DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s correspondence filed on 6/8/26.
The Examiner notes that citations to United States Patent Application Publication paragraphs are formatted as [####], #### representing the paragraph number.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are currently pending.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are rejected as set forth below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Specification
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Specification have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The objection is maintained.
Applicant has failed to address the arguments set forth in the objection.Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is maintained.
Applicant contends the Specification provides proper written description support for a predetermined real-time payment period and a predetermined confirmation time period. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs [0214], [0216]-[0218], merely describe a workflow in which a desired number of confirmations may take minutes to hours of time and a cryptocurrency exchange is done quickly. There is no mention of predetermining, or decide ahead of time, real-time payment periods and confirmation time periods, let alone a real-time payment period at all, and performing actions such as settling the cryptocurrency backed payment after the predetermined confirmation time period has expired.
Applicant contends the real-time payment period and the confirmation time period should not be interpreted as predetermined. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Instantly providing fiat currency within the real-time payment period requires that there is time frame in which the fiat currency is provided, and determining whether the providing occurs in the time frame implies that the time frame is predetermined.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is maintained.
Applicant has failed to address the arguments set forth in the rejection. Merely acknowledging a possible interpretation in light of the lack of clarity of the claim does not address, or fix, the clarity issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is maintained.
Applicant contends Capkun fails to teach or suggest after the confirmation period, when receipt of the amount of the first cryptocurrency is not confirmed: storing, by the network computing device, the amount of the collateral cryptocurrency. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the claim does not require this limitation to be performed as it is one of two conditional branches. Second, the collateral cryptocurrency is stored before it is sent to the merchant.
Applicant contends the combination of Capkun and Mullins is improper because there is no motivation to combine. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Mullins to the known invention of Capkun as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such currency exchange features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the real-time cryptocurrency backed payment wherein the merchant computing device accepts a desired fiat currency results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the merchant receives currency of their choice despite the currency being sent by the user, thus improving the overall usability of the invention.
Applicant contends the combination of Capkun as modified and Hamilton is improper because there is no motivation to combine. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Hamilton to the known invention of Capkun as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such funds transfer features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the step of providing, by the network computing device, an amount of the desired currency to the merchant computing device to complete the real-time cryptocurrency backed payment so the desired currency is instantly provided to the merchant results in an improved invention because applying said technique improves the cash flow of the retailer and also removes the possibility of the retailer experiencing a charge back payment denial, thus improving the overall usability of the invention.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), MPEP § 608.01(o), and MPEP §2181 IV. Correction of the following is required:
The terms 'a real-time payment period' and 'a confirmation time period’ of claims 1, 9.
The Examiner notes that the USPTO’ Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences has recently recognized that the lack of antecedent basis of claim terms in the original specification as a “significant problem.” See 73 Fed. Reg. 32944 (June 10, 2008) (noting that “[o]ne significant problem faced by the Board under Rule 41.37(c)(1)(v) occurs when the language of a claim does not have direct antecedent language in the specification.").
Additionally, the Examiner notes that patent examiners have no authority to waive the provisions of a rule. See In re Goodman, 3 USPQ2d 1866, 1871 (ComrPats 1987) (noting the examiners have no authority to waive 37 C.F.R. §1.111(b)).
Because the lack of antecedent basis is currently recognized by the USPTO as a significant problem and because the Examiner has no authority to waive the provisions of a rule, correction of the noted objections to the specification under 37 C.F.R. §1.75(d)(1) is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11238444 in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20070022058 to Labrou.
‘444 does not explicitly teach, but Labrou teaches:
providing, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information to a user computing device to initiate a payment with the user computing device; (Fig 8, [0119]-[0121], “The POS 103 generates a local message via a short-range communication 210 to the phone 104, called the T-Info that contains the transaction ID, the amount and the POS ID. The customer starts the mobile POS application 109. The phone 104 receives the local message from the POS 103 and decodes the data. The user is asked to approve the transaction by entering the PIN. The Phone 104 generates a C-View message 402 containing a full UPTF message for the transaction. The phone sends the C-View message 402 via the cellular network 211 to the STS 120.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Labrou to the known invention of ‘444 would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such cryptography features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to provide, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information, such as real-time cryptocurrency backed payment information, to a user computing device to initiate a payment, such as a real-time cryptocurrency backed payment, with the user computing device, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that both the user and the merchant are verified and can be trusted before initiating payment, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-14 of copending Application No. 17/364,366 in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20070022058 to Labrou.
‘366 does not explicitly teach, but Labrou teaches:
providing, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information to a user computing device to initiate a payment with the user computing device; (Fig 8, [0119]-[0121], “The POS 103 generates a local message via a short-range communication 210 to the phone 104, called the T-Info that contains the transaction ID, the amount and the POS ID. The customer starts the mobile POS application 109. The phone 104 receives the local message from the POS 103 and decodes the data. The user is asked to approve the transaction by entering the PIN. The Phone 104 generates a C-View message 402 containing a full UPTF message for the transaction. The phone sends the C-View message 402 via the cellular network 211 to the STS 120.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Labrou to the known invention of ‘366 would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such cryptography features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to provide, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information, such as real-time cryptocurrency backed payment information, to a user computing device to initiate a payment, such as a real-time cryptocurrency backed payment, with the user computing device, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that both the user and the merchant are verified and can be trusted before initiating payment, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 17/305,114 in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20070022058 to Labrou.
‘114 does not explicitly teach, but Labrou teaches:
providing, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information to a user computing device to initiate a payment with the user computing device; (Fig 8, [0119]-[0121], “The POS 103 generates a local message via a short-range communication 210 to the phone 104, called the T-Info that contains the transaction ID, the amount and the POS ID. The customer starts the mobile POS application 109. The phone 104 receives the local message from the POS 103 and decodes the data. The user is asked to approve the transaction by entering the PIN. The Phone 104 generates a C-View message 402 containing a full UPTF message for the transaction. The phone sends the C-View message 402 via the cellular network 211 to the STS 120.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Labrou to the known invention of ‘114 would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such cryptography features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to provide, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information, such as real-time cryptocurrency backed payment information, to a user computing device to initiate a payment, such as a real-time cryptocurrency backed payment, with the user computing device, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that both the user and the merchant are verified and can be trusted before initiating payment, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-18, 20 of copending Application No. 17/305,154 in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20070022058 to Labrou.
‘154 does not explicitly teach, but Labrou teaches:
providing, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information to a user computing device to initiate a payment with the user computing device; (Fig 8, [0119]-[0121], “The POS 103 generates a local message via a short-range communication 210 to the phone 104, called the T-Info that contains the transaction ID, the amount and the POS ID. The customer starts the mobile POS application 109. The phone 104 receives the local message from the POS 103 and decodes the data. The user is asked to approve the transaction by entering the PIN. The Phone 104 generates a C-View message 402 containing a full UPTF message for the transaction. The phone sends the C-View message 402 via the cellular network 211 to the STS 120.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Labrou to the known invention of ‘154 would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such cryptography features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to provide, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information, such as real-time cryptocurrency backed payment information, to a user computing device to initiate a payment, such as a real-time cryptocurrency backed payment, with the user computing device, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that both the user and the merchant are verified and can be trusted before initiating payment, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As per claims 1, 9, the limitations “wherein the duration of the cryptocurrency backed payment includes a real-time payment period and a confirmation time period", “instantly providing, by the network computing device, an amount of the desired fiat currency to the merchant computing device within the real-time payment period via an off-chain transaction”, “after the confirmation time period: settling, by the network computing device, the cryptocurrency backed payment” fail to comply with the written description requirement. Specifically, the Specification does not disclose the claimed function of a predetermined real-time payment period and a predetermined confirmation time period. There is no mention of predetermining the time periods in the Specification. See MPEP 2163.
By virtue of their dependence, the dependent claims are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1, 9, the limitations “wherein the duration of the cryptocurrency backed payment includes a real-time payment period and a confirmation time period", “after the confirmation time period: settling, by the network computing device, the cryptocurrency backed payment” render the scope of the claim indefinite. The claim provides no context regarding the confirmation time period and what it represents. For purposes of examination, the confirmation time period will be interpreted as the time it takes to confirm the cryptocurrency transaction onto the blockchain.
By virtue of their dependence, the dependent claims are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Application Publication No. 2021048056 to Capkun in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 20070022058 to Labrou, United States Patent No. 11423398 to Mullins, and United States Patent Application Publication No. 20190378115 to Hamilton.
As per claims 1, 9, Capkun teaches:
A method comprising: initiating, by a user computing device of a cryptocurrency collateral system, a payment with a merchant computing device of the cryptocurrency collateral system, wherein the user computing device provides a first cryptocurrency to use in the cryptocurrency backed payment, ([0015], “According to the invention, these aims are achieved by means of a data processing and telecommunication system for executing transactions, wherein the system includes a decentralized blockchain operable as a ledger for storing transactions between a merchant and a customer, a plurality of customer devices and a plurality of merchant devices all operable to communicate over the communication system, and a storage and computational module operable as an Arbiter for executing smart contracts, each customer devices being operable to cause a customer collateral to be controlled by said Arbiter, each customer device being further operable to send an intent to a merchant device, the merchant devices being programmed to execute the transaction after a verification of the customer collateral deposited by a customer having sent such an intent, but before the corresponding transaction is stored in said blockchain, each customer device being further operable to send to said Arbiter a transaction, the merchant devices being further arranged for storing accepted transactions to said blockchain, the smart contract being programmed for forwarding the value of the transaction to the merchant once the transaction is added to the blockchain respectively for recovering that value from the customer’s collateral if a pending transaction does not get stored on the blockchain.”)
facilitating, by a network computing device of the cryptocurrency collateral system, locking an amount of collateral cryptocurrency of a pool of stored collateral cryptocurrency required to back the cryptocurrency backed payment such that the network computing device has control over the amount of the collateral cryptocurrency for the duration of the cryptocurrency backed payment; ([0015], “a storage and computational module operable as an Arbiter for executing smart contracts, each customer devices being operable to cause a customer collateral to be controlled by said Arbiter”; [0035]-[0036], “In one preferred embodiment, the collaterals cover all of the authorized customer's purchases. In another embodiment, at least some customers, for example customers with good reputation or who have been honest for years, are allowed to spend more than their collaterals.”)
wherein the duration of the cryptocurrency backed payment includes a payment period and a confirmation time period; providing, by the network computing device, an amount of the desired currency to the merchant computing device within the payment period; after the confirmation time period: settling, by the network computing device, the cryptocurrency backed payment, wherein the settling includes one of: when receipt of an amount of the first cryptocurrency from the user computing device to cover the cryptocurrency backed payment is confirmed by the network computing device: releasing, by the network computing device, the amount of the collateral cryptocurrency such that the network computing device no longer has control over the amount of the collateral cryptocurrency; or when receipt of the amount of the first cryptocurrency is not confirmed: storing, by the network computing device, the amount of the collateral cryptocurrency. ([0015], “the smart contract being programmed for forwarding the value of the transaction to the merchant”; [0062], “According to one aspect, customer collaterals are held by a smart contract stored in and executed by the Blockchain. This smart contract is called Arbiter and enable merchants to safely accept payments before a transaction reaches finality on the chain. If a pending transaction does not get confirmed on the chain (for example in case of double spending attack), the victim merchant can recover the lost funds from the customer’s collateral.”; [0079], “A payment from a customer device is initially routed to the account controlled by the Arbiter that logs the approval details into its state and after that forwards the payment value to the account of the receiving merchant device.”; [0083]-[0084], “In this section, we describe the method in detail. We instantiate it for Ethereum, but emphasize that the invention is not limited to this particular blockchain. We start with background on aggregate signatures, followed by data structures, registration, payment and settlement protocols. Transactions are preferably signed with the Boneh- Lynn- Shacham (BLS) Signature Scheme. BLS signatures are built on top of a bilinear group and a cryptographic hash function H {0, 1}.sup.* — > G.”; [0105], “The process is carried out in two steps, first by clearing the customer’s pending transactions and subsequently by returning any remaining collateral. This two-step process allows enough time for any pending settlements to be processed before the collateral is returned to the customer.”; The Examiner notes that the time it takes for the payment to be routed from the customer to the Arbiter is the payment period and the time it takes for the transaction to be signed and recorded on the blockchain is the confirmation time period.)
Capkun does not explicitly teach, but Labrou teaches:
providing, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information to a user computing device to initiate a payment with the user computing device; (Fig 8, [0119]-[0121], “The POS 103 generates a local message via a short-range communication 210 to the phone 104, called the T-Info that contains the transaction ID, the amount and the POS ID. The customer starts the mobile POS application 109. The phone 104 receives the local message from the POS 103 and decodes the data. The user is asked to approve the transaction by entering the PIN. The Phone 104 generates a C-View message 402 containing a full UPTF message for the transaction. The phone sends the C-View message 402 via the cellular network 211 to the STS 120.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Labrou to the known invention of Capkun would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such cryptography features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to provide, by a merchant computing device, a code representative of payment information, such as real-time cryptocurrency backed payment information, to a user computing device to initiate a payment, such as a real-time cryptocurrency backed payment, with the user computing device, results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that both the user and the merchant are verified and can be trusted before initiating payment, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
Capkun as modified does not explicitly teach, but Mullins teaches:
wherein the merchant computing device accepts a desired fiat currency via an off-chain transaction; (col 7 lines 27-34, “According to an implementation of the present subject matter, the customers and merchants may send and receive payments in virtual currencies via the payment service for purchase of items or a selected set of items. In another implementation, the customers send payments in virtual currencies via the payment service, while the payment service converts a first virtual currency into another virtual currency or a fiat currency of merchant's choice.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Mullins to the known invention of Capkun as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such currency exchange features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the real-time cryptocurrency backed payment wherein the merchant computing device accepts a desired fiat currency results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the merchant receives currency of their choice despite the currency being sent by the user, thus improving the overall usability of the invention.
Capkun as modified does not explicitly teach, but Hamilton teaches:
instantly providing, by the network computing device, an amount of the desired currency to the merchant computing device; ([0034], “The transfer step 36 takes place instantaneously, and directly between the account holder's mobile phone and the retailer's point of sale reader. This is in contrast to conventional electronic payment systems, where the transaction is first reported to a credit card provider (for example) and then a number of weeks later the retailer is sent the funds from the credit card provider. Therefore, the cash flow of the retailer is improved.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Hamilton to the known invention of Capkun as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such funds transfer features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the step of providing, by the network computing device, an amount of the desired currency to the merchant computing device to complete the real-time cryptocurrency backed payment so the desired currency is instantly provided to the merchant results in an improved invention because applying said technique improves the cash flow of the retailer and also removes the possibility of the retailer experiencing a charge back payment denial, thus improving the overall usability of the invention.
As per claims 2, 10¸ Capkun teaches:
wherein the user computing device stores the first cryptocurrency in a digital wallet associated with the network computing device. ([0015])
As per claims 3, 11¸ Capkun teaches:
wherein the merchant computing device is associated with the network computing device; ([0015], The merchant computing device interacts and communicates with the network computing device.)
As per claims 4, 12¸ Capkun teaches:
wherein the network computing device determines the amount of the collateral cryptocurrency based on one or more of: characteristics of the cryptocurrency backed payment; characteristics of the user computing device; characteristics of the merchant computing device; and characteristics of the collateral cryptocurrency. ([0035]-[0036])
As per claims 5, 13¸ Labrou teaches:
when the user computing device does not verify the code representative of the payment information: terminating, by the network computing device, the initiation of the payment. ([0032]-[0033], If user authentication is not completed, the payment transaction never occurs.)
As per claims 6, 14¸ Capkun teaches:
sending, by the network computing device, the amount of the desired currency to a merchant banking computing device associated with the merchant computing device for deposit therein. (col 5 lines 30-47, “Generally, when a customer and a merchant enter into an electronic payment transaction, the transaction is processed by electronically transferring funds from a financial account associated with the customer to a financial account associated with the merchant. As such, the payment processing service 126 may communicate with one or more computing devices of a payment card network 140 (or “card payment network”), e.g., MasterCard®, VISA®, over network(s) 110 to conduct financial transactions electronically. Payment processing service 126 may also communicate with one or more computing devices of one or more banks, processing/acquiring services, or the like over the network 110. For example, payment processing service 126 may communicate with an acquiring bank, and/or an issuing bank, and/or a bank maintaining customer accounts for electronic payments. Payment processing service 126 may also communicate with, or access customer and merchant accounts maintained by payment service 108.”)
As per claims 8, 16¸ Capkun teaches:
wherein the user computing device stores collateral cryptocurrency for backing cryptocurrency backed payments in a smart contract associated with the network computing device. ([0015])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication No. 20210090166 to Bayne discloses a system and method to provide for acquiring a cryptocurrency via an exchange. A cryptocurrency owner's financial transaction is completed by another in exchange for an amount of cryptocurrency equal to the cost of completing the financial transaction, plus a premium, when the financial transaction cannot be paid for using the cryptocurrency owner's cryptocurrency.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619