Detailed Action
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 03/27/2026. Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 14, 18 and 20-24 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino (US 20170294977) in view of ZHOU (US 2019/0238287) and further in view of Jung (US 20130148534) and further in view of Tooher (US 2019/0141555).
Referring to claim 1, Uchino discloses a measurement method, applied to a terminal (see “User apparatus”, “UE" in figure 13) and comprising:
receiving one second indication information (FIG. 13, step S302, “Measurement Configuration instruction”. Also see paragraphs [0065] and [0079]) transmitted by a network-side device (FIG. 13, and Par. 65, “Base station eNB transmits a measurement stop instruction”); and
determining a to-be-measured target object from configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information (See steps S303 and S305 of figure 13 and paragraphs [0080], [0082], “the user apparatus UE decides that the specific condition is satisfied (Yes in step 303), the user apparatus determines to start SCell measurement (step 305), and performs SCell measurement (step 306) to transmit a measurement report to the base station eNB (step 307)”), wherein
the one second indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell) (Uchino, FIG. 8 and 13, Par. 85 and, 87, “The “specific cell” may be a PCell, may be a cell designated from the base station eNB by an RRC signal and the like, may be one whose cell identifier (CellIndex/SCellIndex and the like) is the largest or the smallest, or may be an SCell to which a PUCCH is set”).
Uchino does not explicitly disclose wherein the one second indication is used to indicate a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell); wherein determining the to-be-measured target object from the configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information comprises: determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) as the to-be- measured target object.
In an analogous art, Zhou discloses wherein the one second indication is used to indicate a reference signal of
wherein determining the to-be-measured target object from the configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information comprises: determining reference signals on the Pcell (FIG. 11, step 1103, step 1102, 1104 and Par. 99, “At block 1002, a primary cell (PCell) may configure a UE to measure a reference signal of the PCell. Referring to FIG. 11 … PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”. Note that at step 1103 UE explicitly receives a reference signal (RS) of the Pcell (PCell RS) and measures the PCell based on the PCell RS) and a secondary cell (Scell) as the to-be- measured target object (FIG. 11, steps 1106, 1107 and 1108 and Par. 99 and 102, “the PCell may transmit an SCell measurement configuration message 1106 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the SCell. Based on the SCell measurement configuration message 1106, at block 1107, the UE may detect and measure, for example, the SCell's reference signal 1105 (e.g., CSI-RS or SSB). Then, the UE transmits an SCell measurement report 1108 back to the PCell such that the PCell can determine whether the SCell can be used for CA by the UE”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Uchino by incorporating the teachings of ZHOU so that a selection of the Pcell or Scell is performed based on the measurements, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Zhou further discloses determining reference signals on the Pcell based on the one second indication information (FIG. 11, step 1102) and determining reference signals on a secondary cell (Scell) based on another second indication information (FIG. 11, step 1106).
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose: determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) based on the one second indication information.
in an analogous art, Jung discloses determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) based on the one second indication information (Par. 139, “The UE receives a multi-cell configuration from the base station (S1510). The multi-cell configuration is used to set a plurality of serving cells, and at least one primary cell and at least one secondary cell are configured”. Par. 140, “the UE receives the measurement configuration from the base station (S1520). The measurement configuration includes a measurement target and a report configuration”. Par. 143, “The UE performs measurement (S1530). The UE measures the quality of the primary cell and the secondary cell”, note that the UE receives only one multi-cell configuration from the base station, the multi-cell configuration is equivalent to the claimed “second indication information”. And the UE performs measurements on both PCell and Scell based on the multi-cell information and since the UE measures both PCell and SCell, it determines their reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Jung so that a selection of the Pcell and/or Scell is performed based on a one single indication, so that only one indication would indicate both the PCell and the SCell for measurements, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
The above combinations is not relied on for the specific limitation, “indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell)”.
In an analogous art, Tooher discloses indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell) (Par. 61, “A WTRU may receive cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) from a PCell and/or an SCell”, note that a WTRU (equivalent to a terminal) receives a cell-specific reference signal or CRS from a PCell or SCell, thus, the cell specific reference signal could indicate a reference signal of only a Pcell or a only reference signal of Scell).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Tooher so that the indication would indicate only a selection of the Pcell, for the purpose avoiding overwhelming the terminal of receiving multiple indications where one indication of the Pcell is sufficient for the terminal to determine what measurement to make, thus, using terminal resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Uchino/ZHOU/Jung/Tooher discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a first indication information from the network -side device; wherein the first indication is used to indicate a measurement determining threshold;
determining that measured performance of a current serving second object is lower than the measurement determining threshold, performing or skipping performing a measurement on a third object prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device, wherein the second object comprises a current serving cell, Pcell, SPcell, master cell group (MCG), secondary cell group (SCG), band, carrier, or BWP; and the third object comprises a cell, a band, a carrier, or a BWP; determining that test performance of a configured second target cell is lower than the measurement determining threshold, performing or skipping performing a measurement on a cell prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell; or determining that measured performance of cells in a configured second target cell group is lower than the measurement determining threshold, performing or skipping performing measurements on cells in a cell group prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell group (Uchino, Par. 69, 84, “when the user apparatus UE detects that a quality of a specific cell for which quality measurement is performed becomes lower than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE starts measurement of an SCell, and when the quality of the specific cell becomes higher than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE stops measurement of the SCell", note that the predetermined value is equivalent to measurement determining threshold. Additionally, see paragraph 87, line 1, which defines the predetermined value as the threshold, “threshold (predetermined value)”. Also Par. 80-82 and 84, “In the condition example 1, when the user apparatus UE detects that a quality of a specific cell for which quality measurement is performed becomes lower than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE starts measurement of an SCell, and when the quality of the specific cell becomes higher than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE stops measurement of the SCell”. Note that the claim language includes alternative language “any one of the following”, thus, based on a broad interpretation, it is sufficient for prior art to disclose only one of them, in this case, “receiving a first indication information from the network -side device; wherein the first indication is used to indicate a measurement determining threshold” and “performance of a configured second target cell is lower than the measurement determining threshold, performing or skipping performing a measurement on a cell prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell”).
Referring to claim 6, the combination of Uchino/ZHOU/Jung/Tooher discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the measured performance comprises at least one of the following: a reference signal received power RSRP, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINK), channel state information (CSI), a channel quality indication (CQI), an L1measurement result, or an L3 measurement result, wherein L1 and L3 represent transport layer 1 and transport layer 3 respectively (Uchino, Par. 64, “RSRP/RSRQ”, Par. 97, “CSI”, CQI”, note that because of the optional (alternative) claim language (and/or), based on a broad interpretation, it is sufficient for the prior art to address only one of the alternatives).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Uchino/ZHOU/Jung/Tooher discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the determining a to-be-measured target object based on the indication information, the method further comprises at least one of the following: performing at least one of L1, L2, and L3 measurements on the target object wherein L1, L2 and L3 represent transport layer 1, transport layer 2 and transport layer 3 respectively; performing L3 filtering for a measurement result of the target object; or performing cell- and/or beam-level reporting of a measurement result of the target object (Uchino, Par. 11, “The base station eNB needs to receive a report of SCell quality information from the user apparatus UE in order to determine whether the SCell is usable or not. As to the report of SCell quality information, although there are mechanisms of RRM measurement reporting and CQI(CSI) reporting”, paragraph 12, “UE always performs reporting by performing measurement periodically during the SCell is being configured (step 2)”. Par. 24, “a step of not performing measurement of the cell or the cell group based on the measurement configuration information until a predetermined condition is satisfied, and performing measurement of the cell or the cell group based on the measurement configuration information when the predetermined condition is satisfied to transmit a measurement report to the base station”, note that because of alternative claim language only one of the alternatives is addressed).
Claims 14 and 18 recite features analogous to the features of claims 1 and 5 respectively, with exception that claims 14 and 18 are directed to a terminal while claims 1 and 5 are directed to a method performed by a terminal. The cited prior art also discloses such terminal that also includes process and memory (see e.g., figure 8 that depicts UE or terminal communicating with the base station or eNB and figure 19 that depicts processor and memory). Thus, they are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim 20 recites features analogous to the features of claim 1, with exception that claims 20 is directed to computer-readable storage medium while claim 1 is directed to a method performed by computer-readable storage medium. The cited prior art also discloses such computer-readable storage medium that also includes process and memory (see e.g., figure 8 that depicts a terminal with including computer-readable storage medium communicating with the user terminal and figure 19 that depicts processor and memory). Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (2019/0238287) in view of Jung (US 20130148534), and further in view of Dalsgaard (US 2021/0250851) and further in view of Tooher (2019/0141555).
Referring to claim 21, Zhou discloses a measurement method, applied to a terminal (FIG. 10 and 11 and Par. 36, 99, “UE to measure a reference signal of the PCell. Referring to FIG. 11, for example, a PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”) and comprising:
receiving one second indication information transmitted by a network-side device (FIG. 11, step 1102 and step 1106, “PCell measurement configuration”, “SCell measurement configuration”, “PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”, note that “PCell measurement configuration message 1102” is equivalent to the indication information); and
determining a to-be-measured target object from configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information (FIG. 11, Par. 99, “to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell.”, “Based on the PCell measurement configuration message 1102, the UE may measure, for example at 1103, PCell's reference signal”, note that the UE determines to measure PCell based on PCell measurement configuration. The PCell is equivalent to to-be-measure object),
wherein the one second indication is used to indicate a reference signal of a primary secondary cell (Pscell) (FIG. 11, step 1103, step 1102, 1104 and Par. 99, “At block 1002, a primary cell (PCell) may configure a UE to measure a reference signal of the PCell. Referring to FIG. 11 … PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”. Note that at step 1103 UE explicitly receives a reference signal (RS) of the Pcell and measures the PCell based on the RS of PCell);
wherein determining the to-be-measured target object from the configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information comprises:
determining reference signals on the Pcell (FIG. 11, step 1103, step 1102, 1104 and Par. 99, “At block 1002, a primary cell (PCell) may configure a UE to measure a reference signal of the PCell. Referring to FIG. 11 … PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”. Note that at step 1103 UE explicitly receives a reference signal (RS) of the Pcell (PCell RS) and measures the PCell based on the PCell RS.) and a secondary cell (Scell) as the to-be- measured target object (FIG. 11, steps 1106, 1107 and 1108 and Par. 99 and 102, “the PCell may transmit an SCell measurement configuration message 1106 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the SCell. Based on the SCell measurement configuration message 1106, at block 1107, the UE may detect and measure, for example, the SCell's reference signal 1105 (e.g., CSI-RS or SSB). Then, the UE transmits an SCell measurement report 1108 back to the PCell such that the PCell can determine whether the SCell can be used for CA by the UE”).
Zhou further discloses determining reference signals on the Pcell based on the one second indication information (FIG. 11, step 1102) and determining reference signals on a secondary cell (Scell) based on another second indication information (FIG. 11, step 1106).
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose: determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) based on the one second indication information.
In an analogous art, Jung discloses determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) based on the one second indication information (Par. 139, “The UE receives a multi-cell configuration from the base station (S1510). The multi-cell configuration is used to set a plurality of serving cells, and at least one primary cell and at least one secondary cell are configured”. Par. 140, “t he UE receives the measurement configuration from the base station (S1520). The measurement configuration includes a measurement target and a report configuration”. Par. 143, “The UE performs measurement (S1530). The UE measures the quality of the primary cell and the secondary cell”, note that the UE receives only one multi-cell configuration from the base station, the multi-cell configuration is equivalent to the claimed “second indication information”. And the UE performs measurements on both PCell and Scell based on the multi-cell information and since the UE measures both PCell and SCell, it determines their reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Jung so that a selection of the Pcell and/or Scell is performed based on a one single indication, so that only one indication would indicate both the PCell and the SCell for measurements, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose the one second indication is used to indicate a reference signal of a primary secondary cell (Pscell); and determining reference signals on the Pscell and a secondary cell (Scell) as the to-be- measured target object based on the one second indication information.
However, Zhou’s teachings of indication to indicate a reference signal of a primary cell (PCell) can also be applied to Primary Secondary cell (PSCell) and the same principles of communicating an indication for PCell can also apply to PSCell, as described by Dalsgaard below.
In an analogous art, Dalsgaard discloses the one second indication is used to indicate a reference signal of a primary secondary cell (Pscell) and determining reference signals on the PScell and a secondary cell (Scell) as the to-be- measured target object based on the one second indication information (Par. 56, 57 and 64, “The cell configurations may include configurations for PCell, configurations for SCell, or configurations for PSCell”, “The network device 120 in the first cell 130 transmits 2010 information to the terminal device … The PSCell configurations may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling”. Par. 59-63, 76, 77, “the terminal device 110-2 determines 2030 the type of the second cell 150”, “At block 340, the terminal device 110-1 connects to the second cell 150”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhou and Jung by incorporating the teachings of Dalsgaard, such that indication of reference signal of PSCell of Dalsgaard is applied to the combination of Zhou and Jung so that all transmission, reception and consideration applied to the PCell of combination of Zhou and Jung would be applied to the PSCell of Dalsgaard, for the purpose of providing the User Terminal additional options of selecting a PSCell for handover. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
The above combinations is not relied on for the specific limitation, “indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell)”.
In an analogous art, Tooher discloses indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell) (Par. 61, “A WTRU may receive cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) from a PCell and/or an SCell”, note that a WTRU (equivalent to a terminal) receives a cell-specific reference signal or CRS from a PCell or SCell, thus, the cell specific reference signal could indicate a reference signal of only a Pcell or a only reference signal of Scell).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Tooher so that the indication would indicate only a selection of the Pcell, for the purpose avoiding overwhelming the terminal of receiving multiple indications where one indication of the Pcell is sufficient for the terminal to determine what measurement to make, thus, using terminal resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Zhou (2019/0238287) in view of Jung (US 20130148534), and further in view of Dalsgaard (US 2021/0250851), and further in view of Uchino (US 20170294977) and further in view of Tooher (2019/0141555).
Referring to claim 22, the combination of Zhou/Jung/Dalsgaard/Tooher discloses the method according to claim 21.
The above combination is not relied on the claim language: “receiving a first indication information from the network-side device; wherein the first indication is used to indicate a measurement determining threshold; determining that measured performance of a current serving second object is lower than the measurement determining threshold, and performing or skipping performing a measurement on a third object prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device, wherein the second object comprises a current serving cell, Pcell, SPcell, master cell group (MCG), secondary cell group (SCG), band, carrier, or BWP; and the third object comprises a cell, a band, a carrier, or a BWP; determining that measured performance of a configured second target cell is lower than the measurement determining threshold, and performing or skipping performing a measurement on a cell prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell; or determining that measured performance of cells in a configured second target cell group is lower than the measurement determining threshold, and performing or skipping performing measurements on cells in a cell group prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell group”.
In an analogous Uchino discloses receiving a first indication information from the network-side device; wherein the first indication is used to indicate a measurement determining threshold; determining that measured performance of a current serving second object is lower than the measurement determining threshold, and performing or skipping performing a measurement on a third object prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device, wherein the second object comprises a current serving cell, Pcell, SPcell, master cell group (MCG), secondary cell group (SCG), band, carrier, or BWP; and the third object comprises a cell, a band, a carrier, or a BWP; determining that measured performance of a configured second target cell is lower than the measurement determining threshold, and performing or skipping performing a measurement on a cell prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell; or determining that measured performance of cells in a configured second target cell group is lower than the measurement determining threshold, and performing or skipping performing measurements on cells in a cell group prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell group (Uchino, Par. 69, 84, “when the user apparatus UE detects that a quality of a specific cell for which quality measurement is performed becomes lower than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE starts measurement of an SCell, and when the quality of the specific cell becomes higher than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE stops measurement of the SCell", note that the predetermined value is equivalent to measurement determining threshold. Additionally, see paragraph 87, line 1, which defines the predetermined value as the threshold, “threshold (predetermined value)”. Also Par. 80-82 and 84, “In the condition example 1, when the user apparatus UE detects that a quality of a specific cell for which quality measurement is performed becomes lower than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE starts measurement of an SCell, and when the quality of the specific cell becomes higher than a predetermined value, the user apparatus UE stops measurement of the SCell”. Note that the claim language includes alternative language “any one of the following”, thus, based on a broad interpretation, the it is sufficient for prior art to disclose only one of them, in this case, “receiving a first indication information from the network -side device; wherein the first indication is used to indicate a measurement determining threshold” and “performance of a configured second target cell is lower than the measurement determining threshold, performing or skipping performing a measurement on a cell prescribed by a protocol or configured by a network-side device other than the second target cell”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the above combination by incorporating the teachings of Uchino so that a threshold for signal quality would determine the cell handover and thereby only performing the handover when the signal quality of the target cell is better than the threshold, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 23, the combination of Zhou/Jung/Dalsgaard/Uchino/Tooher discloses the method according to claim 22, and further discloses the measured performance comprises at least one of the following: a reference signal received power RSRP, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), channel state information (CSI), a channel quality indication (CQI), an L1 measurement result, or an L3 measurement result, wherein L1 and L3 represent transport layer 1 and transport layer 3 respectively (Uchino, Par. 64, “RSRP/RSRQ”, Par. 97, “CSI”, CQI”, note that because of the optional (alternative) claim language (and/or), based on a broad interpretation, it is sufficient for the prior art to address only one of the alternatives).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the above combination by incorporating the teachings of Uchino so that a threshold for signal quality would determine the cell handover and thereby only performing the handover when the signal quality of the target cell is better than the threshold, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 24, the combination of Zhou/Jung/Dalsgaard/Tooher discloses the method according to claim 21.
The combination is not relied on for wherein after the determining a to-be- measured target object based on the one second indication information, the method further comprises at least one of the following: performing at least one of L1, L2, and L3 measurements on the target object, wherein L1, and L3 represent transport layer 1, transport layer 2 and transport layer 3 respectively; performing L3 filtering for a measurement result of the target object; or cell- and/or beam-level reporting of a measurement result of the target object.
In an analogous art, Uchino discloses wherein after the determining a to-be- measured target object based on the one second indication information, the method further comprises at least one of the following: performing at least one of L1, L2, and L3 measurements on the target object, wherein L1, and L3 represent transport layer 1, transport layer 2 and transport layer 3 respectively; performing L3 filtering for a measurement result of the target object; or cell- and/or beam-level reporting of a measurement result of the target object (Uchino, Par. 11, “The base station eNB needs to receive a report of SCell quality information from the user apparatus UE in order to determine whether the SCell is usable or not. As to the report of SCell quality information, although there are mechanisms of RRM measurement reporting and CQI(CSI) reporting”, paragraph 12, “UE always performs reporting by performing measurement periodically during the SCell is being configured (step 2)”. Par. 24, “a step of not performing measurement of the cell or the cell group based on the measurement configuration information until a predetermined condition is satisfied, and performing measurement of the cell or the cell group based on the measurement configuration information when the predetermined condition is satisfied to transmit a measurement report to the base station”, note that because of alternative claim language only one of the alternatives is addressed).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the above combination by incorporating the teachings of Uchino so that a threshold for signal quality would determine the cell handover and thereby only performing the handover when the signal quality of the target cell is better than the threshold, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 1 is/are Alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2019/0238287) and further in view of Jung (US 20130148534) and further in view of Tooher (2019/0141555).
Referring to claim 1, Zhou discloses a measurement method, applied to a terminal (FIG. 10 and 11 and Par. 36, 99, “UE to measure a reference signal of the PCell. Referring to FIG. 11, for example, a PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”) and comprising:
receiving one second indication information transmitted by a network-side device (FIG. 11, step 1102 and step 1106, “PCell measurement configuration”, “SCell measurement configuration”, “PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”, note that “PCell measurement configuration message 1102” is equivalent to the indication information); and
determining a to-be-measured target object from configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information (FIG. 11, Par. 99, “to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell.”, “Based on the PCell measurement configuration message 1102, the UE may measure, for example at 1103, PCell's reference signal”, note that the UE determines to measure PCell based on PCell measurement configuration. The PCell is equivalent to to-be-measure object), wherein the one second indication is used to indicate a reference signal ofthe PCell. Referring to FIG. 11 … PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”. Note that at step 1103 UE explicitly receives a reference signal (RS) of the Pcell and measures the PCell based on the RS of PCell);
wherein determining the to-be-measured target object from the configured measurement objects based on the one second indication information comprises:
determining reference signals on the Pcell (FIG. 11, step 1103, step 1102, 1104 and Par. 99, “At block 1002, a primary cell (PCell) may configure a UE to measure a reference signal of the PCell. Referring to FIG. 11 … PCell transmits a PCell measurement configuration message 1102 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the PCell”. Note that at step 1103 UE explicitly receives a reference signal (RS) of the Pcell (PCell RS) and measures the PCell based on the PCell RS.) and a secondary cell (Scell) as the to-be- measured target object
(FIG. 11, steps 1106, 1107 and 1108 and Par. 99 and 102, “the PCell may transmit an SCell measurement configuration message 1106 to configure the UE to measure the channel quality of the SCell. Based on the SCell measurement configuration message 1106, at block 1107, the UE may detect and measure, for example, the SCell's reference signal 1105 (e.g., CSI-RS or SSB). Then, the UE transmits an SCell measurement report 1108 back to the PCell such that the PCell can determine whether the SCell can be used for CA by the UE”).
Zhou further discloses determining reference signals on the Pcell based on the one second indication information (FIG. 11, step 1102) and determining reference signals on a secondary cell (Scell) based on another second indication information (FIG. 11, step 1106).
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose: determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) based on the one second indication information.
in an analogous art, Jung discloses determining reference signals on the Pcell and a secondary cell (Scell) based on the one second indication information (Par. 139, “The UE receives a multi-cell configuration from the base station (S1510). The multi-cell configuration is used to set a plurality of serving cells, and at least one primary cell and at least one secondary cell are configured”. Par. 140, “t he UE receives the measurement configuration from the base station (S1520). The measurement configuration includes a measurement target and a report configuration”. Par. 143, “The UE performs measurement (S1530). The UE measures the quality of the primary cell and the secondary cell”, note that the UE receives only one multi-cell configuration from the base station, the multi-cell configuration is equivalent to the claimed “second indication information”. And the UE performs measurements on both PCell and Scell based on the multi-cell information and since the UE measures both PCell and SCell, it determines their reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Jung so that a selection of the Pcell and/or Scell is performed based on a one single indication, so that only one indication would indicate both the PCell and the SCell for measurements, for the purpose of using communication resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
The above combinations is not relied on for the specific limitation, “indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell)”.
In an analogous art, Tooher discloses indication is used to indicate only a reference signal of a primary cell (Pcell) (Par. 61, “A WTRU may receive cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) from a PCell and/or an SCell”, note that a WTRU (equivalent to a terminal) receives a cell-specific reference signal or CRS from a PCell or SCell, thus, the cell specific reference signal could indicate a reference signal of only a Pcell or a only reference signal of Scell).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Tooher so that the indication would indicate only a selection of the Pcell, for the purpose avoiding overwhelming the terminal of receiving multiple indications where one indication of the Pcell is sufficient for the terminal to determine what measurement to make, thus, using terminal resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant is invited to contact examiner to discuss claim amendments in order to place claims in condition for allowance and thus expedite prosecution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644