DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 01/08/2026.
Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on December 03, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 03 December, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 10, 13, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 10, 13 and 19 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0358689), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of LEE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0322775), (“D2”, hereinafter), and further in view of LEE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0322821), (“D3”, hereinafter)
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a data request ([see, [0106], and Fig. 3, the NWDAF device receive NWDAF analytics information request]) comprising ([see, [0160], the sampling ratios to regulate the amount of data collected disclosed]) and a partition criteria parameter ([see, [0009, 0289], one of the partition criteria, such as Type Allocation code (TAC), the NWDAF device retrieves a Type Allocation code disclosed]) indicating how to group a plurality of user equipment into subpopulations of the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0145], the NWDAF may perform data collection for group of UEs]);
grouping the plurality of user equipment based on the partition criteria to create the sub- populations of the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0145, 0289], the NWDAF may perform grouping data collection for group of UEs based on the UEs with the same TAC (i.e., partition criteria) may have similar communication behavior]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: selecting a subset of user equipment from the sub-populations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio; and transmitting, to a messaging framework or network function, based on an occurrence of an event trigger, one or more event notifications regarding the subset of user equipment that is selected.
However, D2 discloses selecting a subset of user equipment from the sub-populations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0121], a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported]); and
transmitting, to a messaging framework or network function, based on an occurrence of an event trigger, one or more event notifications regarding the subset of user equipment that is selected ([see, [0005, 0121], wherein transmitting a Nnf_EventExposure_Subscribe message to subscribe for an event into the NF device, based on event trigger, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide setting parameters results improve the network data collection efficiency (D2, ¶ [0004]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: a sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio.
However, D3 discloses a sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0114] Sampling ratio is applicable to subscription targeting a group of UEs or any UE. When a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported. A UE remains selected until it is not managed by the event provider NF any more. A UE newly managed by the NF may become selected]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the event notification and selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio results improve system efficiency that enables the NWDAF to efficiently obtain the appropriate data with the appropriate granularity (D3, ¶ [0246]).
As per Claim 10, D1 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor ([see, one or more processor [0014]); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code ([see, one or more processor and least one memory disclosed, [0014, 0325]), which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving a data request ([see, [0106], and Fig. 3, the NWDAF device receive NWDAF analytics information request]) comprising ([see, [0160], the sampling ratios to regulate the amount of data collected disclosed]) and a partition criteria parameter ([see, [0009, 0289], one of the partition criteria, such as Type Allocation code (TAC), the NWDAF device retrieves a Type Allocation code disclosed]) indicating how to group a plurality of user equipment into subpopulations of one or more user equipment of the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0145], the NWDAF may perform data collection for group of UEs]),
the partition criteria parameter comprising at least one of a Type Allocation Code (TAC), application identifier (ID) ([see, [0145, 0289], group of UEs based on the UEs with the same TAC (i.e., partition criteria) may have similar communication behavior]), or UE communication and mobility information;
grouping the plurality of user equipment based on the partition criteria to create the sub- populations of the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0145, 0289], the NWDAF may perform grouping data collection for group of UEs based on the UEs with the same TAC (i.e., partition criteria) may have similar communication behavior]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: selecting a subset of user equipment the sub-populations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio; and transmitting, to a messaging framework or network function, based on an occurrence of an event trigger, one or more event notifications regarding the subset of user equipment that is selected to a messaging framework or network function.
However, D2 discloses selecting a subset of user equipment the sub-populations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0121], a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported]); and
transmitting, to a messaging framework or network function, based on an occurrence of an event trigger, one or more event notifications regarding the subset of user equipment that is selected to a messaging framework or network function ([see, [0005, 0121], wherein transmitting a Nnf_EventExposure_Subscribe message to subscribe for an event into the NF device, based on event trigger, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide setting parameters results improve the network data collection efficiency (D2, ¶ [0004]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: a sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio.
However, D3 discloses a sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0114] Sampling ratio is applicable to subscription targeting a group of UEs or any UE. When a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported. A UE remains selected until it is not managed by the event provider NF any more. A UE newly managed by the NF may become selected]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the event notification and selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio results improve system efficiency that enables the NWDAF to efficiently obtain the appropriate data with the appropriate granularity (D3, ¶ [0246]).
As per Claim 19, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 19 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 10.
As per Claims 2, 11, D1 further discloses wherein the receiving comprises receiving the data request at a network node ([see, [0106, 0133-0148], and Fig. 4, the NWDAF device receive NWDAF analytics information request]), and
wherein the at least one user equipment are managed by the network node ([see, [0106, 0133-0148], perform data collection for a UE or group of UEs that managed by NWDAF with the corresponding NF Type(s) and/or event ID(s) and/or OAM measurement types]).
As per Claims 3, 12, D1 further discloses wherein the receiving comprises receiving the request from a service consumer by invoking NnfEventExposureSubscribe service operation ([see, [0004, 0013], and Fig. 3, the Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe message disclosed]).
As per Claim 4, D1 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a request for analytics information from a service consumer (i.e., NWDAF service consumer) ([see, [0096, 0106], and Fig. 2-3, the NWDAF device receive NWDAF analytics information request from the NWDAF service consumer]), the request comprising an indication of a plurality of user equipment for which the analytics information is requested ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, the requested analytics includes specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs)]);
transmitting a subscription request ([see, [0096], transmitting subscription/unsubscription of network data analytic request disclosed]), to one or more data collection nodes ([see, [0108], a request for analytics information is received, the NWDAF determines whether triggering new data collection]) for the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, the requested analytics includes specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs)]) or one or more network functions for managing the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs) disclosed]),
wherein the subscription request ([see, [0096], transmitting subscription/unsubscription of network data analytic request disclosed]), comprises event reporting information ([see, [0118] (for Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription) Analytics Reporting Parameters as per Event Reporting parameters]), comprising a sampling ratio ([see, [0160], the sampling ratios to regulate the amount of data collected disclosed]) and a partition criteria parameter ([see, [0009, 0289], one of the partition criteria, such as Type Allocation code (TAC), the NWDAF device retrieves a Type Allocation code disclosed]) for grouping the plurality of user equipment into sub-populations of one or more user equipment of the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0145], the NWDAF may perform data collection for group of UEs]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: receiving an event notification, from a messaging framework or the network functions, regarding the analytics information for a subset of user equipment selected from the subpopulations, the subset of user equipment comprising one or more user equipment sampled randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio.
However, D2 discloses receiving an event notification, from a messaging framework or the network functions ([see, [0111-0113], receiving an event notification based on the event reporting disclosed]), regarding the analytics information ([see, [0137], analytics report information disclosed]) for a subset of user equipment selected from the subpopulations ([see, [0118], reports is applicable to the subscription to one UE or a group of UE(s)]),
the subset of user equipment comprising one or more user equipment sampled randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0121], wherein a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide setting parameters results improve the network data collection efficiency (D2, ¶ [0004]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio.
However, D3 discloses sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0114] Sampling ratio is applicable to subscription targeting a group of UEs or any UE. When a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported. A UE remains selected until it is not managed by the event provider NF any more. A UE newly managed by the NF may become selected]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the event notification and selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio results improve system efficiency that enables the NWDAF to efficiently obtain the appropriate data with the appropriate granularity (D3, ¶ [0246]).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor ([see, a processor, [0014]]); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and computer program code configured ([see, a memory, [0388]]), with the at least one processor,
to cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving a request for analytics information from a service consumer (i.e., NWDAF service consumer) ([see, [0096, 0106], and Fig. 2-3, the NWDAF device receive NWDAF analytics information request from the NWDAF service consumer]), the request comprising an indication of a plurality of user equipment for which the analytics information is requested ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, the requested analytics includes specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs)]);
transmitting a subscription request ([see, [0096], transmitting subscription/unsubscription of network data analytic request disclosed]), to one or more data collection nodes ([see, [0108], a request for analytics information is received, the NWDAF determines whether triggering new data collection]) for the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, the requested analytics includes specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs)]) or one or more network functions for managing the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs) disclosed]),
wherein the subscription request ([see, [0096], transmitting subscription/unsubscription of network data analytic request disclosed]), comprises event reporting information ([see, [0118] (for Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription) Analytics Reporting Parameters as per Event Reporting parameters]), comprising a sampling ratio ([see, [0160], the sampling ratios to regulate the amount of data collected disclosed]) and a partition criteria parameter ([see, [0009, 0289], one of the partition criteria, such as Type Allocation code (TAC), the NWDAF device retrieves a Type Allocation code disclosed]) for grouping the plurality of user equipment into sub-populations of one or more user equipment of the plurality of user equipment ([see, [0145], the NWDAF may perform data collection for group of UEs]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: receiving an event notification, from a messaging framework or the network functions, regarding the analytics information for a subset of user equipment selected from the subpopulations, the subset of user equipment comprising one or more user equipment sampled randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio.
However, D2 discloses receiving an event notification, from a messaging framework or the network functions ([see, [0111-0113], receiving an event notification based on the event reporting disclosed]), regarding the analytics information ([see, [0137], analytics report information disclosed]) for a subset of user equipment selected from the subpopulations ([see, [0118], reports is applicable to the subscription to one UE or a group of UE(s)]),
the subset of user equipment comprising one or more user equipment sampled randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0121], wherein a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide setting parameters results improve the network data collection efficiency (D2, ¶ [0004]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: a sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio.
However, D3 discloses a sampling ratio to be used to select a subset of user equipment from the subpopulations by sampling randomly from each sub-population of the sub-populations according to the sampling ratio ([see, [0114] Sampling ratio is applicable to subscription targeting a group of UEs or any UE. When a sampling ratio is provided, a random subset is selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio and only the events related to this subset are reported. A UE remains selected until it is not managed by the event provider NF any more. A UE newly managed by the NF may become selected]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the event notification and selected among the target UEs according to the sampling ratio results improve system efficiency that enables the NWDAF to efficiently obtain the appropriate data with the appropriate granularity (D3, ¶ [0246]).
As per Claims 5, 14, D1 further discloses wherein a value of the partition criteria parameter is set to service or network information related to the at least one user equipment or to user equipment mobility information depending on the analytics information requested by the service consumer ([see, [0112], conditions to be fulfilled for Event Parameter]).
As per Claims 6, 15, D1 further discloses wherein the partition criteria parameter comprises at least one of a Type Allocation Code (TAC), application identifier (ID), and/or UE communication ([see, [0009, 0289], one of the partition criteria, such as Type Allocation code (TAC), the NWDAF device retrieves a Type Allocation code disclosed]).
As per Claims 7, 16, D1 further discloses wherein the analytics information is requested for a group of user equipment or for all user equipment, wherein the plurality of equipment comprises the group of user equipment or the all-user equipment ([see, [0106, 0112], and Fig. 3, wherein the requested analytics includes specific UEs, a group of UE(s) or any UE (i.e., all UEs)]).
As per Claims 8, 17, D1 further discloses wherein the receiving comprises receiving the request from the service consumer, wherein the receiving the request is comprised in a NnwdafAnalyticsSubscriptionSubscribe service operation or NnwdafAnalyticsInfoRequest service operation ([see, [0087, 0098], and Fig. 2, NWDAF service consumer or an analytic subscription by invoking Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request service operation or Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Subscribe service operation by the first NF device]).
As per Claims 9, 18, D1 further discloses further comprising determining the data source or one or more network functions managing the plurality of user equipment for which the analytics information is requested ([see, [0085, 0093], and Fig. 2, NWDAF that supports requested analytics information by using the NWDAF discovery]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418