DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-27 & 29-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20200144667) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on August 6th, 2021) in view of Kim (US20210028439) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 26th, 2024).
Regarding Claim 22 & 25, Huang discloses a solid polymer electrolyte (polymer solid electrolyte, [002]) comprising:
An electrolyte salt ([0020]) and a standalone and non-IPN polymer network comprising a product of cross-linking reaction including at least one cross-linker selected from the group consisting of: a) tri-acrylates and tetra-acrylates; b) modified tri-acrylates and tetra-acrylates; c) silanes and siloxanes; and d) triazinane-triones (crosslinking reaction including polymer, [005], polymer can be triacrylate monomers, [0043]).
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, in view of the specifications and with consideration to Applicant’s arguments, “a standalone and non-IPN polymer network” can be interpreted to be any polymer structure that is not formed through an IPN polymer structure, where the crosslinked polymer is formed into a distinct individual polymer structure. Therefore, since Huang discloses a cross-linking reaction for a polymer that is not an IPN polymer networks that Huang discloses a standalone and non-IPN polymer network.
Huang discloses wherein the at least one cross-linker has at least three cross-linkable terminals (triacrylates including norbornyl methacrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate and other triacylates can be used which cross linkable terminals, [0043]).
Huang does not directly disclose wherein the standalone and non-IPN polymer network has a total weight percentage between 0.1 wt% and 15 wt% based on a total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Huang discloses wherein the overall electrolyte contains the polymer, an optional plasticizer, and an electrolyte salt ([0035]). Huang further discloses wherein the mole fraction of the polymer can range from 0.01 to 0.32 ([0039]), which provides a polymer weight percentage that overlaps the instant claim range of 0.1 wt% and 15 wt%.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Huang to have wherein the standalone and non-IPN polymer network has a total weight percentage between 0.1 wt% and 15 wt% based on a total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Huang does not directly disclose wherein the at least one cross-linker has at least three cross-linkable terminals.
Huang discloses that various triacrylates can be used for the polymer ([0045]), however, Huang does not directly disclose wherein the tri-acrylates and tetra-acrylates are selected from the group consisting of:
,
wherein R4 is
Rs is
or
R1, R2 and R6 are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, methyl, ethyl, phenyl and methylphenyl, n is an integer between 0 and 50,000, and* indicates a point of attachment.
Kim discloses wherein the tri-acrylate can be trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate ([0018]). Therefore, Kim discloses wherein the tri-acrylate meets the limitation of meeting the formula
where R5 is
, and R6 is a hydrogen.
The examiner notes that although Kim is directed to a IPN polymer network, Kim’s polymer choice provides the benefits of improved ion conductivity and a flame retardant effect ([0037]). The examiner notes that these properties are directly related to the chemical composition of the polymer used, and therefore can be applied to the crosslinked polymer structure of Huang, despite Huang not being an IPN polymer network.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the at least one cross-linker has at least three cross-linkable terminals and wherein the tri-acrylates and tetra-acrylates are selected from the group consisting of:
,
wherein R4 is
Rs is
or
R1, R2 and R6 are each independently selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, methyl, ethyl, phenyl and methylphenyl, n is an integer between 0 and 50,000, and* indicates a point of attachment. This modification would yield the expected result of improved ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 23, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses wherein the at least one cross linker has a vinyl as cross-linkable terminals ([0028]).
Regarding Claim 24, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses wherein the cross linker can be a vinyl derivate instead of a polyethylene oxide linker ([0028]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using Huang’s disclosure to have wherein the at least one cross-linker is free of poly(ethylene oxide) polymer chain.
Regarding Claim 26, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. The examiner notes that claim 26 is dependent off of claim 22. Therefore, since claim 22 requires either a triacrylate or a silanes or siloxane, the use of silanes or siloxanes is an optional limitation. Therefore since Huang discloses the use of triacrylates, Huang discloses the limitations of claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. The examiner notes that claim 27 is dependent off of claim 22. Therefore, since claim 22 requires either a triacrylate or triazinane-triones, the use of triaziane-triones is an optional limitation. Therefore, since Huang discloses the use of triacrylates, Huang discloses the limitations of claim 27.
Regarding Claim 29, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses a plasticizer ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 30, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses a wherein the electrolyte is a lithium salt and the lithium salt is selected from the group consisting of LiTFSI, LiFSI, LiBOB, LiPF.sub.6, LiBF.sub.4, LiClO.sub.4, LiAsF.sub.6, LiN(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2, LiC(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.3, LiDFOB, LiF, LiCl, LiBr, LiI, Li.sub.2SO.sub.4, LiNO.sub.3, Li.sub.3PO.sub.4, Li.sub.2CO.sub.3, LiOH, lithium acetate, lithium trifluoromethyl acetate, lithium oxalate ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 31 & 32, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses wherein the plasticizer can be a polymer, a small molecule (i.e., having a molecular weight of less than 1 kDa), a nitrile, an oligoether (e.g., triglyme), cyclic carbonate, ionic liquids ([0034]) including succinonitrile, glutaronitrile, hexonitrile, and/or malononitrile ([0034]).
Regarding Claim 33, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses wherein the crosslinking reaction is performed in presence of an initiator wherein the initiator can be Irgacure initiator, 2,2′-azobis(2-methylpropionitrile), ammonium persulfate ([0044]).
Regarding Claim 34, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang does not directly disclose wherein the initiator is between 0.01 wt% and 5 wt% based on a total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Huang discloses wherein the instant may be added in a mole fraction of 0.001 and 0.01 ([0044]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 0.01 wt% and 5 wt% basd on total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Huang to have wherein the initiator is between 0.01 wt% and 5 wt% based on a total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Regarding Claim 35, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang further discloses an electrochemical device comprising the polymer solid electrolyte ([0019]).
Regarding Claim 36, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang further discloses wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery ([0020]).
Regarding Claim 37, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang further discloses an anode and a cathode with an electroactive material ([0020]).
Regarding Claim 38, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang does not disclose wherein the anode comprises carbon anode, Li anode, Si anode, Alloy anode, Li4TisOi2, and/or conversion anode materials, wherein the carbon anode comprises graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, or combinations of thereof, the Li anode comprises Li metal foil, Li metal on Cu, Ni, or stainless steel, the Si anode comprises Si, Si/Carbon composite anode, SiOx (0<x<2), SiOx (0<x<2)/carbon composite anode, the Alloy anode comprises Sn, SnO2, Sb, Al, Mg, Bi, In, As, Zn, Ga, B, and the conversion anode materials comprise MaXb, M is Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, or Cu, X is 0,S, Se, F, N, or P, a and b are respectively 1 to 4.
Kim discloses wherein the anode comprises carbon anode, Li anode, Si anode, Alloy anode, Li4TisO,2, and/or conversion anode materials, wherein the carbon anode comprises graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, or combinations of thereof, the Li anode comprises Li metal foil, Li metal on Cu, Ni, or stainless steel, the Si anode comprises Si, the Alloy anode comprises Sn, SnO2, Sb, Al, Mg, Bi, In, As, Zn, Ga, B, and the conversion anode materials comprise MaXe, M is Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, or Cu, X is 0,S, Se, F, N, or P, a and b are respectively I to 4, ([0081-0082]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the anode comprises carbon anode, Li anode, Si anode, Alloy anode, Li4TisOi2, and/or conversion anode materials, wherein the carbon anode comprises graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, or combinations of thereof, the Li anode comprises Li metal foil, Li metal on Cu, Ni, or stainless steel, the Si anode comprises Si, Si/Carbon composite anode, SiOx (0<x<2), SiOx (0<x<2)/carbon composite anode, the Alloy anode comprises Sn, SnO2, Sb, Al, Mg, Bi, In, As, Zn, Ga, B, and the conversion anode materials comprise MaXb, M is Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, or Cu, X is 0,S, Se, F, N, or P, a and b are respectively 1 to 4. This modification would yield the expected result of improved ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 39, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.\
Huang does not disclose wherein the electrode active material is selected from the group consisting of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium titanate
Kim discloses wherein the electrode active material is selected from the group consisting of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium titanate ([0087]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the electrode active material is selected from the group consisting of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium titanate. This modification would yield the expected result of improved ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 40, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang further discloses an electrochemical article that can include acrylate polymers ([0043]). Huang further discloses wherein the article can be used for a lithium battery, lithium-ion solid battery, a polymer solid electrolyte battery, or be used in a capacitor, sensor, condenser, electrochromic elements, photelectric conversion elements, and more ([002]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Kim with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the article is used in an anode free battery.
Regarding Claim 41, Huang in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang does not directly disclose wherein the additive is present at weight percentage of at least 5 wt% based on a total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Huang discloses wherein the plasticizer can be present at a mole fraction of at least 0.1 ([0040]), which provides a weight percentage that overlaps the instant claim range of at 5 wt%.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Huang to have wherein the additive is present at weight percentage of at least 5 wt% based on a total weight of the polymer solid electrolyte.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed January 30th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang n view of Kim under 35 USC 103.
The examiner notes that this office action is a second final rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728