Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, 23, 28, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) in further view of Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1).
1, Xing teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: identifying a set of carriers within a frequency band for communicating with a base station via carrier aggregation [par 0039, if the UE wants to use the CA to transmit a service, the UE should select one or more carriers in the carrier set corresponding to the service. If the UE transmits multiple services at the same time, the UE should select carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services as the carriers in the carrier set. In this case, the carrier set A may be configured to be 4 carriers on a certain frequency band, or a size of the carrier set A is limited to no more than 2 according to the transmission capability of 2];
Xing fail to show measuring, based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity, a first downlink power spectral density of a first carrier of the set of carriers and a second downlink power spectral density of a second carrier of the set of carriers; and the set of carriers within the frequency band, the first parameter comprising a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier.
In an analogous art Filipovic show measuring, based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity, a first downlink power spectral density of a first carrier of the set of carriers and a second downlink power spectral density of a second carrier of the set of carriers; and the set of carriers within the frequency band [par 0006, 0008, 0025, In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. In another aspect, a PSD of received signals is measured within a frequency band of interest; and a plurality of characteristics of the measured PSD are compared to a respective plurality of predetermined metrics to identify at least one technology type of the received signals in locations across the band. Accordingly, as described, embodiments of power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies, to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal, such as a bias due to the terminal's clock unit]
the first parameter comprising a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier[par 0067, The bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carrier frequencies. Alternatively, the bias can be equal to a difference between the detected (first carrier) and predetermined (second carrier) carriers for a most likely carrier of a particular communication type. As a further alternative, the bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carriers for a strongest carrier of a particular communication technology type];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Xing and Filipovic because this provides r improving system acquisition in an environment of co-existing technologies over a common frequency band are disclosed. In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. [Filipovic, par 0006]
Xing and Filipovic fail to show refraining from communicating over a first carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band based at least in part on a first parameter for communications over the first carrier exceeding a threshold with respect to corresponding parameters of other carriers of the set of carriers within the frequency band.
In an analogous art TaKaoka show refraining from communicating over a first carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band based at least in part on a first parameter for communications over the first carrier exceeding a threshold with respect to corresponding parameters of other carriers of the set of carriers within the frequency band [par 0127, 0139, 140, 0143, In power scaling method 12, power scaling controlling section 109 preferentially drops an SRS having a low PSD over an SRS having a high PSD (lowers the power allocation priority, reduces the transmission power, stops the transmission, or sets the transmission power to be equal to zero). When a difference in PSD of SRS between CCs is large, the intermodulation distortion of the SRS on the CC having a higher PSD may become larger than a PSD of an SRS on a different CC. This intermodulation distortion cannot be removed by a transmission filter. In addition, it is also possible to introduce a threshold for PSDs or the abovementioned parameters and to preferentially drop the corresponding SRS when these values exceed the threshold],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka because this provides a method of selecting a CC for multiplexing important UCI to which no retransmission is applied, on the power allocation priority used when power scaling occurs in simultaneous transmission of a plurality of periodic SRSes on a plurality of CCs
8, Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka describe the method of claim 1, Xing and Filipovic fail to show further comprising: determining, subsequent to the refraining, that a second parameter for communicating over another carrier of the set of carriers exceeds the threshold; and communicating over the first carrier and the other carrier based at least in part on the first parameter and the second parameter exceeding the threshold.
In an analogous art Takaoka show further comprising: determining, subsequent to the refraining, that a second parameter for communicating over another carrier of the set of carriers exceeds the threshold; and communicating over the first carrier and the other carrier based at least in part on the first parameter and the second parameter exceeding the threshold[par 0139, 0140, 0143, in power scaling method 12, power scaling controlling section 109 preferentially drops an SRS having a low PSD over an SRS having a high PSD (lowers the power allocation priority, reduces the transmission power, stops the transmission, or sets the transmission power to be equal to zero). When a difference in PSD of SRS between CCs is large, the intermodulation distortion of the SRS on the CC having a higher PSD may become larger than a PSD of an SRS on a different CC. This intermodulation distortion cannot be removed by a transmission filter. Specifically, when the SRS is transmitted without removal of the intermodulation distortion, the eNB measures the communication quality of the CC by the SRS affected by the intermodulation distortion. As a result, correct scheduling or transmission power control cannot be performed. With respect to this problem, transmission of only an SRS having a high PSD, which is unlikely to be affected by the intermodulation distortion, allows an eNB to perform measurement on the CC with high accuracy].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka because this provides a method of selecting a CC for multiplexing important UCI to which no retransmission is applied, on the power allocation priority used when power scaling occurs in simultaneous transmission of a plurality of periodic SRSes on a plurality of CCs
15, Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka define the method of claim 1, wherein refraining from communicating over the first carrier comprises: refraining from transmitting an uplink transmission on the first carrier [Xing par 0061, The logical channel corresponding to the PPPP may not use the carrier; some logical channels cannot be transmitted on the same carrier, for example, two logical channels are used for repeatedly transmitting the same Set of data to improve the reliability, thereby this pair of logical channels will be identified].
23. Xing creates a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: identifying, for a user equipment (UE), a set of carriers within a same frequency band for communicating with the UE via carrier aggregation[par 0039, if the UE wants to use the CA to transmit a service, the UE should select one or more carriers in the carrier set corresponding to the service. If the UE transmits multiple services at the same time, the UE should select carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services as the carriers in the carrier set. In this case, the carrier set A may be configured to be 4
carriers on a certain frequency band, or a size of the carrier set A is limited to no more than 2 according to the transmission capability of 2];
Xing fail to show scheduling communications with the UE based at least in part on a parameter for communications over a carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band satisfying a threshold, with respect to a second carrier in the set of carriers, the parameter comprising a difference between a first downlink power spectral density for the carrier and a second downlink power spectral density the second carrier in the set of carriers, wherein the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density are measured by the UE based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity.
In an analogous art Takaoka to show scheduling communications with the UE based at least in part on a parameter for communications over a carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band satisfying a threshold, with respect to a second carrier in the set of carriers [par 0127, 0139, 140, 0143, In power scaling method 12, power scaling controlling section 109 preferentially drops an SRS having a low PSD over an SRS having a high PSD (lowers the power allocation priority, reduces the transmission power, stops the transmission, or sets the transmission power to be equal to zero). When a difference in PSD of SRS between CCs is large, the intermodulation distortion of the SRS on the CC having a higher PSD may become larger than a PSD of an SRS on a different CC. This intermodulation distortion cannot be removed by a transmission filter. In addition, it is also possible to introduce a threshold for PSDs or the abovementioned parameters and to preferentially drop the corresponding SRS when these values exceed the threshold],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing and Takaoka because this provides a method of selecting a CC for multiplexing important UCI to which no retransmission is applied, on the power allocation priority used when power scaling occurs in simultaneous transmission of a plurality of periodic SRSes on a plurality of CCs.
Xing and Takaoka fail to show the parameter comprising a difference between a first downlink power spectral density for the carrier and a second downlink power spectral density the second carrier in the set of carriers, wherein the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density are measured by the UE based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity.
In an analogous art Filipovic show the parameter comprising a difference between a first downlink power spectral density for the carrier and a second downlink power spectral density the second carrier in the set of carriers[par 0006, 0008, 0025, In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. In another aspect, a PSD of received signals is measured within a frequency band of interest; and a plurality of characteristics of the measured PSD are compared to a respective plurality of predetermined metrics to identify at least one technology type of the received signals in locations across the band. Accordingly, as described, embodiments of power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies, to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal, such as a bias due to the terminal's clock unit],
wherein the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density are measured by the UE based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity [ fig 3, par 0024, 0064,Process 200 is performed by a receiver in terminal 150. The process may provide a faster and/or more reliable system acquisition by terminal 150 in a "polluted" electromagnetic environment where signals of multiple technologies are propagating. Process 200 may be performed when terminal 150 is first powered on, or, while it is already in an idle state and registered with a base station in a selected technology ("camped" on a channel). The process is performed prior to a system acquisition attempt by terminal 150 (i.e., an attempt to establish communication in a dedicated or shared frequency channel), or, after a call or data session is dropped. Accordingly, as described, embodiments of power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Xing, Takaoka and Filipovic because this provides r improving system acquisition in an environment of co-existing technologies over a common frequency band are disclosed. In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. [Filipovic, par 0006]
28. Xing, Takaoka and Filipovic disclose the method of claim 23, further comprising: receiving a UE capability message indicating the threshold supported by the UE for carrier aggregation over the set of carriers within the frequency band, wherein the threshold comprises a maximum receive timing difference, a maximum transmit timing difference, a maximum receive power difference, or a combination thereof [Xing par 0039, if the UE wants to use the CA to transmit a service, the UE should select one or more Carriers in the carrier set corresponding to the service. If the UE transmits multiple services at the same time, the UE should select carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services as the carriers in the carrier set. In this case, the
carrier set A may be configured to be 4 carriers on a certain frequency band, or a size of the carrier set A is limited to no more than 2 according to the transmission capability of 2];
29. Xing provide a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code[par 0083, The electronic device includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store computer programs and the processor is configured to execute the computer programs for executing the steps in any one of the method embodiments described above];
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: identify a set of carriers within a same frequency band for communicating with a network entity via carrier aggregation[par 0039, if the UE wants to use the CA to transmit a service, the UE should select one or more carriers in the carrier set corresponding to the service. If the UE transmits multiple services at the same time, the UE should select carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services as the carriers in the carrier set. In this case, the carrier set A may be configured to be 4 carriers on a certain frequency band, or a size of the carrier set A is limited to no more than 2 according to the transmission capability of 2];
Xing fail to show measure, based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity, a first downlink power spectral density of a first carrier of the set of carriers and a second downlink power spectral density of a second carrier of the set of carriers; and the set of carriers within the frequency band, the first parameter comprising a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier.
In an analogous art Filipovic show measuring, based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity, a first downlink power spectral density of a first carrier of the set of carriers and a second downlink power spectral density of a second carrier of the set of carriers; and the set of carriers within the frequency band [par 0006, 0008, 0025, In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. In another aspect, a PSD of received signals is measured within a frequency band of interest; and a plurality of characteristics of the measured PSD are compared to a respective plurality of predetermined metrics to identify at least one technology type of the received signals in locations across the band. Accordingly, as described, embodiments of power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies, to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal, such as a bias due to the terminal's clock unit]
the first parameter comprising a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier[par 0067, The bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carrier frequencies. Alternatively, the bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carriers for a most likely carrier of a particular communication type. As a further alternative, the bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carriers for a strongest carrier of a particular communication technology type];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Xing and Filipovic because this provides r improving system acquisition in an environment of co-existing technologies over a common frequency band are disclosed. In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. [Filipovic, par 0006]
Xing fail to show and refrain from communicating over a first carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band based at least in part on a first parameter for communications over the first carrier exceeding a threshold with respect to corresponding parameters of other carriers of the set of carriers within the frequency band
In an analogous art TaKaoka show refraining from communicating over a first carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band based at least in part on a first parameter for communications over the first carrier exceeding a threshold with respect to corresponding parameters of other carriers of the set of carriers within the frequency band [par 0127, 0139, 140, 0143, In power scaling method 12, power scaling controlling section 109 preferentially drops an SRS having a low PSD over an SRS having a high PSD (lowers the power allocation priority, reduces the transmission power, stops the transmission, or sets the transmission power to be equal to zero). When a difference in PSD of SRS between CCs is large, the intermodulation distortion of the SRS on the CC having a higher PSD may become larger than a PSD of an SRS on a different CC. This intermodulation distortion cannot be removed by a transmission filter. In addition, it is also possible to introduce a threshold for PSDs or the abovementioned parameters and to preferentially drop the corresponding SRS when these values exceed the threshold],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka because this provides a method of selecting a CC for multiplexing important UCI to which no retransmission is applied, on the power allocation priority used when power scaling occurs in simultaneous transmission of a plurality of periodic SRSes on a plurality of CCs
30. Xing disclose a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code[par 0083, The electronic device includes a memory and a processor. The memory is configured to store computer programs and the processor is configured to execute the computer programs for executing the steps in any one of the method embodiments described above];
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: identify, for a user equipment (UE), a set of carriers within a same frequency band for communicating with the UE via carrier aggregation[par 0039, if the UE wants to use the CA to transmit a service, the UE should select one or more carriers in the carrier set corresponding to the service. If the UE transmits multiple services at the same time, the UE should select carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services
as the carriers in the carrier set. In this case, the carrier set A may be configured to be 4 carriers on a certain frequency band, or a size of the carrier set A is limited to no more than 2 according to the transmission capability of 2];
Xing fail to show schedule communications with the UE based at least in part on a parameter for communications over a carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band satisfying a threshold, with respect to a second carrier in the set of carriers, the parameter comprising a difference between a first downlink power spectral density for the carrier and a second downlink power spectral density the second carrier in the set of carriers, wherein the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density are measured by the UE based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity.
In an analogous art Takaoka to show schedule communications with the UE based at least in part on a parameter for communications over a carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band satisfying a threshold, with respect to a second carrier in the set of carriers [par 0127, 0139, 140, 0143, In power scaling method 12, power scaling controlling section 109 preferentially drops an SRS having a low PSD over an SRS having a high PSD (lowers the power allocation priority, reduces the transmission power, stops the transmission, or sets the transmission power to be equal to zero). When a difference in PSD of SRS between CCs is large, the intermodulation distortion of the SRS on the CC having a higher PSD may become larger than a PSD of an SRS on a different CC. This intermodulation distortion cannot be removed by a transmission filter. In addition, it is also possible to introduce a threshold for PSDs or the abovementioned parameters and to preferentially drop the corresponding SRS when these values exceed the threshold],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing and Takaoka because this provides a method of selecting a CC for multiplexing important UCI to which no retransmission is applied, on the power allocation priority used when power scaling occurs in simultaneous transmission of a plurality of periodic SRSes on a plurality of CCs.
Xing and Takaoka fail to show the parameter comprising a difference between a first downlink power spectral density for the carrier and a second downlink power spectral density the second carrier in the set of carriers, wherein the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density are measured by the UE based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity.
In an analogous art Filipovic show the parameter comprising a difference between a first downlink power spectral density for the carrier and a second downlink power spectral density the second carrier in the set of carriers[par 0006, 0008, 0025, In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. In another aspect, a PSD of received signals is measured within a frequency band of interest; and a plurality of characteristics of the measured PSD are compared to a respective plurality of predetermined metrics to identify at least one technology type of the received signals in locations across the band. Accordingly, as described, embodiments of power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies, to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal, such as a bias due to the terminal's clock unit],
wherein the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density are measured by the UE based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity [ fig 3, par 0024, 0064,Process 200 is performed by a receiver in terminal 150. The process may provide a faster and/or more reliable system acquisition by terminal 150 in a "polluted" electromagnetic environment where signals of multiple technologies are propagating. Process 200 may be performed when terminal 150 is first powered on, or, while it is already in an idle state and registered with a base station in a selected technology ("camped" on a channel). The process is performed prior to a system acquisition attempt by terminal 150 (i.e., an attempt to establish communication in a dedicated or shared frequency channel), or, after a call or data session is dropped. Accordingly, as described, embodiments of power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Xing, Takaoka and Filipovic because this provides r improving system acquisition in an environment of co-existing technologies over a common frequency band are disclosed. In one aspect, at a remote terminal, a power spectral distribution (PSD) of received signals is sequentially measured in contiguous segments of a frequency band of interest. [Filipovic, par 0006]
4. Claim(s) 2, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1), Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1) in further view of LIN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0212103 A‘).
2, Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka illustrate the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka fail to show wherein refraining from communicating over the first carrier comprises: refraining from monitoring for a downlink reception on the first carrier.
In analogous art LIN show wherein refraining from communicating over the first carrier comprises: refraining from monitoring for a downlink reception on the first carrier [par 0094, For example, the frequency domain resource assignment information field and/or the modulation and coding scheme information field and/or the HARQ process
number and/or the downlink assignment index or other information fields are set to all zeros. After the terminal device determines to deactivate carrier 2 according to the first DCI, the terminal device no longer monitors the PDCCH search space (or PDCCH) corresponding to carrier 2 and stops the measurement related workflow].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and LIN because detecting, by a terminal device, first Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space corresponding to a first carrier.
24, Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka demonstrate the method of claim 23, Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka fail to show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE on the carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive timing difference of the downlink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to downlink transmissions to the UE over the other carriers in the set of carriers.
In an analogous art Lin show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE on the carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive timing difference of the downlink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to downlink transmissions to the UE over the other carriers in the set of carriers[par 0094, For example, the frequency domain resource assignment information field and/or the modulation and coding scheme information field and/or the HARQ process number and/or the downlink assignment index or other information fields are set to all zeros. After the terminal device determines to deactivate carrier 2 according to the first DCI, the terminal device no longer monitors the PDCCH search
space (or PDCCH) corresponding to carrier 2 and stops the measurement related workflow].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and LIN because detecting, by a terminal device, first Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space corresponding to a first carrier
5. Claim(s) 3, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1) in further view of Gao et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0063245 A1).
3, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show determining a downlink receive timing for each carrier in the set of carriers; and determining, based at least in part on the downlink receive timing for each carrier, that a downlink receive timing difference associated with the first carrier with respect to the other carriers exceeds the threshold.
In an analogous art Gao show determining a downlink receive timing for each carrier in the set of carriers; and determining, based at least in part on the downlink receive timing for each carrier [par 0048, Ac represents a time advance of uplink transmission timing of a carrier on which an uplink signal required to be power scaled among the uplink signals in the current uplink sub-frame is transmitted, and Ac
represents the index of the carrier on which the uplink signal is transmitted; represents the (absolute) difference in downlink reception timing between a carrier on which the PRACH is transmitted and the carrier c on which the uplink signal is transmitted],
that a downlink receive timing difference associated with the first carrier with respect to the other carriers exceeds the threshold [par 0048, difference in downlink reception timing between a carrier on which the PRACH is transmitted and the carrier c on which the uplink signal is transmitted, and is typically no more than 30 microseconds (simply .mu.s), and in view that the error in transmission timing on a downlink carrier at the base station side is 1.3 .mu.s at most, Ac does not exceed 37.3 .mu.s. T.sub.GT=K1-(T.sub.C P+T.sub.SEQ), where K represents the number of uplink sub- frames occupied by the preamble format corresponding to the preamble sequence, T.sub.CP represents the length of a CP in the preamble format]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Gao because this provide an uplink power control method and a user equipment so as to perform uplink power control in the case that a PRACH overlaps in transmission with other uplink signals.
16, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka disclose the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining an uplink transmission timing for each carrier in the set of carriers; and determining, based at least in part on the uplink transmission timing for each carrier, that an uplink transmit timing difference associated with the first carrier with respect to the other carriers exceeds the threshold.
In an analogous art Gao show further comprising: determining an uplink transmission timing for each carrier in the set of carriers; and determining, based at least in part on the uplink transmission timing for each carrier, that an uplink transmit timing difference associated with the first carrier with respect to the other carriers exceeds the threshold [par 0048, In the process described above, TA.sub.c represents a time advance of uplink transmission timing of a carrier on which an uplink signal required to be power scaled among the uplink signals in the current uplink sub-frame is transmitted, and c represents the index of the carrier on which the uplink signal is transmitted; .DELTA.T.sub.D,c represents the (absolute) difference in downlink reception timing between a carrier on which the PRACH is transmitted]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Gao because this provide an uplink power control method and a user equipment so as to perform uplink power control in the case that a PRACH overlaps in transmission with other uplink signals.
6. Claim(s) 4, 12-14, 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1)in further view of XING (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0083602 A1) hereinafter Jingiang.
4, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka demonstrate the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining a receive power for each carrier in the set of carriers based on a downlink transmission from the network entity to the UE; and determining, based at least in part on the receive power for each carrier, that a downlink power spectral density difference associated with the first carrier with respect to the other carriers exceeds the threshold, wherein the first parameter comprises the downlink power spectral density difference.
In an analogous art Jingiang show further comprising: determining a receive power for each carrier in the set of carriers based on a downlink transmission from the network entity to the UE[par 0167, After receiving the information of the difference in the power spectral density between the carriers, adjusting, by the base station, the powers between the carriers and corresponding power spectral densities. In this way, a possibility of a carrier receiving and demodulating problem of the terminal resulted from the difference in the power spectral density being over large may be reduced|;
and determining, based at least in part on the receive power for each carrier, that a downlink power spectral density difference associated with the first carrier with respect to other carriers exceeds the threshold [par 0070, the multi-carrier communication capability information may include a capability of the maximum difference in a power spectral density between carriers supported by the terminal device. For example, the power spectral density may be a ratio of a power of a downlink carrier transmitted by the base station to a band width configured to receive the downlink carrier by the terminal device],
wherein the first parameter comprises the downlink power spectral density difference [par 0071, For example, the terminal device reports that the capability of the maximum difference in the power spectral density between the carrier 1 and the carrier 2 which are supported by the terminal device is 2 dB, the capability of the maximum difference in the power spectral density between the carrier 2 and the carrier 3 is 3 aB, and the capability of the maximum difference in the power spectral density between the carrier 1 and the carrier 3 is 4 QB].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information.
12. Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka disclose the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining that a first receive power level associated with the first carrier is lower than a second receive power level associated with another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first receive power level being lower than the second receive power, the first parameter based at least in part on a receive power level difference between the first receive power and the second receive power level.
In an analogous art Jingiang show further comprising: determining that a first receive power level associated with the first carrier is lower than a second receive power level associated with another carrier of the set of carriers [par 0083, For example, the first threshold is 2 dB. The difference value measured by the terminal device between the carrier 1 and the carrier 2 is 4 dB. The difference value measured by the terminal device between the carrier 2 and the carrier 3 is 1 dB].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information.
Xing show wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first receive power level being lower than the second receive power, the first parameter based at least in part on a receive power level difference between the first receive power and the second receive power level [par 0061, Moreover, in addition to the above PPPP-CBR table, the carrier that may be used by the logical channel may be limited by other tables or correspondence relations. For example: (1) for a certain carrier, a threshold value of the CBR is configured for each PPPP; if the CBR of the carrier exceeds the threshold value, the logical channel corresponding to the PPPP may not use the carrier];
13. Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka provide the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka fail show further comprising: transmitting a message indicating the first parameter for communications over the first carrier.
In an analogous Jingiang show further comprising: transmitting a message indicating the first parameter for communications over the first carrier [par 0144, The multiple independent beamforming capabilities may simply indicate whether the terminal device supports multiple independent beamforming capabilities, or may indicate the number of independent beamforming carriers which may be specifically supported by the terminal device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information.
14, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang defines the method of claim 13, wherein the message is transmitted using a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) message, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or a combination thereof, and is transmitted periodically or a periodically [par 0044, Optionally, the carrier set A may be determined by the higher layer of the protocol stack and configured to the lower layer of the UE through an internal interface. Generally, the carrier set A is determined by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer and configured to the lower layer. The lower layer may be a media access control (MAC) layer or a physical (PHY) layer. The carrier set A may also be determined by the base station and configured to the UE through signaling].
31. Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka disclose the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show wherein a same power amplifier is used for each carrier in the set of carriers.
In an analogous art Jingiang show wherein a same power amplifier is used for each carrier in the set of carriers [par 0047, Take a downlink signal as an example, when a signal at a transmitting terminal has a same strength, large differences may exist among strengths of signals received in a UE side (e.g., being more than 20 dB). In this case, when two receiving signals are amplified simultaneously by a Low Noise Amplification (LNA) inside the terminal],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information
32, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang describe the UE of claim 29, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Takaoka fail to show wherein a same power amplifier is used for each carrier in the set of carriers.
In an analogous art Jingiang show wherein a same power amplifier is used for each carrier in the set of carriers[par 0047, Take a downlink signal as an example, when a signal at a transmitting terminal has a same strength, large differences may exist among strengths of signals received in a UE side (e.g., being more than 20 dB). In this case, when two receiving signals are amplified simultaneously by a Low Noise Amplification (LNA) inside the terminal],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information
33, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka disclose the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show further comprising: transmitting a capability message indicating the threshold supported for intra- band carrier aggregation communications.
In an analogous art Jingiang show further comprising: transmitting a capability message indicating the threshold supported for intra- band carrier aggregation communications [par 0083, For example, the first threshold is 2 dB. The difference value measured by the terminal device between the carrier 1 and the carrier 2 is 4 dB.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka, and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi- carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information]
34, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka create the UE of claim 29 Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to transmit a capability message indicating the threshold supported for intra-band carrier aggregation communications.
In an analogous art Jingiang show wherein the one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to transmit a capability message indicating the threshold supported for intra-band carrier aggregation communications[par 0083, For example, the first threshold is 2 dB. The difference value measured by the terminal device between the carrier 1 and the carrier 2 is 4 aB].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information
35, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka demonstrate the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show wherein the set of carriers is associated with the network entity and at least one other network entity that is non-co-located with the network entity.
In an analogous art Jingiang show wherein the set of carriers is associated with the network entity and at least one other network entity that is non-co-located with the network entity [par 0131, For example, a problem of the multi-carrier communication being performed between the terminal device and the multiple base stations not sharing the common site as shown in FIG. 10 may be analyzed. When the base station 1 and the base station 2 operate in the multi-carrier communication of a same millimeter-wave frequency band, a continuous multi-carrier communication or a discontinuous multi- carrier communication may be actually performed in the frequency band].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Jingiang because multi-carrier communication method is provided and includes receiving, by a network device, multi- carrier communication capability information from a terminal device; and performing a multi-carrier communication configuration for the terminal device based on the multi- carrier communication capability information.
7. Claim(s) 5-7, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1) in further view of Akula et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/007910 A1).
5, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka create the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining a time period for refraining from communicating over the first carrier based at least in part on a downlink reception over another carrier of the set of carriers and the first parameter exceeding the threshold, wherein the UE refrains from communicating over the first carrier during the time period.
In an analogous art Akula show further comprising: determining a time period for refraining from communicating over the first carrier based at least in part on a downlink reception over another carrier of the set of carriers and the first parameter exceeding the threshold, wherein the UE refrains from communicating over the first carrier during the time period [par 0039, 0040, the UE may identify an updated gain index or calibration point associated with a calibrated power that is equal to the desired transmit power or greater than the desired transmit power (i.e., the closest calibration point with a Calibrated power that is greater than the desired transmit power), and the UE may adjust its transmit power to the desired transmit power by applying a digital back -off from the calibrated power. In such cases, if the UE is configured to use a transient period to adjust its transmit power for uplink transmissions in each of the states in the second carrier, the UE may have to refrain from transmitting uplink signals on the first carrier during the transient periods, which may result in reduced throughput in a wireless communications system].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka, and Akula because this method may include identifying, from a plurality of component carriers used in carrier aggregation communication, a first component carrier having a first TTI duration as a reference component carrier.
6, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Akula reveal the method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting a message indicating UE capability information for a support for communicating using the set of carriers with the carrier aggregation, wherein the time period is based at least in part on the UE capability information [Xing, par 0039, If the UE wants to use the CA to transmit a service, the UE should select one or more carriers in the carrier set corresponding to the service. If the UE transmits multiple services at the same time, the UE should select carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services as the carriers in the carrier set A. The UE capabilities (corresponding to the transmission capability of the UE): the UE capabilities mainly include receiving capability of the UE. Before the UE sends in a sensing-based mode, the UE performs sensing to the carrier, and the number of carriers that the UE is able to simultaneously sense Is limited by the receiving capability of the UE, so the number of carriers in carrier set A should not exceed the receiving capability of the UE. Optionally, the sending capability of the UE may also be considered].
7, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Akula describe the method of claim 5, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka fail to show wherein the time period comprises one or more symbols or one or more slots.
In an analogous art Akula show wherein the time period comprises one or more symbols or one or more slots [par 0053, 0056, In some cases, an enhanced component carrier may utilize a different symbol duration than other component carriers, which may include use of a reduced symbol duration as compared with symbol durations of other component carriers. A shorter symbol duration is associated with increased subcarrier spacing. A device, such as a UE 115 or base station 105, communicating on enhanced component carriers may transmit wideband signals (e.g., 20, 40, 60, 80 MHz, etc.) at reduced symbol durations (e.g., 16.67 microseconds)|
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Akula because this method may include identifying, from a plurality of component carriers used in carrier aggregation communication, a first component carrier having a first TTI duration as a reference component carrier.
18, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka disclose the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining a time period comprising one or more symbols or one or more slots for refraining from communicating over the first carrier based at least in part on an uplink transmission over another carrier of the set of carriers and the first parameter exceeding the threshold, wherein the UE refrains from communicating over the first carrier during the time period.
In an analogous art Akula show further comprising: determining a time period comprising one or more symbols or one or more slots for refraining from communicating over the first carrier based at least in part on an uplink transmission over another carrier of the set of carriers and the first parameter exceeding the threshold, wherein the UE refrains from communicating over the first carrier during the time period[par 0053, 0056, In some cases, an enhanced component carrier may utilize a different symbol duration than other component carriers, which may include use of a reduced symbol duration as compared with symbol durations of other component carriers. A shorter symbol duration is associated with increased subcarrier spacing. A device, such as a UE 115 or base station 105, communicating on enhanced component carriers may transmit wideband signals (e.g., 20, 40, 60, 80 MHz, etc.) at reduced symbol durations (e.g., 16.67 microseconds)|
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Akula because this method may include identifying, from a plurality of component carriers used in carrier aggregation communication, a first component carrier having a first TTI duration as a reference component carrier.
Claim 19, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Akula provides the method of claim 18, further comprising transmitting, , a UE capability message indicating a support for communicating over the set of carriers using the carrier aggregation, wherein the time period is based at least in part on the UE capability message [Xing, par 0033, the type of the service may also be called as the service, an application, or an application type, which are equal and similar below); transmission capability of the UE; a type of a service that a carrier is capable of carrying; a CBR on the carrier; synchronization reference information used by the carrier, Multiple factors (a CBR (the CBR on the carrier), synchronization (the synchronization reference information), a service (the type of the service that needs to be transmitted by the UE), the transmission capability of the UE) are considered to determine the carrier set. Carriers are selected from candidate carriers as a carrier set A (corresponding to the second carrier set) which needs to satisfy at least one of the following principles: 1) the UE selects carriers from multiple carrier sets corresponding to multiple services (corresponding to the type of the service that needs to be transmitted by the UE) to be transmitted as carriers in the carrier set A]
8. Claim(s) 10, 11, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1) in further view of Lahr et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0302129 A1).
10. Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka defines the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining that a first downlink reception over the first carrier begins after a second downlink reception over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first downlink reception beginning after the second downlink reception.
In an analogous art Lahr show further comprising: determining that a first downlink reception over the first carrier begins after a second downlink reception over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first downlink reception beginning after the second downlink reception[par 0279, the mobile terminal determines a reception time difference (or propagation delay difference) for a downlink transmissions comprises calculating the reception time difference (or propagation delay difference) by subtracting the time of the beginning of a sub-frame received via the downlink component carrier of the second cell from a time of the beginning of the next sub-frame received via the downlink component carrier of the first cell. The beginning of the next sub-frame means the beginning of the next sub- frame that is received via the downlink component carrier of the first cell after the point in time of the beginning of the sub-frame received via the downlink component carrier of the second cell),
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Lahr because this provides a mechanism for aligning the timing of uplink transmissions on uplink component carriers, where different propagation delays are imposed on the transmissions on the uplink component carriers.
11. Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka create the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining that a first downlink reception over the first carrier begins before a second downlink reception over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first downlink reception beginning before the second downlink reception, the first parameter based at least in part on a timing difference between the first downlink reception and the second downlink reception.
In an analogous art Lohr show further comprising: determining that a first downlink reception over the first carrier begins before a second downlink reception over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first downlink reception beginning before the second downlink reception [par 0280, the mobile node could for example maintain a respective timing advance value for each uplink component carrier. In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a scenario is considered, where it is possible that plural component carriers have the same propagation delay, then these component carriers can be grouped and be associated with a respective timing advance value. Hence, in this case the mobile node may for example maintain a respective timing advance value for each group of one or more uplink component carriers, wherein uplink transmissions on the one or more uplink component carriers of a group experience the same propagation delay], the first parameter based at least in part on a timing difference between the first downlink reception and the second downlink reception[par 0228, the processor determines a downlink reception time difference between the target and reference cell, by measuring the time between the beginning of a first downlink subframe on the target cell (TDL_RX_SCell) and the beginning of the corresponding downlink subframe on the reference cell (TDL_RX_PCell), wherein downlink subframes on the reference and target cell refer to the same subframe number)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Lohr because this provides a mechanism for aligning the timing of uplink transmissions on uplink component carriers, where different propagation delays are imposed on the transmissions on the uplink component carriers.
21. Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka describe the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka fail to show further comprising: determining that a first uplink transmission over the first carrier begins after a second uplink transmission over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first uplink transmission beginning after the second uplink transmission, the first parameter based at least in part on a timing difference between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission.
In an analogous art Lohr show further comprising: determining that a first uplink transmission over the first carrier begins after a second uplink transmission over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first uplink transmission beginning after the second uplink transmission[par 0279, the mobile terminal determines a reception time difference (or propagation delay difference) for a downlink transmissions comprises calculating the reception time
difference (or propagation delay difference) by subtracting the time of the beginning of a sub-frame received via the downlink component carrier of the second cell from a time of the beginning of the next sub-frame received via the downlink component carrier of the first cell. The beginning of the next sub-frame means the beginning of the next sub-frame that is received via the downlink component carrier of the first cell after the point in time of the beginning of the sub-frame received via the downlink component carrier of the second cell],
the first parameter based at least in part on a timing difference between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission[par 0228, the processor determines a downlink reception time difference between the target and reference cell, by measuring the time between the beginning of a first downlink subframe on the target cell (TDL_RX_SCell) and the beginning of the corresponding downlink subframe on the reference cell (TDL_RX_PCell), wherein downlink subframes
on the reference and target cell refer to the same subframe number}.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Lohr because this provides a mechanism for aligning the timing of uplink transmissions on uplink component carriers where different propagation delays are imposed on the transmissions on the uplink component carriers.
22, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka demonstrate the method of claim 1, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail show further comprising: determining that a first uplink transmission over the first carrier begins before a second uplink transmission over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first uplink transmission beginning before the second uplink transmission.
In an analogous art Lohr show further comprising: determining that a first uplink transmission over the first carrier begins before a second uplink transmission over another carrier of the set of carriers, wherein the refraining is based at least in part on the first uplink transmission beginning before the second uplink transmission |par 0280, the mobile node could for example maintain a respective timing advance value for each uplink component carrier. In an alternative embodiment of the invention, a scenario is considered, where it is possible that plural component carriers have the same propagation delay, then these component carriers can be grouped and be associated with a respective timing advance value. Hence, in this case the mobile node may for example maintain a respective timing advance value for each group of one or more uplink component carriers, wherein uplink transmissions on the one or more uplink component carriers of a group experience the same propagation delay], the first parameter based at least in part on a timing difference between the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission{par 0228, the processor determines a downlink reception time difference between the target and reference cell, by measuring the time between the beginning of a first downlink subframe on the target cell (TDL_RX_SCell) and the beginning of the corresponding downlink subframe on the reference cell (TDL_RX_PCell), wherein downlink subframes on the reference and target cell refer to the same subframe number).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and Lohr because this provides a mechanism for aligning the timing of uplink transmissions on uplink component carriers, where different propagation delays are imposed on the transmissions on the uplink component carriers.
9. Claim(s) 17, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1) in further view of Xu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0385505 A1).
17, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka provide the method of claim 1, further comprising: Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show determining an uplink transmit power for each carrier in the set of carriers; and determining, based at least in part on the uplink transmit power for each carrier, that an uplink transmit power difference associated with the first carrier with respect to other carriers exceeds the threshold, wherein the first parameter comprises the uplink transmit power difference.
In an analogous art Xu show determining an uplink transmit power for each carrier in the set of carriers; and determining, based at least in part on the uplink transmit power for each carrier, that an uplink transmit power difference associated with the first carrier with respect to other carriers exceeds the threshold, wherein the first parameter comprises the uplink transmit power difference [par 0017, 0186, The terminal device sends an uplink reference signal, where reference signal received power of the uplink reference signal at the first transmission reception apparatus and reference Signal received power of the uplink reference signal at the second transmission reception apparatus are for determining the tracking reference signal for carrier frequency tracking. Transmit power of uplink reference signals received by transmission reception apparatuses is the same. However, a path loss is caused in a transmission process of uplink power. Positions of the transmission reception apparatuses are different. Transmission paths and path losses of the uplink reference signals received by the transmission reception apparatuses are different. Therefore, receive power of the uplink reference signals received by the transmission reception apparatuses is different. When an absolute value of a difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency is greater than a frequency offset threshold, the terminal device determines the first carrier frequency based on the first receive power and the second receive power. The first carrier frequency is the second carrier frequency corresponding to the first TRS or the third carrier frequency corresponding to the second TRS].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and XU because improve data transmission performance of a terminal device.
25, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka creates the method of claim 23, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive power difference of the downlink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to downlink transmissions to the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers.
In an analogous art Xu show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive power difference of the downlink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to downlink transmissions to the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers [par 0188, Optionally, when the absolute value of the difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency is greater than the frequency offset threshold, the terminal device may select the carrier frequency corresponding to the TRS with the highest receive power as the first carrier frequency on which the carrier frequency tracking is to be performed. In this way, the terminal device can track
downlink data sent by a transmission reception apparatus with highest signal strength, to improve the downlink data receiving]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and XU because would improve data transmission performance of a terminal device.
26, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka provide the method of claim 23, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling an uplink transmission from the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum transmit timing difference of the uplink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to uplink transmissions from the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers.
In an analogous Xu show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling an uplink transmission from the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum transmit timing difference of the uplink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to uplink transmissions from the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers [par 0017, 0186, The terminal device sends an uplink reference signal, where reference signal received power of the uplink reference signal at the first transmission reception apparatus and reference signal received power of the uplink reference signal at the second transmission reception apparatus are for determining the tracking reference signal for carrier frequency tracking. Transmit power of uplink reference signals received by transmission reception apparatuses is the same. However, a path loss Is caused in a transmission process of uplink power. Positions of the transmission
reception apparatuses are different. Transmission paths and path losses of the uplink reference signals received by the transmission reception apparatuses are different. Therefore, receive power of the uplink reference signals received by the transmission reception apparatuses is different. When an absolute value of a difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency is greater than a frequency offset threshold, the terminal device determines the first carrier frequency based on the first receive power and the second receive power. The first carrier frequency is the second carrier frequency corresponding to the first TRS or the third carrier frequency corresponding to the second TRS].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and XU because this would improve data transmission performance of a terminal device.
27, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka define the method of claim 23, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka fail to show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling an uplink transmission from the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive power difference of the uplink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to a receive power of uplink transmissions from the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers.
In an analogous art XU show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling an uplink transmission from the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive power difference of the uplink transmission exceeding the threshold
with respect to a receive power of uplink transmissions from the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers [par 0017, 0186, The terminal device sends an uplink reference signal, where reference signal received power of the uplink reference signal at the first transmission reception apparatus and reference signal received power of the uplink reference signal at the second transmission reception apparatus are for determining the tracking reference signal for carrier frequency tracking. Transmit power of uplink reference signals received by transmission reception apparatuses is the same. However, a path loss is caused in a transmission process of uplink power. Positions of the transmission reception apparatuses are different. Transmission paths and path losses of the uplink reference signals received by the transmission reception apparatuses are different. Therefore, receive power of the uplink reference signals received by the transmission reception apparatuses is different. When an absolute value of a difference between the second carrier frequency and the third carrier frequency is greater than a frequency offset threshold, the terminal device determines the first carrier frequency based on the first receive power and the second receive power. The first carrier frequency is the second carrier frequency corresponding to the first TRS or the third carrier frequency corresponding to the second TRS].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and XU because this would improve data transmission performance.
10. Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al.(U.S. Pub No. 2020/0413443 A1) in view of Takaoka et al. (U.S, Pub No. 2013/0215811 A1) Filipovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2011/0085589 A1) in further view of Guan et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0394779 A1).
24, Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka disclose the method of claim 23, Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka fail to show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive timing difference of the downlink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to downlink transmissions to the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers.
In an analogous Guan show wherein the scheduling comprises: refraining from scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE on a carrier based at least in part on a maximum receive timing difference of the downlink transmission exceeding the threshold with respect to downlink transmissions to the UE over other carriers in the set of carriers [par 0005, 0174, the like based on configuration information corresponding to the NR high-frequency downlink carrier, to obtain downlink reference information, where the reference information includes, for example, a downlink path loss, a downlink receive timing, downlink time synchronization information, or downlink frequency synchronization information. For example, the downlink signal may be a downlink synchronization signal or a downlink reference signal. Further, the terminal device obtains the downlink receive timing of the second downlink carrier through measurement]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Xing, Filipovic, Takaoka and GUAN because provide a method and a device for transmitting and receiving information, to resolve a problem that system performance is degraded in the NR-LTE coexistence scenario because downlink reference information.
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s note the previous office action did not reject claim 21. Therefore the office action is a non-final. Also the examiner reached out to applicant to consider amended claims to put case in condition for allowance.
However, the Office Action has not shown how comparing detected carrier frequencies to predetermined carrier frequencies to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal teaches or suggests "the first parameter comprising a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier," as recited in independent claim 1.
Office Action has not shown that the "difference" discussed in Filipovic is the same as "a difference between the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density," for respective carriers as recited in independent claim 1.
For instance, the Office Action has not shown how a frequency-offset bias corresponds to a difference between downlink power spectral densities for respective carriers. Nor has the Office Action pointed to any portion of Filipovic that mentions comparing the received "downlink power spectral density" of one carrier to the received "downlink power spectral density" of another carrier, let alone computing a difference between their respective power spectral densities.
Takaoka, Lin, Gao, Xing '602, Akula, Lahr, Xu, and Guan also do not teach or suggest the above recited features, nor does the Office Action suggest otherwise. Further, the Office Action acknowledges that Xing and Filipovic do not show the "refraining" feature recited in independent claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees according to Filipovic paragraphs 0029, 0030, Other characteristics and associated metrics/models can include: peak to average power in a segment; autocorrelation characteristics; and detected carrier locations in which detected carriers are compared to estimated (predetermined) carriers to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal receiver
Additionally, the frequency domain metrics can be augmented with time domain metrics to establish a more elaborate technology ranking methodology. Time domain metrics can include: the detection of flickering (e.g., TDM signals as in the GSM protocol may be on or off for a specific traffic channel); Peak to Average Ratio (PAR) in the time domain; and time domain correlation to time profiles.
The bias is used to establish a more elaborate technology ranking methodology. Time domain metrics can include: the detection of flickering (e.g., TDM signals as in the GSM protocol may be on or off for a specific traffic channel); Peak to Average Ratio (PAR) in the time domain; and time domain correlation to time profiles.
Filipovic discloses a difference between the first downlink power spectral density and the second downlink power spectral density in para 0067, the paragraph show a difference between a detected carrier (a first carrier) and a predetermined carrier a (second carrier), and comparing that difference to a bias
power scan unit 320 may be configured to measure a PSD of received signals within a segment of a frequency band of interest, and to compare detected carrier frequencies within the PSD to a set of predetermined carrier frequencies, to derive a bias in frequency estimation of the wireless terminal, such as a bias due to the terminal's clock unit. The bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carrier frequencies. Alternatively, the bias can be equal to a difference between the detected and predetermined carriers for a most likely carrier of a particular communication type.
Therefore Xing in view of Takaoka in further view of Flipovic teach and suggest the above recited features of claim 1
In this case, the Office Action does not provide sufficient analysis to support a conclusion of obviousness of independent claim 1 based on the combination of Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka.
Further, the Office Action has not explained why a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute Takaoka's uplink parameters with Filipovic's downlink PSD measurement, or how doing so would yield "refraining from communicating over the first carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band based at least in part on a first parameter for communications over the first carrier exceeding a threshold," where "the first parameter compris[es] a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier," as recited in independent claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. Please review MPEP 2144 (I.). According to broadest reasonable interpretation Xing disclose identifying a set of carriers within a frequency band for communicating with a base station via carrier aggregation. Filipovic discloses measuring, based on downlink signals transmitted by the network entity, a first downlink power spectral density of a first carrier of the set of carriers and a second downlink power spectral density of a second carrier of the set of carriers; and the set of carriers within the frequency band and the first parameter comprising a difference between the first downlink power spectral density for the first carrier and the second downlink power spectral density for the second carrier. Takaoda show refraining from communicating over a first carrier of the set of carriers within the frequency band based at least in part on a first parameter for communications over the first carrier exceeding a threshold with respect to corresponding parameters of other carriers of the set of carriers within the frequency band. The combination teach and suggest the claim features.
Moreover, the Office Action has not shown how Takaoka would have a problem that would be resolved by features of Filipovic. That is, without improper hindsight reasoning, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to take Filipovic's system-acquisition PSD scan (which addresses the problem of identifying co-existing technology types in a shared frequency band) and use it to drive Takaoka's uplink SRS power-scaling decision. Accordingly, for at least these reasons, the Office Action has not shown that a person having ordinary skill in the art would arrive at all of the features of independent claim 1 by any combination of Xing, Filipovic, and Takaoka. Therefore, for at least these reasons, independent claim 1 is allowable, including but not limited to over any combination of Xing, Takaoka, Filipovic, Lin, Gao, Xing '602, Akula, Lahr, Xu, and Guan. Independent claims 23, 29, and 30 are allowable for at least similar reasons.
Accordingly, for at least these reasons, Applicant requests that the rejection of dependent claims 2-8, 10-19, 22, 24-27, and 31-35 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be reconsidered and withdrawn.
The examiner respectfully disagrees according to office action the motivation to combine Xing, Filipovic and Takaoka because this provides a method of selecting a CC for multiplexing important UCI to which no retransmission is applied, on the power allocation priority used when power scaling occurs in simultaneous transmission of a plurality of periodic SRSes on a plurality of CCs, this motivation can be found in Takaoka paragraph 0023. Therefore the motivation is not done in hindsight and a person having ordinary skill in the art would arrive at all of the features of independent claim 1.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468