DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s previous election without traverse of species xvi (nozzle, Fig. 39A) directed to claims 2-28; and subspecies 1 (handle, Fig. 24A), A (powder cartridge supply, Fig. 25A), and I (supply apparatus, Fig. 44), in the reply filed on 28 August 2025 remains acknowledged.
Claims 29-31 were withdrawn by Applicant in the reply filed 28 August 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8, 11-18, 21-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dove (2010/0152634; cited by Applicant) in view of Borczyk (2009/0170052).
Regarding claim 2, Dove discloses a dental apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2; annotated Fig. 1, below; para. 0001) comprising:
an internal chamber (annotated Fig. 1, below);
a fluid inlet 2 in fluid communication with the internal chamber (id. and para. 0010), the fluid inlet configured to direct a treatment liquid into the internal chamber onto an internal surface to impart rotation to the treatment liquid in the internal chamber (id. and paras. 0013, 0015 and 0016); and
an exit hole (annotated Fig. 1, below) in fluid communication with the internal chamber (id.), the exit hole configured to convey the rotating treatment liquid to a treatment region of a tooth (paras. 0010 and 0015).
Dove does not disclose an aperture in fluid communication with the treatment region, the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region.
Borczyk also disclose a dental apparatus (Figs. 7 and 8; para. 0005) having an aperture 59 in fluid communication with the treatment region (Figs. 7 and 8, e.g., distal of ending 58), the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region (paras. 0029 and 0032). This configuration allows used cleaning fluid to be removed from the patient’s mouth (para. 0029).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the dental apparatus of Dove with an aperture in fluid communication with the treatment region, the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region, in view of Borczyk, to allow used liquid to be removed from the treatment region and removed from the patient’s mouth.
Regarding claim 3, the fluid inlet 2 is oriented to inject liquid horizontally via diversion element 6 (Fig. 2; paras. 0013 and 0016) into the internal chamber (id. and annotated Fig. 1, supra) and onto the internal surface thereof, the internal surface configured to impart rotation to the injected liquid (id.) and to redirect the rotating liquid in a downward direction through the exit hole (id.) to treat the treatment region of the tooth (id. and paras. 0010 and 0015);
Regarding claim 4, a central axis (annotated Fig. 1, supra) extends through the exit hole (id.), the fluid inlet 2 being oriented to inject liquid along a direction non-parallel to the central axis into the internal chamber (id.) and onto the internal surface thereof (id. and Fig. 2; paras. 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Regarding claim 5, the dental apparatus of the combination of Dove and Borczyk discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above with respect to claim 2, except for a handgrip including an internal tube in fluid communication with the fluid inlet and a second tube in fluid communication with the aperture.
Borczyk also discloses providing a handgrip 54 (Fig. 7) including an internal tube 52 (Fig. 8) in fluid communication with a fluid inlet (i.e., inlet into the pipe 62) and a second tube 67 in fluid communication with the aperture 59 (para. 0032). This configuration allows the device to be conveniently held and provides fluid communication to facilitate conveying the liquid to the treatment site and removing used liquid therefrom (para. 0032).
It would have been further obvious to configure the dental apparatus of the combination to include a handgrip including an internal tube in fluid communication with the fluid inlet and a second tube in fluid communication with the aperture, in further view of Borczyk, to allow the device to be conveniently held and provide fluid communication to facilitate conveying the liquid to the treatment site and removing used liquid therefrom.
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus of Dove and Borczyk discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above with respect to claim 2, except for a tube configured to inject a composition into the rotating treatment liquid.
Borczyk also discloses providing a tube 51 (Fig. 7 and cf. Fig. 8) configured to direct a cleaning liquid (i.e., “cleansing and/or a medical fluid”; para. 0032) pumped into the treatment fluid (id.). This configuration facilitates delivery of a cleaning or medical fluid for the treatment of the teeth.
It would have been further obvious to configure the dental apparatus of the combination to include a tube configured to inject a composition into the rotating treatment liquid, in view Borczyk, to facilitate delivery of a cleaning or medical fluid for the treatment of the teeth.
Regarding claim 7, the tube 51 is configured to direct at least liquid (para. 0032) into the rotating treatment liquid.
Regarding claim 8, the treatment liquid as disclosed by Dove comprises a cleaning liquid (para. 0020).
Regarding claim 11, the fluid inlet (annotated Fig. 1, supra) is configured to direct the treatment liquid against the internal surface of the internal chamber (id.) to generate a spinning flow in the treatment region of the tooth (Figs. 1 and 2; paras. 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Regarding claim 12, Dove discloses a dental apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2; annotated Fig. 1, supra; para. 0001) comprising:
A nozzle 4 comprising an internal chamber (annotated Fig. 1, supra) and a fluid inlet 2 in fluid communication with the internal chamber (id. and para. 0010), the fluid inlet configured to direct a treatment liquid into the internal chamber against a surface to generate a spinning flow in the nozzle and in a treatment region of a tooth (id. and paras. 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Dove does not disclose an aperture in fluid communication with the treatment region, the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region.
Borczyk also disclose a dental apparatus (Figs. 7 and 8; para. 0005) having an aperture 59 in fluid communication with the treatment region (Figs. 7 and 8, e.g., distal of ending 58), the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region (paras. 0029 and 0032). This configuration allows used cleaning fluid to be removed from the patient’s mouth (para. 0029).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the dental apparatus of Dove with an aperture in fluid communication with the treatment region, the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region, in view of Borczyk, to allow used liquid to be removed from the treatment region and removed from the patient’s mouth.
Regarding claim 13, the nozzle 4 comprises an exit hole (annotated Fig. 1, supra) in fluid communication with the internal chamber (id.), the exit hole configured to convey the spinning treatment liquid to the treatment region of the tooth (id. and paras. 0010, 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Regarding claim 14, the fluid inlet 2 is oriented to inject liquid horizontally via diversion element 6 (Fig. 2; paras. 0013 and 0016) into the internal chamber (id.) and onto the surface thereof, the surface configured to redirect the liquid in a downward direction through the exit hole to treat the treatment region of the tooth (annotated Fig. 1, supra; paras. 0010, 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Regarding claim 15, the dental apparatus of the combination of Dove and Borczyk discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above with respect to claim 12, except for a handgrip including an internal tube in fluid communication with the fluid inlet and a second tube in fluid communication with the aperture.
Borczyk also discloses providing a handgrip 54 (Fig. 7) including an internal tube 52 (Fig. 8) in fluid communication with a fluid inlet (i.e., inlet into the pipe 62) and a second tube 67 in fluid communication with the aperture 59 (para. 0032). This configuration allows the device to be conveniently held and provides fluid communication to facilitate conveying the liquid to the treatment site and removing used liquid therefrom (para. 0032).
It would have been further obvious to configure the dental apparatus of the combination to include a handgrip including an internal tube in fluid communication with the fluid inlet and a second tube in fluid communication with the aperture, in further view of Borczyk, to allow the device to be conveniently held and provide fluid communication to facilitate conveying the liquid to the treatment site and removing used liquid therefrom.
Regarding claim 16, the dental apparatus of the combination of Dove and Borczyk discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above with respect to claim 12, except for a supply tube configured to inject a composition into the spinning treatment liquid.
Borczyk also discloses providing a supply tube 51 (Fig. 7 and cf. Fig. 8) configured to direct a cleaning liquid (i.e., “cleansing and/or a medical fluid”; para. 0032) pumped into the treatment fluid (id.). This configuration facilitates delivery of a cleaning or medical fluid for the treatment of the teeth.
It would have been further obvious to configure the dental apparatus of the combination to include a supply tube configured to inject a composition into the rotating treatment liquid, in further view Borczyk, to facilitate delivery of a cleaning or medical fluid for the treatment of the teeth.
Regarding claim 17, the supply tube 51 is configured to direct at least liquid (para. 0032) into the spinning treatment liquid.
Regarding claim 18, the treatment liquid as disclosed by Dove comprises a cleaning liquid (para. 0020).
Regarding claim 21, Dove discloses a dental apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2; annotated Fig. 1, supra; para. 0001) comprising:
an internal tube 2;
a nozzle 4, the nozzle comprising an internal space (id.) in fluid communication with the internal tube 2 by way of an upper entry hole (the exit of internal tube 2 into the internal chamber; annotated Fig. 1, supra), the upper entry hole oriented to inject liquid from the internal tube 2 horizontally into the internal space and onto an internal surface of the nozzle 4, the internal surface configured to impart rotation to the injected liquid and to redirect the rotating liquid in a downward direction through a lower exit hole (id.) to treat a tooth (paras. 0010, 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Dove does not disclose a handgrip comprising the internal tube or an aperture in fluid communication with a second internal tube in the handgrip, the aperture and the second internal tube configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to drain liquids from the tooth.
Borczyk also disclose a dental apparatus (Figs. 7 and 8; para. 0005) having a handgrip 54 (Fig. 7) housing an internal tube (id.) and an aperture 59 in fluid communication with the treatment region (Figs. 7 and 8, e.g., distal of ending 58), the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region (paras. 0029 and 0032). This configuration allows the apparatus to be conveniently held and to allows used cleaning fluid to be removed from the patient’s mouth (para. 0029).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the dental apparatus of Dove with a handgrip and an aperture in fluid communication with the treatment region, the aperture configured to connect to a pump to exert a suction force to remove liquid from the treatment region, in view of Borczyk, to allow the apparatus to be easily held and to allow used liquid to be removed from the treatment region and removed from the patient’s mouth.
Regarding claim 22, the apparatus of the combination of Dove and Borczyk discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above with regard to claim 21, except for a parallel tube configured to inject liquid, powder granules, or air into the rotating liquid.
Borczyk also discloses providing a parallel tube 51 (Fig. 7 and cf. Fig. 8) configured to direct a cleaning liquid (i.e., “cleansing and/or a medical fluid”; para. 0032) pumped into the treatment fluid (id.). This configuration facilitates delivery of a cleaning or medical fluid for the treatment of the teeth.
It would have been further obvious to configure the dental apparatus of the combination to include a parallel tube configured to inject a composition into the rotating treatment liquid, in view Borczyk, to facilitate delivery of a cleaning or medical fluid for the treatment of the teeth.
Regarding claim 23, the liquid of the device of the combination is considered to have horizontal angular momentum as it utilizes the same principles to impart rotation to the liquid (Dove Figs. 1 and 2, paras. 0010, 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Regarding claim 24, the rotating liquid spins horizontally (Dove Figs. 1 and 2, paras. 0010, 0013, 0015 and 0016).
Regarding claim 25, the liquid as disclosed by Dove comprises a cleaning liquid (para. 0020).
Regarding claim 28, a central axis (annotated Fig. 1, supra) extends through the lower exit hole (id.), the upper entry hole being oriented to inject the liquid along a direction non-parallel to the central axis into the internal space and onto the internal surface (Figs. 1 and 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 26 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is first noted that Applicant’s remarks are directed solely to independent claim 2 and fail to address independent claim 12 and independent claim 21. In the Remarks, at page 8, Applicant incorrectly states, “Claims 3-8, 11-18, 21-25, and 28 depend from Claim 2.” However, only claims 3-11 depend from claim 2. Accordingly, the remarks address Applicant’s arguments pertaining to claim 2.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant’s argument that there would be no motivation to combine the references is inconsistent with the stated aims and disclosures of Dove and Borczyk. The motivation, as taught by Borczyk and as stated in the rejection, is clear: to allow used liquid to be removed from the treatment region and removed from the patient’s mouth.
Dove focuses on debris removal and reducing the collection of debris between the teeth (para. 0015). Borczyk also describes washing out detritus from root canals and further removing the cleansing and/or medical fluid to the outside of the oral cavity through the suction duct (para. 0016). Dove aims to improve debris removal; Borczyk removes debris furthering this goal.
Applicant’s conclusion, at page 7, that the modification “would remove the fluid in Dove from the teeth and gums, thereby reducing the rotating-stream sweeping motion” is unfounded. Applicant’s reasoning is that the proposed modification “would simultaneously deliver and remove the fluid.” However, the fluid in Dove exits the nozzle 4 in a vortex under pressure from a pump, sweeps the walls of the root (paras. 0014-0015), but must go somewhere. Borczyk teaches that used water and detritus can be removed with a separate aperture 59 in fluid communication with the treatment region (Figs. 7 and 8, e.g., distal of ending 58), as stated in the action. A prima facie case of obviousness has been made and the arguments are not persuasive for the reasons above. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773