398Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 2-3, 7, 11, 13, 17, 21-26, 28-30, 32, & 34-37 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-3, 11, 13, 23-28, 31-32, 34 and 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chanduszko.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 2-3, 7, 17, 25-26, 28, 32, & 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chanduszko et al. (US 8257389 B2) hereinafter, Chanduszko.
Regarding claim 23, Chanduszko teaches a repair device configured for repair of a valve, the repair device comprising:
a central shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko);
a proximal grasping assembly and a distal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko), each of which is attached to the central shaft (Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and is movable between a first position and a second position (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko),
the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko) having a predetermined spaced apart relationship configured to define a grasping space therebetween configured to receive the valve tissue (14 & 16, Fig. 1a, Chanduszko); and
an actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) extending through the central shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and being longitudinally translatable relative to the central shaft (col. 15 lines 39-41, Chanduszko),
the actuator rod being configured such that translation of the actuator rod moves both the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (col. 15 lines 39-44, Chanduszko); and
a lock (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) having an open configuration (Fig. 64, Chanduszko) allowing movement of both the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko),
the lock further having a binding configuration which prevents movement of the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (Fig. 66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 2, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the lock comprises a first locking plate (one side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 3, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the lock (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) is disposed proximal the proximal grasping assembly, wherein
the lock is biased toward one of the binding configuration and the open configuration (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 7, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the first locking plate is configured to cooperate with a leaf spring (406 can deform, therefore can spring, Fig. 64, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 17, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the lock (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) comprises a first locking plate (one side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and a second locking plate (another side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko), the first locking plate and the second locking plate being biased toward the binding configuration (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 25, Chanduszko teaches
translation of the actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) rotates both the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 26, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly are pivotally attached to the central shaft (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 28, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the proximal grasping assembly is attached to the central shaft at a proximal hinge point and the distal grasping assembly is attached to the central shaft at a distal hinge point (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko), the proximal grasping assembly being rotatable about the proximal hinge point and the distal grasping assembly being rotatable about the distal hinge point (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 32, Chanduszko teaches
wherein translation of the actuator rod controls rotation of the proximal grasping assembly about the proximal hinge point (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko) and rotation of the distal grasping assembly about the distal hinge point (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 37, Chanduszko teaches a repair system configured for repair of a regurgitant tricuspid valve, the repair system comprising:
a delivery system (Fig. 1A, Chanduszko), comprising:
a sheath (42, Fig. 1C, Chanduszko);
a delivery catheter (40, Fig. 1C, Chanduszko) disposed within the sheath (42, Fig. 1C, Chanduszko) so as to be translatable within the sheath; and
a repair device (Fig. 64, Chanduszko), including:
a central shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko);
a proximal grasping assembly and a distal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko), each of which is attached to the central shaft and is movable between a first position and a second position (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko),
the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly having a predetermined spaced apart relationship configured to define a grasping space (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko) therebetween to receive the valve tissue (14 & 16, Fig. 1a, Chanduszko);
an actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) extending through the central shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and being longitudinally translatable relative to the central shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko), the actuator rod being configured such that translation of the actuator rod moves both the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko); and
a lock (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) disposed proximal the proximal grasping assembly, the lock having an open configuration allowing movement of both the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (Figs. 64-65, Chanduszko),
the lock further having a binding configuration which prevents movement of the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (Figs. 64-65, Chanduszko), wherein
the sheath (42, Fig. 1C) is configured to be selectively retractable relative to the delivery catheter to expose at least a portion of the repair device and enable the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly to move toward the second position (Figs. 1A & 1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 11, 13, 21-22, 30, & 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanduszko in view of Brown et al. (US 20180042592 A1) hereinafter, Brown.
Regarding claim 24, Chanduszko teaches a repair device configured for repair of a valve, the repair device comprising:
a proximal grasping assembly and a distal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko), each of which is movable between a first position and a second position (Figs. 64 and 66, Chanduszko),
the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly are attached to a shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) in a predetermined spaced apart relationship configured to define a grasping space therebetween to receive valve tissue (14 & 16, Fig. 1A, Chanduszko) when each of the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly are in the second position (Fig. 66, Chanduszko),
wherein both the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly are configured to rotate relative to the shaft (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko);
an actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) operatively connected to the shaft (106, 108, & 110, Fig. 64, Chanduszko), the actuator rod being configured such that movement of the actuator rod moves both the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (col. 15 lines 39-44, Chanduszko); and
a lock (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) connected to the actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko), the lock being configured to selectively move between an open configuration and a binding configuration, wherein,
in the open configuration, the lock is configured to allow translation of the actuator rod (Figs. 64-65, Chanduszko), further wherein,
in the binding configuration, the lock is configured to prevent movement of the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (Fig. 66, Chanduszko).
Chanduszko does not teach wherein both the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly are configured to rotate relative to the shaft at the same time. However, Brown teaches a medical device for sealing a defect in a body (abstract, Brown)
wherein both the distal grasping assembly and the proximal grasping assembly are configured to rotate relative to the shaft at the same time (angulation (rotation), Figs. 2A, & 6-7A, col. 7 lines 3-7, Brown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chanduszko by incorporating the teaching above as taught by Brown in order to improve sealing qualities of the device (¶0089, Brown).
Regarding claim 11, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the lock (406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) comprises a first locking plate (one side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and a second locking plate (another side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko), each being biased toward the binding configuration (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 13, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the lock comprises a lock control (402, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) configured to selectively release the first locking plate (one side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and the second locking plate (another side of 406, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and allow the first locking plate and the second locking plate to transition to the binding configuration (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 21, Chanduszko teaches
further comprising a pair of legs pivotably coupled to the shaft and at least one of the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 22, Chanduszko teaches
further comprising a pair of proximal legs (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko) pivotably coupled to the actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and the proximal grasping assembly, and a pair of distal legs (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko) pivotably coupled to the actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) and the distal grasping assembly.
Regarding claim 30, Chanduszko teaches
wherein, in the binding configuration, the lock (406, Fig. 66, Chanduszko) is further configured to prevent translation of the actuator rod (400 and 404, Fig. 64, Chanduszko) relative to the shaft (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 34, Chanduszko teaches
wherein the proximal grasping assembly is attached to the shaft at a proximal hinge point and the distal grasping assembly is attached to the shaft at a distal hinge point (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko),
the repair device further comprising:
a proximal leg pivotally connected to the actuator rod and joined to the proximal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko); and
a distal leg pivotally connected to the actuator rod and joined to the distal grasping assembly (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 35, Chanduszko teaches
wherein distal translation of the actuator rod relative to the shaft moves the distal leg distally causing the distal grasping assembly to rotate about the distal hinge point (see annotated Fig. 64 below, Chanduszko) thereby rotating away from the shaft to the first position (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Regarding claim 36, Chanduszko teaches
wherein distal translation of the actuator rod relative to the shaft moves the proximal leg distally causing the proximal grasping assembly to rotate about the proximal hinge point thereby rotating away from the shaft to the first position (Figs. 64-66, Chanduszko).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanduszko in view of Brown and further in view of Wahr et al. (US 20020183787 A1) hereinafter, Wahr.
Regarding claim 29, Chanduszko does not teach upon the actuator rod being translated longitudinally the proximal grasping assembly and the distal grasping assembly move in opposite directions relative to the shaft. However, Wahr teaches a device for sealing a patent foramen ovale in the heart (abstract, Wahr)
wherein upon the actuator rod (16, Fig. 12, Wahr) being translated longitudinally the proximal grasping assembly (14, Fig. 12, Wahr) and the distal grasping assembly (12, Fig. 12, Wahr) move in opposite directions relative to the shaft (Figs. 14-15, Wahr).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chanduszko and Brown by incorporating the teaching above as taught by Wahr in order to allow right atrial anchor 14 to be moved relative to tether 16 (¶0060, Wahr).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774