DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9310615, of record), herein after referred to as D1, further in view of Kreitzer (US 10594906), herein after referred to as D2, still further in view of Corcoran (US 20130048514) herein after referred to as D3.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a portable workstation cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); comprising: a series of interconnected panels (12, 20, 30, 40) comprising: two oppositely positioned side panels (20, 30), a top panel (40) and oppositely positioned to a base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15), connected to the side panels (20,30), and a rear panel (fig. 22, element 12); connected to each of the side panels, the top panel and the base panel; wherein the side panels, top panel, base panel and rear panel together define an interior volume, and wherein the base panel comprises at least one strap (70, 82) configured to secure an electronic device (2) having a screen (1) to the portable workstation cover.
D1 fails to expressly disclose, at least one resilient support member received within at least one retaining sleeve, wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material, and wherein the base panel comprises at least one strap configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device having a screen to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device and the base panel, and wherein the strap is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible space, in at least figures 1 and 2; comprising: at least one resilient support member (2100) received within at least one retaining sleeve (1100), wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material (Col. 4, Ln. 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1, with the flexible rod and sleeve of D2 for the purpose of providing a strong support capable of being collapsed
However, D1 in view of D2 do not expressly disclose wherein the base panel comprises at least one strap configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device having a screen to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device and the base panel, and wherein the strap is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel.
In a further related endeavor, D3 teaches a universal case for portable electronic devices, in at least figure 1D, wherein the base panel (100) comprises at least one strap (105) configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device (115) having a screen ([0051]) to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device (115) and the base panel (100), and wherein the strap (105) is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D2, with the base panel comprises at least one strap configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device having a screen to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device and the base panel, and wherein the strap is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel of D2 for the purpose of better securing the electronic device to the bottom of the universal case.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, however D1 in view of D3 fail to expressly disclose a front panel which is positioned opposite the rear panel.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible cover, in at least (Fig. 1-6), further comprising a front panel (110) which is positioned opposite the rear panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 with a front panel as taught by D2 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device.
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a workstation, in at least (fig. 14-16); comprising a plurality of resilient support members (86) configured to conform to perimeters of one or more of the side panels (20, 30); top panel (40); base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15); rear panel (fig. 22, element 12).
D1 in view of D3 fail to expressly disclose, at least one resilient support member received within at least one retaining sleeve, wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible space, in at least figures 1 and 2; comprising: at least one resilient support member (2100) received within at least one retaining sleeve (1100), wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material (Col. 4, Ln. 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D3, with the flexible rod and sleeve of D2 for the purpose of providing a strong support capable of being collapsed.
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a workstation, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein one or more of the side panels (20, 30), top panel (40), base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15), rear panel (fig. 22, element 12) individually comprise a retaining sleeve (86) disposed along perimeters of the respective panels.
However, D1 in view of D3 does not teach comprising: at least one resilient support member received within at least one retaining sleeve, wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible space, in at least figures 1 and 2; comprising: at least one resilient support member (2100) received within at least one retaining sleeve (1100), wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material (Col. 4, Ln. 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D3, with the flexible rod and sleeve of D2 for the purpose of providing a strong support capable of being collapsed.
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a workstation, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein each of the top panel, base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15), rear panel individually comprise a support member (86) received within a respective retaining sleeve (86).
D1 in view of D3 fail to expressly disclose, at least one resilient support member received within a respective retaining sleeve.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible space, in at least figures 1 and 2; comprising: at least one resilient support member (2100) received within at least one retaining sleeve (1100), wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material (Col. 4, Ln. 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D3, with the flexible rod and sleeve of D2 for the purpose of providing a strong support capable of being collapsed.
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a workstation, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein each of the side panels (20, 30), the top panel (40), the base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15) and the rear panel (12) comprise a material (86) extending along a surface defined by the respective perimeters (86) of the panels.
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the resilient support member (86) is formed of non-brittle metal, such as aluminum or steel; a polymer; carbon; or other resilient composite material.
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least figure 14-16; wherein the electronic device (2) is one or more of a tablet (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31), a laptop computer (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31), a hybrid laptop computer (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31), a smartphone (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31), a portable gaming system (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31), or a monitor (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31).
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the strap (70, 82) is elastic (Col. 4, Ln. 66 – Col. 5, Ln. 31).
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the strap (82) comprises an attachment clasp (82) such that upon connecting the attachment clasp, the strap is configured to hold the electronic device (2) in place, and upon release of the attachment clasp (82, hook and loop), the strap is configured to release the electronic device (1/2).
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15) further comprises at least one binding (82) configured to receive a front portion of the electronic device (1, 2).
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9310615, of record), herein after referred to as D1, in view of Kreitzer (US 10594906), herein after referred to as D2, further in view of Corcoran (US 20130048514) herein after referred to as D3, and still further in view of Tranchina (CA 2872740), herein after referred to as D4.
With regard to claim 12, D1 in view of D2 still further in view of D3, teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 1, wherein D1 in view of D2 still further in view of D3 fail to expressly disclose, an aperture disposed on the rear panel and a holster on the outer surface of the rear panel configured to receive a camera device.
In a related endeavor, D4 teaches a camera mounting apparatus, in at least (Pg. 11, Ln. 21- Pg. 12, Ln. 10); further comprising an aperture (Fig. 6; 100) disposed on the rear panel (Fig. 6; 602) and a holster (Fig. 6; 601) on the outer surface of the rear panel configured to receive a camera device (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D2 still further in view of D3 with camera and mount as taught by D4 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device while providing camera functionality that would be blocked by the cover.
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2 teach a portable workstation cover, in at least (Fig. 14-16); comprising: a series of interconnected panels comprising: two oppositely positioned side panels (20, 30), a top panel (40) and oppositely positioned to a base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15) connected to the side panels, and a rear panel (fig. 22, element 12) connected to each of the side panels, the top panel and the base panel; at least one resilient support member (86, hinge rod) received within at least one retaining sleeve (86, hinge cylinder); wherein the side panels, top panel, base panel and rear panel together define an interior volume.
However, D1 fails to expressly disclose, at least one resilient support member received within at least one retaining sleeve, wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material; and wherein an outer surface of the rear panel comprises a holster configured to receive a camera device said rear panel further comprising an aperture configured to align with the camera.
D2 does not remedy the deficiencies of D1 with respect to the limitations wherein an outer surface of the rear panel comprises a holster configured to receive a camera device said rear panel further comprising an aperture configured to align with the camera.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a camera mounting apparatus, in at least (Pg. 11, Ln. 21- Pg. 12, Ln. 10); further comprising an aperture (Fig. 6; 100) disposed on the rear panel (Fig. 6; 602) and a holster (Fig. 6; 601) on the outer surface of the rear panel configured to receive a camera device (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D2 with camera and mount as taught by D4 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device while providing camera functionality that would be blocked by the cover.
However, D1 in view of D2 do not expressly disclose wherein the base panel comprises at least one strap configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device having a screen to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device and the base panel, and wherein the strap is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel and further comprising an aperture disposed on the rear panel and a holster on the outer surface of the rear panel configured to receive a camera device.
In a further related endeavor, D3 teaches a universal case for portable electronic devices, in at least figure 1D, wherein the base panel (100) comprises at least one strap (105) configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device (115) having a screen ([0051]) to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device (115) and the base panel (100), and wherein the strap (105) is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D2, with the base panel comprises at least one strap configured to secure fit over a lower surface of an electronic device having a screen to provide a secure attachment between the electronic device and the base panel, and wherein the strap is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel of D2 for the purpose of better securing the electronic device to the bottom of the universal case.
However, D1 in view of D2 still further in view of D3 do not expressly disclose further comprising an aperture disposed on the rear panel and a holster on the outer surface of the rear panel configured to receive a camera device.
In a related endeavor, D4 teaches a camera mounting apparatus, in at least (Pg. 11, Ln. 21- Pg. 12, Ln. 10); further comprising an aperture (Fig. 6; 100) disposed on the rear panel (Fig. 6; 602) and a holster (Fig. 6; 601) on the outer surface of the rear panel configured to receive a camera device (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3, with a camera and mount as taught by D4 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device while providing camera functionality that would be blocked by the cover.
With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 13, wherein D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 fail to expressly disclose, a front panel which is positioned opposite the rear panel.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible cover, in at least (Fig. 1-6), further comprising a front panel (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 with a front panel as taught by D2 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device.
With regard to claim 15, With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 14, wherein D1 in view of D4 further teach a work station, in at least (fig. 14-16); comprising a plurality of resilient support members (86) configured to conform to perimeters of one or more of the side panels; top panel; base panel; rear panel.
However, D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 do not expressly disclose a collapsible cover. Comprising a front panel.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible cover, in at least (Fig. 1-6), further comprising a front panel (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 with a front panel as taught by D2 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device.
With regard to claim 16, With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 14, wherein D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 further teach a work station, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein each of the top panel, base panel, rear panel individually comprise a resilient support member (86).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible space, in at least figures 1 and 2; comprising: at least one resilient support member (2100) received within at least one retaining sleeve (1100), wherein the resilient support member is formed of a flexible material (Col. 4, Ln. 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4, with the flexible rod and sleeve of D2 for the purpose of providing a strong support capable of being collapsed.
However, D1 in view of D4 do not expressly disclose a collapsible cover. Comprising a front panel.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible cover, in at least (Fig. 1-6), further comprising a front panel (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 with a front panel as taught by D2 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device.
With regard to claim 17, With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 14, wherein D1 in view of D2 further in view of D4 further teach a work station, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein each of the side panels (20, 30), the top panel (40), the base panel (Col. 8, Ln. 13-15) and the rear panel (12) comprise a material (86) extending along a surface defined by the respective perimeters (86) of the panels.
However, D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 do not expressly disclose a collapsible cover. Comprising a front panel with an opening.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a collapsible cover, in at least (Fig. 1-6), further comprising a front panel (110) with an opening.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cover of D1 in view of D3 still further in view of D4 with a front panel with an opening as taught by D2 for the purpose of providing more privacy and cover for the electronic device.
With regard to claim 18, With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the resilient support member (86) is formed of non-brittle metal, such as aluminum or steel; a polymer; carbon; or other resilient composite material (Col. 8, Ln. 51-67).
With regard to claim 19, With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the base panel comprises a strap (82) configured to secure an electronic device having a screen to the portable workstation cover.
With regard to claim 20, With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 further in view of D3 and still further in view of D4 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with regard to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a portable cover, in at least (fig. 14-16); wherein the base panel further comprises at least one binding (86) configured to receive a front portion of a laptop computer, wherein the binding is disposed on an inner surface of the base panel.
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872