DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the pre-Appeal Brief Conference Request correspondence filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 1-18, 20-30 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
In view of the Notice of Appeal & Pre-Brief Appeal Conference filed on 02/13/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludlow et al (US20160178741A1) in view of Charvat et al (US20170328980A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ludlow teaches a device-equipped target object, comprising:
one or more memories ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories);
one or more transceiver ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories)), one or more processor configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceiver, a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal from a transmitter device ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion), the RF sensing signal configured to enable a sensing device to sense one or more target objects in an environment of the sensing device, the one or more target objects including the device-equipped target object ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion); and
transmit, via the one or more transceiver, an RF sensing response signal to the sensing device in response to reception of the RF sensing signal ([0025], [0030], [0035], establish that each node has a transceiver capable of both receiving and transmitting RF/microwave signals and that the paired nodes alternate between transmit and receive modes; teaches a first state where node 12 transmits/node 14 receives and a second state where node 14 transmits/node 12 receives with periodic switching between the two states).
the RF sensing signal configured to enable a sensing device to sense one or more target objects in an environment of the sensing device, based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the one or more target objects, the one or more target objects ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target).
However, Ludlow does not fully teach but Charvat teaches transmit, via the one or more transceiver, in response to reception of the RF sensing signal ([0136], [0138], [0140]-[0141], [0143], [0354], teaches RF/microwaves signals scattered/reflected from a target and analyzing those signals to detect the target).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 2, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the RF sensing response signal is a device-specific RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
an identifier of the sensing device is included in the device-specific RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Regarding claim 3, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the RF sensing response signal is configured to mimic a reflection of the RF sensing signal, the one or more processors further configured to:
record the RF sensing signal and retransmit, via the one or more transceivers, the recorded RF sensing signal as the RF sensing response signal after a delay, the delay indicating that the RF sensing response signal is a reflected signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Regarding claim 4, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the RF sensing response signal is transmitted a threshold period of time after reception of the RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion), and wherein:
the threshold period of time is specific to the device-equipped target object ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target),
the threshold period of time varies over time ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target),
the threshold period of time is coordinated to avoid interference among other device-equipped target objects or with wireless communication signals ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target),
the threshold period of time distinguishes the RF sensing response signal from passive reflections of RF sensing signals transmitted by the transmitter ([0035]-[0037], [0040], [0050], [0052]-[0055], [0071], [0088] teaches the claimed RF sensing exchange because its interrogator/transmitter sends an RF signal to a target device/transponder, the target device receives that RF signal and the target device transmits a responsive RF signal back to an interrogator or other interrogator/devices (third device), where the transmitted and received RF signals are used to determined time-of-flight, distance, and location of the target device/object),
the threshold period of time varies over time as a function of an identifier of the device-equipped target object or an identifier of the sensing device, or any combination thereof ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target).
Regarding claim 5, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein, to transmit the RF sensing response signal, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to transmit the RF sensing response, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to transmit the RF sensing response signal based on a signal strength measurement of the RF sensing signal being below a threshold ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target).
Regarding claim 6, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, one or more configuration parameters for the RF sensing response signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion), wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise:
a transmit power control parameter ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
a signal strength threshold for the RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
one or more occasions during which RF sensing signals are expected to be received, or any combination thereof ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Regarding claim 7, Ludlow teaches transmit, via the one or more transceiver, one or more configuration parameters for the RF sensing response signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion), wherein:
the one or more configuration parameters are transmitted to a serving base station of the device-equipped target object, the one or more configuration parameters are transmitted to the sensing device ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Claims 18, & 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludlow et al (US20160178741A1) in view of Charvat et al (US20170328980A1) in further view of Litchford et al (US5140328A).
Regarding claim 18, Ludlow teaches a sensing device, comprising:
one or more memories ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories);
one or more transceivers ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories), one or more processor configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, and RF sensing response signal from the device-equipped target object, the RF sensing response signal configured to enable the sensing device to sense the device-equipped target object in the environment of the sensing device ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion);
and detect a presence of the device-equipped target object in the environment of the sensing device based at least on the RF sensing response signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal from a transmitter device, the RF sensing signal transmitted by the transmitter device to enable the sensing device to detect one or more target objects in the environment of the sensing device based on reflections of the RF sensing signal reflected from the one or more target objects, wherein the RF sensing signal is reflected off a device-equipped target object ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
However, Ludlow does not full teach but Litchford the transmitter and sensing device architecture (col 1 lines 63-67, col lines 33-56, claim 1 & 5, , Fig 1, 2, and 6) VSST sensing device having 1030 MHz and 1090 MHz receivers that receive RF interrogations transmitted by a separate SSR transmitter and detect and determine the position of transponder-equipped target objects based on the received interrogations and corresponding target replies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Litchford teaches the separate-transmitter/separate-sensing-device architecture, in which an SSR transmits an RF interrogation and geographically separate VSSR receiver stations receive both the interrogation and the transponder-equipped target’s reply to detect and calculate the target’s position using differential azimuth and time-of-arrival data.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 20, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the RF sensing response signal is transmitted a threshold period of time after reception of the RF sensing ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion), and wherein:
the threshold period of time is specific to the device-equipped target object ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
the threshold period of time varies over time ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
the threshold period of time is coordinated to avoid interference among other device-equipped target objects or with wireless communication signals ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
the threshold period of time distinguishes the RF sensing response signal from passive reflections of RF sensing signals transmitted by the transmitter ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
the threshold period of time varies over time as a function of an identifier of the device-equipped target object or an identifier of the sensing device, or any combination thereof ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Regarding claim 21, Charvat teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the RF sensing response signal is a device-specific RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion) , and one or more of:
an identifier of the device-equipped target object is included in the device- specific RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion) ,
an identifier of the sensing device is included in the device-specific RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion), or
an identifier of the transmitter device is included in the device-specific RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Regarding claim 22, Ludlow teaches the sensing device wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, one or more configuration parameters for the RF sensing response signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion) wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise:
a transmit power control parameter signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
a signal strength threshold for the RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
one or more occasions during which RF sensing signals are expected to be received, or any combination thereof signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion)).
Regarding claim 30, Ludlow teaches a method of wireless environment sensing performed by a device-equipped target object signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion),
receiving a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal from a transmitter device, the RF sensing signal configured to enable a sensing device to sense target objects in an environment of the sensing device, the target objects including the device equipped target object ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion); and
transmitting an RF sensing response signal to the sensing device in response to reception of the RF sensing signal ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Claims 8-17, & 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludlow in view of Charvat as applied to claims 1, and 4, above, and further in view of Koskinen et al (EP3799486) (hereinafter "Koskinen").
Regarding claim 8, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more or more transceivers, from the transmitter device, a sensing wakeup signal (SWUS) during a first window, wherein, to receive the RF sensing signal, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive the RF sensing response signal after the SWUS during a second window after the first window, and wherein reception of the SWUS during the first window indicates to the device- equipped target object to operate according to an active state to detect the RF sensing signal during the second window.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
receive, via the one or more or more transceivers, from the transmitter device, a sensing wakeup signal (SWUS) during a first window, ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation),
wherein, to receive the RF sensing signal, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive the RF sensing response signal after the SWUS during a second window after the first window, ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle, the OnDuration window 310 initiated by the WUS can be interpreted as the second window during which actual downlink channels (possibly including RF sensing signals or control data) are monitored, describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing), and
and wherein reception of the SWUS during the first window indicates to the device- equipped target object to operate according to an active state to detect the RF sensing signal during the second window. ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle, the OnDuration window 310 initiated by the WUS can be interpreted as the second window during which actual downlink channels (possibly including RF sensing signals or control data) are monitored, describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 9, Ludlow and Charvat fail to disclose the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
prior to the first window, receive, via the one or more transceiver, one or more configuration messages associated with the SWUS, the RF sensing signal, or both.
However Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processor is further configured to:
prior to the first window, receive, via the one or more transceiver, one or more configuration messages associated with the SWUS, the RF sensing signal, or both ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates one or more configuration messages to UE before timer OnDuration 310 – DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 10, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the device-equipped target object wherein:
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the first window, a detection threshold associated with the SWUS, a duration of the SWUS, a periodicity of the first window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the SWUS,
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the second window, a detection threshold associated with the RF sensing signal, a duration of the RF sensing signal, a periodicity of the second window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the RF sensing signal,
the one or more configuration messages indicate a duration of an offset time interval between the first window and the second window, a duration of the offset time interval selected based on a duration of the SWUS, or
any combination thereof.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein:
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the first window, a detection threshold associated with the SWUS, a duration of the SWUS, a periodicity of the first window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the SWUS ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS),
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the second window, a detection threshold associated with the RF sensing signal, a duration of the RF sensing signal, a periodicity of the second window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the RF sensing signal ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS),
the one or more configuration messages indicate a duration of an offset time interval between the first window and the second window, a duration of the offset time interval selected based on a duration of the SWUS ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS), or
any combination thereof ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 11, Ludlow teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
determine one or more parameters associated with the SWUS, the RF sensing signal, or both based on a first identifier (ID) of the transmitter device, a second ID of the device-equipped target object, or a time value indicated by a clock accessible to the device-equipped target object ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target).
Regarding claim 12, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the device-equipped target object wherein: the first window is based on one or more communication intervals associated with communication by one or both of the transmitter device or the device- equipped target object, and the one or more communication intervals include one or more of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a paging occasion (PO), or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein:
the first window is selected based on one or more communication intervals associated with communication by one or both of the transmitter device or the device- equipped target object ([0046]-[0079], DRX cycle 330 and OnDuration timing, configuration of WUS occasions relative to DRX intervals, DRX-based decision logic (e.g. starting/stopping ODurationTimer based on WUS reception), CSI/SRS transmission behavior dependent on the DRX cycle state –directly supports communication intervals include DRX cycle limitation; WUS operation as described serves functionally similar role to paging occasion in terms of wake/sleep scheduling—by extension, if WUSs are mapped to events like POs; SSBs are related to initial access and beam management; First window is selected based on— the selection of a window (for monitoring WUS or triggering DRX OnDuration) is inherently tied to the DRX cycle configuration and timing—i.e. WUS occasions are “periodic occasions outside an active time of DRX cycle”, whether to start the DRX timer (and thus “open” a monitoring window) depends on whether WUS is received during those occasions. Thus first window is selected based on DRX is supported by this dependency between WUS detection and DRX configuration), and
the one or more communication intervals include one or more of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a paging occasion (PO), or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle ([0046]-[0079], DRX cycle 330 and OnDuration timing, configuration of WUS occasions relative to DRX intervals, DRX-based decision logic (e.g. starting/stopping ODurationTimer based on WUS reception), CSI/SRS transmission behavior dependent on the DRX cycle state –directly supports communication intervals include DRX cycle limitation; WUS operation as described serves functionally similar role to paging occasion in terms of wake/sleep scheduling—by extension, if WUSs are mapped to events like POs; SSBs are related to initial access and beam management; First window is selected based on— the selection of a window (for monitoring WUS or triggering DRX OnDuration) is inherently tied to the DRX cycle configuration and timing—i.e. WUS occasions are “periodic occasions outside an active time of DRX cycle”, whether to start the DRX timer (and thus “open” a monitoring window) depends on whether WUS is received during those occasions. Thus first window is selected based on DRX is supported by this dependency between WUS detection and DRX configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 13, Ludlow and Charvat fail to disclose the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: store multiple configurations for the SWUS corresponding to multiple modes of operation of the device-equipped target object, wherein the multiple modes of operation include a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, an RRC idle mode, and an RRC inactive mode.
However, Koskinen discloses the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processor is further configured to:
store multiple configurations for the SWUS corresponding to multiple modes of operation of the device-equipped target object, wherein the multiple modes of operation include a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, an RRC idle mode, and an RRC inactive mode ([0040], [0051], [0058], [0067]-[0078], [0076], describes a memory 420 configured to store computer instructions and information. It provides a general disclosure of device’s capability to store configurations; discusses configuration provided using RRC and stored in DRX, WUS, CSI-RS or SRS configuration, it states that such configurations can be separately configured, suggesting the ability to store multiple configurations; reference to configurations related to WUS and DRX behavior, suggesting the device supports different operating behaviors based on context, implication the capability to store multiple WUS-related configurations (ON/OFF duration) in RRC modes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 14, Ludlow and Charvat fail to disclose the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processor, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: communicate, via the one or more transceivers, with the transmitter device based on a wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS corresponds to a physical layer (PHY) signal having a layer one (L1) signal format associated with a protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol; or communicate, via the one or more transceivers, with the transmitter device based on the wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS has a layer two (L2) signal format associated with the protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processor is further configured to:
communicate, via the one or more transceivers, with the transmitter device based on a wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS corresponds to a physical layer (PHY) signal having a layer one (L1) signal format associated with a protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol ([0039], [0047]-[0050], several disclosures suggest the SWUS (WUS) corresponds to or is implemented as a DCI message, DCI is typically a Layer 1 (PHY) construct in 3GPP systems for LTE/NR, this implies that WUS corresponds to a L1 signal format, satisfying at least part of this limitation, the reference to DCI format and scrambling with RNTI indicates the WUS may be implemented as a PHY-layer signal the L1 aspect, L2 implied with base station node connected with intermediate node); or
communicate, via the one or more transceivers, with the transmitter device based on the wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS has a layer two (L2) signal format associated with the protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol ([0039], [0047]-[0050], several disclosures suggest the SWUS (WUS) corresponds to or is implemented as a DCI message, DCI is typically a Layer 1 (PHY) construct in 3GPP systems for LTE/NR, this implies that WUS corresponds to a L1 signal format, satisfying at least part of this limitation, the reference to DCI format and scrambling with RNTI indicates the WUS may be implemented as a PHY-layer signal the L1 aspect, L2 implied with base station node connected with intermediate node).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 15, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the device-equipped target object wherein the SWUS has a downlink control information (DCI) signal format.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the SWUS has a downlink control information (DCI) signal format ([0047]-[0050], several disclosures suggest the SWUS (WUS) corresponds to or is implemented as a DCI message, DCI is typically a Layer 1 (PHY) construct in 3GPP systems for LTE/NR, this implies that WUS corresponds to a L1 signal format, satisfying at least part of this limitation, the reference to DCI format and scrambling with RNTI indicates the WUS may be implemented as a PHY-layer signal the L1 aspect).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 16, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the device-equipped target object wherein: the SWUS and the RF sensing signal have a common signal format, and the SWUS corresponds to a repetition of the RF sensing signal having a particular duration and a particular pattern.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein:
the SWUS and the RF sensing signal have a common signal format ([0047]-[0050], [0053], [0073]-[0079], common signal format between SWUS and RF sensing signal—the WUS is described as a DCI format scrambled with a specific RNTI meaning it has a defined signal structure (format); describe reuse of UL transmissions (i.e. CSI/SRS) and triggered behaviors that resemble SWUS-like operation; by extension, if a signal with a known format (WUS or CSI/SRS) is reused for sensing and wake-up purposes, a common format between SWUS and RF sensing signal is implied, especially when those signals are reused for both purposes (control and sensing). CSI/SRS is used despite lack of WUS and the network configures the behavior accordingly—there is an implied dual purpose for certain transmissions potentially a shared signal format for sensing and SWUS), and
the SWUS corresponds to a repetition of the RF sensing signal having a particular duration and a particular pattern ([0047]-[0050], [0053], [0073]-[0079], SWUS corresponds to a repetition of the RF sensing signal having a particular duration and pattern—described WUS occasions 305 that are periodic, non-overlapping with OnDuration, and clearly timed, this satisfied the particular duration and particular pattern of the limitation; further description for behavior about periodicity of WUS (or the absence), including fallbacks and timing of CSI-SRS transmission, relying on repeated, structured occurrences of WUS occasions; this means the SWUS (WUS) is repeated in a defined temporal structure, aligning with the claimed “repetition…having a particular duration and a particular pattern”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 17, Ludlow and Charvat fails to teach the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processors either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transition from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation to receive the SWUS, wherein the first mode of operation corresponds to a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the second mode of operation corresponds to an RRC connected mode.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processor is further configured to: transition from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation to receive the SWUS, wherein the first mode of operation corresponds to a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the second mode of operation corresponds to an RRC connected mode ([0058]-[0078], [0067]-[0075], transition between RRC states seen in OFF/ON duration, describes the UE transitioning between low-power monitoring and performing active uplink tasks like CSI and SRS, based on WUS reception and whether the onDurationTimer is started, These behaviors are analogous to transitioning from idle/inactive (low-power DRX/WUS states) to connected (active CSI/SRS reporting modes, but no RRC mode names are used explicitly), concept of mode transition based on WUS is present—RRC modes connected to transitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 23, Charvat teaches a first device, comprising:
one or more memories ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories));
one or more transceivers ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories)); and
one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the one or more transceiver ([0031], transceiver, processor for communication and memories)),
one or more processors configured to: and receive, via the one or more transceiver, a response to the RF sensing signal from the second device ([0025]-[0029], [0030]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], disclose spaced sensor nodes forming a bidirectional bistatic radar link, receiving signals deflected or scattered from a target in a detection zone, detecting changes caused by the target, and processing the resulting signature to determine the target’s presence; further disclose RSSi processing, threshold detection, and pattern-recognition processing for sensing and classifying the target).
But Ludlow fails to teach the one or more processor configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceiver, a sensing wakeup signal (SWUS) to a second device during a first window; after transmission of the SWUS, transmit, via the one or more transceiver, a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal to the second device during a second window after the first window, wherein transmitting the SWUS during the first window indicates to the second device to operate according to an active state to detect the RF sensing signal during the second window.
However, Charvat teaches transmit, via the one or more transceiver, a sensing wakeup signal (SWUS) to a second device during a first window ([0136], [0138], [0140]-[0141], [0143], [0354], teaches RF/microwaves signals scattered/reflected from a target and analyzing those signals to detect the target).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
However Charvat does not fully teach but Koskinen teaches the one or more processor configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceiver, a sensing wakeup signal (SWUS) to a second device during a first window ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation);
after transmission of the SWUS, transmit, via the one or more transceiver, a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal to the second device during a second window after the first window ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle, the OnDuration window 310 initiated by the WUS can be interpreted as the second window during which actual downlink channels (possibly including RF sensing signals or control data) are monitored, describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing), wherein transmitting the SWUS during the first window indicates to the second device to operate according to an active state to detect the RF sensing signal during the second window ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle, the OnDuration window 310 initiated by the WUS can be interpreted as the second window during which actual downlink channels (possibly including RF sensing signals or control data) are monitored, describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 24, Ludlow and Charvat fail to disclose the first device wherein the one or more processor, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
prior to the first window, transmit, via the one or more transceiver, one or more configuration messages associated with the SWUS, the RF sensing signal, or both.
However Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processor is further configured to:
prior to the first window, receive, via the one or more transceiver, one or more configuration messages associated with the SWUS, the RF sensing signal, or both ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates one or more configuration messages to UE before timer OnDuration 310 – DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 25, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the first device wherein:
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the first window, a detection threshold associated with the SWUS, a duration of the SWUS, a periodicity of the first window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the SWUS,
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the second window, a detection threshold associated with the RF sensing signal, a duration of the RF sensing signal, a periodicity of the second window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the RF sensing signal,
the one or more configuration messages indicate a duration of an offset time interval between the first window and the second window, a duration of the offset time interval selected based on a duration of the SWUS, or
any combination thereof.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein:
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the first window, a detection threshold associated with the SWUS, a duration of the SWUS, a periodicity of the first window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the SWUS ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS),
the one or more configuration messages indicate one or more of a duration of the second window, a detection threshold associated with the RF sensing signal, a duration of the RF sensing signal, a periodicity of the second window, or semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of the RF sensing signal ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS),
the one or more configuration messages indicate a duration of an offset time interval between the first window and the second window, a duration of the offset time interval selected based on a duration of the SWUS ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS), or
any combination thereof ([0046]-[0051], [0054]-[0079], First window & SWUS reception – describes wake up signal (WUS) occasions 305 during which the UE may receive a WUS, these are time bounded occasions configured as part of a DRX cycle; WUS as a trigger to start a timer (OnDuration 310) which maps to the “first window” in the claim, during which the SWUS (analogous to WUS) is received, by context SWUS is WUS or a trigger to wake up for subsequent activity they are functionally aligned; indicates to operate according to an active state—the WUS prompting the UE to start the OnDuration timer, indicating entry into an “active” monitoring state which aligns with the claim limitation; describes behavior during and after WUS reception (uplink tasks, reporting, link management), CSI reporting, SRS transmission, and monitoring the PDCCH, which relates to RF channel estimation or beam management—implication of RF sensing; DRX configuration analogous to prior to first window or OnDuration receive configuration messages associated with WUS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 26, Ludlow teaches the first device wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
determine one or more parameters associated with the SWUS, the RF sensing signal, or both based on a first identifier (ID) of the first device, a second ID of the second device, or a time value indicated by a clock accessible to the second device ([0025]-[0029], teaches first and second nodes, each having a transceiver for sending and receiving wireless signals over a bidirectional link; states that signals reaching the receiving node after deflection from an object in the detection zone are multipath signals 16B, and identifies those signals as RF/microwave electromagnetic signals; receiving transceiver is expressly capable of detecting multipath signals scattered from target 24 and movement of target 24 creates detectable amplitude/phase changes used to determine intrusion).
Regarding claim 27, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the first device wherein: the first window is based on one or more communication intervals associated with communication by one or both of the first device or the second device, and the one or more communication intervals include one or more of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a paging occasion (PO), or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
However, Koskinen teaches the first device object wherein:
the first window is based on one or more communication intervals associated with communication by one or both of the first device or the second device ([0046]-[0079], DRX cycle 330 and OnDuration timing, configuration of WUS occasions relative to DRX intervals, DRX-based decision logic (e.g. starting/stopping ODurationTimer based on WUS reception), CSI/SRS transmission behavior dependent on the DRX cycle state –directly supports communication intervals include DRX cycle limitation; WUS operation as described serves functionally similar role to paging occasion in terms of wake/sleep scheduling—by extension, if WUSs are mapped to events like POs; SSBs are related to initial access and beam management; First window is selected based on— the selection of a window (for monitoring WUS or triggering DRX OnDuration) is inherently tied to the DRX cycle configuration and timing—i.e. WUS occasions are “periodic occasions outside an active time of DRX cycle”, whether to start the DRX timer (and thus “open” a monitoring window) depends on whether WUS is received during those occasions. Thus first window is selected based on DRX is supported by this dependency between WUS detection and DRX configuration), and
the one or more communication intervals include one or more of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a paging occasion (PO), or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle ([0046]-[0079], DRX cycle 330 and OnDuration timing, configuration of WUS occasions relative to DRX intervals, DRX-based decision logic (e.g. starting/stopping ODurationTimer based on WUS reception), CSI/SRS transmission behavior dependent on the DRX cycle state –directly supports communication intervals include DRX cycle limitation; WUS operation as described serves functionally similar role to paging occasion in terms of wake/sleep scheduling—by extension, if WUSs are mapped to events like POs; SSBs are related to initial access and beam management; First window is selected based on— the selection of a window (for monitoring WUS or triggering DRX OnDuration) is inherently tied to the DRX cycle configuration and timing—i.e. WUS occasions are “periodic occasions outside an active time of DRX cycle”, whether to start the DRX timer (and thus “open” a monitoring window) depends on whether WUS is received during those occasions. Thus first window is selected based on DRX is supported by this dependency between WUS detection and DRX configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 28, Ludlow and Charvat fail to teach the first device wherein: the SWUS and the RF sensing signal have a common signal format, and the SWUS corresponds to a repetition of the RF sensing signal having a particular duration and a particular pattern.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein:
the SWUS and the RF sensing signal have a common signal format ([0047]-[0050], [0053], [0073]-[0079], common signal format between SWUS and RF sensing signal—the WUS is described as a DCI format scrambled with a specific RNTI meaning it has a defined signal structure (format); describe reuse of UL transmissions (i.e. CSI/SRS) and triggered behaviors that resemble SWUS-like operation; by extension, if a signal with a known format (WUS or CSI/SRS) is reused for sensing and wake-up purposes, a common format between SWUS and RF sensing signal is implied, especially when those signals are reused for both purposes (control and sensing). CSI/SRS is used despite lack of WUS and the network configures the behavior accordingly—there is an implied dual purpose for certain transmissions potentially a shared signal format for sensing and SWUS), and
the SWUS corresponds to a repetition of the RF sensing signal having a particular duration and a particular pattern ([0047]-[0050], [0053], [0073]-[0079], SWUS corresponds to a repetition of the RF sensing signal having a particular duration and pattern—described WUS occasions 305 that are periodic, non-overlapping with OnDuration, and clearly timed, this satisfied the particular duration and particular pattern of the limitation; further description for behavior about periodicity of WUS (or the absence), including fallbacks and timing of CSI-SRS transmission, relying on repeated, structured occurrences of WUS occasions; this means the SWUS (WUS) is repeated in a defined temporal structure, aligning with the claimed “repetition…having a particular duration and a particular pattern”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Regarding claim 29, Ludlow and Charvat fail to disclose the first device wherein the one or more processor, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: communicate, via the one or more transceiver, with the second device based on a wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS corresponds to a physical layer (PHY) signal having a layer one (L1) signal format associated with a protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol; or communicate, via the one or more transceiver, with the second device based on the wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS has a layer two (L2) signal format associated with the protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol.
However, Koskinen teaches the device-equipped target object wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
communicate, via the one or more transceiver, with the second device based on a wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS corresponds to a physical layer (PHY) signal having a layer one (L1) signal format associated with a protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol ([0039], [0047]-[0050], several disclosures suggest the SWUS (WUS) corresponds to or is implemented as a DCI message, DCI is typically a Layer 1 (PHY) construct in 3GPP systems for LTE/NR, this implies that WUS corresponds to a L1 signal format, satisfying at least part of this limitation, the reference to DCI format and scrambling with RNTI indicates the WUS may be implemented as a PHY-layer signal the L1 aspect, L2 implied with base station node connected with intermediate node); or
communicate, via the one or more transceiver, with the second device based on the wireless communication protocol, wherein the SWUS has a layer two (L2) signal format associated with the protocol stack specified by the wireless communication protocol ([0039], [0047]-[0050], several disclosures suggest the SWUS (WUS) corresponds to or is implemented as a DCI message, DCI is typically a Layer 1 (PHY) construct in 3GPP systems for LTE/NR, this implies that WUS corresponds to a L1 signal format, satisfying at least part of this limitation, the reference to DCI format and scrambling with RNTI indicates the WUS may be implemented as a PHY-layer signal the L1 aspect, L2 implied with base station node connected with intermediate node).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charvat’s RF micro-localization system to incorporate Ludlow’s bistatic radar so that Charvet’s interrogator/sensing device senses device equipped target objects based on RF signal reflections from those objects. Charvat teaches an interrogator transmitting an RF signal to a target device/transponder, which receives the RF signal and transmits a responsive RF signal used to determine time-of-flight, distance, and location. Ludlow teaches a bidirectional bistatic radar system that senses and classifies targets by analyzing target-induced changes in received RSSI and multipath signal signatures. Lastly, Koskinen discloses a method for uplink transmissions when using wakeup signals.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Ludlow’s bistatic radar system with Charvat because both references use Rf signals and responsive signals from device-equipped target objects to identify, sense, or locate those objects. The modification would have predictably improve Charvat’s system by allowing target information to be obtained based on reflected/backscattered RF signals, thereby supporting low-power RF sensing/localization using know RFID-style reflection techniques. Thus, Charvat in view of Ludlow teaches or suggests an RF sensing signal configured to enable sensing of device-equipped target objects based on reflections of the RF signal reflected from the target objects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bengstsson et al (US20220163651A1) discloses Radar probing using radio communication terminals
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419