DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-14, 17-18, and 20 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on April 21, 2025, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 8, 11-13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhll (U.S. Patent No. 11,153,259), in view of Javier et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0191797), and further in view of Choi et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,226,716).
Claims 1-3, 8 (Method)
Claims 11-13, 18 (System)
Claim 20 (Storage Medium)
4-1. Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Uhll teaches the claim comprising: receiving, from a client device, a request to generate a message, the request comprising a user identifier that identifies a recipient of the message, by disclosing displaying an interface with which a user may create a message [column 9, lines 32-36] addressed to a recipient [column 10, lines 29-31].
Although Uhll discloses logging in to a user’s account [Uhll, column 6, lines 44-55; column 7, lines 30-36] and that the user may customize a selected template for the message by browsing, searching, and sorting custom content from a library of previously uploaded content and select desired uploaded content to dynamically populate the template [Uhll, column 13, lines 15-23], Uhll does not expressly teach determining a contextual condition associated with the client device, the contextual condition comprising temporal data; curating a collection of media content based on the contextual condition that includes the temporal data, and a user profile... the collection of media content including at least a first media content that comprises a template that corresponds with the temporal data; accessing user profile data associated with the user profile and the client device, the user profile data including user preference data that define one or more user selections; receiving an input that scrolls through the collection of media content from the client device; identifying the first media content based on the input that scrolls through the collection of media content. Javier discloses generating a media communication tailored to a user and a current environment of the user’s client-computing device by detecting current characteristics of the user’s client computing device and analyzing user information [paragraph 18, lines 1-6]. Current characteristics of the user’s client computing device includes a location of the client-computing device and a date and time associated with the client-computing device [paragraph 39]. User information includes the user’s profile information, social networking system activity history information (e.g., the user’s likes, shares, comments, clicks, scrolls, hovers, views, posts, uploads, messages, etc.), application usage history, camera usage history, calendar information, and so forth [paragraphs 20, 41]. The social networking system may, with input from a user, create and store in the social networking system a user profile associated with the user [paragraph 121, lines 5-7]. The user profile may include demographic information, communication-channel information, and information on personal interests of the user [paragraph 121, lines 7-9]. Thus, user profile information that will be used to tailor a media communication include user preference data that comprise a set of user selections. One or more pieces of contextual information is determined from the device characteristics and/or user information [paragraphs 21, 40, 42]. Using the contextual information, one or more customized media effects are generated [paragraph 45, lines 1-5]. The contextual information is utilized to identify one or more media effects that are compatible with the current environment of the client computing device and narrows the collection of identified media effects based on the contextual information [paragraph 45, lines 5-12; paragraph 47]. One example of generating a customized media effect is identifying an overlay template that includes one or more fields for entering information [paragraph 53, lines 1-7]. The one or more fields include fields such as the date, weather, event name, etc., that can be filled in with determined contextual information as well as graphical elements [paragraph 53, lines 8-11; paragraphs 85-86]. In response to receiving a swipe, the media effect system can scroll through additional customized media effects to select and replace currently displayed customized media effects [paragraph 88, lines 11-15]. A data storage includes media effect data [paragraph 30, lines 8-12; paragraph 62, lines 1-3]. Media effect data includes media effect information, such as described herein (e.g., media effect metadata, identified media effect information, customized media effect information, etc.) [paragraph 62, lines 3-7]. The user can interact with a GUI to preview media effects, input text, manipulate displays, and so forth [paragraphs 34, 101]. This would save time when creating a media communication by providing a media effect specifically tailored to the current environment of the user and the user’s client-computing device. Since Javier discloses providing an interface to assist a user in creating a multimedia communication for sending to others [Javier, paragraph 32] by generating media effects at any time as a background process [Javier, paragraph 74, lines 10-17], and Uhll discloses creating a message [Uhll, column 9, lines 32-36] using a template that can be populated with media items [Uhll, column 13, lines 15-23], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, when creating the message of Uhll, scrollable media effects based on location and time, and a user profile, as taught by Javier. This would save time when creating the message.
Although Uhll-Javier disclose narrowing the identified collection of media effects based on the contextual information associated with the user information [Javier, paragraph 47] by calculating a score for each media effect that reflects how well each media effect correlates to one or more aspects of contextual information [Javier, paragraph 52], and generating one or more customized media effects based on the scores having one or more fields filled in with determined contextual information [Javier, paragraph 53], Uhll-Javier do not expressly teach that curating the collection of media content that includes the at least a first media content comprising the template is also based on the user profile associated with the user identifier identified by the request. Choi discloses providing a user interface for creating a Shoutout [column 55, lines 5-7; column 58, lines 29-34; figure 33A]. A first user enters a name associated with a second user account [column 55, lines 7-23; column 58, lines 38-49; figure 33B] for which the Shoutout will be shared and distributed [column 57, lines 66-67; column 58, lines 7-9]. Different aspects of the Shoutout may be customized by the user including adding a salutation [column 55, lines 24-37]. A shared content module determines shared content between the first user account associated with the first user and a second user account associated with the second user [column 55, line 66 to column 56, line 12]. The shared content may be content that includes the second user and may also include the first user [column 56, lines 19-24]. The first user may select an item of shared content and a preview of how the shared content will look once the Shoutout is distributed to other users is provided [column 57, lines 29-48; column 58, line 63 to column 59, line 2; figure 33C]. This would allow a user to more easily find relevant content when sending a message to a recipient. Since Uhll-Javier disclose creating a message [Uhll, column 9, lines 32-36] addressed to a recipient [Uhll, column 10, lines 29-31] where media content for the message is curated based on contextual information associated with user information [Javier, paragraphs 20, 41, 47, 52, 53] in order to increase efficiency when creating the message [Javier, paragraph 26], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further consider, when curating media content as taught by Uhll-Javier, a user profile associated with the recipient of the message, as taught by Choi. This would increase relevancy of content regarding a recipient when composing a message to the recipient, thus increasing the efficiency of composing the message. Thus, media content including a template is curated based on contextual information that includes location data, temporal data, and user profile data associated with a recipient of the message.
Uhll-Javier-Choi teach generating a preview based on the template associated with the first media content responsive to the identifying the first media content based on the user preference data that define the one or more user selections, and the contextual condition that comprises the temporal data, the preview of the first media content including a display of a graphical element based on the contextual condition that comprises the temporal data; and presenting the preview of the first media content at the client device, by disclosing previewing the created message with the selected media effect [Uhll, column 19, lines 21-29; Javier, paragraphs 34, 88, 101]. The media effect comprises an overlay template that includes one or more fields for entering information [Javier, paragraph 53, lines 1-7]. The one or more fields include fields such as the date, weather, event name, etc., that can be filled in with determined contextual information [Javier, paragraph 53, lines 8-11; paragraph 86].
4-2. Regarding claims 2 and 12, Uhll-Javier-Choi teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the user profile data includes an image, by disclosing that the user’s visual library may include visuals previously uploaded and/or created and stored by the user [Uhll, column 14, lines 13-19; Choi, figures 34A-B] and user information collected includes uploads [Javier, paragraph 41].
4-3. Regarding claims 3 and 13, Uhll-Javier-Choi teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the generating the preview of the first media content includes: presenting a request at the client device, by disclosing presenting an add visual submenu that includes a record icon [Uhll, column 14, lines 46-52].
Uhll-Javier-Choi teach receiving a selection of the request, by disclosing that the user may select the record icon to cause a recording stage to be displayed [Uhll, column 14, lines 61-64].
Uhll-Javier-Choi teach activating a camera associated with the client device; causing the camera to capture an image to be allocated to the user profile data of the user profile associated with the client device, by disclosing that the user may select to record photo or video, then click a record icon to record the photo or video and save it to the user’s visual library [Uhll, column 15, lines 3-7].
Uhll-Javier-Choi teach generating the preview of the first media content based on the image, by disclosing that once the new photo or video is recorded, the user may save it to the user’s visual library [Uhll, column 15, lines 5-7] and add it to the message [Uhll, column 14, lines 61-62; Javier, paragraph 90]. Curated media content for the message is based on user profile data [Javier, paragraphs 21, 40; Choi, column 55, line 66 to column 56, line 12]. The user may preview the message including any revisions [Uhll, column 19, lines 21-29, 45-47; Javier, paragraphs 34, 101].
4-4. Regarding claims 8 and 18, Uhll-Javier-Choi teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the first media content includes a media template that comprises a set of graphical elements that include a customizable region, and wherein the generating the preview of the first media content includes: applying the user profile data to the customizable region of the set of graphical elements, by disclosing that the user may select and edit media effects for the message [Javier, paragraph 90]. As discussed above, curated media content for the message is based on user profile data [Javier, paragraphs 21, 40; Choi, column 55, line 66 to column 56, line 12]. The user may preview the created message with the selected media effect [Uhll, column 19, lines 21-29; Javier, paragraphs 34, 101].
5. Claims 4, 7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhll (U.S. Patent No. 11,153,259), in view of Javier et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0191797, in view of Choi et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,226,716), and further in view of Hall et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0262514).
5-1. Regarding claims 4 and 14, Uhll-Javier-Choi teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively. Uhll-Javier-Choi do not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: accessing the user profile associated with the client device; identifying a user preference that includes an opt-in among the user profile data; and generating the preview of the first media content based on the user profile data in response to the identifying the opt-in. Hall discloses allowing users to opt-in to data sharing arrangements as part of data privacy agreements in exchange for access to certain features of an application [paragraphs 2, 9]. This would allow the user to control privacy of certain information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the user to opt-in to certain application features, as taught by Hall. This would allow the user to control privacy of certain information.
5-2. Regarding claims 7 and 17, Uhll-Javier-Choi teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively. Uhll-Javier-Choi do not expressly teach wherein the generating the preview of the first media content based on the user profile data further comprises: identifying an opt-in associated with the recipient of the message; and generating the preview of the first media content based on the user profile data in response to the identifying the opt-in. Hall discloses allowing users to opt-in to data sharing arrangements as part of data privacy agreements in exchange for access to certain features of an application [paragraphs 2, 9]. This would allow a user to control privacy of certain information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the user to opt-in to certain application features, as taught by Hall. This would allow the user to control privacy of certain information.
Response to Arguments
6. The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11, and 20.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant alleges that Javier et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0191797) does not explicitly teach or suggest “user preference data that define one or more user selections,” as has been amended to the claim, because while Javier broadly mentions user preferences, it does not teach or suggest that these preferences specifically define user selections that are used to generate a preview of media content.
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Javier discloses generating a media communication tailored to a user and a current environment of the user’s client-computing device by detecting current characteristics of the user’s client computing device and analyzing user information [paragraph 18, lines 1-6]. Current characteristics of the user’s client computing device includes a location of the client-computing device and a date and time associated with the client-computing device [paragraph 39]. User information includes the user’s profile information, social networking system activity history information (e.g., the user’s likes, shares, comments, clicks, scrolls, hovers, views, posts, uploads, messages, etc.), application usage history, camera usage history, calendar information, and so forth [paragraphs 20, 41]. The social networking system may, with input from a user, create and store in the social networking system a user profile associated with the user [paragraph 121, lines 5-7]. The user profile may include demographic information, communication-channel information, and information on personal interests of the user [paragraph 121, lines 7-9]. Thus, user profile information that will be used to tailor a media communication include user preference data that comprise a set of user selections. Javier discloses previewing the created message with the selected media effect [paragraphs 34, 88, 101]. The media effect comprises an overlay template that includes one or more fields for entering information [paragraph 53, lines 1-7]. The one or more fields include fields such as the date, weather, event name, etc., that can be filled in with determined contextual information [paragraph 53, lines 8-11; paragraph 86]. One or more pieces of contextual information is determined from the device characteristics and/or user information [paragraphs 21, 40, 42]. Thus, a preview is generated based at least in part on the user information, which comprises user profile information containing user preference data based on a set of user selections.
Similar arguments have been presented for independent claims 11 and 20 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that dependent claims 2-4, 7-8, 12-14, and 17-18 recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding independent claims 1 and 11. However, as discussed above, Uhll (U.S. Patent No. 11,153,259), in view of Javier, and further in view of Choi (U.S. Patent No. 11,226,716) are considered to teach claims 1 and 11, and consequently, claims 2-4, 7-8, 12-14, and 17-18 are rejected.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118