Applicants amendment filed 3/30/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 2 and 3 were cancelled. Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn. Claims 1 and 3-8 remain pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 also recites “the GPR40 agonist is a compound represented by formula (I) or salt thereof, or a prodrug of the compound” which is indefinite. The metes and bounds of what is encompassed by the term “prodrug” cannot be deciphered. It is unclear how the structure of the prodrug differs from the structure of formula (I). Therefore, for the purpose of examination the term GPR40 agonist has been limited to any compound of formula (I) or a salt thereof. Claims 4-6 are rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuma et al. (WO 2008/001931) in view of Wauquier et al. (The free fatty acid receptor GPR40 protects from bone loss through inhibition of osteoclast differentiation, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Vol. 288, No. 9, pages 6542-6551, 2013) in further view of Boeyens et al. (Effects of omega3- and 6-polyunsaturated fatty acids on RANKL-Induced Osteoclast Differentiation of RAW264.7 cells Nutrients, Vol.6, 2014, pp. 2584-2601).
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a GPR40 agonist of formula I and a free fatty acid.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
With respect to claims 1 and 4-6 Yasuma et al. teach a compound of formula I or a salt thereof or a prodrug thereof that has GPR40 receptor function modulating activity (abstract). Example 10 discloses a compound of formula I as disclosed below, which is the elected compound fasiglifam (page 115; Example 10).
The compounds have superior GPR40 receptor function modulating action and are useful as insulin secretagogues or agents for the prophylaxis or treatment of diabetes and the like (page 136; lines 5-9). The compound functions similar to linolenic acid (Table 1). Claims 4-6 are drawn to inherent properties of the formulation.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
With respect to claim 1, Yasuma et al. do not teach combining fasiglifam with a free fatty acid, specifically the elected fatty acid docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). It is for this reason that Wauquier et al. and Boeyens et al. is joined.
Wauquier et al. teach that a lack of GPR40 is associated with bone loss and suggests that GPR40s have positive role in maintaining bone density (page 6546). Figure 5 shows that GPR40 agonists are protective against induced bone loss (Figure 5). GPR40s also have the ability to bind long chain fatty acids and the GPR40, TAK-875, was known to be highly effective in lowering blood glucose in type 2 diabetes patients which suggest that protecting bone loss could be an additional benefit of these types of drugs (page 6550).
Boeyens et al. teach polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) have an anabolic effect on bone in vivo and the effects of eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA, docasahexaenoic acid (DHA), arachidonic acid (AA) and γ-linolenic acid (GLA) and DHA inhibition was observed to be the strongest (abstract; page 2586). The PUFAs where analyzed in the presence of RANKL and showed significant osteoclastogenic activity for DHA and AA (page 2590, paragraph 3.1; Figure 1). In conclusion, Boeyens et al. teach that a balanced intake of PUFAs could have advantageous effects on health, protecting and mitigating against onset and development of cancer and cardiovascular chronic disease (page 2595 & 2597).
It would be prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art.” In re Kerkhoven 205 USPQ 1069, (C.C.P.A. 1980). Therefore, combining the GPR40 agonist fasiglifam (TAK-875) with docasahexaenoic acid (DHA), as claimed in the instant invention, sets forth prima facie obvious subject matter since both compounds are known to improve bone health.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Yasuma et al., Wauquier et al. and Boeyens et al. are all drawn to pharmaceutical compounds used to improve patient health. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Yasuma et al., Wauquier et al. and Boeyens et al. and formulate a pharmaceutical formulation comprising fasiglifam (TAK-875) and docasahexaenoic acid (DHA) with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Yasuma et al., Wauquier et al. and Boeyens et al. to make a pharmaceutical composition comprising fasiglifam (TAK-875) with docasahexaenoic acid (DHA) because both compounds are known to improve bone health and combining them in a single formulation would have been prima facie obvious. Additionally, Wauquier et al. teach GPR40s also have the ability to bind long chain fatty acids and Boeyens et al. teach DHA has the strongest osteoclastogenic activity out of various long chain fatty acids which would have motivated one of ordinary skill to select DHA over other long chain fatty acids.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wauquier states that the effects of fatty acids on bone remains controversial and unpredictable so the rejection lacks a reasonable expectation of success. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument. Wauquier et al. teach that a lack of GPR40 is associated with bone loss and suggests that GPR40s have positive role in maintaining bone density and GPR40s also have the ability to bind long chain fatty acids and the GPR40, TAK-875 (page 6546 and 6550). Boeyens et al. teach polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) have an anabolic effect on bone in vivo and DHA was observed to be the strongest (abstract; page 2586). It would be prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art.” In re Kerkhoven 205 USPQ 1069, (C.C.P.A. 1980). Thus, combining DHA with TAK-875 (fasiglifam), as claimed in the instant invention, sets forth prima facie obvious subject matter.
Applicant further argues that Test Example 1 shows the inhibitory effects on osteoclast differentiation and Test Example 2 induced the fluctuation of bone/inflammation-related genes are enhanced with the combination of fasiglifam and a free fatty acid (γ-LA or DHA). The Examiner has considered Applicants argument, however there is no showing that these effects are unexpected. Furthermore, the showing is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. The specification limits the concentration of the GPR agonist fasiglifam to 10 µM and the concentration of stearic acid to 10 µM. However, the cultures also require lipopolysaccharide (LPS) for stimulation to be effective. Therefore the Examiner is not convinced by Applicants arguments and the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617