DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 9, and 20 are amended. Claims 3-8 and 10-19 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on March 19, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-28, filed on 03/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of applicant’s amendment regarding the consolidating and heating of the pre-form assembly and newly found prior art regarding this feature.
It is recommended for claim 9 to add that the pre-form assembly comprises a compression-formed body assembly that is heated comprising the cover layer and the heating element and the fiber layer formed into the structural layer. This would bring claim 9 in line with claims 1 and 20.
It is the Examiner’s position that the newly found reference Imasaka et al. (JP 3351226 B2) discloses consolidating and heating the pre-form assembly. It would be appreciated if the applicant could specifically address this prior art to move prosecution forward as allowance seems near.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blumenstock et al. (DE 102012021866 A1, hereinafter Blumenstock) in view of Springer et al. (WO 2017053313 A1, hereinafter Springer) and Blumenstock et al. (DE 102015007885 A1, hereinafter Stamp) and Imasaka et al. (JP 3351226 B2, hereinafter Imasaka).
Regarding claim 1, Blumenstock discloses a vehicle interior component formed from a pre-form assembly into a compression-formed body in a mold tool to conceal a heating element (Claim 1, “a mold cavity corresponding to the interior trim component (1) providing a vehicle interior facing side”, and Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The decorative layer 6 can on her the heating element 2 Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer. The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”) by a process comprising the steps of:
assembling the heating element between a cover layer and a fiber layer to provide the pre-form assembly (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”, and Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “thermoplastic fiber-reinforced cover layers 5”, where 5 is the fiber layer, and Page 8, last Para., “This sub-fabric may be connected to the surface heating element by the thermoplastic material of the plastic matrix of the component carrier. Alternatively, an additional thermoplastic layer which has also been heated prior to compression molding can provide the composite. The compound of the pad with the decorative layer can also be done by a thermoplastic layer or the pad can be easily glued to the decorative layer.”, where decorative layer 6 includes a connected sub-fabric layer construed as the cover layer, where the fiber layer 5, heating element 2, and decorative layer 6 with the sub-fabric layer are assembled before compression molding);
consolidating the pre-form assembly (Page 8, Para. 2, “Surface heating element 2 and optionally decorative layer 6 This is incorporated into the cold compression mold 10 inserted, in a way that the surface heating element 2 or the decorative layer arranged thereon 6 a vehicle interior facing side of the interior trim component 1 formed.”, where the fiber, heating, and sub-fabric layer that is part of the decorative layer/cover layer are consolidated to create an interior trim component);
forming the pre-form assembly into the compression-formed body to conceal the heating element between the cover layer and the fiber layer (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “As a further layer, for example, a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”);
applying a cover over the cover layer of the pre-form assembly to conceal the heating element (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer.”, where the decorative layer or cover is put over the sub-fabric layer or cover layer and still is able to conceal the heating element)
wherein the external surface at the cover comprises an effect (Page 8, Para. 1, “On the application of a decorative layer before molding can be dispensed with, a decorative layer, unlike in 5 be laminated on the molded and consolidated interior trim component.”, where the cover layer can be laminated, which is construed to be a decorative effect or a smooth texture);
wherein the heating element is obscured by (a) concealment between the cover layer and the fiber layer within the compression-formed body (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “As a further layer, for example, a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, where the heating element is concealed between the sub-fabric cover layer and the fiber layer as the cover layer hides the heating element) and (b) concealment under the external surface provided by the cover of the compression-formed panel (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer.”, where the decorative layer covers the heating element and hides the heating element from the visible surface of the cover/decorative layer).
Blumenstock does not disclose:
applying a cover over the cover layer of the pre-form assembly formed into the compression-formed body to provide a compression-formed panel concealing the heating element;
wherein the compression-formed panel concealing the heating element is provided with a shape and an external surface provided by the cover; and
wherein the shape of the compression-formed panel is at least partially provided by the mold tool;
where the heating element is obscured by concealment between the cover layer and the fiber layer within the compression-formed body through embedment of the heating layer in the fiber layer;
consolidating and heating the pre-form assembly comprising the heating element between the cover layer and the fiber layer.
However, Springer discloses, in the similar field of vehicle interior components (Abstract, “A trim component for vehicle interior is disclosed. A method for fanning the trim component is also disclosed.”), where a cover can be applied over a compression-formed body after the compression-formed body is consolidated (Modified Fig. 11, where the compression-formed body is created first through a first mold, where it is removed and placed into a second mold and the cover is placed on top of the compression-formed body; where the second mold creates the compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover), where this compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover has a shape and an external surface provided by the cover (Para. 0010, “a cover material (e.g. polyvinyl chloride (PVC), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), leather, imitation leather, film, cloth, etc.) to provide a visible exterior surface.”, where the cover shape would be the shape that the other layers follow as they are all inserted into a second mold), where the shape of the compression-formed panel is at least partially provided by the mold tool (Para. 0009, “compressing the fiber panel between the first surface and a second surface of the first mold to form the fiber panel into a compression formed component having a shape wherein the shape corresponds to a first contour of the first surface and a second contour of the second surface”, where for the second mold, the base and cover would similarly be inserted and conform to the shape of the mold). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression-formed body and cover created through one compression step in Blumenstock to have the cover be added after the compression-formed body is created as taught by Springer; where the first mold that includes the compression-formed component would include the fabric, heating, and sub-fabric layers from Blumenstock and where the cover would include the cover from Blumenstock. Additionally, as the sub-fabric layer from Blumenstock is already able to hide defects from the heating element layer, the cover would that goes on top of the sub-fabric layer would also be able to conceal the heating element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage being able to connect a cover to a compression-formed body through other connection methods, where Blumenstock uses a thermoplastic adhesive, where Springer uses stitching; where stitching can benefit a user by introducing visual effects and mechanical effects onto the component, as stated by Springer, Para. 0011, “As shown schematically in FIGURES 2A and 2B according to an exemplary embodiment, seams S provided on a trim panel may provide a visual appearance or effect (as well as other mechanical effects).”, and Para. 0008, “the cover is stitched to the second portion of the base.”.
Modified Figure 11, Springer
Further, Stamp discloses, in the similar field of vehicle trim components (Abstract, “
composite component for a vehicle”), where a heating layer can be embedded within a core layer (Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “electrical heating element is arranged close to the core layer, so that the electrical heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer”), and where a cover layer and cover are placed on top of the heating layer (Page 6, Para. 6, “The core layer 10 and the topcoat 12 form a layer composite, which also has one on one of the first cover layer 12 opposite side arranged, second cover layer 14 as well as one optional decorative layer 16 includes.”, and modified Fig. 4, the different layers are shown). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating layer in modified Blumenstock to be embedded within the core or fabric layer as taught by Stamp.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to avoid any unwanted marking created by the heating element, as stated by Stamp, Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer, whereby unwanted markings of contours of the heating element on the surface or visible side of the composite component can be avoided.”.
Modified Figure 4, Stamp
Imasaka discloses, in the similar field of embedded heaters within fiber and cover layers (Para. 0001, “The present invention relates to a thermosetting resin molded article having a built-in heater wire.”), where the formation of a pre-form assembly comprises consolidating and heating the pre-form assembly that includes a heating element between a cover layer and a fiber layer (Page 4, Para. 3-4, “Then, the lower mold 115 and the upper mold 116 And press-molded at a high temperature and high pressure under the conditions of a temperature of 140 ° C. and a molding pressure of 70 kg / cm 2 to obtain a desired molded product having a thickness of 5 mm.”, where the pre-form between the lower and upper mold includes a heating element between a cover and fiber layer, Page 4, Para. 4 from end, “Further, the base sheet material 113 in which the heater wire 12 is sewn to a polyester non-woven fabric is formed by the diallyl phthalate resin of the top sheet material 111 and the unsaturated polyester resin of the SMC material 114 flowing during molding. It was firmly adhered to the SMC material 114.”, where the heater wire is construed as the heater, where the heater is attached to a polyester non-woven fabric on the base sheet material that would be made from fibers and is construed as the fiber layer, where the SMC material layer is on the other side of the heater and construed as the cover layer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-form assembly in modified Blumenstock to have a consolidating and heating of the cover, heating, and fiber layers as taught by Imasaka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to press mold an embedded heater wire at any position, where the force applied to the heater wire can be reduced through the mold structure, as stated by Imasaka, Page 2, Para. 4-5 from end, “Because the resin impregnable base sheet with the heater wire attached is superposed on the top sheet, the force applied to the heater wire by the pressing force during press molding is reduced as much as possible, It is possible to obtain a thermosetting resin molded article in which a heater wire is arranged at any desired position.”.
Regarding claim 2, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the mold tool comprises a surface (Blumenstock, Fig. 5, where the molding tool 10 is shown, where the upper surface of the molding tool includes an external surface that contacts the external layer of the preform);
wherein the external surface of the compression-formed panel is at least partially provided by the surface of the mold tool (Blumenstock, Claim 1, “unheated molding tool ( 10 ) with a mold cavity corresponding to the interior trim component ( 1 ) providing a vehicle interior facing side”, where the interior facing side is the decorative cover layer of the preform and is facing the mold cavity, where the external surface of the perform would face the molding surface);
wherein the external surface of the compression-formed panel comprises a cover formed over the cover layer of the compression-formed body so that the heating element is not substantially perceptible at the external surface (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer.”, where the decorative layer covers the heating element and hides the heating element from the visible surface of the cover/decorative layer; and teaching from Springer, where the cover can be a separate element add onto the pre-form).
Regarding claim 3, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the step of consolidating the pre- form assembly comprises at least one of (a) securing the heating element between the cover layer and the fiber layer with adhesive; (b) merging the cover layer, the heating element and the fiber layer; (c) fusing the cover layer, the heating element and the fiber layer; (d) shaping the cover layer, the heating element and the fiber layer; (e) cutting the cover layer, the heating element and the fiber layer to size; (f) heating the cover layer, the heating element and/or the fiber layer (Blumenstock, Claim 1, “arranging the surface heating element ( 2 ) on the thermoplastic fiber material layer ( 5 ) of the component carrier structure, - heating of the component carrier structure, until the thermoplastic matrix material of the fiber material layer ( 5 ) at least begins to flow before or after the placement of the surface heating element ( 2 ) on the component carrier structure, -transfer of the heated component carrier structure with the surface heating element arranged thereon ( 2 ) in an unheated molding tool”; and Page 8, last Para., “This sub-fabric may be connected to the surface heating element by the thermoplastic material of the plastic matrix of the component carrier. Alternatively, an additional thermoplastic layer which has also been heated prior to compression molding can provide the composite. The compound of the pad with the decorative layer can also be done by a thermoplastic layer or the pad can be easily glued to the decorative layer.”, where the three layers of the pre-form assembly are consolidated through heating, where cutting can also occur, Page 10, Para. 2, “As described above, the final blank can take place via pinch or punched edges in the molding tool.”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the cover layer is configured for application of the cover;
so that the cover is secured to the cover layer to provide the compression-formed panel with the external surface (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “In order then to produce a secure bond between the decorative layer and the lower fabric layer, a bonding layer may be provided there, which binds the decorative layer to the lower fabric layer. The bonding layer could then also consist of a thermoplastic material, but also alternative bonding layers are conceivable.”, where the external surface comes from the cover, which is the decorative layer; teaching from Springer, Para. 0008, “the cover is stitched to the second portion of the base.”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the external surface of the cover of the compression-formed panel is configured to provide a texture provided by the cover layer of the compression-formed body formed from the pre-form assembly (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface. Usable underware materials are, for example, a foam material, a nonwoven or a spacer textile. In order then to produce a secure bond between the decorative layer and the lower fabric layer, a bonding layer may be provided there, which binds the decorative layer to the lower fabric layer”, where the sub-fabric layer/cover layer hides defects and creates a separation space, where the surface of the sub-fabric layer/cover layer would not be influenced by the heating elements and any protrusions, where the decorative layer/cover then is placed on top of the sub-fabric layer and follows the texture of the sub-fabric layer).
Regarding claim 6, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the fiber layer of the pre-form assembly comprises a structural layer (Blumenstock, Page 2, last Para., “The component carrier structure used has at least one thermoplastic fiber material layer”);
wherein the structural layer comprises natural fibers and a resin (Blumenstock, Page 5, Para. 6, “The thermoplastic fiber layer of the component carrier structure may comprise a nonwoven such as a water jet nonwoven or needle mat or a mat as well as a net, a woven fabric, a braid, a knit, a scrim, a knit or a combination thereof, which consists of glass fibers, natural fibers, carbon fibers, Polymer fibers”; and Page 11, Para. 2 from end, “thermoplastic resin layer between the component carrier structure and the surface heating element”);
wherein the cover layer comprises polypropylene and polyester (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface. Usable underware materials are, for example, a foam material, a nonwoven or a spacer textile.”, where fabrics include polypropylene and polyester).
Regarding claim 7, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the fiber layer comprises at least one of (a) a panel; (b) a mat; (c) a batt; (d) a fiber panel; (e) a fiber mat; (f) a fiber batt; (g) a natural fiber material; (h) a polypropylene material; (i) a natural fiber and polypropylene mat; (j) a mat formed from natural fibers and polypropylene fibers (Blumenstock, Page 11, Para. 2, “two thermoplastic fiber material layers ( 5 ) ( 7 ) comprising a honeycomb core layer ( 7 ) is made of a cellulose-based material, a plastic or a metal or a foam core layer of a thermoplastic or thermoset plastic foam.”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the cover layer for the pre-form assembly comprises at least one of (a) a fabric; (b) a non-woven fabric; (c) a synthetic fabric; (d) a thermoplastic fabric; (e) a non-woven fiber fabric; (f) flax; (g) a fiber mat; (h) a fiber mat comprising a fabric material; (i) a fabric sheet (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface. Usable underware materials are, for example, a foam material, a nonwoven or a spacer textile.”, where fabrics include polypropylene and polyester).
Regarding claim 9, Blumenstock discloses a component for a vehicle interior (Claim 1, “a mold cavity corresponding to the interior trim component (1) providing a vehicle interior facing side”) comprising:
a panel assembly (Abstract, “interior liner component (1)”);
formed from a pre-form assembly comprising a cover layer and a fiber layer and a heating element between the cover layer and the fiber layer (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”, and Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “thermoplastic fiber-reinforced cover layers 5”, where 5 is the fiber layer, and Page 8, last Para., “This sub-fabric may be connected to the surface heating element by the thermoplastic material of the plastic matrix of the component carrier. Alternatively, an additional thermoplastic layer which has also been heated prior to compression molding can provide the composite. The compound of the pad with the decorative layer can also be done by a thermoplastic layer or the pad can be easily glued to the decorative layer.”, where decorative layer 6 includes a connected sub-fabric layer construed as the cover layer, where the fiber layer 5, heating element 2, and decorative layer 6 with the sub-fabric layer are assembled before compression molding; Fig. 3, where the heating element 2 is between the cover layer/sub-fabric layer of the decorative layer 6 and the fiber layer 5);
a cover comprising a top layer over the cover layer (Page 8, last Para., “Further, the decorative layer may have a sub-fabric on the non-viewing side, which may be formed from a foam”, where the decorative layer 6 is the cover that goes over the sub-fabric layer/cover layer);
wherein the heating element is concealed under the cover layer of the pre-form assembly (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, where the sub-fabric layer conceals the heater and prevents defects from showing);
wherein the pre-form assembly is compression formed into the panel assembly with the fiber layer formed into a structural layer with the cover layer and the heater over the structural layer and under the cover layer (Page 8, Para. 2, “Surface heating element 2 and optionally decorative layer 6 This is incorporated into the cold compression mold 10 inserted, in a way that the surface heating element 2 or the decorative layer arranged thereon 6 a vehicle interior facing side of the interior trim component 1 formed.”, where the fiber, heating, and sub-fabric layer that is part of the decorative layer/cover layer are consolidated to create an interior trim component; where the fiber layer is a structural layer, Page 3, last Para., “fiber material layer of the component carrier structure”, and cover layer includes a structural gap to prevent damage of the cover, Page 8, last Para., “sub-fabric on the non-viewing side, which may be formed from a foam, which prevents signing of the surface heating on the surface of the decorative layer”; Fig. 3, where the heating layer 2 is over the structural fiber layer and under sub-fabric cover layer);
wherein the heating element comprises a heating panel concealed between the structural layer and the cover layer in the pre-form assembly (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3, “surface heating element 2”, and Fig. 2 and 3, where the heating element 2 is shown to be a horizontal panel element and is between the structural and cover layers, where it is concealed, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, where the sub-fabric layer conceals the heater and prevents defects from showing);
wherein the pre-form assembly comprises a compression-formed body (Claim 1, “a mold cavity corresponding to the interior trim component (1) providing a vehicle interior facing side”, and Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The decorative layer 6 can on her the heating element 2 Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer. The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”);
wherein the compression-formed panel of the panel assembly is implied to have uniformity of feel at the external surface (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The decorative layer 6 can on her the heating element 2 Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer.”, where the spacer or cover layer separates the heating element and decorative layer, where this implies that a smooth surface of the decorative layer would not be impacted by the heating element);
wherein the heating element is obscured by (a) concealment between the cover layer and the fiber layer within the compression-formed body (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “As a further layer, for example, a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, where the heating element is concealed between the sub-fabric cover layer and the fiber layer as the cover layer hides the heating element) and (b) concealment under the external surface provided by the cover of the compression-formed panel (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer.”, where the decorative layer covers the heating element and hides the heating element from the visible surface of the cover/decorative layer).
Blumenstock does not disclose:
wherein the panel assembly comprises a compression-formed panel comprising the cover on the compression-formed body of the pre-form assembly comprising the cover layer and the fiber layer formed into the structural layer;
wherein the cover comprising a top layer over the cover layer on the panel assembly is configured to provide an external surface provided at the cover of the panel assembly is configured to conceal the heating panel within the panel assembly;
wherein the compression-formed panel of the panel assembly comprises uniformity of feel at the external surface;
wherein uniformity of feel at the external surface comprises reduced variation of profile at the external surface notwithstanding the heating panel between the cover layer and the fiber layer formed into the structural layer of the compression-formed body of the pre-form assembly consolidated into the compression-formed panel comprising the panel assembly;
where the heating element is obscured by concealment between the cover layer and the fiber layer within the compression-formed body through embedment of the heating layer in the fiber layer;
wherein the pre-form assembly comprises a compression-formed body assembly comprising the cover layer and the heating element and the fiber layer formed into the structural layer.
However, Springer discloses, in the similar field of vehicle interior components (Abstract, “A trim component for vehicle interior is disclosed. A method for fanning the trim component is also disclosed.”), where a cover can be applied over a compression-formed pre-form assembly as a top layer (Modified Fig. 11, where the compression-formed body is created first through a first mold, where it is removed and placed into a second mold and the cover is placed on top of the compression-formed body; where the second mold creates the compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover), where this compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover has a shape and an external surface provided by the cover (Para. 0010, “a cover material (e.g. polyvinyl chloride (PVC), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), leather, imitation leather, film, cloth, etc.) to provide a visible exterior surface.”, where the cover shape would be the shape that the other layers follow as they are all inserted into a second mold). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression-formed body and cover created through one compression step in Blumenstock to have the cover be added after the compression-formed body is created as taught by Springer; where the first mold that includes the compression-formed component would include the fabric, heating, and sub-fabric layers from Blumenstock and where the cover would include the cover from Blumenstock. Additionally, as the sub-fabric layer from Blumenstock is already able to hide defects from the heating element layer, the cover would that goes on top of the sub-fabric layer would also be able to conceal the heating element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage being able to connect a cover to a compression-formed body through other connection methods, where Blumenstock uses a thermoplastic adhesive, where Springer uses stitching; where stitching can benefit a user by introducing visual effects and mechanical effects onto the component, as stated by Springer, Para. 0011, “As shown schematically in FIGURES 2A and 2B according to an exemplary embodiment, seams S provided on a trim panel may provide a visual appearance or effect (as well as other mechanical effects).”, and Para. 0008, “the cover is stitched to the second portion of the base.”.
Further, Stamp discloses, in the similar field of vehicle trim components (Abstract, “
composite component for a vehicle”), where a heating layer can be embedded within a core layer (Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “electrical heating element is arranged close to the core layer, so that the electrical heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer”), where a cover layer and cover are placed on top of the heating layer (Page 6, Para. 6, “The core layer 10 and the topcoat 12 form a layer composite, which also has one on one of the first cover layer 12 opposite side arranged, second cover layer 14 as well as one optional decorative layer 16 includes.”, and modified Fig. 4, the different layers are shown), where the surface of the decorative layer would have a uniformity of feel having a reduced variation in profile due to the embedded heating element (Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer, whereby unwanted markings of contours of the heating element on the surface or visible side of the composite component can be avoided.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating layer in modified Blumenstock to be embedded within the core or fabric layer as taught by Stamp.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to avoid any unwanted marking created by the heating element, as stated by Stamp, Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer, whereby unwanted markings of contours of the heating element on the surface or visible side of the composite component can be avoided.”.
Imasaka discloses, in the similar field of embedded heaters within fiber and cover layers (Para. 0001, “The present invention relates to a thermosetting resin molded article having a built-in heater wire.”), where the formation of a pre-form assembly comprises consolidating and heating the pre-form assembly that includes a heating element between a cover layer and a fiber layer (Page 4, Para. 3-4, “Then, the lower mold 115 and the upper mold 116 And press-molded at a high temperature and high pressure under the conditions of a temperature of 140 ° C. and a molding pressure of 70 kg / cm 2 to obtain a desired molded product having a thickness of 5 mm.”, where the pre-form between the lower and upper mold includes a heating element between a cover and fiber layer, Page 4, Para. 4 from end, “Further, the base sheet material 113 in which the heater wire 12 is sewn to a polyester non-woven fabric is formed by the diallyl phthalate resin of the top sheet material 111 and the unsaturated polyester resin of the SMC material 114 flowing during molding. It was firmly adhered to the SMC material 114.”, where the heater wire is construed as the heater, where the heater is attached to a polyester non-woven fabric on the base sheet material that would be made from fibers and is construed as the fiber layer, where the SMC material layer is on the other side of the heater and construed as the cover layer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-form assembly in modified Blumenstock to have a consolidating and heating of the cover, heating, and fiber layers as taught by Imasaka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to press mold an embedded heater wire at any position, where the force applied to the heater wire can be reduced through the mold structure, as stated by Imasaka, Page 2, Para. 4-5 from end, “Because the resin impregnable base sheet with the heater wire attached is superposed on the top sheet, the force applied to the heater wire by the pressing force during press molding is reduced as much as possible, It is possible to obtain a thermosetting resin molded article in which a heater wire is arranged at any desired position.”.
Regarding claim 10, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses where the cover layer of the pre-form assembly comprising the compression-formed body is configured to provide a surface for the pre-form assembly comprising the compression-formed body to at least partially conceal the heating panel under the cover for the panel assembly (Blumenstock, Page 8, Para. 1, “On the application of a decorative layer before molding can be dispensed with, a decorative layer, unlike in 5 be laminated on the molded and consolidated interior trim component.”, where the cover layer can be laminated, which is construed to be a decorative effect or a smooth texture; and teaching from Springer, Para. 0010, “a cover material (e.g. polyvinyl chloride (PVC), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), leather, imitation leather, film, cloth, etc.) to provide a visible exterior surface.”, where that visible surface would conceal the heating panel by being placed over the heating panel).
Regarding claim 14, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the top layer comprises at least one of (a) a fabric; (b) a non-woven fabric; (c) a synthetic fabric; (d) a thermoplastic fabric; (e) a non-woven fiber fabric; (f) flax; (g) a fiber mat; (h) a fiber mat comprising a fabric material; (i) a fabric sheet (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface. Usable underware materials are, for example, a foam material, a nonwoven or a spacer textile.”, where fabric materials are included).
Regarding claim 15, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the structural layer comprises natural fibers and a resin (Blumenstock, Page 5, Para. 6, “The thermoplastic fiber layer of the component carrier structure may comprise a nonwoven such as a water jet nonwoven or needle mat or a mat as well as a net, a woven fabric, a braid, a knit, a scrim, a knit or a combination thereof, which consists of glass fibers, natural fibers, carbon fibers, Polymer fibers”; and Page 11, Para. 2 from end, “thermoplastic resin layer between the component carrier structure and the surface heating element”);
wherein the top layer comprises polypropylene and polyester (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Possible decorative layers can be made of leather, fabric, foils or fleeces.”, where fabric materials include polypropylene and polyester).
Regarding claim 16, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the structural layer comprises at least one of (a) a panel; (b) a mat; (c) a batt; (d) a fiber panel; (e) a fiber mat; (f) a fiber batt (Blumenstock, Page 5, Para. 6, “The thermoplastic fiber layer of the component carrier structure may comprise a nonwoven such as a water jet nonwoven or needle mat or a mat as well as a net, a woven fabric, a braid, a knit, a scrim, a knit or a combination thereof, which consists of glass fibers, natural fibers, carbon fibers, Polymer fibers”, where a mat is present).
Regarding claim 17, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the cover comprises at least one of (a) leather; (b) artificial leather; (c) woven fabric; (d) non-woven fabric; (e) an applique; (f) vinyl; (g) foil (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Possible decorative layers can be made of leather, fabric, foils or fleeces.”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the heater comprises a substrate (Blumenstock, Page 5, Para. 5, “The mesh fabric, which is preferably coarse mesh and into which the heating conductor is threaded, may be a net, a woven fabric, a braid, a knit, a scrim, or a knit formed of plastic fibers and /or reinforcing fibers.”) and a wire coupled to the substrate of the heater (Blumenstock, Page 5, Para. 4, “The heating conductor that penetrates the heating surface of the interior trim component may be a wire, a fiber, a roving or a strand of an electrically conductive material such as carbon, stainless steel or copper.”);
wherein the substrate of the heater comprises polypropylene fibers (Blumenstock, Page 5, Para. 5, “Useful plastic fibers may include polypropylene (PP)”);
wherein the polypropylene fibers are bonded to at least one of (a) the top layer; (b) the structural layer (Blumenstock, Page 7, last Para., “The applied decorative layer 6 then also adheres through the thermoplastic material of the fiber layer 5 that the lattice textile of the surface heating element 2 penetrates.”).
Regarding claim 19, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses produced by a process comprising the steps of:
assembling the heater comprising the heater panel (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3, “surface heating element 2”, and Fig. 2 and 3, where the heating element 2 is shown to be a horizontal panel element) between the top layer (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface. Usable underware materials are, for example, a foam material, a nonwoven or a spacer textile.”) and the structural layer (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3, “thermoplastic fiber-reinforced cover layers 5”, where Fig. 2-3 and show that the decorative layer 6 is on top of the heating layer 2, followed by the fiber layer 5) to provide a pre-form assembly (Claim 1, “arranging the surface heating element ( 2 ) on the thermoplastic fiber material layer ( 5 ) of the component carrier structure, - heating of the component carrier structure, until the thermoplastic matrix material of the fiber material layer ( 5 ) at least begins to flow before or after the placement of the surface heating element ( 2 ) on the component carrier structure, -transfer of the heated component carrier structure with the surface heating element arranged thereon ( 2 ) in an unheated molding tool”, where the heating layer and the fiber layer are adhered together; Page 11, Para. 1, “arranging a decorative layer ( 6 ) on the surface heating element ( 2 ) and / or arranging a thermoplastic adhesive layer between the component carrier structure and the surface heating element ( 2 ) and / or between the surface heating element ( 2 ) and the decorative layer ( 6 ) before transferring to the unheated molding tool”, where the decorative layer can be assembled with the heating and fiber layer before molding, where the top layer is adhered to the decorative layer);
consolidating the pre-form assembly (Blumenstock, Page 8, Para. 2, “Surface heating element 2 and optionally decorative layer 6 This is incorporated into the cold compression mold 10 inserted, in a way that the surface heating element 2 or the decorative layer arranged thereon 6 a vehicle interior facing side of the interior trim component 1 formed.”, where the fiber, heating, and decorative/cover layers are consolidated to create an interior trim component);
placing the pre-form assembly into a mold tool (Blumenstock, Page 3, last Para., “being transferred to the unheated molding tool.”);
forming the pre-form assembly into a compression-formed body with a shape and a texture at the external surface of the cover layer to conceal the heater panel (Blumenstock, Page 8, Para. 3, “In the cold molding tool 10 find the forming, the cooling and the connection between the component carrier structure 5 , the surface heating element 2 and the decorative layer 6 instead of. The heating element 2 takes the contour of the 1 Component and is in the component 1 integrated.”, and Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, where a texture is provided by the foam sub-fabric layer);
applying the cover to the compression-formed body to provide a compression-formed panel (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 3, “The decorative layer 6”; teaching from Springer, modified Fig. 11, where the compression-body can be formed first and then the cover be added later to create the compression-formed panel);
so that the compression-formed panel is provided with the shape and an external surface provided by the cover (Blumenstock, Page 8, Para. 6, “a decorative layer which forms the visible side of the interior lining component.”, where the decorative layer is the cover with the external surface; teaching from Springer, Para. 0010, “a cover material (e.g. polyvinyl chloride (PVC), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), leather, imitation leather, film, cloth, etc.) to provide a visible exterior surface.”, where the cover shape would be the shape that the other layers follow as they are all inserted into a second mold);
wherein the panel assembly comprises the compression-formed panel with the cover (Teaching from Springer, Modified Fig. 11, where the compression-formed body is created first through a first mold, where it is removed and placed into a second mold and the cover is placed on top of the compression-formed body; where the second mold creates the compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover);
wherein the external surface at the cover comprises an effect; wherein the effect at the external surface comprises at least one of a decorative effect and/or a texture (Blumenstock, Page 8, Para. 1, “On the application of a decorative layer before molding can be dispensed with, a decorative layer, unlike in 5 be laminated on the molded and consolidated interior trim component.”, where the cover layer can be laminated, which is construed to be a decorative effect or a smooth texture; teaching from Springer, Para. 0011, “As shown schematically in FIGURES 2A and 2B according to an exemplary embodiment, seams S provided on a trim panel may provide a visual appearance or effect (as well as other mechanical effects).”).
Regarding claim 20, Blumenstock discloses a vehicle interior component formed from a pre-form assembly into a compression-formed body in a mold tool to conceal a heating element (Claim 1, “a mold cavity corresponding to the interior trim component (1) providing a vehicle interior facing side”, and Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The decorative layer 6 can on her the heating element 2 Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer. The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”) by a process comprising the steps of:
assembling the heating element between a cover layer and a fiber layer (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”, and Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “thermoplastic fiber-reinforced cover layers 5”, where 5 is the fiber layer, and Page 8, last Para., “This sub-fabric may be connected to the surface heating element by the thermoplastic material of the plastic matrix of the component carrier. Alternatively, an additional thermoplastic layer which has also been heated prior to compression molding can provide the composite. The compound of the pad with the decorative layer can also be done by a thermoplastic layer or the pad can be easily glued to the decorative layer.”, where decorative layer 6 includes a connected sub-fabric layer construed as the cover layer, where the fiber layer 5, heating element 2, and decorative layer 6 with the sub-fabric layer are assembled before compression molding);
consolidating the heating element and the cover layer and the fiber layer to provide the pre-form assembly by at least partially compressing the cover layer and the heating element and the fiber layer (Page 8, Para. 2, “Surface heating element 2 and optionally decorative layer 6 This is incorporated into the cold compression mold 10 inserted, in a way that the surface heating element 2 or the decorative layer arranged thereon 6 a vehicle interior facing side of the interior trim component 1 formed.”, where the fiber, heating, and sub-fabric layer that is part of the decorative layer/cover layer are consolidated to create an interior trim component; where these three layers are compressed within the cold compression mold 10);
placing the pre-form assembly into the mold tool (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “The application of the decorative layer 6 can be right after the placement of the surface heating element 2 on the component carrier 5 done before the materials are introduced into the cold compression mold.”);
forming the pre-form assembly into the compression-formed body with a shape (Page 7, Para. 3, “In the cold molding tool 10 find the forming, the cooling and the connection between the component carrier structure 5 , the surface heating element 2 and the decorative layer 6 instead of. The heating element 2 takes the contour of the 1 Component and is in the component 1 integrated.”, where a shape is formed through the mold through the creation of a contour) and with the heating element concealed between the cover layer and the fiber layer (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “As a further layer, for example, a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”);
wherein the heating element is obscured by (a) concealment between the cover layer and the fiber layer within the compression-formed body (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “As a further layer, for example, a lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, where the heating element is concealed between the sub-fabric cover layer and the fiber layer as the cover layer hides the heating element) and (b) concealment under the external surface provided by the cover of the compression-formed panel (Page 7, Para. 3 from end, “Furthermore, facing non-visible side further comprising a spacer or foam layer, which is a sign of the heating element 2 prevented on the visible surface of the decorative layer.”, where the decorative layer covers the heating element and hides the heating element from the visible surface of the cover/decorative layer).
Blumenstock does not disclose:
applying a cover to the compression-formed body to provide a compression-formed panel comprising an external surface;
so that the compression-formed panel is provided with the shape provided by the compression-formed body and an external surface for the compression-formed panel provided by the cover;
wherein the heating element is concealed within the compression-formed panel by the cover layer and under the cover on the compression-formed panel;
where the heating element is obscured by concealment between the cover layer and the fiber layer within the compression-formed body through embedment of the heating layer in the fiber layer;
consolidating and heating the heating element and the cover layer and the fiber layer to provide the pre-form assembly.
However, Springer discloses, in the similar field of vehicle interior components (Abstract, “A trim component for vehicle interior is disclosed. A method for fanning the trim component is also disclosed.”), where a cover can be applied over a compression-formed body after the compression-formed body is consolidated (Modified Fig. 11, where the compression-formed body is created first through a first mold, where it is removed and placed into a second mold and the cover is placed on top of the compression-formed body; where the second mold creates the compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover), where this compression-formed panel that includes the compression-formed body and cover has a shape and an external surface provided by the cover, where the shape of the body and panel conform (Para. 0010, “a cover material (e.g. polyvinyl chloride (PVC), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), leather, imitation leather, film, cloth, etc.) to provide a visible exterior surface.”, where the cover shape would be the shape that the other layers follow as they are all inserted into a second mold), where the shape for all the layers are conformed through the second mold (Para. 0009, “compressing the fiber panel between the first surface and a second surface of the first mold to form the fiber panel into a compression formed component having a shape wherein the shape corresponds to a first contour of the first surface and a second contour of the second surface”, where for the second mold, the base and cover would similarly be inserted and conform to the shape of the mold), and where the heating element is concealed within the compression-formed panel by the cover layer and under the cover (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element, and / or fulfill haptic demands on the component surface.”, and where since the sub-fabric layer hides or conceals the heating element, the cover that is applied on top of the sub-fabric layer would continue to conceal the heating element). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the compression-formed body and cover created through one compression step in Blumenstock to have the cover be added after the compression-formed body is created as taught by Springer; where the first mold that includes the compression-formed component would include the fabric, heating, and sub-fabric layers from Blumenstock and where the cover would include the cover from Blumenstock. Additionally, as the sub-fabric layer from Blumenstock is already able to hide defects from the heating element layer, the cover would that goes on top of the sub-fabric layer would also be able to conceal the heating element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage being able to connect a cover to a compression-formed body through other connection methods, where Blumenstock uses a thermoplastic adhesive, where Springer uses stitching; where stitching can benefit a user by introducing visual effects and mechanical effects onto the component, as stated by Springer, Para. 0011, “As shown schematically in FIGURES 2A and 2B according to an exemplary embodiment, seams S provided on a trim panel may provide a visual appearance or effect (as well as other mechanical effects).”, and Para. 0008, “the cover is stitched to the second portion of the base.”.
Further, Stamp discloses, in the similar field of vehicle trim components (Abstract, “
composite component for a vehicle”), where a heating layer can be embedded within a core layer (Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “electrical heating element is arranged close to the core layer, so that the electrical heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer”), and where a cover layer and cover are placed on top of the heating layer (Page 6, Para. 6, “The core layer 10 and the topcoat 12 form a layer composite, which also has one on one of the first cover layer 12 opposite side arranged, second cover layer 14 as well as one optional decorative layer 16 includes.”, and modified Fig. 4, the different layers are shown). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating layer in modified Blumenstock to be embedded within the core or fabric layer as taught by Stamp.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to avoid any unwanted marking created by the heating element, as stated by Stamp, Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “heating element can be embedded at least partially, in particular at least predominantly or completely into the core layer, whereby unwanted markings of contours of the heating element on the surface or visible side of the composite component can be avoided.”.
Imasaka discloses, in the similar field of embedded heaters within fiber and cover layers (Para. 0001, “The present invention relates to a thermosetting resin molded article having a built-in heater wire.”), where the formation of a pre-form assembly comprises consolidating and heating the pre-form assembly that includes a heating element between a cover layer and a fiber layer (Page 4, Para. 3-4, “Then, the lower mold 115 and the upper mold 116 And press-molded at a high temperature and high pressure under the conditions of a temperature of 140 ° C. and a molding pressure of 70 kg / cm 2 to obtain a desired molded product having a thickness of 5 mm.”, where the pre-form between the lower and upper mold includes a heating element between a cover and fiber layer, Page 4, Para. 4 from end, “Further, the base sheet material 113 in which the heater wire 12 is sewn to a polyester non-woven fabric is formed by the diallyl phthalate resin of the top sheet material 111 and the unsaturated polyester resin of the SMC material 114 flowing during molding. It was firmly adhered to the SMC material 114.”, where the heater wire is construed as the heater, where the heater is attached to a polyester non-woven fabric on the base sheet material that would be made from fibers and is construed as the fiber layer, where the SMC material layer is on the other side of the heater and construed as the cover layer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-form assembly in modified Blumenstock to have a consolidating and heating of the cover, heating, and fiber layers as taught by Imasaka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to press mold an embedded heater wire at any position, where the force applied to the heater wire can be reduced through the mold structure, as stated by Imasaka, Page 2, Para. 4-5 from end, “Because the resin impregnable base sheet with the heater wire attached is superposed on the top sheet, the force applied to the heater wire by the pressing force during press molding is reduced as much as possible, It is possible to obtain a thermosetting resin molded article in which a heater wire is arranged at any desired position.”.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blumenstock et al. (DE 102012021866 A1, hereinafter Blumenstock) in view of Springer et al. (WO 2017053313 A1, hereinafter Springer) and Blumenstock et al. (DE 102015007885 A1, hereinafter Stamp) and Imasaka et al. (JP 3351226 B2, hereinafter Imasaka) in further view of Pickett et al. (US 20170282412 A1, hereinafter Pickett) and Callens et al. (WO 2018050875 A1, hereinafter Callens).
Regarding claim 11, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above.
Modified Blumenstock does not disclose:
wherein the top layer comprises an outer surface facing the cover layer with a smooth texture and
the structural layer comprises an outer surface facing the heater with a rough texture.
However, Pickett discloses where the exterior surface of the component can be smooth, which would reduce the variation in the surface profile (Para. 0025, “The exterior surface 14 of the component body 12 may be smooth or without surface texture 16, as shown in FIG. 1.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the top layer in modified Blumenstock to be smooth as taught by Pickett.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing the component to have a generic configuration without surface texture that can be used for additional personalization without needing to change the production period of the part, as stated by Pickett, Para. 0030, “…allows automotive body panels and trim pieces for different vehicle makes, models, and trim levels having the same shape and dimension, but different surface texture 16 formed on the exterior surface 14 thereof, to be formed using the same forming tool 22 within the same production period. The present method 100 also allows for personalization of the resultant components 10.”.
Further, Callens discloses, in the similar field of vehicle components (Claim 18, “A vehicle component comprising a hybrid composite…”), where the structural layer being thermoplastic fibers has a rough surface (Claim 1, “A hybrid composite, the hybrid composite comprising: a thermoplastic or thermoset matrix in which brittle and ductile fibers (1) are present…”, and Claim 5, “…wherein the brittle and/or ductile fibers have a rough and / or irregular surface so that they bond better to the matrix.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoplastic structural layer in modified Blumenstock to include the rough surface as taught by Callens.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing the fibers to bond better to the matrix, as stated by Callens, Claim 5, “…wherein the brittle and/or ductile fibers have a rough and / or irregular surface so that they bond better to the matrix.”.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blumenstock et al. (DE 102012021866 A1, hereinafter Blumenstock) in view of Springer et al. (WO 2017053313 A1, hereinafter Springer) and Blumenstock et al. (DE 102015007885 A1, hereinafter Stamp) and Imasaka et al. (JP 3351226 B2, hereinafter Imasaka) in further view of Pickett et al. (US 20170282412 A1, hereinafter Pickett).
Regarding claim 12, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses where the structural layer of the panel assembly comprises a compression-formed panel (Blumenstock, Page 7, Para. 2 from end, “cutting of the sandwich panels…After cutting, the blank of the thermoplastic fiber layer 5 by conveyor belt 15 in a heating station 11 , which may be a hot press, spent in the thermoplastic portion of the semifinished product 5 is melted by the heat. Optionally, heating to the softening temperature of the matrix thermoplasts may be sufficient.”, where the structural layer is a panel that is heat pressed or ‘compression formed’ to consolidate the layer, and then a heating element is added on with a cover before insertion into a mold tool), where the external surface can obscure the feel of the heating panel (Blumenstock, Page 8, Para. 1, “On the application of a decorative layer before molding can be dispensed with, a decorative layer, unlike in 5 be laminated on the molded and consolidated interior trim component.”, where the cover layer can be laminated, which would obscure the feeling of an layers underneath).
Modified Blumenstock does not disclose:
wherein the external surface is explicitly stated to comprise a texture that obscures a feel of a heating panel.
However, Pickett discloses, in the similar field of interior components made from molding for vehicles (Para. 0030, “automotive context, the present method allows automotive body panels and trim pieces for different vehicle makes, models, and trim levels having the same
shape and dimension”), where the mold tool includes a texture that can be imprinted upon a moldable material within the mold (Para. 0006, “The at least one tool surface may have a textured layer coupled thereto, such that the textured layer directly contacts the material defining the component during the forming process. Therefore, the surface texture present on the textured layer is transferred to the exterior surface of the component body during forming due to the contact between the material defining the component exterior surface and the textured layer.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the mold tool in modified Blumenstock to include a textured surface as taught by Pickett, where the laminated cover of Blumenstock could be modified to include laminated textures as taught by Pickett.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of textured surfaces allowing for increased personalization while keeping the production period the same, as stated by Pickett, Para. 0030, “…allows automotive body panels and trim pieces for different vehicle makes, models, and trim levels having the same shape and dimension, but different surface texture 16 formed on the exterior surface 14 thereof, to be formed using the same forming tool 22 within the same production period. The present method 100 also allows for personalization of the resultant components 10.”.
Regarding claim 13, modified Blumenstock teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses where the top layer is used to reduce variation in the external surface (Blumenstock, Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “lower fabric layer may be provided, which is arranged between the decorative layer and the surface heating element. Such sub-fabric can hide defects that may possibly be caused by the lattice structure of the surface heating element”, where hiding defects would result in a smoother external surface by the decorative layer).
Modified Blumenstock does not disclose:
wherein the top layer is configured to reduce variation in profile for the panel assembly so that the heating panel within the pre-form assembly is not substantially perceptible at the external surface, through being completely smooth.
However, Pickett discloses where the exterior surface of the component can be smooth, which would reduce the variation in the surface profile and improve the profile tolerance (Para. 0025, “The exterior surface 14 of the component body 12 may be smooth or without surface texture 16, as shown in FIG. 1.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the top layer in modified Blumenstock to be smooth as taught by Pickett.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing the component to have a generic configuration without surface texture that can be used for additional personalization without needing to change the production period of the part, as stated by Pickett, Para. 0030, “…allows automotive body panels and trim pieces for different vehicle makes, models, and trim levels having the same shape and dimension, but different surface texture 16 formed on the exterior surface 14 thereof, to be formed using the same forming tool 22 within the same production period. The present method 100 also allows for personalization of the resultant components 10.”.
Conclusion
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/05/2026