base with respect to the carrier (Aschwanden - [0066]), and
a controller which is arranged to control a frequency and/or amplitude of the relative motion of the base with respect to the carrier (Aschwanden - [0058] and [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Aschwanden discloses comprising a transmission element (Aschwanden - [0024]-[0027], control circuit), wherein the transmission element is arranged to limit the maximum deflection of the base with respect to the carrier in all directions along the x-y-plane (Aschwanden - [0026]), wherein the maximum deflection in all directions along the x-y-plane is essentially the same (Aschwanden - Fig. 9, when the elastic structure is symmetric in x- and y-directions and four identical springs are used, as depicted).
Regarding claim 9, modified Aschwanden discloses wherein the base and the elastic structure are fabricated in a once-piece manner (Aschwanden - as illustrated in Figs. 9 and 15).
Regarding claim 10, modified Aschwanden discloses comprising an optical axis extending through the optical element (Aschwanden - any of Figs. 25-28, wherein the optical axis of each system extends through the optical element of 1).
Regarding claim 13, Aschwanden discloses a method for driving an optical device comprising an optical element ([0077], 10) which is mounted on a carrier ([0078]-[0079], 90) by means of a platform (Fig. 9, wherein the platform comprises 501 and 60), the platform extending along an x-y plane defined by an x-direction and a y- direction (Fig. 8, along the depicted x- and y-axes) and comprising an elastic structure ([0079], 60), the elastic structure comprising an x-spring (Fig. 9, bottom-right of the four springs shown adjacent with 501) and a y-spring (Fig. 9, top-right of the four springs 60 shown adjacent with 501), wherein the x-spring comprises at least one bending beam of a first kind (Fig. 9, 60) and the y-spring comprises at least one bending beam of a second kind (Fig. 9, 60), wherein in an undeflected state the bending beam of the first kind extends perpendicularly to the x-direction (Fig. 9, 60), and in an undeflected state the bending beam of the second kind extends perpendicularly to the y-direction (Fig. 9, 60), wherein
an actuator ([0077], 20) exerts a force to deflect the optical element with respect to the carrier ([0077]-[0079]), and wherein the actuator comprises coils ([0058], “plurality of coils [30] … of the reluctance actuator means 20”) that are integrated in the carrier (Fig. 24, coils 30 in carrier frame 100),
the actuator is driven with a periodic excitation signal having an excitation frequency ([0058] and [0066]),
the platform has a first resonance frequency in the x-direction and a second resonance frequency in the y-direction ([0058], wherein a Lissajous figure necessitates a superposition of oscillations in both x- and y-directions), wherein
either the excitation frequency is larger or smaller than both the first and the second resonance frequency ([0058] and [0066]), or
the excitation frequency is in between the first and the second resonance frequency.
Aschwanden does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastic structure extends at an angle to the x-y plane.
However, Watanabe teaches a similar optical despeckling device (column 1 lines 6-19), and discloses wherein elastic structures (Figs. 12-14, springs 71-73) extend at an angle to an x-y plane (Figs. 12-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Aschwanden and Watanabe such that the elastic structure was to extend at an angle to the x-y plane, motivated by reducing speckle without causing distortion (column 11 lines 2-3, “scintillation can be reduced without causing distortion”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Aschwanden discloses wherein the optical device comprises a sensor which is arranged to detect a position of the base with respect to the carrier (Aschwanden - [0066]), and a controller which is arranged to control a frequency and /or amplitude of the relative motion of the base with respect to the carrier (Aschwanden - [0058] and [0066]-[0067]), wherein the movement path of the base in relation to the carrier is controlled with a position based closed-loop control circuit comprising the sensor and the controller (Aschwanden - [0058] and [0066]-[0067]).
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over modified Aschwanden in view of Hino et al. (US 20190131891 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 5, modified Aschwanden does not disclose wherein the stiffness of the elastic structure for movements in a direction obliquely with respect to the x-y-plane is at least 10 times higher than the stiffness of the elastic structure for movements in a direction along the x-y-plane.
However, Hino discloses an optical device ([0001]), and teaches wherein the stiffness of the elastic structure for movements in a direction obliquely with respect to the x-y-plane is higher than the stiffness of the elastic structure for movements in a direction along the x-y-plane ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Aschwanden and Hino such that the stiffness of the elastic structure for movements in a direction obliquely with respect to the x-y-plane was at least 10 times higher than the stiffness of the elastic structure for movements in a direction along the x-y-plane, motivated by reducing speckle.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over modified Aschwanden in view of Heo et al. (CN 105022135 A, of record).
Regarding claim 7, modified Aschwanden does not disclose wherein the actuator is a voice coil actuator, wherein the voice coil actuator is the sensor.
However, Heo discloses an optical device (column 2 lines 7-15), and teaches wherein the actuator is a voice coil actuator (column 1 lines 17-18), wherein the voice coil actuator is the sensor (column 6 lines 19-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Aschwanden with Heo such that the actuator was a voice coil actuator, and such that the voice actuator was the sensor, motivated by allowing for accurate detection of an object’s position.
9. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Hino in view of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 11, Hino discloses a method for manufacturing an optical device comprising an optical element ([0034], “in the actuator 100, the movable portion 10 is a member having a plane portion… including an optical element such as a light diffusion plate attached to the plane portion”), a platform (Fig. 1B, 20) with a base (Fig. 1B, FS) and an elastic structure (Fig. 1B, 11a, 11b, 12a, and 12b), the elastic structure comprising an x-spring (Fig. 1B, 12a & 12b) and a y-spring (Fig. 1B, 11), wherein the x-spring comprises at least one bending beam of a first kind (Fig. 1B, 12a) and the y-spring comprises at least one bending beam of a second kind (Fig. 1B, 11a), the platform extending along an x-y plane defined by an x-direction and a y-direction (Fig. 1B, x- and y-directions are depicted), and the base comprising an outer contour (Fig. 1B, the edges defining the square-shaped face of FS), wherein
the base and the elastic structure are fabricated from a common metal sheet (Fig. 1B; [0038]; per page 6 lines 10-14 of applicant’s spec, “common metal sheet” is interpreted to mean that the base and elastic structure are made from a single metal sheet, as opposed to “common” describing the quality of the metal) such that in an undeflected state the bending beam of the first kind extends perpendicularly to the x-direction (Fig. 1B, 12a extends perpendicularly to the x-direction), and in an undeflected state the bending beam of the second kind extends perpendicularly to the y-direction (Fig. 1B, 11a extends perpendicularly to the y-direction), and the bending beam of the first kind extends along a first region of the outer contour (Fig. 1B, 12a extends parallel along the nearest edge of FS, which is considered to be a first region of the outer contour) and the bending beam of the second kind extends along a second region of the outer contour (Fig. 1B, 11a extends parallel along the nearest edge of FS, which is considered to be a second region of the outer contour), wherein in a undeflected state the bending beam of the first kind extends parallel along the first region of the outer contour (Fig. 1B, 12a) and the bending beam of the second kind extends parallel along the second region of the outer contour (Fig. 1B, 11a), and the bending beam of the first kind and the bending beam of the second kind partially frame the base (Fig. 1B, 12a and 11a partially frame FS),
the base comprises a first portion of the metal sheet (Fig. 1B, FS) and the elastic structure comprises a second portion of the metal sheet (Fig. 1B, 11a, 11b, 12a, and 12b), and wherein
the elastic structure is manufactured by bending the first portion by 90° with respect to the second portion (Fig. 1B, where FS is bent 90° with respect to 11a, 11b, 12a, and 12b), and wherein the optical element is connected to the base (Figs. 1A-B, 10 and FS), and wherein the optical element is mounted to a carrier by means of the platform (Figs. 1A-B, optical element 10 is mounted to a carrier [11a-b and 12a-b taken together] by means of platform 20) , the carrier comprises coils integrated in the carrier (Figs. 1A-B, carrier 11a-b&12a-b comprises coils COa and COb).
Hino fails to disclose wherein the optical device comprises a transmissive optical element.
However, Watanabe teaches a similar optical despeckling device (column 1 lines 6-19), and discloses wherein the device comprises a transmissive optical element (Fig. 5-7, lens 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hino and Watanabe such that the optical device was to comprise a transmissive optical element, motivated by allowing the device to transmit light.
Regarding claim 12, modified Hino discloses wherein the elastic structure comprises an x-spring (Hino - Fig. 1B, 12a & 12b) with a bending beam of a first kind (Hino - Fig. 1B, 12a) and a y-spring (Hino - Fig. 1B, 11) with a bending beam of a second kind (Hino - Fig. 1B, 11a), wherein the bending beam of the first kind and the bending beam of the second kind are fabricated in a one-piece manner (Hino - [0038]).
10. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over modified Aschwanden in view of Niederer et al. (WO 2015086166 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 15, modified Aschwanden fails to disclose wherein the carrier is a printed circuit board and the coils are integrated in the printed circuit board (PCB).
However, Niederer teaches a similar optical despeckling device, wherein coils are integrated into a PCB (page 28 lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Aschwanden and Niederer such that coils were integrated in a PCB, motivated by optimizing the size of the device.
Conclusion
/D. J. J./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872