Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel (US 2019/0039288 A1, hereinafter Goel) in view of Blacker (US 2018/0001551 A1, hereinafter Blacker).
With regards to claims 1, 18, and 23, Goel teaches a system for 3D printing comprising a processor and memory storing instructions that are configured to perform an application of printing (Fig. 1, computing device 102). Goel teaches that the computer accesses print data of a virtual build volume including a plurality of 3D objects to be printed (object location determination module 202, ¶ 0063-0064). Goel teaches modifying the print data to include a 3D structure (hint) at a location in the build volume such that the 3D structure (128-P1) is positioned between a first object 126-1 and a second object 126-2 through the use of the hint generation module (Fig. 9, ¶ 0065). The hints are described as providing protection for the 3D object (¶ 0053) and provide a shield to protect it (¶ 0055). The hints are generated with a minimum gap that can be preset or calculated (¶ 0083, Fig. 8) and thus the object is not in contact with the structure of the hint. Goel teaches that when a hint or structure is placed between two objects there is ample cushioning space for intervening granules (¶ 0087). Goel then causes the printer to print the multiple 3D objects and hints (structures) within the build volume (Abstract, ¶ 0007-0009, 0050-0051). Goel teaches that the printing operation is a binder jetting printing operation in which binder is deposited on powder or granules (¶ 0003, 0026). In a binder jet printing operation a layer of powder is provided, binder is selectively applied to bind together granules in a given layer (¶ 0003). The hints or structures of Goel are printed along with objects in a printing operation such that the printer bed build volume contains both the hints and the 3D objects as one of the benefits includes protection during extraction from the powder (Fig. 9, ¶ 0031-0032). Goel does not explicitly teach that the binding agent comprises a solvent or performing a curing operation after printing of the objects and structure such that the structure or hint would protect the first 3D object from solvents of the binder agent migrating from the second 3D object during the curing operation after printing.
In a similar field of endeavor, binder jetting printing, Blacker teaches that the binder jetting process is known to include the application of a binding agent whose physical properties can be adjusted through the appropriate use of solvents (¶ 0022). After selectively depositing a curable binder on a powder material a heating operation can be performed for a time and temperature sufficient to cure the binder (¶ 0011). This layer-by-layer process is the printing process (¶ 0007). Blacker teaches that it is known in the art to perform post-build processing (i.e. the build volume contains both powder and the printed articles) of 3D printed articles in which further processing such as heating while the article is still supported by the powder bed can be necessary to strengthen or densify the part as a first step and only then removing objects from the powder (¶ 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized known binder jetting techniques such as the use of a binder dissolved in a solvent and post-processing in which the objects are heated in a state still supported by the powder in Goel as taught by Blacker as both relate to binder jetting presenting a reasonable expectation of success, Goel does not disclose specifics of the binding agent prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art, the use of a solvent for the binder can adjust the physical properties of the binder and post-processing can strengthen or densify the part while it is supported yielding predictable results.
With regards to the limitation of protection from solvent migration, even if the Goel hint/structure is not specifically disclosed as protecting the first/lower 3D printed object from the solvent in a second/upper 3D printed object, the configuration would have inherently achieved this result when combined with the Blacker printing process that utilizes a solvent and post-build heating while in the powder bed.
Regarding Claim 2, the previous combination remains as applied above, and Goel teaches in [0066] that the same binder 312 used for both object 126 and hint 128.
Regarding Claims 3, 5-8, 19-22, and 24-27, as seen in Figure 1 of Goel, the 3D hint structure vertically coincides with the first 3D object and spans substantially a fully horizontal section of the first 3D object, wherein the shelf/leg structures provides a concave feature facing the first 3D object that at least partially encapsulates the first 3D object such that the 3D structure is vertically located between the first 3D object and the second 3D object without horizontally coinciding with any 3D object.
Regarding Claim 4, the previous combination’s binder jet that causes the solvent/binder combination to flow is considered a solvent flow generator, thus the 3D structure would be between the solvent flow generator and the first 3D object.
Regarding Claims 16-17, Goel teaches in [0058] that processor and memory can be made either part of the of 3D printer or separate from the 3D printer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 16-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743