DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 7, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-17 and 19-25 are presently pending with claims 1, 13, and 20 being independent. Claims 2-12, 14-17, and 21-24 are original claims. Claims 19 and 25 have been previously presented. Claims 1, 13, and 20 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed July 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1-17 and 19-25 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-17, 19, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0183084; hereinafter Zhou) in view of Quevedo et al. (WO 2022/058911; hereinafter Quevedo).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches the method comprising:
provisioning a first node (read as B1) by a root node (read as B), the root node being assigned an address of the network and holding all unicast addresses available for allocation (read as the unicast addresses allocatable by the primary provisioner B) to nodes of the node network (read as network B) (Fig. 3, B provisions B1; ¶ [0080] The top provisioner executes the provisioning process on the non-provisioned device B, so that the device may be preferentially added to the Bluetooth Mesh network as a node in the network. The provisioning process of the non-provisioned device B complies with the standard Bluetooth Mesh provisioned process.; ¶ [0085] The primary provisioner B has joined the Bluetooth Mesh network and obtained a node address (i.e., unicast address, which is determined and allocated to the primary provisioner B by the top provisioner).; ¶ [0087] The set of unicast addresses allocatable by the primary provisioner B is the set of unicast addresses that is provided by the top provisioner to the primary provisioner B to the non-provisioned devices. After provisioning one or more temporary provisioners of the next level, the primary provisioner B may further allocate the set of allocatable unicast addresses to the one or more temporary provisioners of a next level.; ¶ [0090] The primary provisioner may also provision its surrounding devices to the Bluetooth Mesh network.);
provisioning a second node (read as B2) by the root node (Fig. 3, provisioner B provisions non-provisioned B2; ¶ [0090] The primary provisioner may also provision its surrounding devices, B2.); and
wherein the root node allocates a first number of addresses to the first node and a second number of addresses to the second node, the first number of addresses being greater than the second number of addresses (¶ [0111] When the first device is used as a primary provisioner to provision three non-provisioned devices (referred as the second group of non-provisioned devices), similarly, 29,997/2 addresses may be allocated to a first non-provisioned device in the second group of non-provisioned devices, 29,997/4 addresses may be allocated to a second non-provisioned device, and 29,997/8 may be allocated to a third.).
Zhou does not explicitly teach: a method for parallel provisioning of a node network; simultaneously provisioning a first child node of the first node by the first node and a first child node of the second node by the second node; and simultaneously provisioning a second child node of the first node by the first node and a grandchild node of the first node by the first child node of the first node.
In analogous art, Quevedo teaches a method for parallel provisioning of a node network; simultaneously provisioning a first child node of the first node by the first node and a first child node of the second node by the second node; and simultaneously provisioning a second child node of the first node by the first node and a grandchild node of the first node by the first child node of the first node (¶ [0045] "Accordingly, this example provides for multiple devices being provisioned simultaneously to allow for concurrent provisioning." Parallel provisioning is analogous to simultaneous provisioning in the context of a node network. Both terms emphasize the idea of provisioning multiple nodes at the same time, rather than sequentially.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to combine the parallel/simultaneous provisioning of Quevedo into the mesh network of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expedite the setup, configuration, and scaling of the mesh network. Ensuring that multiple nodes, even those stemming from different parent nodes, are provisioned concurrently would not only reduce the time for network setup, but also enhance the overall robustness and agility of the mesh network. By automating provisioning and implementing solutions that increase the speed and efficiency of the provisioning process, such as parallel provisioning. In a sequential provisioning system, each node is provisioned one after the other, which means the time taken to provision the entire network is cumulative. In a simultaneous provisioning system, multiple nodes are provisioned at the same time, drastically reducing the total time required.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising allocating a first set of addresses (¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner.") for the first node and all nodes descended from the first node (Zhou: FIG. 3, node A [first node] and e.g. node A1-A3, A1_1, A11_2, A112_2 [descendants]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising allocating a second set of addresses (¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner." As the provisioning is done in a parallel manner, the second node will perform the same functions as the first node.) for the second node (FIG. 3 node B) and all nodes descended from the second node (FIG. 3, e.g., node B1-B3, B2_2, B22_1, B221_2), the second set of addresses and the first set of addresses being disjoint (¶ [0031] “Optionally, the top provisioner allocates ½ (a half) of the set of currently allocatable unicast addresses to a temporary provisioner each time the temporary provisioner is provisioned; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates ½ of the set of currently allocatable unicast addresses to a temporary provisioner of a next level each time the temporary provisioner of the next level is provisioned.” Unicast addresses are disjoint from one another.)
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising allocating a first subset of the first set of addresses (¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner.") to the first child node of the first node (FIG. 3, node A1) and all nodes descended from the first child node of the first node (FIG. 3, e.g. node A1_1, A11_2, A112_2).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising allocating a first subset of the second set of addresses (¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner." As the provisioning is done in a parallel manner, the second node will perform the same functions as the first node.) to the first child node of the second node (FIG. 3 node B2) and all nodes descended from the first child node of the second node (FIG. 3, e.g., node B2_2, B22_1, B221_2).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising provisioning (¶ [0020] "...provisioning, by each of the one or more temporary provisioners, surrounding non-provisioned devices of each of the temporary provisioners, so as to add the surrounding non-provisioned devices of each of the one or more temporary provisioners to the Bluetooth Mesh network as nodes."), by the first node, a second child node of the first node (FIG. 3, node A2 is provisioned by node A).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising allocating a second subset of the first set of addresses (¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner." Each child node will provision in the same manner of its parent node) to the second child node of the first node (FIG. 3, node A2) and all nodes descended from the second child node of the first node (FIG. 3, e.g., node A2_1, A21_1, A21_2), the first subset of the first set of addresses and the second subset of the first set of addresses being disjoint (¶ [0031] “Optionally, the top provisioner allocates ½ (a half) of the set of currently allocatable unicast addresses to a temporary provisioner each time the temporary provisioner is provisioned; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates ½ of the set of currently allocatable unicast addresses to a temporary provisioner of a next level each time the temporary provisioner of the next level is provisioned.” Unicast addresses are disjoint from one another.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising provisioning (¶ [0020] "...provisioning, by each of the one or more temporary provisioners, surrounding non-provisioned devices of each of the temporary provisioners, so as to add the surrounding non-provisioned devices of each of the one or more temporary provisioners to the Bluetooth Mesh network as nodes.") , by the second node, a second child node of the second node (FIG. 3, node B2 is provisioned by node B).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising allocating a second subset of the second set of addresses (¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner." As the provisioning is done in a parallel manner, the second node will perform the same functions as the first node.) to the second child node of the second node (FIG. 3, node B3) and all nodes descended from the second child node of the second node (FIG. 3, e.g., node B3_2, B32_2, B322_1), the first subset of the second set of addresses and the second subset of the second set of addresses being disjoint (¶ [0031] “Optionally, the top provisioner allocates ½ (a half) of the set of currently allocatable unicast addresses to a temporary provisioner each time the temporary provisioner is provisioned; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates ½ of the set of currently allocatable unicast addresses to a temporary provisioner of a next level each time the temporary provisioner of the next level is provisioned.” Unicast addresses are disjoint from one another.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches provisioning a first generation of nodes by a root node, the root node being assigned an address of the network and holding all unicast addresses available for allocation (read as the unicast addresses allocatable by the primary provisioner B) to nodes of the node network (read as network B) (Fig. 3, B provisions B1; ¶ [0080] The top provisioner executes the provisioning process on the non-provisioned device B, so that the device may be preferentially added to the Bluetooth Mesh network as a node in the network. The provisioning process of the non-provisioned device B complies with the standard Bluetooth Mesh provisioned process.; ¶ [0085] The primary provisioner B has joined the Bluetooth Mesh network and obtained a node address (i.e., unicast address, which is determined and allocated to the primary provisioner B by the top provisioner).; ¶ [0087] The set of unicast addresses allocatable by the primary provisioner B is the set of unicast addresses that is provided by the top provisioner to the primary provisioner B to the non-provisioned devices. After provisioning one or more temporary provisioners of the next level, the primary provisioner B may further allocate the set of allocatable unicast addresses to the one or more temporary provisioners of a next level.; ¶ [0090] The primary provisioner may also provision its surrounding devices to the Bluetooth Mesh network.);
provisioning a second generation of nodes by the first generation of nodes (Fig. 3, node B2 provisions node B2_1; ¶ [0095] B2 may provision surrounding non-provisioned devices (i.e., the devices B_1 and B_2).),
wherein the root node allocates a first number of addresses to the first node and a second number of addresses to the second node, the first number of addresses being greater than the second number of addresses (¶ [0111] When the first device is used as a primary provisioner to provision three non-provisioned devices (referred as the second group of non-provisioned devices), similarly, 29,997/2 addresses may be allocated to a first non-provisioned device in the second group of non-provisioned devices, 29,997/4 addresses may be allocated to a second non-provisioned device, and 29,997/8 may be allocated to a third.).
Zhou does not explicitly teach a method for parallel provisioning of a node network comprising; at least one node from the first generation of nodes or the second generation of nodes being provisioned simultaneously with at least one other node from the first generation of nodes or the second generation of nodes; and simultaneously provisioning a third generation node by a second generation node and a different second generation node by a first generation node that provisioned the second generation node provisioning the third generation node.
In analogous art, Quevedo teaches a method for parallel provisioning of a node network comprising; at least one node from the first generation of nodes or the second generation of nodes being provisioned simultaneously with at least one other node from the first generation of nodes or the second generation of nodes; and simultaneously provisioning a third generation node by a second generation node and a different second generation node by a first generation node that provisioned the second generation node provisioning the third generation node (¶ [0045] "Accordingly, this example provides for multiple devices being provisioned simultaneously to allow for concurrent provisioning.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to combine the parallel/simultaneous provisioning of Quevedo into the mesh network of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expedite the setup, configuration, and scaling of the mesh network. Ensuring that multiple nodes, even those stemming from different parent nodes, are provisioned concurrently would not only reduce the time for network setup, but also enhance the overall robustness and agility of the mesh network. By automating provisioning and implementing solutions that increase the speed and efficiency of the provisioning process, such as parallel provisioning. In a sequential provisioning system, each node is provisioned one after the other, which means the time taken to provision the entire network is cumulative. In a simultaneous provisioning system, multiple nodes are provisioned at the same time, drastically reducing the total time required.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising allocating a disjoint set of addresses for each node of the first generation of nodes and descendants of that node (FIG. 3, node A is a temporary provisioner and node B2 is a temporary provisioner; ¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner.") .
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising assigning an address to each node of the node network based on the allocation of addresses (FIG. 3, node A is a temporary provisioner and node B2 is a temporary provisioner; ¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner.").
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising provisioning a third generation of nodes by the second generation of nodes (FIG. 3, node B2_1 configures node B21_1; ¶ [0020] "...( e) selecting, by each of the temporary provisioners, one or more newly added nodes in step (d) to be configured as temporary provisioners of a next level and (f) repeating steps ( d) to ( e) for each of the one or more temporary provisioners until the completion of the provisioning of the plurality of non-provisioned devices.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou does not explicitly teach the method of claim 16, wherein at least two nodes of the third generation of nodes are provisioned simultaneously.
In analogous art, Quevedo teaches the method of claim 16, wherein at least two nodes of the third generation of nodes are provisioned simultaneously (¶ [0045] "Accordingly, this example provides for multiple devices being provisioned simultaneously to allow for concurrent provisioning.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to combine the parallel/simultaneous provisioning of Quevedo into the mesh network of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expedite the setup, configuration, and scaling of the mesh network. Ensuring that multiple nodes, even those stemming from different parent nodes, are provisioned concurrently would not only reduce the time for network setup, but also enhance the overall robustness and agility of the mesh network. By automating provisioning and implementing solutions that increase the speed and efficiency of the provisioning process, such as parallel provisioning. In a sequential provisioning system, each node is provisioned one after the other, which means the time taken to provision the entire network is cumulative. In a simultaneous provisioning system, multiple nodes are provisioned at the same time, drastically reducing the total time required.
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising dividing the disjoint sets into further disjoint subsets, each disjoint subset being allocated to a node of the second generation of nodes and descendants of that node (FIG. 3, node A2 is a temporary provisioner and node B2 is a temporary provisioner; ¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner." Each subsequent generation of nodes will provision in the same manner of the predecessor.).
Regarding claim 25, Zhou teaches further comprising allocating a predetermined set of addresses (read as a set allocable addresses) for each node in a particular generation (read as a temporary provisioner) (FIG. 3, node A is a temporary provisioner and node B is a temporary provisioner; ¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner.).
Claim(s) 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of BAE et al. (US 2019/0200193; hereinafter BAE), further in view of Quevedo.
Regarding claim 20, Zhou teaches a node of a node network, the node being assigned an address of the network and holding all unicast addresses available for allocation (read as the unicast addresses allocatable by the primary provisioner B) to nodes of the node network (read as network B) (Fig. 3, B provisions B1; ¶ [0080] The top provisioner executes the provisioning process on the non-provisioned device B, so that the device may be preferentially added to the Bluetooth Mesh network as a node in the network. The provisioning process of the non-provisioned device B complies with the standard Bluetooth Mesh provisioned process.; ¶ [0085] The primary provisioner B has joined the Bluetooth Mesh network and obtained a node address (i.e., unicast address, which is determined and allocated to the primary provisioner B by the top provisioner).; ¶ [0087] The set of unicast addresses allocatable by the primary provisioner B is the set of unicast addresses that is provided by the top provisioner to the primary provisioner B to the non-provisioned devices. After provisioning one or more temporary provisioners of the next level, the primary provisioner B may further allocate the set of allocatable unicast addresses to the one or more temporary provisioners of a next level.; ¶ [0090] The primary provisioner may also provision its surrounding devices to the Bluetooth Mesh network.);
the node to: provision a first node into the node network and allocate a first set of addresses from a group of available addresses to the first node and descendants of the first node, provision a second node into the node network and allocate a second set of addresses from the group of available addresses to the second node and descendants of the second node, wherein the first set of addresses and the second set of addresses are disjoint (¶ [0029] A set of unicast addresses allocatable by the node, and wherein the set of unicast addresses allocatable by the node is one of a plurality of disjoint subsets.; ¶ [0111] When the first device is used as a primary provisioner to provision three non-provisioned devices (referred as the second group of non-provisioned devices), similarly, 29,997/2 addresses may be allocated to a first non-provisioned device in the second group of non-provisioned devices, 29,997/4 addresses may be allocated to a second non-provisioned device, and 29,997/8 may be allocated to a third.).
wherein the node allocates a first number of addresses to the first node and a second number of addresses to the second node, the first number of addresses being greater than the second number of addresses (¶ [0111] When the first device is used as a primary provisioner to provision three non-provisioned devices (referred as the second group of non-provisioned devices), similarly, 29,997/2 addresses may be allocated to a first non-provisioned device in the second group of non-provisioned devices, 29,997/4 addresses may be allocated to a second non-provisioned device, and 29,997/8 may be allocated to a third.).
Zhou does not explicitly teach the node comprising: a processing circuit; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for execution by the processing circuit that causes; simultaneously provision a first child node of the first node by the first node and a first child node of the second node by the second node, and simultaneously provision a second child node of the first node by the first node and a grandchild node of the first node by the first child node of the first node.
In analogous art, BAE teaches the node comprising: a processing circuit; and (FIG. 11, Electronic Device 101 equipped with a processor 120); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for execution by the processing circuit that causes (FIG. 1, Electronic Device 101 includes memory 132 that holds a program 140).
In view of the above, having the system of Zhou then given the teaching of BAE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the method for provisioning a mesh network taught by Zhou with the electronic device taught by BAE, in order to achieve a more integrated, efficient, and scalable system with capability to perform parallel provisioning. Hardware is necessary to carry out the method of provisioning a mesh network taught by Zhou.
Zhou and BAE do not explicitly teach simultaneously provision a first child node of the first node by the first node and a first child node of the second node by the second node, and simultaneously provision a second child node of the first node by the first node and a grandchild node of the first node by the first child node of the first node (¶ [0045] "Accordingly, this example provides for multiple devices being provisioned simultaneously to allow for concurrent provisioning." Parallel provisioning is analogous to simultaneous provisioning in the context of a node network. Both terms emphasize the idea of provisioning multiple nodes at the same time, rather than sequentially.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to combine the parallel/simultaneous provisioning of Quevedo and processing and memory of BAE into the mesh network of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expedite the setup, configuration, and scaling of the mesh network. Ensuring that multiple nodes, even those stemming from different parent nodes, are provisioned concurrently would not only reduce the time for network setup, but also enhance the overall robustness and agility of the mesh network. By automating provisioning and implementing solutions that increase the speed and efficiency of the provisioning process, such as parallel provisioning. In a sequential provisioning system, each node is provisioned one after the other, which means the time taken to provision the entire network is cumulative. In a simultaneous provisioning system, multiple nodes are provisioned at the same time, drastically reducing the total time required.
Regarding claim 21, Zhou teaches the node of claim 20, wherein the node is a root node and the group of available addresses comprises all addresses for nodes available to the node network (¶ [0029] "Optionally, the top provisioner sends configuration information to a newly added node, so as to configure the node as the temporary provisioner in step (b ); and sending, by the temporary provisioner, configuration information to the newly added node, so as to configure the node as the temporary provisioner in step ( d); wherein the configuration format includes identity information of the plurality of non-provisioned devices and/or a set of unicast addresses allocatable by the node, and wherein the set of unicast addresses allocatable by the node is one of a plurality of disjoint subsets of a set of unicast addresses allocatable by an upper-level provisioner of the node.".
Regarding claim 22, Zhou teaches the node of claim 20, wherein the node is a child node and the group of available addresses comprises addresses allocated by a parent node of the node for the node and its descendants (FIG. 3, node A is a temporary provisioner and node B is a temporary provisioner; ¶ [0030] "Optionally, the top provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast address equally to the one or more temporary provisioner; and/or the temporary provisioner allocates a set of allocable unicast addresses equally to the temporary provisioner of the next level provisioned by the temporary provisioner.").
Regarding claim 23, Zhou teaches which addresses make up the first set of addresses and which addresses make up the second set of addresses (¶ [0029] “…wherein the configuration format … a set of unicast addresses allocatable by the node, and wherein the set of unicast addresses allocatable by the node is one of a plurality of disjoint subsets of a set of unicast addresses allocatable by an upper-level provisioner of the node.”).
Zhou does not explicitly teach the node of claim 20, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium is configured to store data indicating.
In analogous art, BAE teaches the node of claim 20, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium is configured to store data indicating (¶ [0044] The memory 130 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 120 or the sensor module 176) of the electronic device 101.)
In view of the above, having the system of Zhou then given the teaching of BAE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the method for provisioning a mesh network taught by Zhou with the electronic device taught by BAE, in order to achieve a more integrated, efficient, and scalable system with capability to perform parallel provisioning. Hardware is necessary to carry out the method of provisioning a mesh network taught by Zhou.
Regarding claim 24, Zhou does not explicitly teach the node of claim 20, wherein the node network comprises a mesh network.
In analogous art, BAE teaches the node of claim 20, wherein the node network comprises a mesh network (FIG 1, electronic device 101, FIG. 2, Mesh Network 200; ¶ [0005] “The BLE mesh network may include at least one electronic device designated as a provisioner.” The provisioner is a node).
In view of the above, having the system of Zhou then given the teaching of BAE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the method for provisioning a mesh network taught by Zhou with the electronic device taught by BAE, in order to achieve a more integrated, efficient, and scalable system with capability to perform parallel provisioning. Hardware is necessary to carry out the method of provisioning a mesh network taught by Zhou.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou and Quevedo, and further in view of BAE.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou and Quevedo do not explicitly teach further comprising provisioning a third node by the root node.
In analogous art, BAE teaches further comprising provisioning a third node by the root node (FIG. 9B, third node; ¶ [0155] "…a mesh network (e.g., the BLE mesh network 200) may include a provisioner 400, a first node 981, a second node 982, a third node 983…").
In view of the above, having the system of Zhou and Quevedo then given the teaching of BAE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the method for parallel/simultaneous provisioning of a mesh network taught by Zhou with provisioning a third node by the root node taught by BAE, in order to achieve a more integrated, efficient, and scalable system, optimizing network management and capability to perform parallel provisioning. The third node would allow more nodes to be provisioned simultaneously, which would reduce the time required to provision the unprovisioned devices in the mesh network.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou and Quevedo do not explicitly teach the method of claim 2, further comprising provisioning, by the third node, a first child node of the third node.
In analogous art, BAE teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising provisioning, by the third node, a first child node of the third node (FIG. 18, speaker 1810 provisioning light 1840; ¶ [0240] "For example, the speaker 1810 may receive the provisioning feature from the fan 1800 and may perform a provisioning process on the newly installed lamp 1840.").
In view of the above, having the system of Zhou and Quevedo then given the teaching of BAE, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the method for parallel/simultaneous provisioning of a mesh network taught by Zhou with provisioning a third node by the root node taught by BAE, in order to achieve a more integrated, efficient, and scalable system, optimizing network management and capability to perform parallel provisioning. The third node would allow more nodes to be provisioned simultaneously, which would reduce the time required to provision the unprovisioned devices in the mesh network.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou does not explicitly teach the method of claim 3, wherein the first child node of the third node is simultaneously provisioned with the first child node of the first node and the first child node of the second node.
In analogous art, Quevedo teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first child node of the third node is simultaneously provisioned with the first child node of the first node and the first child node of the second node (¶ [0045] "Accordingly, this example provides for multiple devices being provisioned simultaneously to allow for concurrent provisioning.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to combine the parallel/simultaneous provisioning of Quevedo into the mesh network of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expedite the setup, configuration, and scaling of the mesh network. Ensuring that multiple nodes, even those stemming from different parent nodes, are provisioned concurrently would not only reduce the time for network setup, but also enhance the overall robustness and agility of the mesh network. By automating provisioning and implementing solutions that increase the speed and efficiency of the provisioning process, such as parallel provisioning. In a sequential provisioning system, each node is provisioned one after the other, which means the time taken to provision the entire network is cumulative. In a simultaneous provisioning system, multiple nodes are provisioned at the same time, drastically reducing the total time required.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464