DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed on 03/13/2026.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-22 are pending and have been examined.
All previous objections/rejections not mentioned in this Office Action have been withdrawn by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 20, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the newly cited art of Vassigh in the updated mappings below for further detail.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “at least one other data source” in the 4th limitation. The Examiner suggests amending the claim(s) to recite –the at least one other data source-- in order to maintain clear antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lum (US PG Pub 2022/0246145), hereinafter Lum, in view of Vassigh et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2020/0196021), hereinafter Vassigh, and further in view of Vuskovic et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,552,814), hereinafter Vuskovic.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 20, Lum teaches
(claim 1) A method comprising (a method [0003]):
(claim 12) A computing system (a system [0004]), comprising:
(claim 12) at least one processor (the system includes a processor [0004]); and
(claim 12) at least one computer-readable medium encoded with instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (the system includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium, i.e. at least one computer-readable medium, that stores executable instructions, i.e. encoded with instructions which, the processor is configured to execute, i.e. when executed by the at least one processor [0004]), cause the computing system to:
(claim 20) At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system (the system, i.e. of a computing system, includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium, i.e. at least one computer-readable medium, that stores executable instructions, i.e. encoded with instructions which, the processor is configured to execute, i.e. when executed by the at least one processor [0004]), cause the computing system to:
receiving, by a computing system, access credentials input by a first user to a first client device (the client device, i.e. first client device, may provide user identification information to a user identity provider in communication with the video conference provider, i.e. receiving by a computing system, where the information may include user provided information such as user identification information, passwords, passcodes, and cryptographic signatures, i.e. access credentials input by a first user [0034-6]);
using, by the computing system, the access credentials to authenticate an identity of the first user (the user identity provider, i.e. by the computing system, can confirm the identity of the user by using the user provided identification information to verify the user’s identity, i.e. using…the access credentials to authenticate an identity of the first user [0034-6]);
in response to the computing system determining that the first client device has requested access to a meeting application and based at least in part on the identity of the first user having been authenticated using the access credentials, causing, by the computing system, the first client device to be provided with access to the meeting application using first stored authentication credentials associated with the first user (the client device contacts a video conference provider to access its functionality, i.e. in response to the computing system determining that the first client device has requested access to a meeting application, and the video conference provider communicates with a user identity provider that receives user provided user identification information, and confirms the user’s identity based on the information, i.e. based at least in part on the identity of the first user having been authenticated using the access credentials, where the video conference provider uses the confirmation to provide access to its services, i.e. causing, by the computing system, the first client device to be provided with access to the meeting application, where some functions are performed based on the user having an identity with the video conference provider such as through user account information, i.e. using first stored authentication credentials associated with the first user [0034-6],[0052]);
determining, by the computing system and based at least in part on input provided to the meeting application by the first user at a first time, at least a first topic of interest for the first user accessing the meeting application via the first client device (the user’s software client receives and provides data from the video conference provider during a video conference, i.e. by the computing system and based at least in part on input provided to a meeting application…for the first user accessing the meeting application via the first client device, where the speech of the user received at the client device is monitored to identify potential keywords, i.e. provided to the meeting application by the first user at a first time, and determining a context associated with the keyword, such as “check that record” regarding the keyword “Salesforce” indicating the need to retrieve a particular record in a particular application, i.e. determining…at least a first topic of interest for the first user [0016-7]);
selecting, by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources, a data source …among the plurality of data sources (the speech of the user is monitored to identify keywords and context of the keywords, and when a rule is identified, i.e. selecting by the computing system, corresponding to the keyword and context, the client software presents a notification to the user indicating one or more possible actions, and when a user confirms proceeding with the action of the rule, the client software launches the application corresponding to the rule, i.e. selecting…a data source, and accesses the information, for example accessing a customer database, directly navigating to the customer’s record, accessing sales information, and accessing product options, i.e. selecting by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources [0016-20],[0067],[0089]);
in response to determining the first topic of interest and based at least in part on the identity of the first user having been authenticated using the access credentials, causing, by the computing system, the selected data source to be queried for information corresponding to the first topic of interest … (participants in a video conference are granted access to a meeting after the identity is confirmed based on user provided user identification information, i.e. based at least in part on the identity of the first user having been authenticated using the access credentials [0034-6], where the speech of the user is monitored to identify keywords and context of the keywords, i.e. in response to determining the first topic of interest, and when a rule is identified corresponding to the keyword and context, the client software presents a notification to the user indicating one or more possible actions, and when a user confirms proceeding with the action of the rule, the client software launches the application corresponding to the rule and accesses the information, i.e. causing by the computing system the selected data source to be queried, for example accessing a customer database, directly navigating to the customer’s record, accessing sales information, and accessing product options, i.e. information corresponding to the first topic of interest [0016-20],[0067],[0089]); and
causing, by the computing system, the first client device to display a representation of the information (when the user confirms the notification, the client software on the client device, i.e. causing by the computing system the first client device, launches the corresponding application and directly navigates to the customer record, i.e. display a representation of the information [0016],[0020-1],[0067],[0089],[0116]).
While Lum provides accessing an application outside the video conference according to a rule, Lum does not specifically teach the data source is selected based on user preference data that tracks user interactions with the data sources and a number of times that the user has selected the data source, and thus does not teach
storing, by the computing system, per-user preference data, for the first user, that tracks user interactions of the first user with a plurality of data sources external to the meeting application;
selecting, by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources, a data source based on the per-user preference data for the first user indicating a number of times that the first user has, before the first time, selected the data source among the plurality of data sources.
Vassigh, however, teaches storing, by the computing system, per-user preference data, for the first user, that tracks user interactions of the first user with a plurality of data sources external to the meeting application (user preferences and history may be stored in the multimedia environment, i.e. storing by the computer system per-user preference data for the first user, which includes information regarding a given user’s content viewing history and preferences, including movies and TV programs the user has watched, actors the user watches the most, or information such as that the user has recently watched news about Brexit from sources outside the UK, i.e. that tracks user interactions of the first user with a plurality of data sources, where the multimedia environment includes content sources that store content and metadata, i.e. a plurality of data sources external to the meeting application [0034-5],[0039-40]);
selecting, by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources, a data source based on the per-user preference data for the first user indicating a number of times that the first user has, before the first time, selected the data source among the plurality of data sources (the search results from the different content sources are categorized and ranked by the query and retrieval module of the media device, i.e. by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources, in a manner customized to the user based on the user’s preferences and viewing history, i.e. based on the per-user preference data for the first user, such as generating and displaying search results from a content source outside the UK when a user has recently watched news about Brexit from sources outside the UK, or selecting “live action sports” or “news” sources if the user’s preference and viewing history indicates he regularly watches such content, i.e. selecting…a data source based on the per-user preference data for the first user indicating a number of times that the first user has before the first time selected the data source among the plurality of data sources [0034-5],[0039-40],[0082-4]).
Lum and Vassigh are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in providing content to users based on interests or preferences. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the accessing an application outside the video conference according to a rule teachings of Lum with the prioritization of content sources presented to a user based on a user’s viewing history of content from a particular content source as taught by Vassigh. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable customization of the ordering of search results to the user who initiated the search (Vassigh [0026]).
While Lum in view of Vassigh provides verifying identification information to provide access to video conferencing, Lum in view of Vassigh does not specifically teach authenticating the user for the selected data source using second stored authentication credentials, and thus does not teach
causing…the selected data source to be queried for information…by authenticating the first user for the selected data source using second stored authentication credentials associated with the first user.
Vuskovic, however, teaches causing…the selected data source to be queried for information…by authenticating the first user for the selected data source using second stored authentication credentials associated with the first user (access control lists govern access to user-controlled resources indicating access rights regarding multiple types of user-controlled resources for each user, where the automated assistant may gain access to the user-controlled resources, i.e. causing the selected data source to be queried for information, by way of the associated user account with credentials for signing into the resources, i.e. authenticating the first user for the selected data source using second stored authentication credentials associated with the first user (6:35-67),(7:1-43)).
Lum, Vassigh, and Vuskovic are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in providing relevant information to users in response to input. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the verifying identification information to provide access to video conferencing teachings of Lum, as modified by Vassigh, with using a user account with credentials for signing into the resources for an automated assistant to access user-controlled resources as taught by Vuskovic. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable each user to maintain access rights regarding multiple types of user controlled resources to control what information is accessible to others, including automated assistants, and how the information is accessible (Vuskovic (6:44-65)).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claims 1 and 12, and Lum further teaches
receiving, by the computing system, text data based on speech inputs provided by the first user to the meeting application (the video conference service provider performs speech recognition on the audio data of the user’s speech received by the client device, i.e. receiving by the computing system…based on speech inputs provided by the first user, where the speech recognition results in a generated real-time transcript of the user’s speech, i.e. receiving…text data, where the participant uses a software client with a GUI for participating in the video conference, i.e. provided by the first user to the meeting application [0016-7],[0026],[0068-71]); and
in response to receiving the text data and without receiving further input from the first user, determining, by the computing system, the first topic of interest based on the text data (once the intuitive assistant is enabled, the recognized speech is monitored by the software client, i.e. in response to receiving the text data and without receiving further input from the first user, to identify keywords and determine context surrounding those keywords, i.e. determining, by the computing system, the first topic of interest based on the text data [0017-9],[0022],[0068-71]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claims 2 and 13, and Lum further teaches
the text data corresponds to a portion of a transcript of an on-going online meeting being accessed by the first user via the meeting application (the video conference service provider performs speech recognition on the audio data of the user’s speech received by the client device, where the speech recognition results in a generated real-time transcript of the user’s speech, i.e. transcript of an on-going online meeting, where the participant uses a software client with a GUI for participating in the video conference, i.e. an on-going online meeting being accessed by the first user via the meeting application, and the keywords are identified by monitoring the recognized speech, and may be further identified in the transcript through formatting when viewed by the user, i.e. the text data corresponds to a portion of a transcript [0016-7],[0026],[0068-71],[0106-7]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claims 1 and 12, and Lum further teaches
the representation of the information is displayed at the first client device via the meeting application (when the user confirms the notification, the client software, i.e. meeting application, on the client device, i.e. first client device, launches the application corresponding to the action to take, i.e. via the meeting application, such as a Salesforce web application or a calendar application, and directly navigates to the customer record, i.e. the representation of the information is displayed at the first client device [0016],[0019-21],[0067],[0089],[0116]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claims 1 and 12, and Lum further teaches
the representation of the information is displayed at the first client device via a user interface screen separate from the meeting application (when the user confirms the notification, the client software, which is a discrete application natively running on the client device, i.e. meeting application, on the client device, i.e. first client device, launches the application corresponding to the action to take, such as a Salesforce web application or a calendar application, i.e. via a user interface screen separate from the meeting application, and directly navigates to the customer record, i.e. the representation of the information is displayed [0016],[0019-21],[0067],[0089],[0116]).
Regarding claim 6, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claim 1, and Lum further teaches
the first user is engaged, via the meeting application, in an online meeting with at least a second user (participants in a video conference each use a software client on each participant’s client device, i.e. the first user is engaged, via the meeting application, in an online meeting with at least a second user Figs. 3,5,[0016-17],[0030],[0052]), and the method further comprises:
determining, by the computing system and based at least in part on input provided by the second user during the online meeting, at least a second topic of interest for the second user (multiple participants are part of the video conference, and when a user joins, they can select an option to enable an intuitive assistant through the respective client device so that the user’s client software only monitors the user’s speech, where a user’s software client receives and provides data from the video conference provider during a video conference, i.e. by the computing system and based at least in part on input provided by the second user during the online meeting, where the speech of the user received at the respective client device is monitored to identify potential keywords, and determining a context associated with the keyword, such as “check that record” regarding the keyword “Salesforce” indicating the need to retrieve a particular record in a particular application, where each participant is asked to perform tasks associated with themselves and not other participants, i.e. determining…at least a second topic of interest for the second user [0016-7],[0022],[0069]);
in response to determining the second topic of interest, querying, by the computing system, at least one other data source for other information corresponding to the second topic of interest (the speech of the user of multiple participants is monitored to identify keywords and context of the keywords, i.e. in response to determining the second topic of interest, and when a rule is identified corresponding to the keyword and context, the client software presents a notification to the user indicating one or more possible actions, and when a user confirms proceeding with the action, the client software launches the application corresponding to the rule and accesses the information, which can be from one of multiple applications, i.e. querying, by the computing system, at least one other data source, where accessing the information includes accessing a customer database, customer records, sales information, and product options, i.e. other information corresponding to the second topic of interest [0015-16],[0018-20],[0067],[0089]); and
causing, by the computing system, a second client device operated by the second user to display a representation of the other information (multiple participants are part of the video conference with respective client devices, and when the user confirms the notification, the client software on the client device of the particular user, i.e. causing by the computing system the a second client device operated by the second user, launches the corresponding application and directly navigates to the customer record, i.e. to display a representation of the other information [0016-7],[0020-2],[0067],[0089],[0116]).
Where Vassigh further teaches storing, by the computing system, second per-user preference data, for the second user, that tracks user interactions of the second user with the plurality of data sources (the system may be used by more than one user, i.e. second user, where user preferences and history may be stored in the multimedia environment for respective users, i.e. storing by the computer system second per-user preference data for the second user, which includes information regarding a given user’s content viewing history and preferences, including movies and TV programs the user has watched, actors the user watches the most, or information such as that the user has recently watched news about Brexit from sources outside the UK, i.e. that tracks user interactions of the second user with a plurality of data sources, where the multimedia environment includes content sources that store content and metadata, i.e. a plurality of data sources [0028],[0034-5],[0039-40]);
selecting, by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources, at least one other data source based on the second per-user preference data for the second user indicating a number of times that the second user has selected the at least one other data source among the plurality of data sources (the search results from the different content sources are categorized and ranked by the query and retrieval module of the media device, i.e. by the computing system and among the plurality of data sources, in a manner customized to the user who initiated the voice search based on the given user’s preferences and viewing history, i.e. based on the second per-user preference data for the second user, such as generating and displaying search results from a content source outside the UK when a user has recently watched news about Brexit from sources outside the UK, or selecting “live action sports” or “news” sources if the user’s preference and viewing history indicates he regularly watches such content, i.e. selecting…at least one other data source based on the second per-user preference data for the second user indicating a number of times that the second user has selected the at least one other data source among the plurality of data sources [0034-5],[0039-40],[0082-4]).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claims 1 and 12, and Lum further teaches
the first topic of interest is based on first inputs received from the first user at the first time during an online meeting (during the video conference, i.e. during an online meeting, a real-time transcript from speech recognition of audio data from the user speech is generated, i.e. inputs received from the first user, where the speech is monitored in real-time to recognize keywords and their associated contexts, i.e. the first topic of interest is based on first inputs received from the first user at the first time [0016-8],[0069-72],[0100]), and the method further comprises:
determining, by the computing system and based at least in part on second inputs received from the first user at a second time subsequent to the first time during the online meeting, at least a second topic of interest for the first user (the user’s software client receives and provides data from the video conference provider during a video conference, including a real-time transcript from speech recognition of audio data from the user speech, i.e. by the computing system and based at least in part on second inputs…during the online meeting, where speech is monitored in real-time to identify potential keywords from words once they’re recognized, i.e. inputs received from the first user at a second time subsequent to the first time, and determining a context associated with the keyword, such as “check that record” regarding the keyword “Salesforce” indicating the need to retrieve a particular record in a particular application, i.e. determining…at least a first topic of interest for the first user, where different keywords are associated with different rules and tasks, and multiple user tasks can be addressed during the meeting, i.e. determining…at least a second topic of interest for the first user [0016-8],[0021],[0069-72],[0100]);
in response to determining the second topic of interest and based at least in part on the identity of the first user having been authenticated using the access credentials, causing, by the computing system, at least one other data source to be queried for additional information corresponding to the second topic… (participants in a video conference are granted access to a meeting after the identity is confirmed based on user provided user identification information, i.e. based at least in part on the identity of the first user having been authenticated using the access credentials [0034-6], where the speech of the user is monitored in real-time to identify keywords and context of the keywords, and multiple keywords associated with different tasks may be identified, i.e. in response to determining the second topic of interest, and when a rule is identified corresponding to the keyword and context, the client software presents a notification to the user indicating one or more possible actions, and when a user confirms proceeding with the action, the client software launches the application corresponding to the rule and accesses the information, where different applications are available to provide access to different information, i.e. causing by the computing system at least one other data source to be queried, for example accessing a customer database, customer records, sales information, and product options, i.e. additional information corresponding to the second topic of using third stored authentication credentials associated with the first user [0016-20],[0067],[0089],[0100]); and
causing, by the computing system, the first client device to display a representation of the additional information (when the user confirms the notification, the client software on the client device, i.e. causing by the computing system the first client device, launches the corresponding application and directly navigates to the customer record, or accesses the various resources, i.e. display a representation of the additional information [0016],[0020-1],[0067],[0089],[0100],[0116]).
Where Vuskovic further teaches using third stored authentication credentials associated with the first user (access control lists govern access to user-controlled resources indicating access rights regarding multiple types of user-controlled resources for each user, where the automated assistant may gain access to the user-controlled resources, i.e. causing the selected data source to be queried for information, by way of the associated user account with credentials for signing into the resources, i.e. authenticating the first user for the selected data source using second stored authentication credentials associated with the first user (6:35-67),(7:1-43)).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 9, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claim 1, and Vuskovic further teaches
a file sharing system (the user controlled resources may include data such as documents stored on a “cloud” drive, i.e. file sharing system (6:66-7:5)), and the method further comprises:
retrieving, by the computing system and from file sharing system, a file corresponding to the first topic of interest (the automated assistant may generate responses to various inputs generated by a user, such as by identifying one or more topics discussed, i.e. first topic of interest, and may select content to incorporate into the group chat, such as a document which may be a document stored on a cloud drive and is associated with the topic of discussion, i.e. retrieving… from file sharing system, a file corresponding to the first topic of interest (6:66-7:23),(7:44-54),(9:38-51),(11:58-12:13),(12:31-55),(17:29-34)); and
causing, by the computing system, the first client device to display a user interface element enabling the first user to view contents of the file by selecting the user interface element (the assistant may incorporate a hyperlink in a graphical interface of a client device, i.e. causing by the computing system the first client device to display a user interface element, that when selected causes a web browser to open a document for the user to interact with, i.e. enabling the first user to view contents of the file by selecting the user interface element Fig. 2,(11:49-57),(12:31-13:5)).
Where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 10, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claim 1, and Vassigh further teaches
identifying, by the computing system, a plurality of search results corresponding to the first topic, the plurality of search results being from more than one data source (the user initiates a voice search that is converted into a search query and parameters by determining the intent of the user, such as finding trailers of movies with Tom Hanks rather than trailers of TV shows, i.e. by the computing system…corresponding to the first topic, where the search is performed over multiple content sources to retrieve search results, i.e. identifying…the plurality of search results being from more than one data source [0073-80]);
determining, by the computing system, past interaction data for the first user during past online meetings, the past interaction data indicative of search results selected by the first user during the past online meetings (the device, i.e. computing system, may identify preferences of the user, such as content regularly watched by the user, or that the user recently watched news about a particular topic from a particular source, i.e. determining…system, past interaction data for the first user, where the user preference/history is populated by monitoring the actions of respective users to select and consume content as they interact with search results, i.e. the past interaction data indicative of search results selected by the first user during the past [0039-40],[0082-3],[0089-91]);
determining, by the computing system, a ranked list of search results using the plurality of search results and the past interaction data (the device, i.e. computing system, categorizes and ranks the search results using the plurality of search results, i.e. determining…a ranked list of search results, from the content sources based on user preferences and viewing history, i.e. using…the past interaction data [0039-40],[0082-3],[0089-91]); and
causing, by the computing system, the first client device to display the ranked list of search results (the GUI of the device, i.e. computing system…the first client device, displays the search results in a manner customized to the user, where the search results are categorized and ranked, i.e. causing…to display the ranked list of search results).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claims 1 and 12, and Lum further teaches
sending, to the selected data source, a programming interface (API) request to search for information corresponding to the first topic of interest (if the context of the keyword has an identified rule for accessing specific information, i.e. corresponding to the first topic of interest, the client software may prepopulate a search field in the corresponding application with the customer’s name, i.e. sending to the selected data source a programming interface (API) request to search for information [0017-20]).
Regarding claim 21, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claim 1, and Lum further teaches
the selected data source comprises an email system (the application to execute may be an email client [0096]), and
…receiving, by the computing system from the email system and by authenticating the first user for the email system using the second stored authentication credentials, one or more emails related to the first topic of interest (the functionality to open an email may be invoked, and the email opened, i.e. receiving by the computing system from the email system, where the email has specific information filled out, i.e. one or more emails related to the first topic of interest [0096-7]).
Where Vuskovic teaches that the user controlled resource may be emails accessed through an assistant by way of user account credentials, i.e. by authenticating the first user for the email system using the second stored authentication credentials (6:35-67),(7:1-43), and selecting content to incorporate such as an email associated with the topic of discussion, i.e. one or more emails related to the first topic of interest (6:66-7:23),(7:44-54),(9:38-51),(11:58-12:13),(12:31-55),(17:29-34).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 22, Lum in view of Vassigh and Vuskovic teaches claim 1, and Lum further teaches
the selected data source comprises an intranet system (the action may be accessing a customer database, customer record, or Salesforce record, on a private network that provides access to business applications, i.e. intranet system [0020], [0067],[0080],[0083],[0089]), and
…receiving, by the computing system from the intranet system and by authenticating the first user for the intranet system using the second stored authentication credentials, one or more webpages, of the intranet system, that are related to the first topic of interest (keywords may be identified as well as context associated with the keywords, such as checking Salesforce or another web application for customer information, i.e. one or more webpages of the intranet system that are related to the first topic of interest, where the action is performed that accesses and retrieves a specific customer record in a web application, i.e. receiving…one or more webpages of the intranet system that are related to the first topic of interest [0020], [0067],[0076-7],[0080],[0083],[0089]).
Where Vuskovic teaches that the user controlled resource may be documents accessed through a web browser through an assistant by way of user account credentials, i.e. by authenticating the first user for the intranet system using the second stored authentication credentials (6:35-67),(7:1-43),(12:31-55).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE A K SCHMIEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659