Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I – claims 1-17 and species of claims 7 and 9 in the reply filed on 2/2/26 and 7/21/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to search all groups and species. This is not found persuasive because the search for each of the groups and species entails different search terms and strategies and thus constitutes a search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5, 6, 8, 10, and 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“cell is configured to encode the disturbing signal into a biologically comprehensible message to modify the cell and regulate cell behavior” in claim 2. The “cell” is a generic placeholder.
“the disturbing signal is further configured to cause a change in cell behavior corresponding to at least one of cell division or cell death” on claim 3. The “disturbing signal” is a generic placeholder.
“the disturbing signal is configured to modify at least one property of the DNA of the biological sample” in claim 7. The “disturbing signal” is a generic placeholder.
“the disturbing signal is configured to repair a defect in the DNA of the biological sample” in claim 9. The “disturbing signal” is a generic placeholder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations:
• “cell is configured to encode the disturbing signal into a biologically comprehensible message to modify the cell and regulate cell behavior” in claim 2. The “cell” is a generic placeholder.
• “the disturbing signal is further configured to cause a change in cell behavior corresponding to at least one of cell division or cell death” on claim 3. The “disturbing signal” is a generic placeholder.
• “the disturbing signal is configured to modify at least one property of the DNA of the biological sample” in claim 7. The “disturbing signal” is a generic placeholder.
• “the disturbing signal is configured to repair a defect in the DNA of the biological sample” in claim 9. The “disturbing signal” is a generic placeholder.
invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not disclose how the cell and disturbing signal are modified/changed/configured to perform their claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, and 11-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,085,923. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘923 claims apparatus that anticipate the components of the instant invention as shown below in the claims of patent ‘923. However, patent ‘923 does not explicitly teach repairing DNA with a disturbing signal. Patent ‘923 teaches applying a probe tip to the minor and major grooves of a DNA double helix and changing its properties. Because the instant claims do not define the defect being repaired, the apparatus of patent ‘923 appears to be able to perform this function with its ability to change the properties of the minor or major groove of DNA double helix.
Patent ‘923 claims:
1. An apparatus, comprising:
a first micro device for detecting a property of a biological sample at a microscopic level, wherein the first micro device comprises:
a base, and
a probe coupled to the base at a first end and including a probe tip at a second end, wherein the probe tip contacts the biological sample and applies a disturbing signal to eh biological sample,
a second micro device to measure at least one property of the biological sample in response to the disturbing signal, and
a plurality of other micro devices to measure the at least one property of the biological sample.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second micro device is to contact an outer surface of the biological sample, and
wherein the probe tip of the first micro device penetrates the outer surface of the biological sample and contacts an inner portion of the biological sample and changes a property of the biological sample.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the base is to:
receive a voltage, and
move the probe tip toward the biological sample in response to the voltage.
4. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of other micro devices are spaced apart from each other and measure the at least one property of the biological sample at different times.
5. The apparatus of claim 4, further comprising:
a controller to:
compare output from the plurality of micro devices, and
determine how the biological sample reacts with a surrounding environment based on the comparison.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the probe tip of the first micro device is to interfere with at least one of a major groove or a minor groove of a deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) double helix and change property of the biological sample.
7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the probe tip of the first micro device interfaces with the major groove of the DNA double helix and changes a property of the biological sample.
8. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the probe tip of the first micro device interfaces with the minor groove of the DNA double helix and changes a property of the biological sample.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a first substantially flat panel; and
a second substantially flat panel separated from the first substantially flat panel by a channel, wherein the first micro device and second micro device are located adjacent the channel.
10. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of other micro devices apply disturbing signals to the biological sample; and the apparatus further comprises:
a plurality of detectors to measure one of the at least one property.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one property comprises at least one of an electrical property, a chemical property or a biological property.
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one property comprises an electrical property.
13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one property comprises a chemical property
14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one property comprises a biological property.
Claims 1, 4, and 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 6-15, and19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,651,542. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘542 claims an apparatus with a first microdevice comprising a probe that applies a disturbing signal to a biological sample and a second microdevice that measures at least one property of the biological sample as shown in the claims below but also recites additional components such as interior walls and concave grooves. However, the open “comprising” language of the instant claims do not exclude the additional components. Thus, the claims of patent ‘542 anticipate the instant invention.
Patent ‘542 claims:
1. A micro-device, comprising:
a first micro sensor for detecting a property of a biological sample at a microscopic level, and
an interior wall defining a channel, wherein the first micro sensor is located on the interior wall of the micro-device and detects the property of the biological sample at the microscopic level, and the biological sample is transported within the channel,
wherein the first micro sensor comprises a probing sensor that applies a disturbing signal to the biological sample, and
wherein the interior wall comprises concave grooves within the channel, wherein the concave grooves trap the biological sample when the biological sample passes through the channel, and wherein the first micro sensor contacts the biological sample trapped in the concave grooves.
6. The micro-device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one additional micro sensor located in proximity with the first micro sensor and located on the interior wall, wherein the at least one additional micro sensor is fabricated using a micro-technologies process and contacts the biological sample trapped in the concave grooves.
7. The micro-device of claim 6, wherein the first micro sensor and the at least one additional micro sensor detect different properties of the biological sample, and each of the different properties comprises at least one of an electrical, magnetic, electromagnetic, thermal, optical, acoustical, biological, chemical, electro-mechanical, electro-chemical, electro-optical, electro-thermal, electro-chemical-mechanical, bio-chemical, bio-mechanical, bio-optical, bio-thermal, bio-physical, bio-electro-mechanical, bio-electro-chemical, bio-electro-optical, bio-electro-thermal, bio-mechanical-optical, bio-mechanical thermal, bio-thermal-optical, bio-electro-chemical-optical, bio-electro-mechanical optical, bio-electro-thermal-optical, bio-electro-chemical-mechanical, physical or mechanical property.
8. The micro-device of claim 7, wherein the electrical property is surface charge, surface potential, resting potential, electrical current, electrical field distribution, an electrical dipole, an electrical quadrupole, a three-dimensional electrical or charge cloud distribution, electrical properties at telomere of DNA and chromosome, capacitance, or impedance; the thermal property is temperature or a vibrational frequency; the optical property is optical absorption, optical transmission, optical reflection, optical-electrical property, brightness, or fluorescent emission; the chemical property is pH value, chemical reaction, bio-chemical reaction, bio-electro-chemical reaction, reaction speed, reaction energy, speed of reaction, an oxygen concentration, an oxygen consumption rate, ionic strength, catalytic behavior, chemical additives to trigger an enhanced signal response, bio-chemical additives to trigger enhanced signal response, biological additives to trigger enhanced signal response, chemicals to enhance detection sensitivity, bio-chemicals to enhance detection sensitivity, biological additives to enhance detection sensitivity, or bonding strength; the physical property is density, shape, volume, or surface area; the biological property is surface shape, surface area, surface charge, a surface biological property, a surface chemical property, pH, an electrolyte, ionic strength, resistivity, cell concentration, or a biological, electrical, physical, or chemical property of solution; the acoustical property is frequency, a speed of acoustic waves, an acoustic frequency and an intensity spectrum distribution, acoustic intensity, acoustical absorption, or acoustical resonance; and the mechanical property is internal pressure, hardness, flow rate, viscosity, shear strength, elongation strength, fracture stress, adhesion, a mechanical resonance frequency, elasticity, plasticity, or compressibility.
9. The micro-device of claim 1, further comprising at least three additional micro sensors located in proximity with the first micro sensor and located on the interior wall as the first micro sensor, wherein the at least three additional micro sensors are fabricated using a micro-technologies process and contact the biological sample trapped in the concave grooves.
10. The micro-device of claim 1, further comprising: a second micro sensor located on the interior wall and including a probe tip to penetrate through a cell membrane of the biological sample when the biological sample is trapped in the concave grooves.
11. The micro-device of claim 10, wherein the second micro sensor further comprises a base, wherein when voltage is applied to the base, the base pushes the probe tip toward the biological sample.
12. The micro-device of claim 11, wherein the first micro sensor further comprises a third probe, and wherein the third probe contacts an outside surface of the cell membrane.
13. The micro-device of claim 1, further comprising: a first substantially flat panel; and a second substantially flat panel separated from the first substantially flat panel by the channel, wherein the interior wall corresponds to an inner portion of the first substantially flat panel.
14. The micro-device of claim 1, further comprising: a second micro sensor located on the interior wall and wherein the second micro sensor contacts the biological sample trapped in the concave grooves, and wherein each of the first micro sensor and the second micro sensor measures the same property at different times.
15. The micro-device of claim 14, further comprising: a system controller that compares output from the first micro sensor and the second micro sensor to determine how the biological sample reacts with a surrounding environment.
19. The micro-device of claim 1, further comprising: a second micro sensor located adjacent to the channel, wherein the second micro sensor contacts the biological sample trapped in the concave grooves and wherein the first micro sensor detects a first characteristic of the biological sample associated with a disease and the second micro sensor detects a second different characteristic of the biological sample associated with the disease.
12. Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 11, and 24-29 of U.S. Patent No. 9,823,209. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘209 claims an apparatus with essentially the same limitations as the instant invention.
Patent ‘209 claims:
1. A micro-device comprising:
(a) a piezo-electric material part of which forms two probes (i.e. first and
second micro-devices) opposite to each other, each probe with a supporting
point (i.e. a base) in the micro-device and being formed only by part of the piezo-
electric material;
(b) an electronically conductive material;
(c) a material that is neither piezo-electric nor electronically conductive,
wherein the piezoelectric material is placed between the electronically conductive
material and the material that is neither piezo-electric nor electronically
conduction,
wherein a portion of each probe extends out from the support point and the
portion is substantially free and surrounded, without contact, by other materials in
the micro-device, and
wherein the micro-device is capable of detecting, at the microscopic level, a
property of a biological subject to be detected.
2. The micro-device of claim 1, wherein the extending piezo-electric probe is
in the shape of a layer or a stick with a minimum length of one angstrom; or the
extending piezo-electric probe has an axle that is essentially parallel to the
surface of a substrate.
3. The micro-device of claim 1, wherein the extending part of the piezo-
electric probe detects, at the microscopic level, an electric, magnetic,
electromagnetic, thermal, optical, acoustical, biological, chemical, electro-
mechanical, electro-chemical, electro-chemical-mechanical, bio-chemical, bio-
mechanical, bio-electro-mechanical, bio-electro-chemical, bio-electro-chemical-
mechanical, physical, or mechanical property of the biological subject to be
detected.
5. The micro-device of claim 1, wherein the piezo-electric probe stretches or
contracts when it is applied with a desired voltage; or the piezo-electric probe
converts a mechanical force applied on it into an electric signal proportional to
the strength of the force.
11. The micro-device of claim 1, wherein the micro-device has at least one
channel that has at least a first end and a second end, is defined by the walls of
one or more of the materials constituting the micro-device, and is formed as a
result of a fabrication process; and the biological subject to be tested travels
through the channel from its first end to its second end.
24. The micro-device of claim 1, wherein the micro-device further comprises
one detector.
25. The micro-device of claim 24, wherein the detector is an acoustic signal
receiver and capable of detecting an acoustic signal.
26. The micro-device of claim 24, wherein the micro-device further comprises
an additional probe that can be piezo-electric or non piezo-electric.
27. The micro-device of claim 26, wherein the additional probe is an acoustic transducer and capable of generating an acoustic signal.
28. The micro-device of claim 26, wherein the additional probe contacts the biological subject to be tested and causes the biological subject to respond by generating a signal.
29. The micro-device of claim 28, wherein the signal generated by the biological is delivered to and detected by the detector.
Patent '209 differs from the instant invention in reciting additional limitations, such as an electronically conductive material and material that is neither piezo-electric nor electronically conductive.
However, the open "comprising" claim language of the instant claims do not exclude the presence of such additional limitations.
13. Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 10, and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,126,291. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘291 claims an apparatus with essentially the same limitations as the instant invention.
Patent ‘291 claims:
1. A detection apparatus, comprising a detection device fabricated by a method comprising:
providing a substrate;
sequentially depositing a first material and a second material as two layers onto the substrate to form a material stack;
patterning the second material to form a first desired feature;
depositing a third material onto the material stack to cover the second material;
polishing or etch back the third material to planarize the third material;
patterning the first material and third material to form a second desired feature; and
optionally depositing a fourth material onto the material stack,
wherein the first desired feature comprises a feature selected from the group consisting of probe generator, detection probe, electrically connective interconnection line, optional transmission line, and piezo-electric line; and the second desired feature comprises a feature selected from the group consisting of partitioned chamber, channel, and chamber connected with channel,
wherein the detection device comprises at least one pair of probe generator and detection probe supported by the substrate, wherein at least one of the probe generator or the detection probe is included by the first desired feature,
wherein the probe generator applies a signal onto a biological subject, thereby stimulating the biological subject and causing it to have a response signal; wherein the biological subject comprises a liquid sample of blood, urine, sweat, or saliva, which further comprises one or more cells, proteins, or DNAs;
wherein the probe generator comprises a micro-injector or conductive tip, and the probe generator applies the signal onto the biological subject by delivering a biochemical material or applying a voltage to the biological subject; or by piercing the cell or interacting with grooves of the DNA;
wherein the detection probe contacts the biological subject and directly measures
at the microscopic level the response signal from the biological subject; wherein when
the biological subject travels in a certain direction in the detection device, the detection
takes place after the biological subject travels a distance from the probing function.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detection device is capable of interacting with the biological subject to generate the response signal as an electric, magnetic, electromagnetic, thermal, optical, acoustical, biological, chemical, electro-mechanical, electro-chemical, electro-chemical-mechanical, bio-chemical, bio-chemical-physical, physical-chemical, bio-physical, bio-physical mechanical, bio-mechanical, bio-electro-mechanical, bio-electro-chemical, bio-electro-chemical-mechanical, physical, or mechanical property; and the apparatus is capable of measuring the response signal at the microscopic level.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the electric property is surface charge, surface potential, resting potential, action potential, electrical voltage, electrical current, electrical field distribution, electrical charge distribution, electric dipole, electric quadruple, three-dimensional electrical or charge cloud distribution, electrical properties at telomere of DNA and chromosome, dynamic changes in electrical properties, dynamic changes in potential, dynamic changes in surface charge, dynamic changes in
current, dynamic changes in electrical field, dynamic changes in electrical voltage, dynamic changes in electrical distribution, dynamic changes in electronic cloud distribution, or impedance; the thermal property is temperature or vibrational frequency; the optical property is optical absorption, optical transmission, optical reflection, optical- electrical property, brightness, or fluorescent emission; the chemical property is pH value, chemical reaction, bio-chemical reaction, bio-electro-chemical reaction, reaction speed, reaction energy, oxygen concentration, oxygen consumption rate, ionic strength, catalytic behavior, or bonding strength; the physical property is density or geometric size; the acoustic property is frequency, speed of acoustic waves, acoustic frequency and intensity spectrum distribution, acoustic intensity, acoustical absorption, or acoustical resonance; and the mechanical property is internal pressure, hardness, shear strength, elongation strength, fracture stress, adhesion, mechanical resonance frequency, elasticity, plasticity, or compressibility.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a pre-processing unit with additional chambers for pre-screening, additional channels for carrying fluidic sample to flow through, additional probes for probing and disturbing the biological subject being tested for generating additional response signals, additional detection probes for measuring the generated response signals of the biological subject, and an imaging device, a camera, a viewing station, an acoustic detector, an optical detector, an electrical signal detector, a thermal detector, an ion emission detector, or a thermal recorder for observing and recording properties and behaviors of the biological subject, a memory storage, a signal transmitter, a logic processing component, a circuit for data storage, or a signal processing unit.
18. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first material and third material can be the same or different.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the fabrication method further comprises capping the top of the material stack to form an enclosed trench, wherein the enclosed trench is an enclosed channel or chamber.
20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the capping comprises sealing or capping the top of the material stack with an imaging device, a sensor, an optical detector, a camera, a viewing station, an acoustic detector, an optical detector, an electrical detector, a thermal detector, an ion emission detector, or a thermal recorder onto the material stack.
Patent '291 differs from the instant invention in not specifically reciting a base coupled to the probe generator. However, the end of the probe generator can be considered a base since it is coupled to the rest of the probe generator.
With respect to claim 9, the apparatus of patent ‘291 has a conductive probe tip that applies a signal which interacts with the grooves of DNA. Because the instant claims do not define the defect being repaired, the apparatus of patent ‘923 appears to be able to perform this function with its ability to change the properties of the groove of DNA with the applied signal.
14. Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8-14, 27, 28, 30-32, and 63 of U.S. Patent No. 10,161,927. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘927 claims an apparatus with essentially the same limitations as the instant invention.
Patent ‘927 claims:
1. A detection apparatus comprising a system for delivering a biological subject to be detected and a probing and detecting device for probing and detecting the biological subject;
wherein the system for delivering the biological subject comprises a channel or chamber;
wherein the probing and detecting device comprises a first probing micro-device and a first detecting micro-device; at least one of the first probing micro-device and the first detecting micro-device is supported by a first substrate which forms a part of the channel or the chamber; and the first probing micro-device and the first detecting micro-device are attached to an interior or exterior wall of the channel or the chamber;
wherein the first probing micro-device is configured to apply a signal onto the biological subject, thereby stimulating the biological subject and causing it to have a response; wherein the biological subject comprises a liquid sample of blood, urine, sweat, or saliva, which further comprises one or more cells, proteins, or DNAs;
wherein the first probing micro-device comprises a micro-injector or conductive tip, and the first probing micro-device applies the signal onto the biological subject by delivering a biochemical material or applying a voltage to the biological subject, or by piercing the cell or interacting with grooves of the DNA;
wherein the first detecting micro-device comprises a sensor to contact the biological subject to be detected and directly measure at the microscopic level the response from the biological subject;
wherein when the biological subject travels in a certain direction in the system, the detection takes place after the biological subject travels a distance from the probing function.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measured response comprises an electric, magnetic, electromagnetic, thermal, optical, acoustical, biological, chemical, electro-mechanical, electro-chemical, electro-chemical-mechanical, bio-physical, physical-chemical, bio-chemical, bio-physical-chemical, bio-mechanical, bio-electro-mechanical, bio-electro-chemical, bio-electro-chemical-mechanical, physical, or mechanical property.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein a difference in the measured response of the detected biological subject and of a standard biologic sample is indicative of the possible occurrence of the disease.
4. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the electrical property is surface charge, surface potential, resting potential, action potential, electrical voltage, electrical current, electrical field distribution, electrical charge distribution, electric dipole, electric quadruple, three-dimensional electrical or charge cloud distribution, electrical properties at telomere of DNA and chromosome, dynamic changes in electrical properties, dynamic changes in potential, dynamic changes in surface charge, dynamic changes in current, dynamic changes in electrical field, dynamic changes in electrical voltage, dynamic changes in electrical distribution, dynamic changes in electronic cloud distribution, or impedance; the thermal property is temperature, or vibrational frequency of biological item or molecules; the optical property is optical absorption, optical transmission, optical reflection, optical-electrical property, brightness, or fluorescent emission; the chemical property is pH value, chemical reaction, bio-chemical reaction, bio-electro-chemical reaction, reaction speed, reaction energy, oxygen concentration, oxygen consumption rate, ionic strength, catalytic behavior, or bonding strength; the physical property is density or geometric size; the acoustic property is frequency, speed of acoustic waves, acoustic frequency and intensity spectrum distribution, acoustic intensity, acoustical absorption, or acoustical resonance; and the mechanical property is internal pressure, hardness, shear strength, elongation strength, fracture stress, adhesion, mechanical resonance frequency, elasticity, plasticity, or compressibility.
8. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the probing and detecting device further comprises one or more additional detecting micro-devices, each of which is also capable of measuring at the microscopic level an electric, magnetic, electromagnetic, thermal, optical, acoustical, biological, chemical, electro-mechanical, electro-chemical, electro-chemical-mechanical, bio-physical, physical-chemical, bio-chemical, bio-physical-chemical, bio-mechanical, bio-electro-mechanical, bio-electro-chemical, bio-electro-chemical-mechanical, physical, or mechanical property of the biological subject.
9. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the electrical property is surface charge, surface potential, resting potential, action potential, electrical voltage, electrical current, electrical field distribution, electrical charge distribution, electric dipole, electric quadruple, three-dimensional electrical or charge cloud distribution, electrical properties at telomere of DNA and chromosome, dynamic changes in electrical properties, dynamic changes in potential, dynamic changes in surface charge, dynamic changes in current, dynamic changes in electrical field, dynamic changes in electrical voltage, dynamic changes in electrical distribution, dynamic changes in electronic cloud distribution, or impedance; the thermal property is temperature, or vibrational frequency of biological item or molecules; the optical property is optical absorption, optical transmission, optical reflection, optical-electrical property, brightness, or fluorescent emission; the chemical property is pH value, chemical reaction, bio-chemical reaction, bio-electro-chemical reaction, reaction speed, reaction energy, oxygen concentration, oxygen consumption rate, ionic strength, catalytic behavior, or bonding strength; the physical property is density or geometric size; the acoustic property is frequency, speed of acoustic waves, acoustic frequency and intensity spectrum distribution, acoustic intensity, acoustical absorption, or acoustical resonance; and the mechanical property is internal pressure, hardness, shear strength, elongation strength, fracture stress, adhesion, mechanical resonance frequency, elasticity, plasticity, or compressibility.
10. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein each of the additional detecting micro-devices comprises an electrically conductive material, an electrically insulating material, a biological material, or a semiconductor material.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein each of the additional detecting micro-devices comprises a material that is the same as or different from the material of the first micro-device and is capable of measuring the same or different property of the biological subject as the first-micro-device does.
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the properties measured by the first detecting micro-device and each of the additional detecting micro-devices each comprise the surface charge, surface potential, resting potential, action potential, electrical voltage, electrical current, electrical field distribution, electrical charge distribution, electric dipole, electric quadruple, three-dimensional electrical or charge cloud distribution, electrical properties at telomere of DNA and chromosome, dynamic changes in electrical properties, dynamic changes in potential, dynamic changes in surface charge, dynamic changes in current, dynamic changes in electrical field, dynamic changes in electrical voltage, dynamic changes in electrical distribution, dynamic changes in electronic cloud distribution, or impedance, temperature, vibrational frequency, optical absorption, optical transmission, optical reflection, optical-electrical property, brightness, fluorescent emission, pH value, chemical reaction, bio-chemical reaction, bio-electro-chemical reaction, reaction speed, reaction energy, oxygen concentration, oxygen consumption rate, ionic strength, catalytic behavior, bonding strength, density, geometric size, frequency, speed of acoustic waves, acoustic frequency and intensity spectrum distribution, acoustic intensity, acoustical absorption, acoustical resonance, internal pressure, hardness, shearing strength, elongation strength, fracture stress, adhesion, mechanical resonance frequency, elasticity, plasticity, or compressibility.
13. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the detecting micro-devices are placed with a desired distance between each other.
14. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the detecting micro-devices measure the same or different properties at the same or different times.
27. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the probing and detecting device further comprises a system controller connected to the first probing device, the first detecting device or the first substrate, which comprises a pre-amplifier, a lock-in amplifier, an electrical meter, a thermal meter, a switching matrix, a system bus, a nonvolatile storage device, a random access memory, a logic circuit, a signal receiver, a signal transmitter, a processor, or a user interface.
28. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a biological interface, a system controller, and a unit for reclaiming or treating medical waste.
30. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the system for delivering the biological subject comprises the channel inside which the biological subject to be detected travels in a certain direction; the probing and detecting device comprises one or more probing micro-devices and two or more detecting micro-devices; the probing micro-devices apply one or more signals to the biological subject, thereby stimulating the biological subject and causing it to have one or more responses; the detecting micro-devices measure at the micro-level one or more properties of the biological subject; at least one of the probing micro-devices is located before at least one of the detecting micro-devices relative to the direction in which the biological subject travels; the substrate forms part of the channel; the probing micro-devices and the detecting micro-devices can be attached to the interior or exterior wall of the channel; and one of the detecting micro-devices is the first detecting micro-device and one of the probing micro-devices is the first probing micro-device.
31. The apparatus of claim 30, wherein the detecting micro-devices are capable of measuring at the micro-level the same or different properties of the biological subject.
32. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the responses measured by the detecting micro-devices each comprise the surface charge, surface potential, resting potential, action potential, electrical voltage, electrical current, electrical field distribution, electrical charge distribution, electric dipole, electric quadruple, three-dimensional electrical or charge cloud distribution, electrical properties at telomere of DNA and chromosome, dynamic changes in electrical properties, dynamic changes in potential, dynamic changes in surface charge, dynamic changes in current, dynamic changes in electrical field, dynamic changes in electrical voltage, dynamic changes in electrical distribution, dynamic changes in electronic cloud distribution, impedance, temperature, vibrational frequency, optical absorption, optical transmission, optical reflection, optical-electrical property, brightness, fluorescent emission, pH value, chemical reaction, bio-chemical reaction, bio-electro-chemical reaction, reaction speed, reaction energy, speed of reaction, oxygen concentration, oxygen consumption rate, ionic strength, catalytic behavior, bonding strength, density, geometric size, frequency, speed of acoustic waves, acoustic frequency and intensity spectrum distribution, acoustic intensity, acoustical absorption, acoustical resonance, internal pressure, hardness, shear strength, elongation strength, fracture stress, adhesion, mechanical resonance frequency, elasticity, plasticity, or compressibility.
63. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the biological subject comprises blood, urine, saliva, tear, saline, or sweat.
Patent '927 differs from the instant invention in not specifically reciting a base
coupled to the probing device. However, the end of the probe device can be considered
a base since it is coupled to the rest of the probe device.
With respect to claim 9, the apparatus of patent ‘927 has a conductive probe tip that applies a signal which interacts with the grooves of DNA. Because the instant claims do not define the defect being repaired, the apparatus of patent ‘927 appears to be able to perform this function with its ability to change the properties of the groove of DNA with the applied signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
16. Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Block et al (US 4,909,990).
Block et al discloses an apparatus shown in Figure 5 for performing an immunoassay. The apparatus includes a first micro device comprising a base (centering device (26)) coupled to a probe (22) wherein the entire probe (22) and its tip contacts a biological sample and applies a disturbing signal to the biological sample in for the form of an optical signal from light source (102). The apparatus also includes a second micro device (photodetector (104)) that measures at least one property of the biological sample (i.e. presence or amount of analyte in the biological sample) in response to the disturbing signal (optical signal).
Specification
17. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a.) In paragraph [1] of the specification, the status of the parent application should be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 2-4, 7, 9, and 11-17 are free of the prior art of record because the prior art does not teach an apparatus with the limitations of the aforementioned claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677
9/28/2026