DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 6, 21, and 23 and the cancellation of claim 2-5 and 22 in the response filed March 27, 2025, are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claims 1, 6, 21, and 23 are pending.
Invention I remains the elected embodiment.
Response to Arguments
In response to “Objection to Drawings”
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 22 rendered the claim objection moot, the previous objection is withdrawn.
In response to “Rejection of Claims 22-23 Under 35 U.S.C. §112”
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 22 has rendered the 112a rejection moot, it is withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to claim 23 has overcome the current 112a rejection, it is withdrawn.
In response to “Rejection of Claim 1 Under 35 U.S.C. §103(a)”
With respect to claim 1, Applicant argues that Krespi in view of Roffe and Barklow does not meet each limitation of the amended claim. As necessitated by the amendments, new grounds of rejection have been made.
In response to “Rejection of Claims 1-3 Under 35 U.S.C. §103(a)”
With respect to claim 1, Applicant argues that Krespi in view of Roffe, Barklow, and Gautreaux does not meet each limitation of the amended claim. As necessitated by the amendments, new grounds of rejection have been made.
In response to “Rejection of Claim 4 Under 35 U.S.C. §103” and “Rejection of Claim 6 Under 35 U.S.C. §103”
The arguments are directed to claim 1, addressed above.
In response to “Rejection of Claim 21 Under 35 U.S.C. §103(a)”
With respect to claim 21, Applicant argues that Kaminski II in view of Gautreaux and in view of Finch does not meet each limitation of the amended claim. As necessitated by the amendments, new grounds of rejection have been made. Kaminski III remains the primary reference in the current rejection as it continues to share structural and functional characteristics with the instant application.
In response to “Rejection of Claims 22-23 Under 35 U.S.C. §103”
The arguments are directed to claim 21, addressed above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the remaining edges are finished edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes” of claims 1 and 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 1 and 21, Applicant does not have support in the Specifications nor is it shown clearly in the Drawings: a shirt extension comprised of mesh fabric having an interior portion with a plurality of evenly spaced holes. There is no detail regarding the spacing of the mesh holes in the Specifications. Further, the Drawings may not be relied upon for specific dimensions that are not supported within the Specifications. For the sake of compact prosecution Examiner will interpret the mesh fabric to have a series of spaced holes.
With respect to claim 1 and 21, Applicant does not have support in the Specifications nor is it shown clearly in the Drawings: wherein the remaining edges are finished edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes. There is no detail regarding the spacing of the mesh holes in the Specifications; the Drawings may not be relied upon for specific dimensions that are not supported within the Specifications. Further, there is no support in the Specifications nor Drawings regarding the absence of evenly spaced holes in the finished edges, on the contrary the finished edges appear made of the mesh material and therefore also have holes therein. For the sake of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret the edges to be finished.
Claims 6 and 23 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminski III (US 2021/0345704)(priority to May 2020) in view of Barklow (US 2016/0213959) and in view of Abedinzadeh Kivi (US 2021/0045472)(priority to May 2019).
With respect to claim 1, Kamiski, III discloses A garment apparatus (Fig 1), comprising: a shirt (Fig 3, shirt 12); … the shirt extension having a first edge affixed to an inside portion of the shirt and remaining edges free from the shirt (Fig 3, shirt extension is panel 280, first edge 60 affixed to shirt 12, remaining edges are free)…
Kaminski III is silent on and a shirt extension comprised of mesh fabric having an interior portion with a plurality of evenly spaced holes (Kaminski III Fig 3, shirt extension is panel 280, panel is a fabric but not detailed mesh), wherein the remaining edges are finished edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes, and the shirt extension further comprising a mask attachment mechanism configured to facilitate attaching and detaching a mask, wherein mask attachment mechanism is a strip of a hook and loop fastener mechanism that extends from a first finished edge of the remaining edges of the shirt extension to a second finished edge of the remaining edges of the shirt extension.
Barklow teaches an analogous extension member connecting to a mask that is mesh material ([0025], extension 100 is a mesh)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension material of Kaminski III to be a mesh as taught by Barklow in order to improve user comfort (Barklow [0025]).
Kaminski III/Barklow is silent on wherein the remaining edges are finished edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes, and the shirt extension further comprising a mask attachment mechanism configured to facilitate attaching and detaching a mask, wherein mask attachment mechanism is a strip of a hook and loop fastener mechanism that extends from a first finished edge of the remaining edges of the shirt extension to a second finished edge of the remaining edges of the shirt extension.
Abedinzadeh Kivi teaches an analogous mesh fabric neck and face covering system comprised of multiple attached elements (Fig 4A-4B, [0074]) wherein the remaining edges are finished edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes ([0079], stitched edges, a stitch is a form of a finished edge), and the shirt extension further comprising a mask attachment mechanism configured to facilitate attaching and detaching a mask ([0083], Fig 2A, hook material along side 13), wherein mask attachment mechanism is a strip of a hook and loop fastener mechanism that extends from a first finished edge of the remaining edges of the shirt extension to a second finished edge of the remaining edges of the shirt extension ([0083], Fig 2A, hook material along side 13, compared to the other attachment method edge 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the panel of Kaminski III/Barklow to be detachable with hook and loop as taught by Abedinzadeh Kivi in order to allow the system to be more customizable to the user (Abedinzadeh Kivi [0006]).
With respect to claim 6, Kaminski III/Barklow/Abedinzadeh Kivi discloses The garment apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first edge of the shirt extension is sewn onto the inside portion of the shirt (Kaminski III Fig 6, first edge of shirt extension/panel sewn at 40).
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminski III in view of Serber (US 2,444,381) and in view of Abedinzadeh Kivi.
With respect to claim 21, Kaminski, III discloses A garment apparatus (Fig 1), comprising: a shirt (Fig 3, shirt 12); …the mesh fabric having a first edge affixed to an inside portion of the shirt and finished edges free from the shirt (Fig 3, shirt extension is panel 280, first edge 60 affixed to shirt 12, remaining edges are free relative to the shirt),
Kaminski III is silent on and a mesh fabric having an interior portion with a plurality of evenly spaced holes (Kaminski III Fig 3, shirt extension is panel 280, panel is a fabric but not detailed mesh), the mesh fabric having a first edge affixed to an inside portion of the shirt and finished edges free from the shirt (Kaminski III Fig 3, shirt extension is panel 280, first edge 60 affixed to shirt 12, remaining edges are free relative to the shirt btu not detailed to be finished), wherein the finished edges are connection fabric edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes, and the mesh fabric further comprising a mask attachment mechanism configured to facilitate attaching and detaching a mask, wherein the mask attachment mechanism extends from a first finished edge of the shirt extension to a second finished edge of the shirt extension.
Serber teaches an analogous extension from a shirt to cover a neck (Fig 1, Fig 3) with a mesh fabric having an interior portion with a plurality of evenly spaced holes (col 4 ll 00-15, mesh fabric), the mesh fabric having a first edge affixed to an inside portion of the shirt and finished edges free from the shirt (col 3 ll 30-45, one end sewn to shirt and other end stitched at edges to the other layers, stitching an edge is a form of finish), wherein the finished edges are connection fabric edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes (col 3 ll 30-45, one end sewn to shirt and other end stitched at edges to the other layers, stitching an edge is a form of finish, see 112 rejection above regarding interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension material of Kaminski III to be a mesh as taught by Serber in order to allow for material manipulation and to have a fabric known to be usable around a neck (Serber col 1 ll 50-55).
Kaminski III/Serber is silent on and the mesh fabric further comprising a mask attachment mechanism configured to facilitate attaching and detaching a mask, wherein the mask attachment mechanism extends from a first finished edge of the shirt extension to a second finished edge of the shirt extension.
Abedinzadeh Kivi teaches an analogous mesh fabric neck and face covering system comprised of multiple attached elements (Fig 4A-4B, [0074]) wherein the finished edges are connection fabric edges devoid of the plurality of evenly spaced holes ([0079], stitched edges, a stitch is a form of a finished edge), and the mesh fabric further comprising a mask attachment mechanism configured to facilitate attaching and detaching a mask ([0083], Fig 2A, hook material along side 13), wherein the mask attachment mechanism extends from a first finished edge of the shirt extension to a second finished edge of the shirt extension ([0083], Fig 2A, hook material along side 13, compared to the other attachment method edge 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the panel of Kaminski III/Serber to be detachable with hook and loop as taught by Abedinzadeh Kivi in order to allow the system to be more customizable to the user (Abedinzadeh Kivi [0006]).
With respect to claim 23, Kaminski III/Serber/Abedinzadeh Kivi discloses The garment apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the mask attachment mechanism is a strip of a hook and loop fastener mechanism (Abedinzadeh Kivi [0083], Fig 2A, hook material along side 13, compared to the other attachment method edge 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the panel of Kaminski III/Serber to be detachable with hook and loop as taught by Abedinzadeh Kivi in order to allow the system to be more customizable to the user (Abedinzadeh Kivi [0006]).
Conclusion
/ADAM BAKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3786