DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendment overcomes the art of record. Examiner disagrees. As seen below Claim 1 is still anticipated by Ogami however, it is anticipated by another embodiment of Ogami. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially parallel” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially parallel” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such the it is indefinite what is meant by the term “substantially parallel”. For purposes of compact prosecution Examiner has interpreted the limitation to mean “parallel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogami JP 2008211025.
Regarding claim 1, Ogami teaches An optical module (Figs. 1, 3) comprising:
an optical element (Figs. 3, LD Page 4 Paragraph 6 “Here, as shown in FIG. 3, a semiconductor laser element (LD)”); and
a thermoelectric module on which the optical element is mounted (Fig. 1, 20), wherein the thermoelectric module includes a first substrate (Fig. 1, 21), a second substrate disposed to face the first substrate (Fig. 1, 22), and a plurality of thermoelectric elements provided between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 1, 23), and a pattern (Fig. 1, 15) made of a material different from a material of the first substrate (Description Page 5 Paragraph 4 “Here, the upper substrate 21 and the lower substrate 22 are formed of a ceramic material such as alumina (Al2O3), alumina nitride (AlN), or silicon carbide (SiC).” Page 5 Paragraph 2 “The jig 15 is provided to support and fix the semiconductor laser element unit 10. It is made of an iron-nickel-cobalt alloy (for example, Kovar), an iron-based material, a copper-based material, and an aluminum-based material”) is formed on a surface of the first substrate that is opposite to a back surface of the first substrate that faces the second substrate (Fig. 1 shows 15 is formed on the first substrate), and
the optical element is a semiconductor laser element (Description Page 4 Paragraph 6 “Here, as shown in FIG. 3, a semiconductor laser element (LD)”) which is mounted on the first substrate via a submount (Fig. 1, 11. Fig. 1 shows the submount 11 is connected to the substrate via the pattern 15) such that the semiconductor laser element is not directly associated with the pattern (Fig. 1 shows the semiconductor laser element is not directly associated with the pattern) and
the pattern protrudes form the first substrate and is arranged beside the submount such that a side surface of the pattern faces a side surface of the submount. (Fig. 1 shows 15 protrudes from the first substrate and a side surface of the pattern faces a side surface of the submount)
Regarding claim 5, Ogami teaches the submount is fixed to the first substrate with a thermally conductive material. (Fig. 1, 21b Page 6 Paragraph 1 “Here, a metallized layer 21b is formed on the surface of the upper substrate 21 (in this case, the upper surface) in order to facilitate bonding of the jig 15 of the semiconductor laser element unit 10” 21b is a thermally conductive material which fixes the submount to the first substrate with the help of the pattern 15.
Regarding claim 9, Ogami teaches the pattern is a marker configured to position the submount having the semiconductor laser element provided thereon. (Page 5 Paragraph 2 “The concave section 15a has a substantially semicircular cross-sectional shape, and its mounting surface (side surface) is formed to have a flat surface that matches the upper substrate 21 of the thermoelectric module 20 described later. As a result, the base portion 11 of the semiconductor laser element unit 10 is fixed (bonded) to the concave portion 15a of the jig 15, and the jig 15 is disposed on the upper substrate 21 of the thermoelectric module 20, thereby providing the semiconductor laser element. An optical axis (not shown) formed in the unit 11 is parallel to the upper substrate 21.”)
Regarding claim 10, Ogami teaches the side surface of the pattern is substantially parallel to the side surface of the submount. (See annotated Fig. 1 below)
Regarding claim 11, Ogami teaches the side surface of the pattern is in contact with the side surface of the submount (Fig. 1 shows that the side surface of the pattern 15 is in contact with the side surface of the submount 11)
Regarding claim 12, Ogami teaches the thermally conductive material is interposed between the submount and the surface of the first substrate. (Fig. 1 shows that the thermally conductive material 21b is interposed between the submount 11 and the surface of the first substrate 21)
Regarding claim 13, Ogami teaches the pattern is a flow stopper (15 is made of material that will stop flow) configured to stop flow of thermally conductive material until the thermally conductive material is cured (The limitation “configured to stop flow of thermally conductive material until the thermally conductive material is cured” recites a product by process limitation which does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The limitation, therefore cannot be relied upon to establish patentability over the prior art. See MPEP 2113.)
Regarding claim 14, Ogami teaches the pattern has a thickness larger than a thickness of the thermally conductive material (Fig. 1 shows the thickness of 15 is larger than 21b) such that the pattern is configured to stop flow of the thermally conductive material. (As stated above in Claim 13 “configured to stop flow of the thermally conductive material” recites a product by process limitation which does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The limitation, therefore cannot be relied upon to establish patentability over the prior art. See MPEP 2113.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakae et al. US 20050083568 teaches many of the features found in the claimed invention.
/STEPHEN SUTTON KOTTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828