DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended claims 1 and 6; claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-12 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2, 4, 5, 7, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonney et al. (US 20080272144, henceforth Bonney) in view of Gold et al. (US 20220032022, henceforth Gold) and Xu (US 20130334339, henceforth Xu) and as evidenced by Eldredge (US 20100057048, henceforth Eldredge, previously made of record on 04/01/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Bonney discloses a device (fluid dispenser 1, fig. 2A) comprising: a spray application device (fluid dispenser 1, fig. 2A) further comprising an activator (actuation mechanism 100, fig. 1); where said spray application device dispenses one or more doses of a sprayable material (liquid 2, fig. 2A) dispensed as a plume of material (atomized spray S, fig. 2F, which is a plume of material as shown) when activated by said activator ([0042] and [0059]); where the device is adapted for a user to self-administer said sprayable material (see [0062], the device is meant to be used by one person); where the device comprises an angled nozzle (inner tubular section 23, fig. 2A, which is angled as it is provided at an angle in parallel with the longitudinal extension direction of the dispenser 1 as shown) having a nozzle center (this is called out as line X in fig. 2A) said angled nozzle having a nozzle shroud (nozzle 19, fig. 2A) with an angled shape (nozzle 19 has an angled shape which is its slightly tapered conical shape provided at an angle in parallel with the longitudinal extension direction of the dispenser 1 as shown in fig. 2A) conforming to the geometry of said angled nozzle (nozzle 19 conforms to the geometry of inner tubular section 23 where it extends along it and is colinear with it, see fig. 2A), and the nozzle geometry configured to target a plume of sprayable material (atomized spray S, fig. 2F) into a nasal cavity (see [0076]; note that the limitation of “configured to target” is understood to mean “configured to direct”); where a distal portion of said angled nozzle (the interior distalmost portion of section 23 proximal to upper opening 27, fig. 2A) is directly connected to, and capped by, a spray tip (upper opening 27, which is immediately adjacent to tubular section 23 and is connected thereto as they have integrally formed openings, and since the opening 27 forms the distal end of tubular section 23, it is considered to cap it as claimed); where said angled nozzle is wholly disposed within said angled nozzle shroud (see fig. 2A, inner tubular section 23 exists entirely within nozzle 19 as claimed); where said angled nozzle shroud extends along the entirety of the angled nozzle (see fig. 2A, nozzle 19 extends entirely along the length of inner tubular section 23 along the longitudinal axis as claimed), completely surrounds said angled nozzle (see fig. 2A, nozzle 19 radially surrounds inner tubular section 23 along its entire length as shown), is directly connected to said spray tip (see fig. 2A, orifice 27 is directly connected to nozzle 19 where it is a part of it), and where said sprayable material is dispensed by said activation in a plume of material as an aerosol (see fig. 2F and see [0106]).
Bonney does not disclose that the angled nozzle has a mid-nozzle bend angle of 15 to 30 degrees from the nozzle center to create an angled bend creating an optimized nozzle geometry, that the nozzle shroud is compliant, that the targeted plume of medication material is meant to be directed between middle and inferior turbinates within the nasal cavity, that said compliant angled nozzle shroud is configured to deform to fit within a user’s nasal passage dimensions, or where said sprayable material is dispensed by said activation in a plume of material conforming to the bend angle of said angled nozzle to target the sphenopalatine ganglion (SPG) within said cavity as an aerosol. Gold teaches a nasally inserted element (drug delivery component 20) which has a bend angle (single bend 82, fig. 11B causes a bend angle) in the middle of the element (see fig. 11B) to create an optimized geometry (see at least [0105]-[0107]) with the angle readily determinable for the target anatomy ([0114]) such that a targeted delivery of medication as a plume of spray (see [0109], the drug is delivered as a spray plume) is directed between the middle and inferior turbinates within the nasal cavity (see at least figs. 12D and 13). Eldredge evidences that the sphenopalatine ganglion is anatomically located between the middle and inferior turbinates in the nasal cavity (see fig. 1, ganglion 120 is anatomically provided with nerves extending between inferior turbinate 112 and middle turbinate 114). Additionally, Gold teaches its nasally inserted element to be compliant (see [0104], the listed materials are compliant as elastomers are flexible hence their soft durometer) such that it is configured to deform to fit within a user’s nasal passage dimensions (see [0104], the element must deform to reach its target location; see also [0080] and [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have changed the shape of the nozzle and nozzle shroud of Bonney from its original shape to the shape of Gold as Gold teaches the shape of its nasally insertable element to be beneficial for being able to deliver medicament directly to a target site by traversing patient anatomy (see at least Gold [0104]-[0110]) and further because Gold teaches this direct delivery to increase the effectiveness of drug delivery to target anatomy deep in the nasal cavity (see Gold [0007]-[0009] and [0013]). Such a modification would have entailed elongating the nozzle and nozzle shroud of Bonney to have the shape of the nasally inserted element of Gold. As modified, the changed nozzle and nozzle shroud shape thus target the SPG in the nasal cavity as an aerosol as Gold teaches the location between the inferior and middle turbinates to be effective for treatment and Eldredge evidences that this anatomic location is where the SPG is located, and thus the configuration to target the aerosolized spray between the inferior and middle turbinates is a targeting of the SPG.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the nozzle and nozzle shroud of Bonney as modified by Gold from the same materials as those used in Gold as Gold teaches these materials to be beneficial for providing increased patient comfort and traversing varying patient anatomy (see at least Gold [0104] and [0117]). Such a modification would then mean that the nozzle and nozzle shroud of Bonney as modified would be compliant and deformable as claimed.
Bonney as modified by Gold does not explicitly disclose that the bend angle is 15 to 30 degrees as claimed. However, Gold teaches that the particular angle to be used is determinable by one of ordinary skill in the art using measurements of a patient’s anatomy ([0114]), and that the angle could be between 10 and 720 degrees or more ([0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have shaped the bend angle to be 15 to 30 degrees as claimed since Gold teaches that the bend angle is a result effective variable which is determinable by one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the user’s particular anatomy (Gold [0106] and [0114] provides instructions for how to achieve this optimization) such as to achieve the desired entry characteristics to point the plume of material towards the intended target area (Gold [0105]).
Bonney as modified does not disclose that the spray tip comprises features designed to achieve target droplet size, dispersion and cavity and surface deposition characteristics. Xu teaches a spray tip (aperture plate of fig. 8B) which have features (apertures of fig. 8B) shaped to produce a desired spray pattern and droplet size (see at least [0002], [0004], and [0038]). Xu additionally teaches that its spray plate can be manipulated to obtain the desired spray characteristics for any given application (see [0036] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the spray tip of Bonney with the silicon-plate spray tip of Xu to produce a set of spray pattern and droplet size characteristics as desired (Xu [0004]), and as the plate of Xu is more manufacturable and cost efficient (Xu [0004] and [0033]), and further since the replacement would yield the same, predictable result of an aerosolized mist of droplets being nebulized by the device of Bonney and sprayed through a tip into a user's nasal passage in the modified device. Such a spray pattern could be the narrow and targeted plume originally disclosed and depicted in Bonney as well (see Bonney figs. 2F and 3 and see Bonney [0106]) and would be achieved by attaching the spray plate where the opening of Bonney was previously located in the tubular portion 23. Thus, in the modified device, the spray tip comprises features (apertures) designed to achieve target droplet size (see Xu [0036] and [0040], aperture size and shaping controls the size of the droplets in Xu), dispersion (the curvature of the plate of Xu causes a dispersion as in [0093] and thus the apertures are considered to be designed to achieve the dispersion as claimed), and cavity and surface deposition characteristics (droplet dispersion, size, and evenness make up surface deposition characteristics since they affect the way that the spray moves and falls within the nasal cavity, see at least Xu [0036], [0040], [0093], and [0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 1 where said compliant nozzle shroud is adapted to deform under pressure to fit into a user's nasal passage (see the added flexibility and deformability of Gold at least at Gold [0027] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 1 where the customized features comprise one or more apertures of 6.0 µm +/- 1.0 µm diameter (Xu [0036] teaches a diameter range overlapping with the claimed range of Applicant at 5 µm).
Regarding claim 5, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 5 where the one or more apertures comprise 40 apertures +/- 20 apertures (See Xu [0038], a number between 1-1000 per square mm is disclosed as are some typical sizes) organized as a central inner aperture surrounded by a circular array of outer apertures (A circular array is listed in a list of equivalent shapes in Xu [0038]; Xu fig. 3B shows an equivalent with a central inner aperture).
Further, Xu ([0038]-[0040]) discloses that the size, number, and arrangement of apertures, can be adjusted for the desired aerosol spraying characteristics in a given application. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a number of apertures as claimed by Applicant as Xu teaches a wide range of apertures may be provided depending on the desired aerosol spray characteristics. Additionally, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed number of apertures in a circular arrangement with a central inner aperture as Xu teaches it is known to modify the number and arrangement of apertures to achieve a desired spray and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (providing apertures to provide a spray), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.}
Regarding claim 7, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 1 where the optimized nozzle geometry comprises a nozzle length of 4.0 cm +/- 0.5 cm (see Gold [0066], the length of the modified nozzle has been made the size and shape taught by Gold which is from 0.1-2 inches which encompasses the claimed range of lengths as this is a range of 0.254-5.08 cm).
{The range taught by Gold is sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed range as the two ranges are both in the single digits of centimeters and Applicant's range is roughly in the middle of Gold's disclosed range. In addition, no unexpected results are shown as a result of the narrower range of Applicant compared to the disclosed range of Gold, and Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pg. 8 line 25 of Applicant's specification indicating the length "may" be within the claimed range).}
Regarding claim 10, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 1 where the sprayable material comprises a medication or treatment material (Bonney [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 10 where the spray application device is adapted to deliver multiple doses of the medication or treatment material through said nozzle (Bonney [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 1 where the optimized nozzle geometry is optimized for use in an anatomical orifice of a user to form an anatomically optimized nozzle geometry (Bonney [0019], the anatomical orifice is the nostril and nasal passage).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonney et al. (US 20080272144, henceforth Bonney) in view of Gold et al. (US 20220032022, henceforth Gold) and Xu (US 20130334339, henceforth Xu) and as evidenced by Eldredge (US 20100057048, henceforth Eldredge) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Rennie (WO 9949923, henceforth Rennie).
Regarding claim 6, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 5 where the central inner aperture is oriented to point in a direction that is perpendicular to the surface of the spray tip (See Xu fig. 8B, the central inner aperture points straight downward and is perpendicular to the top surface of the curved plate at that point).
Bonney as modified does not disclose the device where each aperture comprising the circular array of outer apertures is oriented to point 15.0 degrees +/- 5.0 degrees away from the direction that the central inner aperture points. Rennie (pg. 8 lines 10-13) teaches a preferable spray cone angle of about 30-40 degrees, which is divided by 2 to get an angle for each side of about 15-20 degrees away from the central inner aperture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have shaped the aperture plate of fig. 8A of Xu which is present in the modified device of Bonney as indicated above as a parabola where the maximum outward angle of the plate from its central most point is about 15-20 degrees as this is taught by Rennie as preferable (pg. 8 lines 10-13) for a set of desired spray characteristics (Rennie pg. 8 lines 10-15 teaches different factors influencing spray cone angle, and thus the desired spray characteristics includes said spray cone angle; Xu [0038]- [0040] additionally teaches characteristics that can be modified for a desired set of spray characteristics).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonney et al. (US 20080272144, henceforth Bonney) in view of Gold et al. (US 20220032022, henceforth Gold) and Xu (US 20130334339, henceforth Xu) and as evidenced by Eldredge (US 20100057048, henceforth Eldredge) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boehm et al. (US 20070181133, henceforth Boehm).
Regarding claim 9, Bonney as modified discloses the device of claim 1 comprising optimized nozzle geometry (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Bonney as modified does not disclose the optimized nozzle geometry comprising a cone angle of 30.0 degrees +/- 10.0 degrees. Boehm teaches a nozzle (End 10b of nosepiece 10, fig. 1) in an aerosol delivery device (Nebulizing device 1, fig. 1) for use in a nostril (See [0023]) with a cone angle of 30.0 degrees +/- 10.0 degrees (Angle a is in the range of 10 degrees to 40 degrees, see fig. 1 and [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tapered the nozzle shroud of Bonney, and correspondingly the nozzle, to a cone angle between 10 and 40 degrees as in Boehm for ensuring that the nozzle shroud can be placed simply and comfortably in the patient's nostril (Boehm [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that the rejection relied upon above does not disclose device of claim 1 as Gold does not teach the claimed nozzle and nozzle shroud arrangement and adding the nozzle of Gold to the device of Bonney would not yield the claimed invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the modified device, Gold is relied upon for forming an angled bend in the nozzle and nozzle shroud of Bonney, and for forming a nasally inserted element from compliant materials (see modifications made above to the device of Bonney in view of Gold, pgs. 4 and 5). This is not an addition of the nozzle of Gold to the device of Bonney, but rather applying the teachings of the shaping and formation of Gold to the nozzle and nozzle shroud of Bonney to yield the benefits taught in Gold (see Gold [0104]-[0107] as indicated above). Thus, in the modified device, the claimed arrangement of the nozzle and the nozzle shroud, which is disclosed in Bonney as indicated above, is retained, and thus Applicant’s arguments towards the combination of Bonney and Gold are respectfully found unpersuasive.
Annotated fig. 2A is additionally provided for clarification regarding the claim limitation “where said compliant angled nozzle shroud extends along the entirety of the compliant angled nozzle” as the nozzle shroud of Bonney extends further in both directions longitudinally than the nozzle of Bonney.
Annotated fig. 2A from Bonney calling out the longitudinal extensions of the relied upon nozzle and nozzle shroud, showing that the nozzle shroud (nozzle 19) extends along the entirety of the nozzle (inner tubular section 23) as claimed in amended claim 1
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783