DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 03/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-17 are still pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 that Sevak does not disclose AOA-based near-field localization of a mobile device and further argues that substituting fixed preset-area nodes and re-architecting Witczak to use AOA to locate a mobile terminal would change its principle of operation and is nowhere suggested by Sevak's barometer/GNSS system.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Sevak clearly discloses the mobile devices 1, 1a, 1b along with their antennas detect electromagnetic signal to estimate a location of the mobile device [0120, 0148]. A PHOSITA would have recognized that the target object disclosed in Witczak’s teaching is merely one example. Sevak discloses that other object, including mobile device, was known alternative. Substituting one known reference object for another known reference object would have been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and both the prior art are directed to determining position relative to an object, and the substitution would have yielded no more than predictable results. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witczak et al. US 2020/0003880 A1 in a view of SEVAK et al. US 2020/0049832 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Witczak discloses
A spatial location positioning system (Figs.1 and 3) for an elevator (See fig. 1, item 101), comprising: near-field wireless communication devices (WCD) configured to transmit near-field wireless communication signals in preset areas of the elevator for performing near- field wireless communication with a target object (Item 204); and a processor (Item 115) connected to the near-field wireless communication devices and configured to execute the following steps: analyzing signal AOA (angle of arrival) information associated with current location of the target object from response signals of the target object to the near-field wireless communication signals obtained by the near-field wireless communication devices; and determining current location of the target object according to the signal AOA information [0034, 0041-0044, 0055-0059].
Witczak does not explicitly say but SEVAK et al. disclose wherein the target object comprises a mobile terminal or a wearable device [0098, 0120, 0148]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Witczak teachings to add the target object comprising a mobile terminal or a wearable device as taught by SEVAK in Witczak’s teachings to estimate the location of the mobile terminal (SEVAK’s paragraph 0120) because substituting one known reference object for another known reference object would have been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and both the prior art are directed to determining position relative to an object, and the substitution would have yielded no more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 1, Witczak discloses A spatial location positioning method for an elevator, comprising the steps of: transmitting near-field wireless communication signals in preset areas of the elevator; receiving response signals of a target object to the near-field wireless communication signals, and analyzing signal AOA (angle of arrival) information associated with current location of the target object from the response signals; and determining current location of the target object according to the signal AOA information; wherein the target object comprises a mobile terminal or a wearable device (See claim 9 rejection for detail).
Regarding claims 10 and 2, Witczak discloses
, wherein the near-field wireless communication devices are arranged at least in a first position, a second position and a third position to perform near-field wireless communication with the target object, and the first position, the second position and the third position are respectively arranged in different spatial planes in the preset areas [0052-0054] (It should be noted that a minimum of three signals are required).
Regarding claims 11 and 3, Witczak discloses
, wherein the near-field wireless communication devices are arranged such that the near-field wireless communication signals cover at least a part of an elevator hoistway area and/or at least a part of an elevator-waiting area [0054].
Regarding claim 12, Witczak discloses
, wherein the processor is configured to control the near-field wireless communication devices to transmit the near-field wireless communication signals in the preset areas (Different physical locations) with a preset period [0051, 0052, 0054] (The preset period is a period of data transmission).
Regarding claims 13 and 5, Witczak discloses
, wherein the near-field wireless communication with the target object uses at least one of Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), ZIGBEE, WIFI, Radio Frequency (RF) and infrared communication [0041].
Regarding claim 15, Witczak discloses
, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit the determined current location of the target object to a server terminal locally disposed in the elevator or disposed on a cloud platform for processing [0044].
Regarding claims 16 and 8, Witczak discloses
, wherein the processing comprises using the current location of the target object to form an elevator-calling request, the elevator-calling request comprising a lobby door calling request and a destination calling request [0042].
Regarding claim 17, Witczak discloses
An elevator (Item 101), comprising the spatial location positioning system for the elevator according to claim 9 (See claim 9 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 4, Witczak discloses, wherein the near-field wireless communication signals are transmitted in the preset areas with a preset period (See claim 12 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 7, Witczak discloses the step of transmitting the determined current location of the target object to a server terminal locally disposed in the elevator or disposed on a cloud platform for processing (See claim 15 rejection for detail).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hart et al. (US 9,823,330 B2) disclose angle of arrival location sensing with antenna array in open atriums, stairways, or escalators.
Yuan et al. (US 10,292,012 B1) disclose reverse locationing with Bluetooth angle of arrival (AOS)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837