DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on 01/09/2026 for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on parent Application No. 17/396,415 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
This communication is in response to applicant’s 01/09/2026 amendment(s) or response(s) in the application of CIRIK et al. for “CONTORL CHANNEL REPETITION” filed 08/06/2021. The amendments/response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-22 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-14, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIEN et al. (US 2018/0278371 A1), hereinafter CHIEN, in view of HOSSEINI et al. (US 2019/0342030 A1), hereinafter HOSSEINI.
Regarding claim 1, CHIEN discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device via at least one transmission occasion of a plurality of transmission occasions, at least one downlink control information (DCI) 202 from the base station 2. The dynamic indication message 202 may be downlink control information (DCI) carried on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or any indication message dynamically generated in response to the uplink data transmitted by the user equipment and carried on any physical downlink channel, see ¶ 0025);
determining a transmission parameter used for the previous successful uplink transmission (the repetition transmission parameter updating rule indicates that the user equipment 1 may keep using the current data repetition transmission parameter for subsequent uplink signal transmission when the decoding correctness indicator received by the user equipment 1 indicates ACK, see ¶ 0051, where ACK indicates successfully receive the data); and
transmitting, based on the transmission parameter, at least one transport block (the repetition transmission parameter updating rule indicates that the user equipment 1 may keep using the current data repetition transmission parameter for subsequent uplink signal transmission when the decoding correctness indicator received by the user equipment 1 indicates ACK, see ¶ 0051).
CHIEN fails to explicitly disclose that at least one to the DCI is one of the DCI repetitions.
In the same field of endeavor, HOSSEINI discloses that the downlink control information may be repeated in two or more of the TTIs and UE may identify uplink resource for transmitting uplink control information based on the DCI (see ¶ 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HOSSEINI’s teaching in the network taught by CHIEN for DCI repetition improves reliability in wireless networks by transmitting the same control information multiple times, particularly for devices in poor coverage scenarios. It allows User Equipments (UEs) to aggregate or combine repeated signals to enhance detection probability.
Regarding claim 4, CHIEN discloses the determining the transmission parameter comprises determining a most recent transmission parameter used prior to the at least one transmission occasion (the user equipment 1 may keep using the current data repetition transmission parameter for subsequent uplink signal transmission when the decoding correctness indicator received by the user equipment 1 indicates ACK, see ¶ 0051).
Regarding claim 5, CHIEN discloses the transmission parameter comprises an indication of at least one of: a spatial relation; a beam; a precoder; or a power (beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (transmission parameter includes a transmission power see ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 6, CHIEN discloses receiving second DCI, wherein the second DCI is for scheduling transmission of a second transport block and indicates a second uplink resource; and transmitting the second transport block, wherein the transmitting the second transport block is based on one or more transmission parameters used for an uplink transmission, via the second uplink resource, prior to the receiving the second DCI (user equipment 1 receiving another dynamic indication message 202 in T2 from Base Station 2 via DCI in PDCCH and adjusting the transmission parameters, see ¶ 0030, 0031, 0033, and figure 3A).
Regarding claim 7, HOSSEINI discloses the plurality of DCI repetitions comprises at least one of: time domain control channel repetitions; or frequency domain control channel repetitions (repetitions are in either time domain/frequency domain, see ¶ 0123).
Regarding claim 21, CHIEN discloses the at least one transmission occasion is the earliest of the plurality of transmission occasions (the uplink signals D1-1 to D1-2 may be regarded as the first uplink signal 102 which is transmitted based on the data repetition transmission parameter before the updating (i.e., the current data repetition transmission parameter), and the uplink signals D1-3 to D1-4 and the uplink signals D2-1 to D2-4 may be regarded as the second uplink signal 104 which is transmitted based on the data repetition transmission parameter after the updating (i.e., the updated data repetition transmission parameter), see ¶ 0030 and figure 3A).
Regarding claim 8, CHIEN discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station via at least one transmission occasion of a plurality of transmission occasions, at least one downlink control information (DCI) repetition, of a plurality of DCI repetitions, that indicates an uplink resource of a previous successful uplink transmission before an earliest of the plurality of transmission occasions (the UE receives a dynamic indication message 202 from the base station 2. The dynamic indication message 202 may be downlink control information (DCI) carried on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or any indication message dynamically generated in response to the uplink data transmitted by the user equipment and carried on any physical downlink channel, see ¶ 0025);
determining a reception parameter used for the previous successful uplink transmission (the repetition transmission parameter updating rule indicates that the user equipment 1 may keep using the current data repetition transmission parameter for subsequent uplink signal transmission when the decoding correctness indicator received by the user equipment 1 indicates ACK, see ¶ 0051, where ACK indicates successfully receive the data); and
receiving, based on the transmission parameter, at least one transport block (the repetition transmission parameter updating rule indicates that the user equipment 1 may keep using the current data repetition transmission parameter for subsequent uplink signal transmission when the decoding correctness indicator received by the user equipment 1 indicates ACK, see ¶ 0051).
CHIEN fails to explicitly disclose that at least one to the DCI is one of the DCI repetitions.
In the same field of endeavor, HOSSEINI discloses that the downlink control information may be repeated in two or more of the TTIs and UE may identify uplink resource for transmitting uplink control information based on the DCI (see ¶ 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HOSSEINI’s teaching in the network taught by CHIEN for DCI repetition improves reliability in wireless networks by transmitting the same control information multiple times, particularly for devices in poor coverage scenarios. It allows User Equipments (UEs) to aggregate or combine repeated signals to enhance detection probability.
Regarding claim 11, CHIEN discloses the determining the transmission parameter comprises determining a most recent transmission parameter used prior to the at least one transmission occasion (the user equipment 1 may keep using the current data repetition transmission parameter for subsequent uplink signal transmission when the decoding correctness indicator received by the user equipment 1 indicates ACK, see ¶ 0051).
Regarding claim 12, CHIEN discloses the transmission parameter comprises an indication of at least one of: a spatial relation; a beam; a precoder; or a power (transmission parameter includes a transmission power, see ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 13, CHIEN discloses receiving second DCI, wherein the second DCI is for scheduling transmission of a second transport block and indicates a second uplink resource; and transmitting the second transport block, wherein the transmitting the second transport block is based on one or more transmission parameters used for an uplink transmission, via the second uplink resource, prior to the receiving the second DCI (user equipment 1 receiving another dynamic indication message 202 in T2 from Base Station 2 via DCI in PDCCH and adjusting the transmission parameters, see ¶ 0030, 0031, 0033, and figure 3A).
Regarding claim 14, CHIEN discloses the plurality of DCI repetitions comprises at least one of: time domain control channel repetitions; or frequency domain control channel repetitions (repetitions are in either time domain/frequency domain, see ¶ 0123).
Regarding claim 22, CHIEN discloses the at least one transmission occasion is the earliest of the plurality of transmission occasions (the uplink signals D1-1 to D1-2 may be regarded as the first uplink signal 102 which is transmitted based on the data repetition transmission parameter before the updating (i.e., the current data repetition transmission parameter), and the uplink signals D1-3 to D1-4 and the uplink signals D2-1 to D2-4 may be regarded as the second uplink signal 104 which is transmitted based on the data repetition transmission parameter after the updating (i.e., the updated data repetition transmission parameter), see ¶ 0030 and figure 3A).
Regarding claim 23, HOSSEINI discloses each DCI repetition, of the plurality of DCI repetitions, comprises the same DCI information (the downlink control information may be repeated in two or more of the TTIs and a UE may identify uplink resources for transmitting uplink control information based on the downlink control information, see ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIEN in view of CHENG et al. (US 2019/0020506 A1), hereinafter CHENG.
Regarding claim 3, CHIEN fails to disclose that monitoring control resource sets (CORESET) for the plurality of DCI repetitions.
In the same filed of endeavor, CHENG discloses that transmitting multiple control resource sets (CORESTs) containing repetition downlink control information (DCI) in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for scheduling the dame data in PDSCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement CHENG’s teaching in the communication method taught by CHIEN in order to schedule resources to the user device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 2, 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-14, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412