DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/25/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 23, 33, and 41-42 have been amended, claims 29 and 39 have been cancelled, and claims 43-44 have been added. Thus, claims 21-27, 30-37, and 40-44 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21 and 31 under Finan and Mazlish have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Finan, Mazlish, and US 20100136953 A1, henceforth written as Twell.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding claims 22-23 and 33 on page 8-9:
Applicant argues that the prior art relied upon in the preceding office action does not teach the following limitations of the presently amended claims:
Receiving pump data at the infusion pump more frequently than receiving non pump data at the remote control device
Applicants arguments particularly argue that the difference in RF frequency by which the communications occur, as taught by Sloan, do not teach these limitations.
However, examiner notes that the frequency of the RF signal details the rate at which information is communicated over a wireless RF communication network. Accordingly, a higher RF frequency communicates information at a higher rate than information communicated over a lower frequency.
However, in light of examiner’s interview with applicant om 11/13/2025 and the more clear and specific claim limitations in claims 43 44, the rejection of these claims is instead provided in view of US 20160241711 A1, henceforth written as Eilts, which more explicitly discusses the rate at which information is communicated across wireless communication networks.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims on page 8-9:
Applicant argues that their preceding arguments render the independent claims allowable, and consequently likewise the dependent claims are allowable.
See the rejection of the dependent claims below for the prior art relied upon which discloses/teaches the subject matter of the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 41-42
The portion of applicant’s disclosure which discusses the non-pump data which is communicated between the CGM and remote control device, and not communicated to the infusion pump, see page 14 line 8-21, is not so explicit or clear as to suggest that the temperature value data communicated is representative of a temperature of the CGM system nor that the sensor noise value data pertains to specifically to the pump data collected with the CGM system. Accordingly, applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that inventor(s) were in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing and thus constitute new matter.
Regarding claims 43-44
The portion of applicant’s disclosure which discusses the rate range by which data is communicated, see page 13 line 10-11 and page 14 line 8-11, is not so explicit or clear as to support the claimed rate of receiving/communicating pump data “at least once every fifteen minutes” nor support the claimed rate of receiving/communicating non-pump data “at least once every day but no more than once every hour”. Accordingly, applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that inventor(s) were in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing and thus constitute new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21, 24-27, 30-32, 34-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180296757 A1, henceforth written as Finan, in view of US 20170199985 A1, henceforth written as Mazlish, and further in view of US 20100136953 A1, henceforth written as Twell.
Regarding Claim 21
Finan discloses:
A method of coordinating wireless communications in an infusion pump system
(invention of fig 1)
including an infusion pump,
(drug delivery device 102; fig 1)
a remote control device for remotely controlling the infusion pump, and
(controller 104; fig 1)
a continuous glucose monitoring system, comprising:
(CGM sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a first direct wireless communication between the infusion pump and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 21+27; communications link 113 between drug delivery device 102 and sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a second direct wireless communication between the remote control device and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 20; communication link 110 between sensor 112 and controller 104; fig 1)
receiving, through the first direct wireless communication, pump data at the infusion pump collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system that will be utilized to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump;
(paragraph 27; drug delivery device 102 computes pump insulin delivery volume, therein therapy parameters, based on blood glucose data, therein pump data, received from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Finan discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, non-pump data at the remote control device collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system relating to the continuous glucose monitoring system that are not used to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump,
However Mazlish teaches a diabetes management system wherein:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, non-pump data at the remote control device
(paragraph 36; continuous glucose monitor 50 can wirelessly communicate directly with mobile computing device 60; fig 1)
collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system relating to the continuous glucose monitoring system that are not used to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump,
(paragraph 57-58; home screen 300 of device 60 receives and communicates CGM monitor 50's power status to a user to assure the user that the diabetes management system 10 is functioning properly)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mazlish's teachings of communicating a continuous glucose monitoring system's power status to a remote control device, by sending the power status of Finan's CGM sensor 112 to Finan's controller 104 via Finan's communication link 110, therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can assure a user that critical components to Finan's diabetes management system are functioning properly, see paragraph 57-58 of Mazlish.
However, Finan in view of Mazlish remains silent regarding:
wherein the non-pump data is not received at the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication.
However, Twell teaches a wireless network communication system/methods:
Wherein when an information provider communicates with a user device, the information provider sends a signal which only indicates that the information provider is seeking user devices which require the information it is trying to communicate, see Twell paragraph 24. The user device consequently requests the information only if the user desires the information at that user device, see Twell paragraph 24. Consequently, the information provider customizes a responding signal which only contains the relevant information that the user device desires, see Twell paragraph 25-26.
This arrangement of network communications, where only the information desired by the receiving device is communicated by the transmitted device toward the receiving device, is advantageous in that it minimizes power wastage across the system brought by unnecessary transmissions, receptions, and filtering of unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twell’s teachings of not communicating unwanted information to a device which did not request the unwanted information, to the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, by not sending non-pump data from the continuous glucose monitoring system to the infusion pump, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with a reduced power demand by not communicating unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the continuous glucose monitoring system comprises a glucose sensor and a transmitter.
Finan: (paragraph 20-21+24; CGM sensor 112 measures blood glucose levels therein comprises structure that can be considered a glucose sensor (not enumerated/illustrated), and further sensor 112 wirelessly communicates signals with controller 104 via link 110 and therein comprises structure that can be considered a transmitter (not enumerated/illustrated); fig 1)
Regarding claim 25, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the pump data includes data relating to glucose levels of a user.
Finan: (paragraph 27; device 102 receives blood glucose data from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Regarding claim 26, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein the non-pump data includes diagnostic and performance data of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
Examiner notes that according to the modification of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell made in claim 21 above, the non-pump data communicated from Finan's CGM sensor 112 to Finan's controller 104 includes the power status of Finan's CGM sensor 112, and therein includes diagnostic/performance data of the CGM system.
Regarding claim 27, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the remote control device is a dedicated remote controller designed for use with the infusion pump.
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a hand-held portable controller, which is demonstrated throughout the disclosure as designed for use with device 102; fig 1)
Regarding claim 30, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 21, wherein the remote control device is an electronic watch.
Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term " watch" to a person of ordinary skill in the art, not inconsistent with the disclosure, may be best provided by Merriam-Webster's dictionary: " a portable timepiece designed to be worn -- or carried in the pocket".
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a smart phone, which can be considered an electronic watch by the manner by which it is powered electronically, can be carried in a pocket, and can convey the present time; fig 1)
Regarding Claim 31,
Finan discloses:
A method of coordinating wireless communications in an infusion pump system
(invention of fig 1)
including an infusion pump,
(drug delivery device 102; fig 1)
a remote control device for remotely controlling the infusion pump, and
(controller 104; fig 1)
a continuous glucose monitoring system, comprising:
(CGM sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a first direct wireless communication between the infusion pump and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 21+27; communications link 113 between drug delivery device 102 and sensor 112; fig 1)
establishing a second direct wireless communication between the remote control device and the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 20; communication link 110 between sensor 112 and controller 104; fig 1)
receiving, through the first direct wireless communication, at the infusion pump only data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system related to pump functions;
(paragraph 27; drug delivery device 102 computes pump insulin delivery volume, therein therapy parameters, based on blood glucose data, therein pump data, received from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Finan discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, at the remote control device data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system
However Mazlish teaches a diabetes management system:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, at the remote control device
(paragraph 36; continuous glucose monitor 50 can wirelessly communicate directly with mobile computing device 60; fig 1)
data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system
(paragraph 57-58; home screen 300 of device 60 receives and communicates CGM monitor 50's power status to a user to assure the user that the diabetes management system 10 is functioning properly)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mazlish's teachings of communicating a continuous glucose monitoring system's power status to a remote control device, by sending the power status of Finan's CGM sensor 112 to Finan's controller 104 via Finan's communication link 110, therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can assure a user that critical components to Finan's diabetes management system are functioning properly, see paragraph 57-58 of Mazlish.
However, Finan in view of Mazlish remains silent regarding:
and receiving, through the second direct wireless communication, at the remote control device data collected by the continuous glucose monitoring system that is not transmitted to the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication.
However, Twell teaches a wireless network communication system/methods:
Wherein when an information provider communicates with a user device, the information provider sends a signal which only indicates that the information provider is seeking user devices which require the information it is trying to communicate, see Twell paragraph 24. The user device consequently requests the information only if the user desires the information at that user device, see Twell paragraph 24. Consequently, the information provider customizes a responding signal which only contains the relevant information that the user device desires, see Twell paragraph 25-26.
This arrangement of network communications, where only the information desired by the receiving device is communicated by the transmitted device toward the receiving device, is advantageous in that it minimizes power wastage across the system brought by unnecessary transmissions, receptions, and filtering of unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twell’s teachings of not communicating unwanted information to a device which did not request the unwanted information, to the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, by not sending non-pump data from the continuous glucose monitoring system to the infusion pump, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with a reduced power demand by not communicating unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Regarding claim 32, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the data related to pump functions comprises data that will be utilized to determine therapy parameters for the infusion pump.
Finan: (paragraph 27; drug delivery device 102 computes pump insulin delivery volume, therein therapy parameters, based on blood glucose data, therein pump data, received from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Regarding claim 34, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the continuous glucose monitoring system comprises a glucose sensor and a transmitter.
Finan: (paragraph 20-21+24; CGM sensor 112 measures blood glucose levels therein comprises structure that can be considered a glucose sensor (not enumerated/illustrated), and further sensor 112 wirelessly communicates signals with controller 104 via link 110 and therein comprises structure that can be considered a transmitter (not enumerated/illustrated); fig 1)
Regarding claim 35, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the data received at the infusion pump includes data relating to glucose levels of a user.
Finan: (paragraph 27; device 102 receives blood glucose data from sensor 112 via link 113; fig 1)
Regarding claim 36, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell teaches:
The method of claim 31, wherein the data received at the remote control device includes diagnostic and performance data of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
Examiner notes that according to the modification of Finan in view of Mazlish of Twell made in claim 31 above, the non-pump data communicated from Finan's CGM sensor 112 to Finan's controller 104 includes the power status of Finan's CGM sensor 112, and therein includes diagnostic/performance data of the CGM system.
Regarding claim 37, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the remote control device is a dedicated remote controller designed for use with the infusion pump.
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a hand-held portable controller, which is demonstrated throughout the disclosure as designed for use with device 102; fig 1)
Regarding claim 40, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses:
The method of claim 31, wherein the remote control device is an electronic watch.
Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term " watch" to a person of ordinary skill in the art, not inconsistent with the disclosure, may be best provided by Merriam-Webster's dictionary: " a portable timepiece designed to be worn -- or carried in the pocket".
Finan: (paragraph 20; controller 104 can be a smart phone, which can be considered an electronic watch by the manner by which it is powered electronically, can be carried in a pocket, and can convey the present time; fig 1)
Claims 22-23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and further in view of US 20160241711 A1, henceforth written as Eilts.
Regarding Claim 22,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 21, wherein receiving pump data at the infusion pump and receiving non-pump data at the remote control device can be done at different times.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
For example, battery life data may generally vary less rapidly than some data which is dependent on human interaction, such as changing speakerphone status, or blood glucose levels.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of reducing transmission rates of less-frequently-varying data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that pump data is communicated more frequently than non-pump data and thus communication occurring at different times, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 23, the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell teaches
The method of claim 22, wherein receiving pump data at the infusion pump occurs more frequently than receiving non-pump data at the remote control device.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification to the invention made in claim 22 above, the pump data is communicated to the infusion pump more frequently the non-pump data is received at the remote control device, as the data type is communicated at a rate consistent with the rate by which the data varies, and thus the modified invention teaches the above limitation.
Regarding Claim 33,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 31, wherein receiving data at the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication occurs more frequently than receiving data at the remote control device through the second direct wireless communication.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
For example, battery life data may generally vary less rapidly than some data which is dependent on human interaction, such as changing speakerphone status, or blood glucose levels.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of reducing transmission rates of less-frequently-varying data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that pump data is communicated more frequently than non-pump data and thus communication occurring at different times, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 43,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, Twell, and Eilts discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Mazlish, Twell, and Eilts is silent regarding:
The method of claim 23, wherein: receiving pump data at the infusion pump occurs at least once every fifteen minutes; and receiving non-pump data at the remote control device occurs at least once every day but no more than once every hour.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of varying transmission rates of data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that the claimed data types are communicated at the claimed rates, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding Claim 44,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, Twell, and Eilts discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Mazlish, Twell, and Eilts is silent regarding:
The method of claim 33, wherein: receiving data at the infusion pump through the first direct wireless communication occurs at least once every fifteen minutes; and receiving data at the remote control device through the second direct wireless communication occurs at least once every day but no more than once every hour.
However, Eilts teaches a wireless communication system
wherein when communicating a type data wirelessly, if that type of data varies less frequently than other types of data, then transmitting that type of data less frequently reduces data transmissions and consequently conserves battery life by only communicating data when it has reached a certain freshness threshold, see paragraph 56 of Eilts.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Eilts teachings of varying transmission rates of data to the wireless communication system of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell, by routinely optimizing the rate at which pump data and non-pump data are communicated based on the rate at which the respective data varies, such that the claimed data types are communicated at the claimed rates, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which limits its power demands by communicating data at a rate consistent with the rate at which the data varies, see paragraph 56 of Eilts and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell as applied to claim 21 and 31 above, and further in view of US 20100305421 A1, henceforth written as Ow-Wing.
Regarding Claim 41,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Mazlish, and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 21, wherein the non-pump data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system; a noise value of the pump data collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system; or an error message, or an alarm or alert history of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
However, Ow-Wing teaches a CGM communicating to a remote user device:
Communicating temperature data from a CGM to a remote user device, wherein the temperature data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 12+16+31+38; glucose monitor 50, therein a CGM system, sends temperature values measured by temperature sensor 76, which measures temperature at the glucose sensor 60 therein a temperature of the CGM system, toward a smart phone device, therein a remote control device, only; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Ow-Wing’s teachings of recording temperature of a CGM system and communicating this temperature only to a remote control device to the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can record and communicate certain critical variables like temperature of at a medical device which may have negative impacts on sensory accuracy/reliability, electronic communications, or certain mechanical components if temperature reaches an abnormal level indicative of a failure mode of the invention.
Regarding Claim 42,
The modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, and Twell discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Finan in view of Mazlish, and Twell is silent regarding:
The method of claim 21, wherein the non-pump data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system; a noise value of the pump data collected with the continuous glucose monitoring system; or an error message, or an alarm or alert history of the continuous glucose monitoring system.
However, Ow-Wing teaches a CGM communicating to a remote user device:
Communicating temperature data only from a CGM to a remote user device, wherein the temperature data includes: a temperature value of the continuous glucose monitoring system;
(paragraph 12+16+31+38; glucose monitor 50, therein a CGM system, sends temperature values measured by temperature sensor 76, which measures temperature at the glucose sensor 60 therein a temperature of the CGM system, toward a smart phone device, therein a remote control device, only; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Ow-Wing’s teachings of recording temperature of a CGM system and communicating this temperature only to a remote control device to the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish and Twell in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can record and communicate certain critical variables like temperature of at a medical device which may have negative impacts on sensory accuracy/reliability, electronic communications, or certain mechanical components if temperature reaches an abnormal level indicative of a failure mode of the invention.
Examiner notes Ow-Wing explicitly recites its temperature data is communicated from its CGM system only to its remote control device, see paragraph 38, however Ow-Wing does not positively disclose a pump as part of its invention. It is clear that such an incorporation of Ow-Wing as detailed above, would likewise only communicate this temperature to the remote controller, and not to a pump, and therein arrive at the presently claimed invention. Only for the sake that if applicant disagrees with this interpretation that the presently modified invention of Finan, Mazlish, Twell, and Ow-Wing teaches the limitations of claim 42, the following additional modification is made:
Twell teaches a wireless network communication system/methods:
Wherein when an information provider communicates with a user device, the information provider sends a signal which only indicates that the information provider is seeking user devices which require the information it is trying to communicate, see Twell paragraph 24. The user device consequently requests the information only if the user desires the information at that user device, see Twell paragraph 24. Consequently, the information provider customizes a responding signal which only contains the relevant information that the user device desires, see Twell paragraph 25-26.
This arrangement of network communications, where only the information desired by the receiving device is communicated by the transmitted device toward the receiving device, is advantageous in that it minimizes power wastage across the system brought by unnecessary transmissions, receptions, and filtering of unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Twell’s teachings of not communicating unwanted information to a device which did not request the unwanted information, to the modified invention of Finan in view of Mazlish, Twell, and Ow-Wing, by not sending temperature from the continuous glucose monitoring system to the infusion pump, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with a reduced power demand by not communicating unwanted information, see Twell paragraph 23-26.
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783