DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12/8/2025 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-13, and 17-21 remain pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13, and 17-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 21, and thus all of their dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein the controller being configured to actuate the manipulator to apply tension and compression forces to the engaged tissue by alternatively expanding and contracting the arms of the manipulator in a cyclic pattern, and to delivery RF energy during at least a portion of the mechanical manipulation cycle, in a timed sequence responsive to a feedback signal form a force sensor coupled to the projections”, however there is no mention of the manipulator’s arms expanding or contracting in a cyclical pattern, as well as the presence of a force sensor, anywhere in Applicant’s specification and/or drawings. Rather, Paragraphs 0019-0021 describe the manual raking motion of the manipulator across the user’s skin as the means of applying tension and compression forces. Regarding claim 21, claim 21 similarity recites a limitation involving expanding and contracting the projections in a cyclical pattern, however again there is no mention of such function described in Applicant’s specification and/or drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 9-10, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlton (US 2004/0186535 A1) in view of Black (US 2017/0333280 A1) and in further view of Giraud et al. (US 2014/0142472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Knowlton discloses a system for treating tissue of a biological subject using radio frequency waves and manipulation (radio frequency source 22, Paragraph 0064; mechanical force applications surface 14 configured to apply force to user’s tissue, Paragraph 0049 and Figure 1; mechanical force and delivery of RF energy used to treat soft tissue structure, Paragraph 0066), comprising a radio frequency wave generator (radio frequency source 22 is a RF generator, Paragraph 0093); a power supply (apparatus power source, Paragraph 0065) ; a controller (controller 404, Paragraph 0112); and a director (energy delivery device 18, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0052); wherein the generator is configured for generating a radio frequency wave at a wavelength predetermined as being therapeutically beneficial for the treatment of side effects of scar tissue (the energy delivery devices comprise one or more RF electrodes that may be configured to provide selectable delivery of energy for the controlled remolding of collagen containing tissue, Paragraph 0092); the power supply is configured for supplying power to the generator for generation of the wave (power source also powers the energy delivery devices, Paragraph 0065); the controller is configured for setting the wavelength; and for adjusting a therapeutic parameter based on a feedback signal from a sensor in proximity to a treatment region (feedback control system 54 couples the sensor 346 to the energy source such that the output power from the energy delivery devices is adjusted accordingly, Paragraphs 0110-0111 and Figure 23); and the director is configured for directing the wave to the tissue (RF energy directed towards user’s skin via energy delivery devices 18, Paragraph 0056); the director configured as including at least one claw-shaped manipulator having radially extending arms (see mechanical application surface 14 comprising two radially extending arms, forming a claw-like shape, Figure 1) terminating in dome topped projections (see ends of each radially extending arm of the mechanical application surface 14 terminating in a round, dome topped projection, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0057), wherein each dome-topped projection comprises a smooth hemispherical surface configured to engage the tissue (see ends of each radially extending arm of the mechanical application surface 14 terminating in a smooth, hemispherical surface intended to apply force to the user’s skin, Figure 1 and Paragraph 0057), wherein the controller is configured to deliver RF energy during at least a portion of the mechanical manipulation cycle in a time sequence responsive to a feedback signal from a force sensor coupled to the projections (the delivery of energy via the energy delivery device 18 and the force applied by force application surface 14 can be regulated by a feedback control system 54, Paragraph 0057; sensors 23 coupled to mechanical application surface 14 are used to measure applied force of pressure to the tissue and used for feedback control, Paragraphs 0061-0062) , and wherein the mechanical manipulation and RF energy delivery are coordinated to disrupt scar adhesions and promote tissue remolding (applied energy and mechanical force is delivered to remodel soft tissue and induce formation of scar collagen, Paragraph 0088).
However, although Knowlton teaches a claw-shaped manipulator comprising two radially extending arms (Figure 1), Knowlton doesn’t explicitly state the manipulator having three or more radially extending arms, the projections being arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart to engage target tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scare tissue, and is silent wherein the controller being configured to actuate the manipulator to apply tension and compression forces to the engaged tissue by alternately expanding and contracting the arms of the manipulator in a cyclic pattern. The Examiner notes the 112a rejection presented above related to the newly added limitations.
In regards to the manipulator having three or more radially extending arms, with the projections being arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart to engage target tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue, Black teaches a tissue treatment device (device 100, Figure 1 and Abstract) comprising a manipulator having three or more radially extending arms with projections being arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart (see flower members 106a-106d comprising three or more radially extending arms, terminating in round projections arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart, Figures 1-4 and Paragraph 0045), wherein the projections target tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue (the Examiner notes the shape/arrangement of the radially extending arms of Black’s flower members 106a-106d possess the same general shape as Applicant’s claw manipulator, therefore fully capable of targeting tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue; see also Paragraph 0045 describing device 100 being utilized to help treat or adjust fascia tissue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Knowlton’s tissue treatment device by including an additional radially extending arm of the manipulator, to therefore have three or more radially extending arms, as taught by Black, as providing three or more radially extending arms arranged in a circular arrangement allows for greater tissue contact area and may enhance the effects of the mechanical application surface.
In regards to the controller being configured to actuate the manipulator to apply tension and compression forces to the engaged tissue by alternately expanding and contracting the arms of the manipulator in a cyclic pattern, Giraud teaches a claw-shaped massage manipulator (massage head 8 includes two claws 49, 50, Paragraph 0061 and Figures 12-13) such a controller actuates the claw-shaped manipulator to apply tension and compression forces to the tissue by alternating expanding and contracting the arms of the manipulator in a cyclic pattern (claws 49, 50 expand and contact and move in the directions as shown in Figures 12-13; a control mechanism configured to control the drive mechanism of the massaging head, therefore fully capable of driving the claws in an alternating cyclical pattern, Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Knowlton’s tissue treatment device to include a controller configured to actuate the arms of the manipulator in an expanding/contracting manner, to therefore apply tension and compression to the tissue, as taught by Giraud, as providing a means of driving the manipulating arms in an alternating manner enhances the overall massaging effect to the user’s tissue.
Regarding claim 2, Knowlton further discloses wherein the wave generates heat at a temperature predetermined as therapeutically beneficial for treatments of scar tissue side effects (energy delivery device 18 produces heat, Paragraph 0067; heat is used to as a therapeutic means of treating tissue, Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 5, Knowlton further discloses wherein the director is configured for directing the wave to the tissue by placement of the director adjacent the tissue (energy delivery device 18 directs the RF energy by placement of the device on the tissue, Paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 7, Knowlton further discloses wherein placement of the director adjacent the tissue includes maintenance of the director adjacent the tissue for a time period predetermined as therapeutically beneficial for treatments of side effects of scar tissue (the feedback control system 54 maintains the selected energy of the RF electrode for a selected amount of time, Paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 9, Knowlton further teaches wherein the director is configured for directing the wave to the tissue by movement of the director across the tissue (energy delivery device 18 fully capable of being moved across the tissue, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Knowlton further teaches wherein the movement of the director across the tissue includes a plurality of movements across the tissue, one or more of the movements being applied in a direction, one or more others of the movements being applied in another direction (energy delivery device 18 fully capable of being moved across the tissue in a variety of directions, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Knowlton further teaches wherein the manipulator is configured for manipulation of the tissue by manual application of force to the tissue by an operator using the system on a patient (mechanical application force surface 10 can apply pressure, suction, adhesive forces and the like in order to create an extension or compression of the soft tissue structure and/or the skin surface, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 18, Knowlton further teaches wherein the force includes one or both of a compressive and tension force (see mechanical application surface 14 having a claw like shape with two left and right projections, Figure 1; mechanical application surface 14 is configured to apply pressure, suction, adhesive forces and the like in order to create an extension or compression of the soft tissue structure and/or the skin surface, Paragraph 0116), and wherein the force includes one or both of a compressive force and a tension force (a mechanical force application surface 14 can be configured to apply pressure, suction, adhesive forces and the like in order to create an extension or compression of the soft tissue at the treatment site, Paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 19, Knowlton further teaches wherein the force includes a compressive force and a tension force (a mechanical force application surface 14 can be configured to apply pressure, suction, adhesive forces and the like in order to create an extension or compression of the soft tissue at the treatment site, Paragraph 0116), the compressive force applied substantially toward a body of the subject and the tension force applied substantially perpendicular to the compression force (a compressive mechanical force 120 can be applied substantially perpendicular direction 120d to the skin or tissue surface 9' (therefore applied substantially toward the skin) while a second tensile mechanical force is 130 is applied parallel or substantially parallel direction 130d to the skin or tissue surface (therefore perpendicular to compressive force 120), Paragraph 0219 and Figure 36)).
Regarding claim 20, Knowlton further teaches wherein the forces are applied in a plurality of raking movements across the tissue, one or more of the raking movements being applied in a direction, one or more others of the raking movements being applied in another direction (the combined compression and tangential forces 120 and 130 can be applied entirely by the movement or manipulation of the probe 112, therefore the device is fully capable of applying forces in a plurality of raking movements across the tissue in various directions, Paragraph 0221).
Regarding claim 21, Knowlton discloses a system for treating scar tissue of a biological subject (radio frequency source 22, Paragraph 0064; mechanical force applications surface 14 configured to apply force to user’s tissue, Paragraph 0049 and Figure 1; mechanical force and delivery of RF energy used to treat soft tissue structure, Paragraph 0066; see also Paragraph 0089 describing the device being used in treating scar tissue), comprising a radio frequency wave generator (radio frequency source 22 is a RF generator, Paragraph 0093); configured for generating a radio frequency wave at a wavelength predetermined as being therapeutically beneficial for the treatment of side effects of scar tissue (the energy delivery devices comprise one or more RF electrodes that may be configured to provide selectable delivery of energy for the controlled remolding of collagen containing tissue, Paragraph 0092) a power supply (apparatus power source, Paragraph 0065) configured for supplying power to the generator for generation of the wave (power source also powers the energy delivery devices, Paragraph 0065) a controller configured for setting the wavelength (feedback control system 54 couples the sensor 346 to the energy source such that the output power from the energy delivery devices is adjusted accordingly, Paragraphs 0110-0111 and Figure 23) and a director configured for directing the wave to the tissue (RF energy directed towards user’s skin via energy delivery devices 18, Paragraph 0056), the director configured as including at least one-claw shaped manipulator comprising dome topped projections (see mechanical application surface 14 comprising two radially extending arms, forming a claw-like shape, Figure 1), the claw shaped manipulator to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue (use of the device induces scar collagen, Paragraph 0085), wherein the claw-shaped manipulator simultaneously applies tension and compression forces to the scar tissue (a mechanical force application surface 14 can be configured to apply pressure, suction, adhesive forces and the like in order to create an extension or compression of the soft tissue at the treatment site, Paragraph 0116).
However, although Knowlton teaches a claw-shaped manipulator comprising two dome topped projections (Figure 1), Knowlton doesn’t explicitly state the director configured as including at least one claw-shaped manipulator comprising at least three dome topped projections arranged in a three dimensional circular array to engage the scar tissue from multiple lateral directions, and although Knowlton further teaches the mechanical application surface 14 applying both tension and compression, Knowlton is silent wherein the claw-shaped manipulator simultaneously applies tension and compression forces to the scar tissue by alternately expanding and contracting the dome topped projections in a cyclic pattern.
In regards to the manipulator having at least three dome topped projections being arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart to engage target tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue, Black teaches a tissue treatment device (device 100, Figure 1 and Abstract) comprising a manipulator having three or more radially extending arms with projections being arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart (see flower members 106a-106d comprising three or more radially extending arms, terminating in round projections arranged in a three-dimensional circular array spaced apart, Figures 1-4 and Paragraph 0045), wherein the projections target tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue (the Examiner notes the shape/arrangement of the radially extending arms of Black’s flower members 106a-106d possess the same general shape as Applicant’s claw manipulator, therefore fully capable of targeting tissue from multiple lateral directions simultaneously to assist in untangling nerves in scar tissue; see also Paragraph 0045 describing device 100 being utilized to help treat or adjust fascia tissue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Knowlton’s tissue treatment device by including an additional radially extending arm of the manipulator, to therefore have three or more radially extending arms, as taught by Black, as providing three or more radially extending arms arranged in a circular arrangement allows for greater tissue contact area and may enhance the effects of the mechanical application surface.
In regards to the controller being configured to actuate the manipulator to apply tension and compression forces to the engaged tissue by alternately expanding and contracting the arms of the manipulator in a cyclic pattern, Giraud teaches a claw-shaped massage manipulator (massage head 8 includes two claws 49, 50, Paragraph 0061 and Figures 12-13) such a controller actuates the claw-shaped manipulator to apply tension and compression forces to the tissue by alternating expanding and contracting the arms of the manipulator in a cyclic pattern (claws 49, 50 expand and contact and move in the directions as shown in Figures 12-13; a control mechanism configured to control the drive mechanism of the massaging head, therefore fully capable of driving the claws in an alternating cyclical pattern, Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Knowlton’s tissue treatment device to include a controller configured to actuate the arms of the manipulator in an expanding/contracting manner, to therefore apply tension and compression to the tissue, as taught by Giraud, as providing a means of driving the manipulating arms in an alternating manner enhances the overall massaging effect to the user’s tissue.
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlton (US 2004/0186535 A1) in view of Black (US 2017/0333280 A1), Giraud et al. (US 2014/0142472 A1) and in further view of Bean (US 2014/0121631 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Knowlton in view of Black and Giraud teach the system of claim 2, and although Knowlton teaches the application of heat (Paragraph 0067), Knowlton doesn’t explicitly state wherein the temperature is one or more of inclusively between 35 and 55 degrees Celsius.
However, Bean teaches a tissue treatment device (Abstract and Figure 1) configured to apply RF energy to a user’s tissue (energy may be a radio-frequency energy source, Paragraph 0025) wherein the temperature is one or more of inclusively between 35 and 55 degrees Celsius (system 10 provides localized heating of target spots on the skin of a patient by the application of optical laser energy to the spot, at a maintained temperature of preferably greater than about 39 degrees Celsius and less than 45 degrees Celsius, Paragraph 0080-0081; the temperature of the skin is raised to a known value based on the exact depth and area of the skin where a thermal response is desired, to promote a desirable cellular response, Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Knowlton’s tissue treatment device by having the temperature of the applied heat be between 35 and 55 degrees Celsius, as taught by Bean, as such a temperature is a safe and effective temperature to be applied to the user’s skin while still being therapeutic in the treatment of scar tissue (Paragraph 0024 of Bean).
Regarding claim 4, Bean further teaches the temperature is determined based on a depth of the scar tissue (a more ideal treatment for skin disease, skin ailments, skin wrinkles, and the like is to raise the temperature of the skin to a known value based on the exact depth and area of the skin where a thermal response is desired, to promote a desirable cellular response, Paragraph 0010).
Claims 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlton (US 2004/0186535 A1) in view of Black (US 2017/0333280 A1), Giraud et al. (US 2014/0142472 A1) and in further view of Flyash (US 2015/0328474 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Knowlton in view of Black and Giraud teach the system of claim 7, however doesn’t explicitly state the time period is one or more of inclusively between 1 and 15 minutes.
However, Flyash teaches a skin treatment device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a radio frequency wave generator (skin heating energy source 116 may be a RF energy generator, Paragraph 0040 and Figure 1) and a director configured to direct the RF energy to the user’s skin (applicator 104 slides across user’s skin, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 1) wherein the time period is one or more of inclusively between 1 and 15 minutes (the treatment process includes spending the necessary time on each treatment zone until the desirable treatment end-point is reached, with the treatment continuing for an additional 1-2 minutes, Paragraph 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have Knowlton’s device apply treatment for a time period of between 1-15 minutes, as taught by Flyash, as spending an appropriate amount of time on each treatment zone may stabilize the treatment effect (Paragraph 0042) and ensure the desired tissue effect is achieved.
Regarding claim 11, Knowlton in view of Black and Giraud teach the system of claim 10, however doesn’t explicitly state wherein the plurality of movements across the tissue are applied at one or more of a therapeutically beneficial speed, a therapeutically beneficial distance, and a therapeutically beneficial time interval, as predetermined for treatments of side effects of scar tissue.
However, Flyash teaches a skin treatment device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a radio frequency wave generator (skin heating energy source 116 may be a RF energy generator, Paragraph 0040 and Figure 1) and a director configured to direct the RF energy to the user’s skin (applicator 104 slides across user’s skin, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 1) wherein the plurality of movements across the tissue are applied at one or more of a therapeutically beneficial speed, a therapeutically beneficial distance, and a therapeutically beneficial time interval, as predetermined for treatments of side effects of scar tissue (applicator 104 movement across the tissue may have various speeds, distances, and treatment times, Paragraph 0043 of Flyash; apparatus is used for skin rejuvenation, collagen remodeling and contraction, skin tightening, wrinkle treatment, subcutaneous tissue treatment, cellulite treatment, skin texture and tone improvement, therefore used in treating the side effects associated with scar tissue, Paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have Knowlton’s device configured to deliver a plurality of movements across the tissue applied at varying speeds, distances, and time intervals, as taught by Flyash, as providing various speeds, distances, and time intervals of treatment allow for a customized user experience based on the user’s specific treatment needs.
Regarding claim 12, Flyash further teaches wherein the therapeutically beneficial speed includes different speeds, the therapeutically beneficial distance includes different distances, and the therapeutically beneficial time interval includes different time intervals (applicator 104 movement across the tissue may have various speeds, distances, and treatment times, Paragraph 0043 of Flyash; apparatus is used for skin rejuvenation, collagen remodeling and contraction, skin tightening, wrinkle treatment, subcutaneous tissue treatment, cellulite treatment, skin texture and tone improvement, therefore used in treating the side effects associated with scar tissue, Paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 13, Flyash further teaches wherein the movement of the director across the tissue includes movements of alternating general direction applied at various therapeutically beneficial speeds, various therapeutically beneficial distances, and various therapeutically beneficial time intervals within a desired treatment area of the tissue (applicator 104 movement across the tissue may have various speeds, distances, and treatment times, Paragraph 0043 of Flyash; also see Figure 14 shown movement of applicator 104 across the subject’s face in various directions and distances; apparatus is used for skin rejuvenation, collagen remodeling and contraction, skin tightening, wrinkle treatment, subcutaneous tissue treatment, cellulite treatment, skin texture and tone improvement, therefore used in treating the side effects associated with scar tissue, Paragraph 0046).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlton (US 2004/0186535 A1) in view of Black (US 2017/0333280 A1), Giraud et al. (US 2014/0142472 A1) and in further view of Stern (US 8685017 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Knowlton in view of Black and Giraud teach the the system of claim 5, however is silent the wave penetrating the tissue to one of a depth of inclusively between 2mm and 3mm as based on a depth of the scar tissue being treated.
However, Stern teaches an apparatus in which produces a desired tissue effect using radio-frequency (Abstract and Figure 1A) in which the emitted wave penetrates the tissue to a depth of between 2mm and 8mm (target tissue zone for therapy can be at a tissue from approximately 100micrometers beneath the surface of the skin down to as deep as 10mm, therefore Stern’s device penetrates the tissue to a depth within the recited range, Col. 12 lines 45-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have Knowlton’s device produce waves penetrating the tissue to depths of between 2mm and 3mm, as taught by Stern, as targeting tissues at such depths produce desired tissue effects, specifically treatments involving collagen contraction (Col. 12 lines 45-55).
Conclusion
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785