DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/22/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 21, 26, 31, 36, and 41-42 have been amended, and claims 43 and 44 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 21-27, 30-37, and 40-42 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the preceding 112a rejection on page 7:
Applicant's present amendment resolves the preceding office actions stated 112a rejection of claims 41-44.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the independent claims on page 7-10:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s), in particular detailing the manner that the prior art of Mazlish previously relied upon would not considered to read on the presently amended claims, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the dependent claims on page 10-11:
Applicant argues that their preceding arguments render the independent claims allowable, and consequently likewise the dependent claims are allowable.
See examiner's rejection as necessitated by the amendment, below, detailing the prior art which discloses/teaches the limitations of the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21, 24-27, 30-32, 34-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180296757 A1, henceforth written as Finan, in view of US 20170181628 A1, henceforth written as Burnette, and further in view of US 20100136953 A1, henceforth written as Twell.
Regarding Claim 21
Finan discloses:
A method of coordinating wireless communications in an infusion pump system
(invention of fig 1)
including an infusion pump,
(drug delivery device 102; fig 1)
a remote control device for remotely controlling the infusion pump, and
(controller 104; fig 1)
a continuous glucose monitoring system, comprising:
(CGM sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a first direct wireless communication between the infusion pump and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 21+27; communications link 113 between drug delivery device 102 and sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a second direct wireless communication between the remote control device and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 20; communication link 110 between sensor 112 and controller 104; fig 1)
receiving, through the first direct wireless communication, pump data at the infusion pump collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system that will be utilized to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump;
(paragraph 27; drug delivery device 102 computes pump insulin delivery volume, therein therapy parameters, based on blood glucose data, therein pump data, received from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Finan discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, non-pump data at the remote control device collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system relating to the continuous glucose monitoring system that are not used to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump, and the non-pump data comprises hardware performance and diagnostic data relating to an operation of at least one of a sensor, or transmitter of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
However Burnette teaches a wireless communication system/method between an analyte monitor and a user’s display device wherein:
and receiving, through the direct wireless communication, non-pump data at the remote control device collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system relating to the continuous glucose monitoring system that are not used to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump, and the non-pump data comprises hardware performance and diagnostic data relating to an operation of at least one of a sensor, or transmitter of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
(paragraph 45+50+56+59+67+97+138; handheld display device 120, such as custom device 120a, smartwatch 120b, phone 120c, or tablet 120d, can directly wirelessly communicate with a glucose analyte sensor system 104, having continuous glucose analyte sensor 108 and sensor electronics module 106, such that display device 120 receives certain communication data such as a whitelist which contains a continuously dynamically updated list of the most recent and prioritized display devices which system 104 forms a wireless connection with, therein the whitelist can be considered a log of radioconnectivity between a transceiver 316 – which can be considered to comprise a wireless transmitter (not enumerated/illustrated) and a wireless data sensor (not enumerated/illustrated) – of system 104 with display devices 120a-d’s transceiver 338, considered a connectivity history of system 104’s transceiver 316 with the transceivers 338 of display devices120a-d, and considered a log of the transceivers 338 of display device 120a-d which have disconnected from the transceiver 316 of system 104, which all can be considered performance and diagnostic data relating to the operation of transceiver 316 of system 104 as transceiver 316’s key role is performing the action of creating and detecting wireless connection of system 104 with display devices 120a-d; fig 1+3+8F)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burnette’s teachings of communicating hardware performance and diagnostic data relating to an operation of, a wireless sensor and transmitter of the continuous glucose monitoring system to multiple remote devices into Finan’s disclosed CGM and remote device, such that Finan’s CGM sensor 112 is enabled to communicate with a multitude of controllers 104 such that a user of the modified invention may have display access to a list of historically connected remote devices, see paragraph 21+40 of Finan, and enable a user to view a dynamically updatable list of recently connected remote devices and enable a user to control which remote devices should be connected to the cgm system paragraph 97+138 of Burnette.
However, Finan in view of Burnette remains silent regarding:
wherein the non-pump data is not received at the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication.
However, Twell teaches a wireless network communication system/methods:
Wherein when an information provider communicates with a user device, the information provider sends a signal which only indicates that the information provider is seeking user devices which require the information it is trying to communicate, see Twell paragraph 24. The user device consequently requests the information only if the user desires the information at that user device, see Twell paragraph 24. Consequently, the information provider customizes a responding signal which only contains the relevant information that the user device desires, see Twell paragraph 25-26.
This arrangement of network communications, where only the information desired by the receiving device is communicated by the transmitted device toward the receiving device, is advantageous in that it minimizes power wastage across the system brought by unnecessary transmissions, receptions, and filtering of unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twell’s teachings of not communicating unwanted information to a device which did not request the unwanted information, to the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, by not sending non-pump data from the continuous glucose monitoring system to the infusion pump, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with a reduced power demand by not communicating unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the continuous glucose monitoring system comprises a glucose sensor and a transmitter.
Finan: (paragraph 20-21+24; CGM sensor 112 measures blood glucose levels therein comprises structure that can be considered a glucose sensor (not enumerated/illustrated), and further sensor 112 wirelessly communicates signals with controller 104 via link 110 and therein comprises structure that can be considered a transmitter (not enumerated/illustrated); fig 1)
Regarding claim 25, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the pump data includes data relating to glucose levels of a user.
Finan: (paragraph 27; device 102 receives blood glucose data from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Regarding claim 26, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein the non-pump data comprises one or more of; a radio connectivity log, or a connectivity history of the continuous glucose monitoring system; or a sensor-transmitter disconnection log of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
Examiner notes that as noted in the modification of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell made in claim 21 above, the non-pump data communicated from Finan's CGM sensor 112 to Finan's controller 104 comprises communicating a radio connectivity log, a connectivity history of the continuous glucose monitoring system of, and a sensor-transmitter disconnection log of the continuous glucose monitoring system to Finan's CGM sensor 112.
Regarding claim 27, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the remote control device is a dedicated remote controller designed for use with the infusion pump.
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a hand-held portable controller, which is demonstrated throughout the disclosure as designed for use with device 102; fig 1)
Regarding claim 30, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the remote control device is an electronic watch.
Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term " watch" to a person of ordinary skill in the art, not inconsistent with the disclosure, may be best provided by Merriam-Webster's dictionary: " a portable timepiece designed to be worn -- or carried in the pocket".
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a smart phone, which can be considered an electronic watch by the manner by which it is powered electronically, can be carried in a pocket, and can convey the present time; fig 1)
Regarding Claim 31,
Finan discloses:
A method of coordinating wireless communications in an infusion pump system
(invention of fig 1)
including an infusion pump,
(drug delivery device 102; fig 1)
a remote control device for remotely controlling the infusion pump, and
(controller 104; fig 1)
a continuous glucose monitoring system, comprising:
(CGM sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a first direct wireless communication between the infusion pump and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 21+27; communications link 113 between drug delivery device 102 and sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a second direct wireless communication between the remote control device and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 20; communication link 110 between sensor 112 and controller 104; fig 1)
receiving, through the first direct wireless communication, at the infusion pump only data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system related to pump functions;
(paragraph 27; drug delivery device 102 computes pump insulin delivery volume, therein therapy parameters, based on blood glucose data, therein pump data, received from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Finan discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, at the remote control device data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system -- wherein the data received at the remote control device through the second direct wireless communication comprises hardware performance and diagnostic data relating to an operation of at least one of a sensor, or transmitter of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
However Burnette teaches a wireless communication system/method between an analyte monitor and a user’s display device wherein:
(paragraph 45+50+56+59+67+97+138; handheld display device 120, such as custom device 120a, smartwatch 120b, phone 120c, or tablet 120d, can directly wirelessly communicate with a glucose analyte sensor system 104, having continuous glucose analyte sensor 108 and sensor electronics module 106, such that display device 120 receives certain communication data such as a whitelist which contains a continuously dynamically updated list of the most recent and prioritized display devices which system 104 forms a wireless connection with, therein the whitelist can be considered a log of radioconnectivity between a transceiver 316 – which can be considered to comprise a wireless transmitter (not enumerated/illustrated) and a wireless data sensor (not enumerated/illustrated) – of system 104 with display devices 120a-d’s transceiver 338, considered a connectivity history of system 104’s transceiver 316 with the transceivers 338 of display devices120a-d, and considered a log of the transceivers 338 of display device 120a-d which have disconnected from the transceiver 316 of system 104, which all can be considered performance and diagnostic data relating to the operation of transceiver 316 of system 104 as transceiver 316’s key role is performing the action of creating and detecting wireless connection of system 104 with display devices 120a-d; fig 1+3+8F)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burnette’s teachings of communicating hardware performance and diagnostic data relating to an operation of, a wireless sensor and transmitter of the continuous glucose monitoring system to multiple remote devices into Finan’s disclosed CGM and remote device, such that Finan’s CGM sensor 112 is enabled to communicate with a multitude of controllers 104 such that a user of the modified invention may have display access to a list of historically connected remote devices, see paragraph 21+40 of Finan, and enable a user to view a dynamically updatable list of recently connected remote devices and enable a user to control which remote devices should be connected to the cgm system paragraph 97+138 of Burnette.
However, Finan in view of Burnette remains silent regarding:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, at the remote control device data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system that is not transmitted to the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication.
However, Twell teaches a wireless network communication system/methods:
Wherein when an information provider communicates with a user device, the information provider sends a signal which only indicates that the information provider is seeking user devices which require the information it is trying to communicate, see Twell paragraph 24. The user device consequently requests the information only if the user desires the information at that user device, see Twell paragraph 24. Consequently, the information provider customizes a responding signal which only contains the relevant information that the user device desires, see Twell paragraph 25-26.
This arrangement of network communications, where only the information desired by the receiving device is communicated by the transmitted device toward the receiving device, is advantageous in that it minimizes power wastage across the system brought by unnecessary transmissions, receptions, and filtering of unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twell’s teachings of not communicating unwanted information to a device which did not request the unwanted information, to the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, by not sending non-pump data from the continuous glucose monitoring system to the infusion pump, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with a reduced power demand by not communicating unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Regarding claim 32, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the data related to pump functions comprises data that will be utilized to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump.
Finan: (paragraph 27; drug delivery device 102 computes pump insulin delivery volume, therein therapy parameters, based on blood glucose data, therein pump data, received from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Regarding claim 34, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the continuous glucose monitoring system comprises a glucose sensor and a transmitter.
Finan: (paragraph 20-21+24; CGM sensor 112 measures blood glucose levels therein comprises structure that can be considered a glucose sensor (not enumerated/illustrated), and further sensor 112 wirelessly communicates signals with controller 104 via link 110 and therein comprises structure that can be considered a transmitter (not enumerated/illustrated); fig 1)
Regarding claim 35, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the data received at the infusion pump includes data relating to glucose levels of a user.
Finan: (paragraph 27; device 102 receives blood glucose data from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Regarding claim 36, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell teaches:
The method of claim 31, wherein the data received at the remote control device includes diagnostic and performance data of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
wherein the data received at the remote control device comprises one or more of; a radio connectivity log, or a connectivity history of the continuous glucose monitoring system; or a sensor-transmitter disconnection log of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
Examiner notes that as noted in the modification of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell made in claim 31 above, the non-pump data communicated from Finan's CGM sensor 112 to Finan's controller 104 comprises communicating a radio connectivity log, a connectivity history of the continuous glucose monitoring system of, and a sensor-transmitter disconnection log of the continuous glucose monitoring system to Finan's CGM sensor 112.
Regarding claim 37, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the remote control device is a dedicated remote controller designed for use with the infusion pump.
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a hand-held portable controller, which is demonstrated throughout the disclosure as designed for use with device 102; fig 1)
Regarding claim 40, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the remote control device is an electronic watch.
Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term " watch" to a person of ordinary skill in the art, not inconsistent with the disclosure, may be best provided by Merriam-Webster's dictionary: " a portable timepiece designed to be worn -- or carried in the pocket".
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a smart phone, which can be considered an electronic watch by the manner by which it is powered electronically, can be carried in a pocket, and can convey the present time; fig 1)
Claims 22-23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finan in view of Burnette and Twell as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and further in view of US 20160241711 A1, henceforth written as Eilts.
Regarding Claim 22,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Finan in view of Burnette and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 21, wherein receiving pump data at the infusion pump and receiving non-pump data at the remote control device can be done at different times.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
For example, battery life data may generally vary less rapidly than some data which is dependent on human interaction, such as changing speakerphone status, or blood glucose levels.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of reducing transmission rates of less-frequently-varying data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that pump data is communicated more frequently than non-pump data and thus communication occurring at different times, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 23, the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell teaches
The method of claim 22, wherein receiving pump data at the infusion pump occurs more frequently than receiving non-pump data at the remote control device.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification to the invention made in claim 22 above, the pump data is communicated to the infusion pump more frequently the non-pump data is received at the remote control device, as the data type is communicated at a rate consistent with the rate by which the data varies, and thus the modified invention teaches the above limitation.
Regarding Claim 33,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Burnette and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 31, wherein receiving data at the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication occurs more frequently than receiving data at the remote control device through the second direct wireless communication.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
For example, battery life data may generally vary less rapidly than some data which is dependent on human interaction, such as changing speakerphone status, or blood glucose levels.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of reducing transmission rates of less-frequently-varying data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that pump data is communicated more frequently than non-pump data and thus communication occurring at different times, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 43,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, Twell, and Eilts discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Burnette, Twell, and Eilts is silent regarding:
The method of claim 23, wherein: receiving pump data at the infusion pump occurs at least once every fifteen minutes; and receiving non-pump data at the remote control device occurs at least once every day but no more than once every hour.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of varying transmission rates of data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that the claimed data types are communicated at the claimed rates, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 44,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, Twell, and Eilts discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Burnette, Twell, and Eilts is silent regarding:
The method of claim 33, wherein: receiving data at the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication occurs at least once every fifteen minutes; and receiving data at the remote control device through the second direct wireless communication occurs at least once every day but no more than once every hour.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of varying transmission rates of data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that the claimed data types are communicated at the claimed rates, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finan in view of Burnette and Twell as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and further in view of US 20100305421 A1, henceforth written as Ow-Wing.
Regarding Claim 41,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Burnette, and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 21, wherein the non-pump data includes a temperature data associated with the continuous glucose monitoring system;
However, Ow-Wing teaches a CGM communicating to a remote user device:
Communicating temperature data from a CGM to a remote user device, wherein the temperature data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 12+16+31+38; glucose monitor 50, therein a CGM system, sends temperature values measured by temperature sensor 76, which measures temperature at the glucose sensor 60 therein a temperature of the CGM system, toward a smart phone device, therein a remote control device, only; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Ow-Wing’s teachings of recording temperature of a CGM system and communicating this temperature only to a remote control device to the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can record and communicate certain critical variables like temperature of at a medical device which may have negative impacts on sensory accuracy/reliability, electronic communications, or certain mechanical components if temperature reaches an abnormal level indicative of a failure mode of the invention.
Regarding Claim 42,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Burnette, and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 21, wherein the non-pump data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system;
However, Ow-Wing teaches a CGM communicating to a remote user device:
Communicating temperature data only from a CGM to a remote user device, wherein the temperature data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 12+16+31+38; glucose monitor 50, therein a CGM system, sends temperature values measured by temperature sensor 76, which measures temperature at the glucose sensor 60 therein a temperature of the CGM system, toward a smart phone device, therein a remote control device, only; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Ow-Wing’s teachings of recording temperature of a CGM system and communicating this temperature only to a remote control device to the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette and Twell in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can record and communicate certain critical variables like temperature of at a medical device which may have negative impacts on sensory accuracy/reliability, electronic communications, or certain mechanical components if temperature reaches an abnormal level indicative of a failure mode of the invention.
Examiner notes Ow-Wing explicitly recites its temperature data is communicated from its CGM system only to its remote control device, see paragraph 38, however Ow-Wing does not positively disclose a pump as part of its invention. It is clear that such an incorporation of Ow-Wing as detailed above, would likewise only communicate this temperature to the remote controller, and not to a pump, and therein arrive at the presently claimed invention. Only for the sake that if applicant disagrees with this interpretation that the presently modified invention of Finan, Burnette, Twell, and Ow-Wing teaches the limitations of claim 42, the following additional modification is made:
Twell teaches a wireless network communication system/methods:
Wherein when an information provider communicates with a user device, the information provider sends a signal which only indicates that the information provider is seeking user devices which require the information it is trying to communicate, see Twell paragraph 24. The user device consequently requests the information only if the user desires the information at that user device, see Twell paragraph 24. Consequently, the information provider customizes a responding signal which only contains the relevant information that the user device desires, see Twell paragraph 25-26.
This arrangement of network communications, where only the information desired by the receiving device is communicated by the transmitted device toward the receiving device, is advantageous in that it minimizes power wastage across the system brought by unnecessary transmissions, receptions, and filtering of unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twell’s teachings of not communicating unwanted information to a device which did not request the unwanted information, to the modified invention of Finan in view of Burnette, Twell, and Ow-Wing, by not sending temperature from the continuous glucose monitoring system to the infusion pump, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with a reduced power demand by not communicating unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783