Reopening of Prosecution After Appeal Brief
In view of the appeal brief filed on 10/29/25, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New Grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699
Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendments
In the response submitted by the Applicant the following 35 U.S.C § 103 (a) rejections are withdrawn:
Claims 19, 21-28, 30, 31, 33, and 36-38 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myntti et al. (WO 2007/134055) in view of Lichter et al. (WO 2010/011605) in light of support by Mehta et al. (Otolaryngology, 2005).
Claim 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myntti et al. (WO 2007/134055) and Lichter et al. (WO 2010/011605) as applied to claims 19, 21-28, 30, 31, and 33 above, and further in view of Pellico (WO 2008/070387).
Claim 34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichter et al. (WO 2010/011605).
Claim 35 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lichter et al. (WO 2010/011605) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Pellico (WO 2008/070387)
The following 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections are withdrawn:
Claims 19-28, 30, 31, and 33-38 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following Double Patenting rejections are withdrawn:
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11090369. Claims 1-18 were cancelled on 7/25/24.
The Applicant’s arguments in the Appeal Brief against the 35 USC 112 rejection were persuasive and necessitated the above withdrawals. The Prior Art Rejections were removed since while Myntti et al. (WO 2007/134055) discloses the amount of organic acid, specifically citric acid, they do not disclose the low effective solute concentration (ESC) claimed. While Lichter et al. (WO 2010/011605) does disclose a composition comprising the low ESC, they do not clearly disclose the amount of citric acid, nor do they disclose that citric acid as a critical ingredient. Lichter et al. also discloses 14-21% by weight of surfactant as an active ingredient in their compositions (Lichter [0026]). Such weights are expressly excluded by Myntti et al. Therefore the motivation to combine Lichter et al. and Myntti et al. is lacking while both are drawn to treating otitis media, both compositions use different approaches in the amount of citric acid and Lichter et al. relies on high concentrations of surfactant.
Rejoinder of Claims
Claims 29 and 32 were previously withdrawn in the Election of Species response on 11/11/24. Since they now depend from an allowable independent claim, they are rejoined.
New Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 19-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11090369. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets disclose a composition comprising:
a) a solvent component comprising water and at least 2% of DMSO or ethanol;
b) a solute component comprising citric acid, 0-1% of an anionic surfactant, a buffer, and at least 0.005 wt% (50 ppm) of lysozyme.
Both compositions are at a pH of 6-8 and an osmolarity of no more than 200 mOsm/L.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 is rejoined and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is a method of treating the middle or inner ear of an animal by introducing the claimed composition into the ear cavity of the animal. However claim 29 applies the composition to the tympanic membrane, which reads on the external surface in the external auditory canal, which is neither the middle or inner ear cavity. Therefore it is unclear how claim 29 limits claim 1 since applying the composition to the outer surface of the tympanic membrane is treating a different area than the middle or inner ear.
Request for Interview
The Examiner believes an interview would be useful in progressing this case/allowable subject matter is present in this invention. The Applicant is encourage to contact Thane Underdahl at (303) 297-4299 to discuss the claims/claim amendments to place this case in condition for allowance prior to replying to this Office Action.
In response to this office action the applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure, including the claims (MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699