DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 7/31/2026. Claims 1, 2, 8, and 17 are amended and claims 1-8 and 10-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20150030871 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) in view of JP 2007025577 to Tanaka (hereinafter Tanaka) and US Pat. No. 8,040,624 to Miyazaki et al. (hereinafter Miyazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a camera (Fig. 2), comprising: a lens group (lens unit 120, Fig. 2) comprising one or more lens elements (lenses of lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) that define an optical axis (optical axis “O” in Fig. 2); an image sensor (image sensor 140) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (actuator unit 130 is fastened to the upper surface of the printed circuit board 150 to accommodate the lens unit 120 and adjusts the focus of the image by moving the lens unit 120” & “The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O”), wherein the lens barrel arrangement comprises: a flange (flange 121, Fig. 2) at a top portion of the camera (above image sensor 140, Fig. 2), and wherein an underside (bottom of flange 121, Fig. 2) of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis, towards one or more sides of the camera (from proximal to the optical axis to distal from the optical axis, Fig. 2); and an outer surface (unlabeled vertical wall of lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis (Fig. 2), from the underside of the flange towards a bottom of the camera; and a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (magnet and coil actuator, Fig. 2) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor (“The driving signal applied by the printed circuit board 150 is applied to the coil part 132 through the terminal parts 137a and 137b and the magnet part 133 interacting with the coil part 141 The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O.”), the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group, comprising: a stationary magnet stationary relative to a shield can of the camera (“a yoke part 135 for fixing the magnet part 133“); and a coil (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet, wherein the coil is attached to the lens barrel arrangement (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2) to move with the lens barrel arrangement (“driving signal applied by the printed circuit board 150 is applied to the coil part 132 through the terminal parts 137a and 137b and the magnet part 133 interacting with the coil part 141 The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O”), wherein the magnet-coil group is contained within a cavity that is defined by the outermost portion of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement such that no part of the magnet- coil group extends beyond the underside of the flange in a third direction opposite the second direction and no other magnet configured to electromagnetically interact with the coil extends beyond the underside of the flange in the third direction (Fig. 2), and wherein the magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Fig. 2) with the coil positioned between the stationary magnet and the lens barrel arrangement (Fig. 2).
Kim discloses functional equivalents of a shield can structure in disclosing encompassing housing walls around the optical system. In Kim, the can 110, bobbin 131, terminals 137a-137b all contribute to encompassing the optical system (Fig. 2).
It is noted that Kim is not explicit about whether the magnet is “stationary relative to a shield can of the camera”, though a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the magnet is at least relatively stationary as would be required for operation of the bobbin in being (1) provided with the coil and (2) capable of movement.
It is acknowledged that the translation of KR 20150030871 and corresponding Fig. 2 does not provide a clear structural relationship between the coil, magnet, and the shield can defining the claimed reference frame by which to define movement. Kim states that the coil is on the circumferential surface of the bobbin moving with the lenses, though the structure supporting the magnet 133 and yoke 135 relative to the circuit board 150 and cover can 110 is not sufficiently disclosed to meet the evidentiary burden of anticipation.
Tanaka discloses a camera (Figs. 1-3) comprising: a lens group (lenses of lens 12, Fig. 1-3) comprising one or more lens elements that define an optical axis (Fig. 1-3); an image sensor (“image sensor unit (not shown) having a filter, an image sensor, and the like is disposed on the rear side along the optical axis F of the lens driving device 1”) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens holder 26 and functionally related structures, Figs. 1-3) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (Figs. 1-3), wherein the lens barrel arrangement comprises: a flange (flange 26b, Figs. 1-3) at a portion of the camera (Figs. 1-3), and wherein a side of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Figs. 1-3), towards one or more sides of the camera; and an outer surface (outer surface of cylindrical portion 126a, Figs. 1-3) toward that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis, from the side of the flange (Figs. 1-3); and a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (Figs. 1-3) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor, the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group, comprising: a stationary magnet (“drive magnet 18 has a ring shape, and is fixedly disposed along the inside of the outer peripheral wall surface of the yoke 15”) stationary relative to a shield can (fixed holder 20, Figs. 1-3) of the camera (“since the drive magnet 18 is fixed to the yoke 15 and the yoke 15 is fixed to the fixed holder 20, a force acts on the drive coil 14 as a reaction”); and a coil (coil 14, Figs. 1-3) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet (“since the drive magnet 18 is fixed to the yoke 15 and the yoke 15 is fixed to the fixed holder 20, a force acts on the drive coil 14 as a reaction”), wherein the coil is attached to the lens barrel arrangement to move with the lens barrel arrangement (“lens holder 26 includes a cylindrical portion 26a that holds the lens and a flange portion 26b for attaching and fixing the drive coil 14”); wherein the magnet-coil group is substantially contained within a cavity that is defined by a periphery of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement such that no part of the magnet-coil group extends through the flange in a third direction opposite the second direction (Figs. 1-3) and no other magnet configured to electromagnetically interact with the coil extends beyond the side of the flange in the third direction (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the stationary magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis with the coil positioned between the stationary magnet and the lens barrel arrangement (Figs. 1-3); one or more springs that extend from the lens barrel arrangement to one or more stationary structures of the camera to provide drive current for the coil (“a current flows through the drive coil 14 via the elastic member 19”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnet-coil arrangement and springs as taught by Tanaka with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a “small and thin” system form factor, limit “distorted” lens motion inclined relative to an optical axis, while enabling overall lens stability.
Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a shield can forming at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, the shield can comprising an interior and an exterior wall; wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past at least an interior wall of the shield can.
Miyazaki discloses a shield can (base part 11a and cover 10, Fig. 2) forming at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, the shield can comprising an interior and an exterior wall (see labels in annotated Fig. 2 below); wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past at least an interior wall of the shield can (see annotated Fig. 2 below). It is noted that the outermost portion of the flange does not extend past every portion of the interior wall of the Myazaki cover and base, but that the outermost portion of the flange extends past a portion pf the interior wall. This is analogous to Applicant’s embodiment in Figs. 1 and 2B showing the outermost portion of the flange extending past one portion of the shield can but not the other.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the relative position of flange portion and interior wall as taught by Miyazaki with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a reduced shape of a lens drive device, accommodating the optical and mechanical systems in a form factor that aims to miniaturize the overall system (col. 4, ll. 11-48). Relative to the Kim design, the Miyazki design accomplishes greater compactness by reducing the footprint of the base relative to the cover, thus providing the claimed relationship between an upper portion of the system (i.e. flange width) and a lower portion of the system (i.e. shield can walls near imager).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the outermost portion of the flange is at a first distance, in the first direction, from the optical axis (Fig. 2); the magnet comprises an outermost surface that is at a second distance, in the first direction, from the optical axis; and the first distance is greater than or equal to the second distance (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the magnet is positioned proximate the underside of the flange, such that the flange is above the magnet without intervening components between the magnet and the flange in the second direction parallel to the optical axis (magnet 133 and yoke 135 relative to flange 121, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: springs.
Tanaka discloses a suspension (elastic member 19 from holder 26 to cover 20, Figs. 1-3) arrangement comprising the one or more springs that extend, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis from the lens barrel arrangement to one or more stationary structures of the camera, so as to suspend the lens barrel arrangement from the one or more stationary structures (Figs. 1-3); wherein the magnet-coil group is positioned above the suspension arrangement (Fig. 1-3), such that a top surface of the suspension arrangement is positioned, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, between a bottom surface of the magnet-coil group and the image sensor (Fig. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnet-coil arrangement and springs as taught by Tanaka with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a “small and thin” system form factor, limit “distorted” lens motion inclined relative to an optical axis, while enabling overall lens stability.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the coil encircles an outer periphery of the lens barrel arrangement (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2); the VCM actuator further comprises: one or more additional magnets (magnet 133 and yoke 135 on left and right, Fig. 2), wherein a plurality of magnets comprising the magnet and the one or more additional magnets is distributed in a regular pattern that at least partially encircles the coil (Fig. 2); and the VCM actuator is configured to move the lens group in at least the second direction parallel to the optical axis, relative to the image sensor, to provide focus movement of an image on the image sensor (“actuator unit 130 is fastened to the upper surface of the printed circuit board 150 to accommodate the lens unit 120 and adjusts the focus of the image by moving the lens unit 120”, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a system, comprising: one or more processors (implied by operation of the image stabilization and voice coil motor control); memory (implied by operation of the image stabilization and voice coil motor control)storing program instructions executable by the one or more processors to control operations of camera, the camera (Fig. 2), comprising: a lens group (lens unit 120, Fig. 2) comprising one or more lens elements (lenses of lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) that define an optical axis (optical axis “O” in Fig. 2); an image sensor (image sensor 140) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (actuator unit 130 is fastened to the upper surface of the printed circuit board 150 to accommodate the lens unit 120 and adjusts the focus of the image by moving the lens unit 120” & “The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O”), wherein the lens barrel arrangement comprises: a flange (flange 121, Fig. 2) at a top portion of the camera (above image sensor 140, Fig. 2), and wherein an underside (bottom of flange 121, Fig. 2) of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis, towards one or more sides of the camera (from proximal to the optical axis to distal from the optical axis, Fig. 2); and an outer surface (unlabeled vertical wall of lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis (Fig. 2), from the underside of the flange towards a bottom of the camera; and a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (magnet and coil actuator, Fig. 2) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor (“The driving signal applied by the printed circuit board 150 is applied to the coil part 132 through the terminal parts 137a and 137b and the magnet part 133 interacting with the coil part 141 The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O.”), the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group, comprising: a stationary magnet stationary relative to a shield can of the camera (“a yoke part 135 for fixing the magnet part 133“); and a coil (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet, wherein the coil is attached to the lens barrel arrangement (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2) to move with the lens barrel arrangement (“driving signal applied by the printed circuit board 150 is applied to the coil part 132 through the terminal parts 137a and 137b and the magnet part 133 interacting with the coil part 141 The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O”), wherein the magnet-coil group is contained within a cavity that is defined by a periphery of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement such that no part of the magnet- coil group extends beyond the underside of the flange in a third direction opposite the second direction and no other magnet configured to electromagnetically interact with the coil extends beyond the underside of the flange in the third direction (Fig. 2), and wherein the magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Fig. 2) with the coil positioned between the stationary magnet and the lens barrel arrangement (Fig. 2).
It is noted that Kim is not explicit about whether the magnet is “stationary relative to a shield can of the camera”, though a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the magnet is at least relatively stationary as would be required for operation of the bobbin in being (1) provided with the coil and (2) capable of movement.
It is acknowledged that the translation of KR 20150030871 and corresponding Fig. 2 does not provide a clear structural relationship between the coil, magnet, and the shield can defining the claimed reference frame by which to define movement. Kim states that the coil is on the circumferential surface of the bobbin moving with the lenses, though the structure supporting the magnet 133 and yoke 135 relative to the circuit board 150 and cover can 110 is not sufficiently disclosed to meet the evidentiary burden of anticipation.
Tanaka discloses a camera (Figs. 1-3) comprising: a lens group (lenses of lens 12, Fig. 1-3) comprising one or more lens elements that define an optical axis (Fig. 1-3); an image sensor (“image sensor unit (not shown) having a filter, an image sensor, and the like is disposed on the rear side along the optical axis F of the lens driving device 1”) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens holder 26 and functionally related structures, Figs. 1-3) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (Figs. 1-3), wherein the lens barrel arrangement comprises: a flange (flange 26b, Figs. 1-3) at a portion of the camera (Figs. 1-3), and wherein a side of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Figs. 1-3), towards one or more sides of the camera; and an outer surface (outer surface of cylindrical portion 126a, Figs. 1-3) toward that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis, from the side of the flange (Figs. 1-3); and a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (Figs. 1-3) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor, the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group, comprising: a stationary magnet (“drive magnet 18 has a ring shape, and is fixedly disposed along the inside of the outer peripheral wall surface of the yoke 15”) stationary relative to a shield can (fixed holder 20, Figs. 1-3) of the camera (“since the drive magnet 18 is fixed to the yoke 15 and the yoke 15 is fixed to the fixed holder 20, a force acts on the drive coil 14 as a reaction”); and a coil (coil 14, Figs. 1-3) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet (“since the drive magnet 18 is fixed to the yoke 15 and the yoke 15 is fixed to the fixed holder 20, a force acts on the drive coil 14 as a reaction”), wherein the coil is attached to the lens barrel arrangement to move with the lens barrel arrangement (“lens holder 26 includes a cylindrical portion 26a that holds the lens and a flange portion 26b for attaching and fixing the drive coil 14”); wherein the magnet-coil group is substantially contained within a cavity that is defined by a periphery of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement such that no part of the magnet-coil group extends through the flange in a third direction opposite the second direction (Figs. 1-3) and no other magnet configured to electromagnetically interact with the coil extends beyond the side of the flange in the third direction (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the stationary magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis with the coil positioned between the stationary magnet and the lens barrel arrangement (Figs. 1-3); one or more springs that extend from the lens barrel arrangement to one or more stationary structures of the camera to provide drive current for the coil (“a current flows through the drive coil 14 via the elastic member 19”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnet-coil arrangement and springs as taught by Tanaka with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a “small and thin” system form factor, limit “distorted” lens motion inclined relative to an optical axis, while enabling overall lens stability.
Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the spring arrangement.
Miyazaki discloses a system, comprising: and the camera, comprising: a lens group comprising one or more lens elements that define an optical axis (“a lens holder 7 to which at least one lens or a plurality of lenses is fixed” & “the lens drive device 1 is formed in a roughly rectangular shape when viewed in a direction of an optical axis "L" of a lens”, Fig. 2; col. 5, ln. 62-col. 6, ln. 67); an image sensor to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group (“the lens drive device 1 is formed in a roughly rectangular shape when viewed in a direction of an optical axis "L" of a lens for photography or imaging including digital images and video for example”; col. 6, ll. 8-21); a lens barrel arrangement (“movable body 2 is provided with a sleeve 8 which holds a lens holder 7 to which at least one lens or a plurality of lenses is fixed”, Fig. 2, col. 6, ll. 43-49) fixedly coupled with the lens group, such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (“movable body 2 is provided with a sleeve 8 which holds a lens holder 7 to which at least one lens or a plurality of lenses is fixed”, Fig. 2, col. 6, ll. 43-49), the lens barrel arrangement comprising: a flange (“the sleeve 8 is formed with two flange parts 8a and 8b”, Figs. 2 & 3; col. 6, ll. 50-67) at a top portion of the camera, wherein an underside of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Figs. 2 & 3), towards one or more sides of the camera (Figs. 2 & 3); and an outer surface (outer surface of sleeve 8, Figs. 2 & 3) that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis (axis “L”, Figs. 1-3), from the underside of the flange towards a bottom of the camera; a suspension arrangement (“flat springs 5 and 6”, Fig. 2) comprising one or more suspension springs (“flat springs 5 and 6”, Fig. 2) for suspending the lens barrel arrangement from one or more stationary structures of the camera (“movable body 2 is movably held by the fixed body 3 through flat springs 5 and 6 (see FIG. 2)”; col. 6, ll. 32-42), wherein the suspension arrangement comprises an uppermost spring (flat spring 5, Fig. 2) that is closer than any other suspension spring for suspending the lens barrel in the camera, to a top of the camera (Fig. 2), and wherein the uppermost spring extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis, from the lens carrier to the one or more stationary structures (Fig. 2); a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (“drive mechanism 4 is provided with four drive magnets 15 in a substantially triangular prism shape which are disposed at four corners of the lens drive device 1 (specifically, four corners on the inner side of the cover member 10) and one drive coil 16 which is wound around on an outer peripheral side of the sleeve 8”, Figs. 2-3; col. 7, ll. 32-38) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor, the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group (Figs. 2-3; col. 7, ll. 32-38), comprising: a stationary magnet (a magnetic members 17, Figs. 2-3) stationary (“upper end faces of the four drive magnets 15 are fixed to an under face of the bottom part 10a by an adhesive or the like in a state that their upper end faces are abutted with the under face of the bottom part 10a”; col. 7, ln. 55-col. 8, ln. 6) relative to a shield can of the camera (cover member 10, Figs. 1-3); and a coil (drive coil 16, Figs. 1-3) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet, wherein the coil is fixedly coupled with the lens barrel arrangement (“drive coil 16 is fixed to the outer peripheral face of the sleeve 8”; col. 8, ll. 55-64); wherein the magnet-coil group is positioned above the suspension arrangement (Fig. 2), such that the uppermost spring is positioned, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis, between a bottommost surface of the magnet-coil group and the image sensor (Fig. 2), wherein the magnet-coil group is contained within a cavity that is defined by a periphery of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement (Fig. 2), and wherein the magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Fig. 2).
Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a shield can forming at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, the shield can comprising an interior and an exterior wall; wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past at least an interior wall of the shield can.
Miyazaki discloses a shield can (base part 11a and cover 10, Fig. 2) forming at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, the shield can comprising an interior and an exterior wall (see labels in annotated Fig. 2 below); wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past at least an interior wall of the shield can (see annotated Fig. 2 below). It is noted that the outermost portion of the flange does not extend past every portion of the interior wall of the Myazaki cover and base, but that the outermost portion of the flange extends past a portion pf the interior wall. This is analogous to Applicant’s embodiment in Figs. 1 and 2B showing the outermost portion of the flange extending past one portion of the shield can but not the other.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the relative position of flange portion and interior wall and provide the claimed spring arrangement as taught by Miyazaki with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a reduced shape of a lens drive device, accommodating the optical and mechanical systems in a form factor that aims to miniaturize the overall system (col. 4, ll. 11-48). Relative to the Kim design, the Miyazaki design accomplishes greater compactness by reducing the footprint of the base relative to the cover, thus providing the claimed relationship between an upper portion of the system (i.e. flange width) and a lower portion of the system (i.e. shield can walls near imager). The motivation would have further been to provide a stable “reference position” and a thin stabilization design (col. 1, ll. 20-44 and col. 7, ll. 18-31).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the camera further comprises: the shield can that forms at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera (cover can 110, Fig. 2), wherein the shield can extends, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, adjacent to an outer surface of the magnet that defines a height dimension of the magnet in the second direction (Fig. 2), so as to cover the outer surface of the magnet along at least the height dimension (Fig. 2); and a mounting spacer configured to hold the magnet in a fixed position relative to the shield can (yoke 135, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the coil encircles an outer periphery of the lens barrel arrangement (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2); the VCM actuator further comprises: one or more additional magnets (magnet 133 and yoke 135 on left and right, Fig. 2), wherein a plurality of magnets comprising the magnet and the one or more additional magnets is distributed in a regular pattern that at least partially encircles the coil (Fig. 2); and the VCM actuator is configured to move the lens group in at least the second direction parallel to the optical axis, relative to the image sensor, to provide focus movement of an image on the image sensor (“actuator unit 130 is fastened to the upper surface of the printed circuit board 150 to accommodate the lens unit 120 and adjusts the focus of the image by moving the lens unit 120”, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the plurality of magnets comprises: bar magnets; or arced magnets (Fig. 2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tanaka and Miyazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2017/049579 to Mak et al. (hereinafter Mak).
Miiyazaki discloses a suspension arrangement comprising the one or more springs that extend, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis, from the lens barrel arrangement to one or more stationary structures of the camera (flat springs 5 and 6, Fig. 2-3), so as to suspend the lens barrel arrangement from the one or more stationary structures (Figs. 2-3); wherein the lens group and the lens barrel arrangement are a movable optics package that has a center of mass (Figs. 2-3).
Miyazaki discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a movable optics package that has a center of mass that is (i) closer, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, to the image sensor than the magnet-coil group, and (ii) further, in the second direction, from the image sensor than at least a portion of the suspension arrangement, such that the center of mass is below a bottom of the magnet-coil group and above a bottom of the suspension arrangement. Miyazaki is silent to specific embodiments of lenses held by the lens drive device, though it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that a composition, size, and weight of the lenses would have a significant result-effective impact on the system design.
Mak discloses a movable optics package (“lens moving structure”) that has a center of mass (center of gravity fg) that is proximal to the center of the spring arrangement of springs 130, 131.
Were the same design considerations in Mak to be made in Miyzaki, then the center of mass would be (i) closer, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, to the image sensor than the magnet-coil group, and (ii) further, in the second direction, from the image sensor than at least a portion of the suspension arrangement, such that the center of mass is below a bottom of the magnet-coil group and above a bottom of the suspension arrangement (Mak Fig. 11, Miyazaki Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to position the center of mass of the lens arrangement as taught by Mak with the system as disclosed by Miyazaki. The motivation would have been to reduce effects from gravity on the tilting of the lens assemble, thereby improving imaging resolution (“the movable structure 182 and the center of gravity position of the center of the spring 170 is very close to the moment of gravity acting fg is formed at the center of the spring 170 is very small, causes the axis 181 The resulting tilt is also very small. Therefore, the influence of gravity fg on the image edge resolution can be neglected, which can effectively improve the image edge resolution under different directions.”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tanaka and Miyazaki as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of WO 2017/049579 to Mak et al. (hereinafter Mak).
Kim discloses the lens group and the lens barrel arrangement are a movable optics package that has a center of mass (Fig. 2).
Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a movable optics package that has a center of mass that is (i) closer, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, to the image sensor than the magnet-coil group, and (ii) further, in the second direction, from the image sensor than at least a portion of the suspension arrangement, such that the center of mass is below a bottom of the magnet-coil group and above a bottom of the suspension arrangement. Kim is silent to specific embodiments of lenses held by the lens drive device, though it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that a composition, size, and weight of the lenses would have a significant result-effective impact on the system design.
Mak discloses a movable optics package (“lens moving structure”) that has a center of mass (center of gravity fg) that is proximal to the center of the spring arrangement of springs 130, 131.
Were the same design considerations in Mak to be made in Kim, then the center of mass would be (i) closer, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, to the image sensor than the magnet-coil group, and (ii) further, in the second direction, from the image sensor than at least a portion of the suspension arrangement, such that the center of mass is below a bottom of the magnet-coil group and above a bottom of the suspension arrangement (Mak Fig. 11, Tanaka Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to position the center of mass of the lens arrangement as taught by Mak with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to reduce effects from gravity on the tilting of the lens assemble, thereby improving imaging resolution (“the movable structure 182 and the center of gravity position of the center of the spring 170 is very close to the moment of gravity acting fg is formed at the center of the spring 170 is very small, causes the axis 181 The resulting tilt is also very small. Therefore, the influence of gravity fg on the image edge resolution can be neglected, which can effectively improve the image edge resolution under different directions.”).
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 9,800,768 to Bae, et al. (hereinafter Bae) in view of KR 20150030871 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) and JP 2007025577 to Tanaka (hereinafter Tanaka) and Miyazaki.
Regarding claim 17, Bae discloses a device (portable terminal 1, Figs. 1-2., 11-15), comprising: one or more processors (implied by “an Optical Image Stabilization (OIS) scheme moves a lens or a camera module in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis to modify a path of light so as to correct the quality of an image”; col. 1, ll. 26-36); memory (implied by “an Optical Image Stabilization (OIS) scheme moves a lens or a camera module in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis to modify a path of light so as to correct the quality of an image”; col. 1, ll. 26-36) storing program instructions executable by the one or more processors to control operations of a camera; and an outer cover (“the camera module protection structure of the electronic device 1 according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, a guide rib housing 60 surrounding at least a part of the first area 100 of the PCB 40 including the lens module 20 may be applied” and “rear case 70 may include a case hole 71 corresponding to the lens hole 23 of the lens module 20” and “camera window 74 may be attached to an upper surface of the case cover”, Figs. 1-2 and 11-15) that is distinct from the camera and that encases at least a portion of an interior space of the device (camera shown contained within housing 60 and rear case 70, Figs. 1-2 & 11-15), wherein the outer cover defines a camera turret for receiving at least a portion of the camera within the interior space (Figs. 1-2 & 11-15); and the camera, comprising: a shield can (housing 22 and insulator 78, Figs. 11-15) configured to provide electromagnetic shielding for the camera (“elastic member such as a sponge 78 may be inserted between the upper surface 22a of the lens housing 22 and the case cover 72, thereby preventing a shock from being transferred to the lens module 20”; col. 8, ll. 15-20); a lens group comprising one or more lens elements that define an optical axis (lens module 20, Figs. 1-15); an image sensor (unlabeled sensor of the “Printed Circuit Board (PCB) of a camera module” 40, Figs. 1--15) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens module 20, Figs. 1-2 and 11-15) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (“a lens barrel moves in a direction perpendicular to a lens module, an “X axis” refers to a horizontal direction of the lens module (direction perpendicular to the optical axis), and a “Y axis” refers to a vertical direction of the lens module (direction perpendicular to the optical axis and X axis)”), wherein the lens barrel comprises: a flange at a top portion of the camera (unlabeled flange of Fig. 7), and wherein the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Fig. 7), towards one or more sides of the camera
Bae discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose a VCM.
Kim discloses a camera (Fig. 2), comprising: a lens group (lens unit 120, Fig. 2) comprising one or more lens elements (lenses of lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) that define an optical axis (optical axis “O” in Fig. 2); an image sensor (image sensor 140) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (actuator unit 130 is fastened to the upper surface of the printed circuit board 150 to accommodate the lens unit 120 and adjusts the focus of the image by moving the lens unit 120” & “The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O”), wherein the lens barrel arrangement comprises: a flange (flange 121, Fig. 2) at a top portion of the camera (above image sensor 140, Fig. 2), and wherein an underside (bottom of flange 121, Fig. 2) of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis, towards one or more sides of the camera (from proximal to the optical axis to distal from the optical axis, Fig. 2); and an outer surface (unlabeled vertical wall of lens assembly 120, Fig. 2) that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis (Fig. 2), from the underside of the flange towards a bottom of the camera; and a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (magnet and coil actuator, Fig. 2) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor (“The driving signal applied by the printed circuit board 150 is applied to the coil part 132 through the terminal parts 137a and 137b and the magnet part 133 interacting with the coil part 141 The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O.”), the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group, comprising: a stationary magnet stationary relative to a shield can of the camera (“a yoke part 135 for fixing the magnet part 133“); and a coil (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet, wherein the coil is attached to the lens barrel arrangement (“a coil part 132 provided on an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin 131”, Fig. 2) to move with the lens barrel arrangement (“driving signal applied by the printed circuit board 150 is applied to the coil part 132 through the terminal parts 137a and 137b and the magnet part 133 interacting with the coil part 141 The bobbin 131 to which the lens unit 120 is fixed can be moved up and down along the optical axis direction O”), wherein the magnet-coil group is contained within a cavity that is defined by a periphery of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement such that no part of the magnet- coil group extends beyond the underside of the flange in a third direction opposite the second direction and no other magnet configured to electromagnetically interact with the coil extends beyond the underside of the flange in the third direction (Fig. 2), and wherein the magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Fig. 2) with the coil positioned between the stationary magnet and the lens barrel arrangement (Fig. 2).
It is noted that Kim is not explicit about whether the magnet is “stationary relative to a shield can of the camera”, though a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the magnet is at least relatively stationary as would be required for operation of the bobbin in being (1) provided with the coil and (2) capable of movement.
It is acknowledged that the translation of KR 20150030871 and corresponding Fig. 2 does not provide a clear structural relationship between the coil, magnet, and the shield can defining the claimed reference frame by which to define movement. Kim states that the coil is on the circumferential surface of the bobbin moving with the lenses, though the structure supporting the magnet 133 and yoke 135 relative to the circuit board 150 and cover can 110 is not sufficiently disclosed to meet the evidentiary burden of anticipation.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a VCM as taught by Kim with the system as disclosed by Bae. The motivation would have been to provide a thin mechanism for image stabilization (Abstract).
Tanaka discloses a camera (Figs. 1-3) comprising: a lens group (lenses of lens 12, Fig. 1-3) comprising one or more lens elements that define an optical axis (Fig. 1-3); an image sensor (“image sensor unit (not shown) having a filter, an image sensor, and the like is disposed on the rear side along the optical axis F of the lens driving device 1”) to capture image data based on light that passes through the lens group; a lens barrel arrangement (lens holder 26 and functionally related structures, Figs. 1-3) within which at least a portion of the lens group is contained such that the lens group is movable together with the lens barrel arrangement (Figs. 1-3), wherein the lens barrel arrangement comprises: a flange (flange 26b, Figs. 1-3) at a portion of the camera (Figs. 1-3), and wherein a side of the flange extends, in a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Figs. 1-3), towards one or more sides of the camera; and an outer surface (outer surface of cylindrical portion 126a, Figs. 1-3) toward that extends, in a second direction parallel to the optical axis, from the side of the flange (Figs. 1-3); and a voice coil motor (VCM) actuator (Figs. 1-3) to move the lens group relative to the image sensor, the VCM actuator comprising: a magnet-coil group, comprising: a stationary magnet (“drive magnet 18 has a ring shape, and is fixedly disposed along the inside of the outer peripheral wall surface of the yoke 15”) stationary relative to a shield can (fixed holder 20, Figs. 1-3) of the camera (“since the drive magnet 18 is fixed to the yoke 15 and the yoke 15 is fixed to the fixed holder 20, a force acts on the drive coil 14 as a reaction”); and a coil (coil 14, Figs. 1-3) to electromagnetically interact with the magnet (“since the drive magnet 18 is fixed to the yoke 15 and the yoke 15 is fixed to the fixed holder 20, a force acts on the drive coil 14 as a reaction”), wherein the coil is attached to the lens barrel arrangement to move with the lens barrel arrangement (“lens holder 26 includes a cylindrical portion 26a that holds the lens and a flange portion 26b for attaching and fixing the drive coil 14”); wherein the magnet-coil group is substantially contained within a cavity that is defined by a periphery of the flange and the outer surface of the lens barrel arrangement such that no part of the magnet-coil group extends through the flange in a third direction opposite the second direction (Figs. 1-3) and no other magnet configured to electromagnetically interact with the coil extends beyond the side of the flange in the third direction (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the stationary magnet and the coil are oppositely disposed in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis with the coil positioned between the stationary magnet and the lens barrel arrangement (Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnet-coil arrangement as taught by Tanaka with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a “small and thin” system form factor, limit “distorted” lens motion inclined relative to an optical axis, while enabling overall lens stability.
Bae and Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a shield can forming at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, the shield can comprising an interior and an exterior wall; wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past at least an interior wall of the shield can.
Miyazaki discloses a shield can (base part 11a and cover 10, Fig. 2) forming at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, the shield can comprising an interior and an exterior wall (see labels in annotated Fig. 2 below); wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past at least an interior wall of the shield can (see annotated Fig. 2 below). It is noted that the outermost portion of the flange does not extend past every portion of the interior wall of the Myazaki cover and base, but that the outermost portion of the flange extends past a portion pf the interior wall. This is analogous to Applicant’s embodiment in Figs. 1 and 2B showing the outermost portion of the flange extending past one portion of the shield can but not the other.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the relative position of flange portion and interior wall as taught by Miyazaki with the system as disclosed by Bae and Kim. The motivation would have been to provide a reduced shape of a lens drive device, accommodating the optical and mechanical systems in a form factor that aims to miniaturize the overall system (col. 4, ll. 11-48). Relative to the Kim design, the Miyazki design accomplishes greater compactness by reducing the footprint of the base relative to the cover, thus providing the claimed relationship between an upper portion of the system (i.e. flange width) and a lower portion of the system (i.e. shield can walls near imager).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Kim, Tanaka, and Miyazaki as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of WO 2017/049579 to Mak et al. (hereinafter Mak).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the lens group and the lens barrel arrangement are a movable optics package that has a center of mass (Fig. 2).
Kim discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a movable optics package that has a center of mass that is (i) closer, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, to the image sensor than the magnet-coil group, and (ii) further, in the second direction, from the image sensor than at least a portion of the suspension arrangement, such that the center of mass is below a bottom of the magnet-coil group and above a bottom of the suspension arrangement. Kim is silent to specific embodiments of lenses held by the lens drive device, though it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that a composition, size, and weight of the lenses would have a significant result-effective impact on the system design.
Mak discloses a movable optics package (“lens moving structure”) that has a center of mass (center of gravity fg) that is proximal to the center of the spring arrangement of springs 130, 131.
Were the same design considerations in Mak to be made in Kim, then the center of mass would be (i) closer, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, to the image sensor than the magnet-coil group, and (ii) further, in the second direction, from the image sensor than at least a portion of the suspension arrangement, such that the center of mass is below a bottom of the magnet-coil group and above a bottom of the suspension arrangement (Mak Fig. 11, Tanaka Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to position the center of mass of the lens arrangement as taught by Mak with the system as disclosed by Kim. The motivation would have been to reduce effects from gravity on the tilting of the lens assemble, thereby improving imaging resolution (“the movable structure 182 and the center of gravity position of the center of the spring 170 is very close to the moment of gravity acting fg is formed at the center of the spring 170 is very small, causes the axis 181 The resulting tilt is also very small. Therefore, the influence of gravity fg on the image edge resolution can be neglected, which can effectively improve the image edge resolution under different directions.”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the camera further comprises: a shield can (cover can 110, Fig. 2) that forms at least a portion of one or more sides of the camera, wherein the shield can extends, in the second direction parallel to the optical axis, adjacent to an outer surface of the magnet that defines a height dimension of the magnet in the second direction (Fig. 2), so as to cover the outer surface of the magnet along at least the height dimension (Fig. 2); a base structure (base 136, Fig. 2) mounted on a substrate (circuit board 150, Fig 2) and positioned proximate the shield can (Fig. 2), wherein the image sensor is attached to the substrate (sensor 140 on circuit board 150, Fig. 2); and a mounting spacer (yoke 135, Fig. 2) configured to hold the magnet in a fixed position relative to the shield can (Fig. 2).
As noted in the Claim 17 rejection above, the extent to which the magnet is stationary is somewhat unclear and remedied by Tanaka.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination with other references, neither teaches nor suggests: the limitations on an upper spring and lower spring as related to a mounting spacer otherwise limited in the base and/or intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 regarding claims 8, 17, and dependents thereof have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Telephonic Interview of July 2, 2026 Advanced Prosecution
The geometry of Applicant’s invention differentiating over the prior art involves an outermost portion of the flange extending a portion of a shield can inner wall in the first direction and the outermost portion of the flange not extending past another portion of the shield can inner wall. Said differently, Applicant’s shield can extending from a base wider than the flange to a magnet-coil arrangement narrower than the flange provides a differentiating structure over the cited prior art.
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 15 And 16 Are Patentable Over And Combination of The Cited References:
Independent Claim 17 Is Patentable Over Any Combination of The Cited References
On pages 13-14 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the references fail to disclose the claimed electromagnetic shielding. Examiner respectfully disagrees the breadth of the claimed “electromagnetic shielding” extends beyond RF shielding and includes visible light shielding. Even semi-opaque housing structures necessarily shield the optical and imaging system from electromagnetic radiation within the visible spectrum. Examiner acknowledges that the prior art structures do not appear to disclose RF shielding structures.
Examiner-Proposed Amendment
The following examiner-proposed amendment would overcome the obviousness suggested by the prior art cited above:
Claim 1: “…wherein an outermost portion of the flange, in the first direction orthogonal to the optical axis and away from the lens group, extends past [[at least an]] a first portion of the interior wall of the shield can distal from the image sensor and does not extend past a second portion of the interior wall proximal to the image sensor…”
While this is exemplary language, alternative language could limit different portions of the interior wall in the claimed “second direction” or along the claimed “optical axis”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872