DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 4-12 are pending in this application and are under examination, see rejoinder of species as detailed below. The elected species (without traverse) are a compound of formula II2 (SCY-078) and triazole antifungal drug, isavuconazole3.
SCY-078 Isavuconazole4
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 4 to be directed solely to isavuconazole, cancellation of claim 3, and arguments, filed Oct. 23, 2025 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 3-6 and 9-12 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) by Merck (WO 2010/019203 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1, 3-6 and 9-12 been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed Oct. 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regard to the rejection of claims 1 and 4-12 as being obvious over Merck WO 203 and Girmenia. See modified rejections below and rebuttal of the Attorney response.
Applicant’s arguments and amendment of claims 1 and 4 to be directed solely to isavuconazole, filed Oct. 23, 2025 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 3-6, and 9-12 on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as allegedly being unpatentable over claims 1-51 of U.S. Patent No. 8,188,085 (the "reference patent"), in view of Merck, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1, 3-6, and 9-12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed Oct 23 2025, with regard to the rejection of claims 1 and 4-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See modified rejections below and rebuttal of the Attorney response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2010/019203 A1 (Merck WO ‘203), in view of Girmenia (2009) New generation azole antifungals in clinical investigation, Expert Opin Investig Drugs, 18:9, 1279-1295. Merck WO ‘203 is cited by Applicant on the IDS. Girmenia is cited on the PTO-892 form.
Claims 1 and 4 are directed to a pharmaceutical combination of a compound of the elected species formula (II or IIa), SCY-078 and a second antifungal agent isavuconazole (triazole).
With regard to the elected species SCY-078, Merck WO ‘203 discloses it in Example 173 found on page 94, reproduced below.
Regarding the combination of instant claim 1, Merck WO ‘203 discloses enfumafungin derivatives of claim 1. See page 11, line 16. The elected species, SCY-078 and other enfumafungin derivatives are taught in combination with triazole anti-fungal compounds, (see page 9, lines 4-9).
There is not an explicit teaching of the combination of formula II (SCY-078) in combination with the triazole anti-fungal isavuconazole.
However, there is a teaching of combining anti-fungal compounds with SCY-078 in Merck WO 203 so as to arrive at a combination of SCY-078 in combination with the triazole antifungals, voriconazole, itraconazole, ketoconazole, miconazole, and posaconazole, (see page 9, lines 4-9).
While Merck WO 203 teaches the claimed pharmaceutical composition of SCY-078 with various triazole antifungals, it does not teach the elected species of isavuconazole. But based on the teachings in the art, a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would substitute it for other triazole-type anti-fungal drugs as known in the art.
Isavuconazole has demonstrated particular advantages in comparison to other triazole anti-fungal drugs, where Girmenia teaches food does not affect absorption of isavuconazole (i.e. can be taken with or without food, unlike other azole anti-fungal drugs such as fluconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, posaconazole, etc.). See Table 1 page 1281. Further Table 1 of Girmenia teaches isavuconazole has the highest maximum plasma concentration per 100 mg when compared to the other triazole antifungals, etc., with a longer half-life (56 h to 104 h) than those of fluconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, and posaconazole. Also per Table 2, Girmenia teaches equivalent if not superior in vitro activity against Aspergillus spp. mold infection. See page 1285.
Prior to the filing of the present patent application, it would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA following the teachings of Merck WO 203 to combine SCH-078 with other anti-fungal compounds (triazole antifungals) modified with the teachings of Girmenia in order to substitute isavuconazole to arrive at the claimed combination.
The PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the rationale to do so would be the combination of compounds known for the same purpose to be predictably combined as being obvious. A PHOSITA would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the known combination of SCY-078 known to be combined with triazole antifungals. A PHOSITA would have had a rationale to substitute a functional equivalent of one triazole antifungal with another such as isavuconazole, which demonstrates superior properties as taught by Girmenia vs. other triazole antifungals.
As required by claims 5 and 8 recites where formula II or IIa (SCY-078) is in an amount of 50 mg to 1000mg, Merck WO 203, teaches dose ranges of its compounds 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg, 0.01 to 500 mg/kg, 0.1 to 100 mg/kg; or alternatively, 1.0 to 500 mg, particularly 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100,150,200,250,300,400, and 500 milligrams of the active ingredient for the symptomatic adjustment of the dosage to the patient to be treated. See page 14, lines 19-28.
As required by claims 6 and 9 recites where the amount of triazole antifungal, isavuconazole, in an amount of 50 to 1000 mg, Girmenia teaches doses of 100 mg of isavuconazole. See Table 1 page 1281.
Regarding claims 7 and 10 and the limitations of ratios of formula (II) to isavuconazole ranges from 1: 16 to 3: 16, Merck WO 203, teaches dose ranges of its compounds 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg, 0.01 to 500 mg/kg, 0.1 to 100 mg/kg; or alternatively, 1.0 to 500 mg, particularly 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100,150,200,250,300,400, and 500 milligrams (page 14, lines 19-28), where Girmenia teaches doses of 100 mg of isavuconazole. See Table 1 page 1281. As noted by the teachings of Merck WO 203, it would be routine for a PHOSITA to optimize such ratio of SCY-078 to isavuconazole based on the known doses of both, to achieve the proper claimed ratio for every individual patient. 5
Regarding claims 11-12, Merck WO 203 teaches all compounds of the present invention may be administered in the form of “pharmaceutically acceptable salts.” See page 11, line 23. Merck WO 203 teaches representative pharmaceutically acceptable salts include citrate salts. See page 12, lines 8-9.
RESPONSE TO ATTORNEY ARGUMENTS:
The Attorney response states neither Merck nor Girmenia, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the pharmaceutical combination. The response states Merck does not disclose or suggest isavuconazole, or combinations thereof with a compound of Formula II.
In response, there is a teaching of combining anti-fungal compounds with SCY-078 in Merck WO 203 so as to arrive at a combination of SCY-078 in combination with the triazole antifungals, voriconazole, itraconazole, ketoconazole, miconazole, and posaconazole, (see page 9, lines 4-9). As detailed above, Girmenia teaches certain superior properties regarding isavuconazole when compared to other triazole antifungals.
Isavuconazole (i.e. can be taken with or without food, unlike other triazole antifungal drugs such as fluconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, posaconazole, etc.). See Table 1 page 1281. Further Table 1 of Girmenia teaches isavuconazole has the highest maximum plasma concentration per 100 mg when compared to the other triazole antifungals, etc., with a longer half-life (56 h to 104 h) than those of fluconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, and posaconazole. Also per Table 2, Girmenia teaches equivalent if not superior in vitro activity against Aspergillus spp. mold infection. See page 1285. Despite the arguments of the Attorney response, a PHOSITA would have a rationale to substitute a functional equivalent of one triazole antifungal with another such as isavuconazole (with superior properties) as per Girmenia.
The Attorney response states Girmenia does not disclose a compound of Formula II (SCY-078); or teach or suggest a combination of Formula II (SCY-078) with isavuconazole. The response states
antifungal triazole compounds (e.g., isavuconazole) should be avoided in the context of combination therapy because antifungal azoles are known to interact
with a vast array of drugs and "exhibit marked variability in drug blood concentrations due to erratic absorption, metabolism, elimination or interaction with concomitant medications" See Girmenia, at pages 1289-1290.
In response, it is noted that the statement regarding Girmenia is in the context of triazole antifungals generally, inclusive of first generation triazole drugs known for their drug interaction activity. Girmenia does note that with modern, second generation triazole antifungals, while such drug interactions occur with voriconazole, other drugs such as posaconazole have the same interactions but at a lower rate, where the isavuconazole drug interaction rate is presumed to be similar to posaconazole (i.e. lower), thus justifying the rationale for a PHOSITA to look to combine second generation triazole antifungals with other antifungal compounds. See page 1289, col. 1 to col. 2.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejections
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1 and 4-12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-51 of US Patent 8,188,085 B2 (085 patent, the reference patent) in view of WO 2010/019203 A1 (Merck WO ‘203) and Girmenia (2009) New generation azole antifungals in clinical investigation, Expert Opin Investig Drugs, 18:9, 1279-1295.
With regard to claims 1 and 4 and the combination of formula II or IIa and isavuconazole, US Patent 8,188,085 B2 generally claims compounds of formula I,
which generically covers applicant’s claimed compounds of formula II and/or IIa, see claim 1 and so forth , with species with the same scope as those claimed.
Claim 1 of the 085 patent (reference patent) teaches a compound of formula (I) that teaches SCY-078 when:
R1 is 1,2,4-triazol-1-yl substituted with 4-pyridine;
R2 is 2-amino-2,3,3-trimethylbutyl ; and
R3 is C(O)-OH.
X is absent.
The 085 patent reference patent specifically claims the compound of formulas II/IIa, see reference claims 44 and 49 for example, as well as combinations with other antifungal compounds to treat fungal infections such as Aspergillus, see claims 45-51.
Reference claim 44 discloses compound SCY-0786
at column 1, lines 35-40.
Reference patent claim 49 is directed solely to the single compound or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, also known as SCY-078 (see Footnote 3).
See Example 173 for definition of the structure7, columns 269-270.
As per claim 46 of the reference patent, it claims a composition according to claim 45 (i.e. the compounds above), further comprising a second therapeutic agent.
Regarding the combination of claims 1 and 4, Merck WO ‘203 discloses enfumafungin derivatives of claim 1. See page 11, line 16. The elected species, SCY-078 and other enfumafungin derivatives are taught in combination with voriconazole, itraconazole, ketoconazole, miconazole, ravuconazole, detoconazole, clotrimazole, and posaconazole, (see page 9, lines 4-9).
While the reference patent and Merck WO 203 teaches the claimed pharmaceutical composition of SCY-078 and various triazole antifungals, it does not teach the elected species of isavuconazole as per claims 1 and 4. See above. However, the art provides teachings to look towards the triazole antifungal isavuconazole as claimed.
Isavuconazole has demonstrated particular advantages in comparison to other triazole anti-fungal drugs, where Girmenia teaches food does not affect absorption of isavuconazole (i.e. can be taken with or without food, unlike other triazole anti-fungal drugs such as fluconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, posaconazole, etc.). See Table 1 page 1281. Further Table 1 of Girmenia teaches isavuconazole has the highest maximum plasma concentration per 100 mg when compared to the other triazole antifungals, etc., with a longer half-life (56 h to 104 h) than those of fluconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, and posaconazole. Also per Table 2, Girmenia teaches equivalent if not superior in vitro activity against Aspergillus spp. mold infection. See page 1285. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a rationale to substitute a functional equivalent of one triazole antifungal with another such as isavuconazole, which demonstrates super properties as taught by Girmenia.
A PHOSITA would have found it prima facie obvious to combine SCY-078, a known antifungal with other known antifungals, such as those elected species of triazole antifungals. A PHOSITA would have a rationale to combine SCY-078 with said azole antifungals with a reasonable expectation of success as such combinations are known in the art and substitution of isavuconazole is suggested due its superior properties.
As required by claims 5 and 8 recites where formula II or IIa (SCY-078) is in an amount of 50 mg to 1000mg, Merck WO 203, teaches dose ranges of its compounds 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg, 0.01 to 500 mg/kg, 0.1 to 100 mg/kg; or alternatively, 1.0 to 500 mg, particularly 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100,150,200,250,300,400, and 500 milligrams of the active ingredient for the symptomatic adjustment of the dosage to the patient to be treated. See page 14, lines 19-28.
As required by claims 6 and 9 recites where the amount of triazole antifungal, isavuconazole, in an amount of 50 to 1000 mg, Girmenia teaches doses of 100 mg of isavuconazole. See Table 1 page 1281.
Regarding claims 7 and 10 and the limitations of ratios of formula (II) to isavuconazole ranges from 1: 16 to 3: 16, Merck WO 203, teaches dose ranges of its compounds 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg, 0.01 to 500 mg/kg, 0.1 to 100 mg/kg; or alternatively, 1.0 to 500 mg, particularly 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 50, 75, 100,150,200,250,300,400, and 500 milligrams (page 14, lines 19-28), where Girmenia teaches doses of 100 mg of isavuconazole. See Table 1 page 1281. As noted by the teachings of Merck WO 203, it would be routine for a PHOSITA to optimize such ratio of SCY-078 to isavuconazole based on the known doses of both, to achieve the proper claimed ratio for every individual patient. 8
Regarding claims 11-12, Merck WO 203 teaches all compounds of the present invention may be administered in the form of “pharmaceutically acceptable salts.” See page 11, line 23. Merck WO 203 teaches representative pharmaceutically acceptable salts include citrate salts. See page 12, lines 8-9.
RESPONSE TO THE ATTORNEY ARGUMENTS:
In summary of the Attorney response regarding the double patenting rejections over the 085 patent, none of the claims of the reference patent are directed to a pharmaceutical combination comprising a compound of Formula (II), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, together with isavuconazole, as recited in the amended claims of the instant application.
In response, a PHOSITA would have found it prima facie obvious to combine SCY-078, a known antifungal with other known antifungals, such as the elected species of triazole antifungal, isavuconazole, as spelled out in the rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/WILLIAM Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623
1 This application is a divisional of USSN: 15/945,428 filed on 04/04/2018 and issued as US PAT 11110102 on Aug 18 2021.USSN 15/945,428 claims priority to 62/483,647 filed on 04/10/2017.
2 The elected lead species compound of formula II or IIa is identified as follows:
CAS Registry Number 1207753-03-4
(1S,4aR,6aS,7R,8R,10aR,10bR,12aR,14R,15R)-15-[(2R)-2-Amino-2,3,3-trimethylbutoxy]-8-[(1R)-1,2-dimethylpropyl]-1,6,6a,7,8,9,10,10a,10b,11,12,12a-dodecahydro-1,6a,8,10a-tetramethyl-14-[5-(4-pyridinyl)-1H-1,2,4-triazol-1-yl]-4H-1,4a-propano-2H-phenanthro[1,2-c]pyran-7-carboxylic acid
Ibrexafungerp
MK 3118
SCY-078
3 https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Isavuconazole
CAS Reg No. 241479-67-4
BAL 4815
BAL-4815
Bal4815
1286730-05-9
Isavuconazole [INN]
isavuconazolum
4 The examined species of the second therapeutic compound has been expanded to include other triazole-type antifungals, voriconazole, isavuconazole, posaconazole, itraconazole) and amphotericin B as claimed by applicant. The present application is a divisional of the parent application no. 15/945,428 filed 04/04/2018 and issued US PAT 11110102 8/182021.. Pending claims 1-12 correspond with non-elected Group I from the parent case, a combination of elected species formula II (SCY-078) and the elected species of isavuconazole. Accordingly, pending examined claims 1-12 of the claiming status as a divisional application of the parent patent receives statutory protection (safe harbor) from obviousness-type double patenting rejections filed as a result of the July 2 2019 restriction requirement.
5 The specific dose level and frequency of dosage for any particular patient may be varied and will depend upon a variety of factors including the activity of the specific compound employed, the metabolic stability and length of action of that compound, the age, body weight) general health, sex, diet, mode and time of administration, rate of excretion, drug combination, the severity of the particular condition, and the host undergoing therapy. See Merck WO 203, page 14, lines 28-32.
6 1S,4aR,6aS,7R,8R,10aR,10bR,12aR,14R,15R)-15-[[(2R)-2-amino-2,3,3-trimethylbutyl]oxy]-8-[(1R)-1,2-dimethylpropyl]-14-[5-(4-pyridinyl)-1H-1,2,4-triazol-1-yl]-1,6,6a,7,8,9,10,10a,10b,11,12,12a-dodecahydro-1,6a,8,10a-tetramethyl-4H-1,4a-propano-2H-phenanthro[1,2-c]pyran-7-carboxylic acid
7 The specification’s Example 173 is properly relied upon to construe the reference claim so as to provide the structure of the compound that teaches the claimed subject matter, compound SCY-078.
MPEP § 804 Proper Uses of the Disclosure in an ODP-Obviousness Analysis “[T]hose portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent.”
8 The specific dose level and frequency of dosage for any particular patient may be varied and will depend upon a variety of factors including the activity of the specific compound employed, the metabolic stability and length of action of that compound, the age, body weight) general health, sex, diet, mode and time of administration, rate of excretion, drug combination, the severity of the particular condition, and the host undergoing therapy. See Merck WO 203, page 14, lines 28-32.