Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 20th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-12, 14-17, and 19-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No 20190120942), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device, comprising:
A first light emitting element operable to emit one or more low intensity light beam ([0038], using a light source of the LiDAR system (e.g., a fiber laser), a sequence of pulse signals (e.g., a sequential pulse train P1, P2, …, Pn in FIG. 2). The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals. For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, P1 is transmitted before P2 and the power level of P1 is lower than the power level of P2.)
A second light emitting element operable to emit a high intensity light beam, wherein the high intensity light beam is emitted subsequent in time to the one or more low intensity light beams ([0038], The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals. For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, P1 is transmitted before P2 and the power level of P1 is lower than the power level of P2.)
A light detecting element configured to detect reflected light beams, the reflected light beams comprising one or more first reflected light beams and a second reflected light beam, wherein the one or more first reflected light beams comprise reflections of the one or more low intensity light beams and the second reflected light beam comprises a reflection of the high intensity light beam ([0039], the LiDAR system receives, using a light detector of the LiDAR system, one or more returned pulse signals corresponding to the transmitted sequence of pulse signals… FIG. 3A, the LiDAR system receives n returned pulse signals (R1, R2, …, Rn) corresponding to the transmitted sequence of pulse signals (P1, P2, …, Pn))
A processor configured to: in response to determining that the light detecting element reaches saturation when detecting the second reflected light beam, analyze at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams: and calculate a distance measurement based on the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0041], the LiDAR system identifies the last received pulse signal of the returned signals that is not a saturated signal. For example, with reference to FIG. 3B, the system may identify R3 as the last received pulse signal that is not a saturated signal because R4-Rn are all saturated signals. Accordingly, R3 is selected; [0045] At block 408, the LiDAR system identifies a transmitted pulse signal of the transmitted sequence that corresponds to the selected returned pulse signal. At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal.); and
Adjust the distance measurement based on calculating a time differential between a receive time of the second reflected light beam and a receive time of the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0045] At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal)
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams based on analyzing the one or more first reflected light beams by adjacency to the second reflected light beam, wherein a closest adjacency is analyzed first ([0041], the LiDAR system identifies the last received pulse signal of the returned signals that is not a saturated signal)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the one or more low intensity light pulses comprises: multiple adjacent low intensity light pulses configured with an intensity ratio between adjacent low intensity pulses substantially equal to a dynamic range of the light detecting element ([0008], The power ratio between each pair of neighboring pulses of the light source can be as large as the dynamic range of the receivers, e.g., 10^2; [0052], the configurations can be extended to implement a sequential pulse train with any number of pulses; [0058], The pulse intensity ratio between the small pulse and large pulse is approximately 10^2, designed to match the dynamic range of the photodetector)
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the one or more low intensity light pulses comprises: multiple adjacent low intensity light pulses separated by a unique time delay, a unique intensity and an order of ascending intensity, lowest intensity to highest intensity ([0038], The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals; [0008], The two or more light pulses have different peak power and are separated from each other by a certain delay. The order of the sequential pulses follows the rule that the weaker signal comes out earlier than the stronger signal)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein an intensity dynamic range of the light detecting element increases by a power of the number of the multiple adjacent low intensity light pulses ([0052], generates a 2-pulse sequential pulse train, the configurations can be extended to implement a sequential pulse train with any number of pulses; [0058], The pulse intensity ratio between the small pulse and large pulse is approximately 10^2, designed to match the dynamic range of the photodetector. As discussed above the returned signal corresponding to the small pulse is used to determine the short distance and that corresponding to the large pulse is used to determine the long distance. Using the combination of the two pulses, the final dynamic range can reach 10^2*10^2 = 10^4)
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system, comprising:
a light emitting transmitter operable to emit light beams and configured to: emit one or more first intensity light beams; emit a second intensity light beam, wherein the second intensity light beam is emitted subsequent in time to the one or more first intensity light beams ([0038], At block 402, a LiDAR system transmits, using a light source of the LiDAR system (e.g., a fiber laser), a sequence of pulse signals (e.g., a sequential pulse train P1, P2, …, Pn in FIG. 2). The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals. For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, P1 is transmitted before P2 and the power level of P1 is lower than the power level of P2)
a light detector operable to detect reflected light beams and configured to: detect one or more first reflected light beams, wherein the one or more first reflected light beams comprise reflections of the one or more first intensity light beams; detect a second reflected light beam, wherein the second reflected light beam comprises a reflection of the second intensity light beam ([0039], At block 404, the LiDAR system receives, using a light detector of the LiDAR system, one or more returned pulse signals corresponding to the transmitted sequence of pulse signals… FIG. 3A, the LiDAR system receives n returned pulse signals (R1, R2, …, Rn) corresponding to the transmitted sequence of pulse signals (P1, P2, …, Pn). Further, all of the n returned pulse signals (R1, R2, …, Rn) are over the noise level of the light detector)
a computing device configured to: in response to determining that the light detector reaches saturation when detecting the second reflected light beam, analyze a first occurring non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams, wherein the first occurring non-saturating instance is based on detecting a closest reflected occurrence, to the second reflected light beam, of the non-saturating instance of the first reflected light beams; and calculate a distance measurement based on the analyzing of the first occurring non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0041], In some examples, to select a returned pulse signal, the LiDAR system identifies the last received pulse signal of the returned signals that is not a saturated signal. For example, with reference to FIG. 3B, the system may identify R3 as the last received pulse signal that is not a saturated signal because R4-Rn are all saturated signals. Accordingly, R3 is selected)
Adjust the distance measurement based on calculating a time differential between a receive time of the second reflected light beam and a receive time of the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0045] At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal)
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang teaches the LiDAR system of claim 12,
wherein the computing device is further configured to adjust the distance measurement based on calculating a time differential between a receive time of the second reflected light beam and the first occurring non-saturated instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0045], At block 408, the LiDAR system identifies a transmitted pulse signal of the transmitted sequence that corresponds to the selected returned pulse signal. At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal)
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches the LiDAR system of claim 12, wherein the one or more low intensity light pulses comprises: multiple adjacent low intensity light pulses separated by a unique time delay, unique intensity and an order of emission of ascending intensity, lowest intensity to highest intensity ([0038], The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals; [0008], The two or more light pulses have different peak power and are separated from each other by a certain delay. The order of the sequential pulses follows the rule that the weaker signal comes out earlier than the stronger signal)
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches a method of measuring distance comprising:
emitting, using a first light emitting element, one or more low intensity light beams ([0038], using a light source of the LiDAR system (e.g., a fiber laser), a sequence of pulse signals (e.g., a sequential pulse train P1, P2, …, Pn in FIG. 2). The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals. For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, P1 is transmitted before P2 and the power level of P1 is lower than the power level of P2.)
emitting, using a second light emitting element, a high intensity light beam, wherein the high intensity light beam is emitted subsequent in time to the one or more low intensity light beams ([0038], The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals. For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, P1 is transmitted before P2 and the power level of P1 is lower than the power level of P2.)
detecting, using a light detecting element, reflected light beams comprising one or more first reflected light beams and a second reflected light beam, wherein the one or more first reflected light beams comprise reflections of the one or more low intensity light beams and a second reflected light beam comprises a reflection of the high intensity light beam ([0039], the LiDAR system receives, using a light detector of the LiDAR system, one or more returned pulse signals corresponding to the transmitted sequence of pulse signals… FIG. 3A, the LiDAR system receives n returned pulse signals (R1, R2, …, Rn) corresponding to the transmitted sequence of pulse signals (P1, P2, …, Pn))
in response to determining that the light detecting element reaches saturation when detecting the second reflected light beam, analyzing, by the computing device, at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0041], the LiDAR system identifies the last received pulse signal of the returned signals that is not a saturated signal. For example, with reference to FIG. 3B, the system may identify R3 as the last received pulse signal that is not a saturated signal because R4-Rn are all saturated signals. Accordingly, R3 is selected.)
calculating, by the computing device, a distance measurement based on the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0045] At block 408, the LiDAR system identifies a transmitted pulse signal of the transmitted sequence that corresponds to the selected returned pulse signal. At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal.)
Adjust the distance measurement based on calculating a time differential between a receive time of the second reflected light beam and a receive time of the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0045] At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal)
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: determining, by the computing device, the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams based on analyzing the one or more first reflected light beams by adjacency to the second reflected light beam, wherein a closest adjacency is analyzed first ([0041], the LiDAR system identifies the last received pulse signal of the returned signals that is not a saturated signal)
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more low intensity light pulses comprise multiple adjacent low intensity light pulses, and the method further comprises:
separating the multiple adjacent low intensity light pulses by a unique time delay, unique intensity and order of ascending intensity, lowest intensity to highest intensity ([0038], The sequence of pulse signals includes two or more increasingly stronger pulse signals; [0008], The two or more light pulses have different peak power and are separated from each other by a certain delay. The order of the sequential pulses follows the rule that the weaker signal comes out earlier than the stronger signal)
and adjusting the distance measurement based on the time differential between a receive time of the second reflected light beam and the at least one non-saturating instance of the one or more first reflected light beams ([0045], At block 408, the LiDAR system identifies a transmitted pulse signal of the transmitted sequence that corresponds to the selected returned pulse signal. At block 410, the LiDAR system calculates a distance based on the selected returned signal and the identified transmitted signal.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Langseth et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20190006812), hereinafter Langseth.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element share a common transmitter to emit the one or more low intensity light beams and the high intensity light beams ([0038] At block 402, a LiDAR system transmits, using a light source of the LiDAR system (e.g., a fiber laser), a sequence of pulse signals (e.g., a sequential pulse train P1, P2, …, Pn in FIG. 2))
Zhang fails to teach an electronically tunable time delay.
However, Langseth teaches an electronically tunable time delay ([0005], a controller operably coupled to the first and/or second laser source…The controller varies a time delay between the first pulse and the second pulse)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the transmitter to operate with an electronically tunable time delay taught by Langseth. The reasoning for this is that there is a predictably increased reliability and efficiency in the wavelengths of the pulse when using this method with either a laser or emitted light.
Claim 8-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Langseth, and further in view of Donnovan (US Patent Application Publication 20190033429), hereinafter Donnovan.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element emit the one or more low intensity light beams and the high intensity light beam ([0038] At block 402, a LiDAR system transmits, using a light source of the LiDAR system (e.g., a fiber laser), a sequence of pulse signals (e.g., a sequential pulse train P1, P2, …, Pn in FIG. 2)).
Zhang fails to teach a separate transmitter with electronically tunable time delays to emit the beams.
However, Langseth teaches an electronically tunable time delay ([0005], a controller operably coupled to the first and/or second laser source…The controller varies a time delay between the first pulse and the second pulse)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the transmitter to operate with an electronically tunable time delay taught by Langseth. The reasoning for this is that there is a predictably increased reliability and efficiency in the wavelengths of the pulse when using this method with either a laser or emitted light.
This combination fails to teach a separate transmitter for each light emitting element.
However, Donnovan teaches a LiDAR device wherein the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element comprise a separate transmitter ([0090], LIDAR system using multiple transmitter arrays of the present teaching. In this embodiment, a plurality of surface emitting laser arrays comprising at least two groups of lasers with different wavelengths)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the LiDAR device taught by Zhang, as modified above, with the plurality of light emitting elements taught by Donnovan. The reasoning for this is to provide a desired field-of-view of the projected target range, thus predictably increasing the effectiveness of the LiDAR system.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR device of claim 8.
Zhang teaches of the LiDAR device transmitters being calibrated to match an intended low intensity light beam ([0044], Accordingly, the LiDAR system can be adjusted such that a different sequence of pulse signals is generated and then transmitted. The new sequence of pulse signal may be different from the previous sequence in terms of the number of pulses, the peak power level of pulses, or a combination thereof).
Zhang, viewed through Langseth, teaches that this system can be electronically tunable (see rejection to claim 8)
Zhang and Langseth do not teach the use of separate transmitters.
However, Donnovan also teaches the LiDAR device wherein the separate transmitters are calibrated to match an intended low intensity light beam pulse energy ([0095], In embodiments with multiple transmitters, the wavelengths of the individual VCSELS that comprise the transmitter array and/or each transmitter array may be the same or different).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the LiDAR device taught by Zhang, as modified above, with the separate transmitters calibrated to match low intensity light beam pulse energy levels. The reasoning of this is to produce light beams better suited to an environment that would otherwise produce only saturated signals and lead to a predictably better image of the environment.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR device of claim 8.
However, Donnovan also teaches the device wherein the separate transmitters are physically separated in a vertical plane and further comprise optical alignment (Figure 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the LiDAR device taught by Zhang, as modified above, with the plurality of light emitting elements, the separation in a vertical plan and further comprising optical alignment to create a desired overlap or interleaving of the two beams.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR device of claim 10.
However, Donnovan also teaches the device wherein the optical alignment comprises optical beam combining (Figure 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the LiDAR device taught by Zhang, as modified above, with the optical beam combining to create a desired overlap or interleaving of the two beams.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang teaches the LiDAR device of claim 12.
Zhang fails to teach the LiDAR device wherein the light emitting transmitter further comprises a plurality of separate light emitting transmitters with electronically tunable time delay to emit the one or more first intensity light beams and the second intensity light beam.
However, Langseth teaches the electronically tunable time delay to emit the one or more first intensity light beams and the second intensity light beam ([0005], a controller operably coupled to the first and/or second laser source…The controller varies a time delay between the first pulse and the second pulse)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the transmitter to operate with an electronically tunable time delay taught by Langseth. The reasoning for this is that there is a predictably increased reliability and efficiency in the wavelengths of the pulse when using this method with either a laser or emitted light.
This combination fails to teach a plurality of separate light emitting transmitters.
However, Donnovan teaches a LiDAR device wherein the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element comprise a separate transmitter ([0090], LIDAR system using multiple transmitter arrays of the present teaching. In this embodiment, a plurality of surface emitting laser arrays comprising at least two groups of lasers with different wavelengths)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the LiDAR device taught by Zhang, as modified above, with the plurality of light emitting elements taught by Donnovan. The reasoning for this is to provide a desired field-of-view of the projected target range, thus predictably increasing the effectiveness of the LiDAR system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 20th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is first noted that the Applicant’s Remarks state that the claim of issue is claim 1, only to reference the claim cited as claim 11 on page 7 of 9 and 8 of 9, despite the claim citation matching the language of claim 1, for the purposes of examination the arguments, the examiner will understand the arguments as referring to claim 1 as mentioned.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the prior art of Zhang fails to teach the limitations of claim 1 in which the distance measurement is adjusted based on calculating a time differential between the receive times of the second reflected light beam and a receive time of the at least one non-saturated instance of the one or more reflected beams, taken in combination with the detection of saturated and non-saturated signals outline in earlier limitations of the claim, which are calculated as a distance and are not argued against in the current applicant arguments, the prior art of Zhang clearly teaches the system as one that adjusts said distance measurement based on the time differential of the two kinds of signals under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as written, and as such the rejection of the immediate claims is maintained in this Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645