DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie et al. 2009/0261641, in view of Halbridge et al. 7,635,323
Regarding claim 1, Dickie discloses a chair (abstract) comprising: a base configured to rest on a surface (Chair base 14 acts as a base and is resting on a surface), the base defining a vertical axis of the chair (Support post 20 extends from the base of the chair 14);
a seat configured to support a user thereon (Seat 16);
and a seat support assembly disposed between the base and the seat in the direction of the vertical axis (Figure one displays an assembly below the seat and above the base), the seat support assembly comprising: a height adjustment assembly configured to allow the seat to translate along the vertical axis (height adjustment mechanism 24);
a wobble assembly (Tilt assembly 10) configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a side-to-side direction (Paragraph 0021 states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side to side direction”), the wobble assembly comprising a wobble lock (Lever 128 is a locking mechanism) having a locked configuration, in which the wobble lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction (Paragraph 0037 states that “The hydraulic systems further provide a hydraulic lock for securing the seat support and seat in any tilted position while also providing a simple mechanism for automatically leveling the seat support and seat.”), and an unlocked configuration, in which the wobble lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction (The abstract states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side to side direction”).
Dickie fails to teach an extension arm assembly configured to be removably coupled to the base, wherein the extension arm assembly is configured to extend upward from the base and away from the seat when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base, and wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a pair of handles configured to be grasped by the user's hands.
Halbridge teaches an analogous chair exercising apparatus that does teach an extension arm assembly (Figure 1, exercise apparatus 30) configured to be removably coupled to the base (the abstract states “the exercise apparatus includes a support assembly adapted to removably attach to the pedestal”), wherein the extension arm assembly is configured to extend upward from the base and away from the seat when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base (attachment assembly 50 can extend upward and away from the base when grabbed by the user), and wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a pair of handles configured to be grasped by the user's hands (figure 21 depicts a pair of handgrips 94).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dickie with the teachings of Halbridge and include an extension arm assembly configured to be removably coupled to the base, wherein the extension arm assembly is configured to extend upward from the base and away from the seat when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base, and wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a pair of handles configured to be grasped by the user's hands to allow for engagement of the assembly with the user, in turn providing the user the ability to exercise during the use of the chair (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1, wherein the wobble assembly is further configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a front-to-back direction (The abstract states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side to side direction”), wherein the wobble lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction when the wobble lock is in the locked configuration (Paragraph 0037 states that “The hydraulic systems further provide a hydraulic lock for securing the seat support and seat in any tilted position while also providing a simple mechanism for automatically leveling the seat support and seat.”), and wherein the wobble lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction when the wobble lock is in the unlocked configuration (The abstract states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side to side direction”).
Regarding claim 3, Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1, wherein the wobble assembly is further configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a plurality of directions other than the side-to-side direction and the front-to-back direction (Paragraph 022 states that “Seat support 48 is configured to tilt relative to base 46 forward and backward and from side to side, and most preferably in any direction.”).
Regarding claim 6, Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1, wherein the wobble assembly is disposed between the height adjustment assembly and the seat in the direction of the vertical axis (Figure 1 depicts tilt assembly 10 located between the height adjustment assembly 14 and the seat 16).
Regarding claim 7, Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1, wherein the height adjustment assembly comprises a hydraulic cylinder (Paragraph 0021 states that “Support post 20 may be a rigid non-adjustable post, but preferably includes a height adjustment mechanism 24 which typically involves the use of a gas spring.”) .
Regarding claim 8, Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1, wherein the height adjustment assembly is coupled to the base in a manner such that the seat is configured to rotate about the vertical axis (Paragraph 022 states that “In addition, seat 16 and backrest 18 may be rotated or swiveled about the vertical axis passing through support 20 typically 360 degrees, as indicated at arrow B in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding claim 16, Dickie discloses a chair (abstract) comprising: a base configured to rest on a surface (Chair base 14 acts as a base and is resting on a surface), the base defining a vertical axis of the chair (Support post 20 extends from the base of the chair 14);
a seat configured to support a user thereon (Seat 16);
and a seat support assembly disposed between the base and the seat (Figure one displays an assembly below the seat and above the base), the seat support assembly comprising: a height adjustment assembly configured to allow the seat to translate along the vertical axis (height adjustment mechanism 24);
a tilt assembly (Tilt assembly 10) configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a front-to-back direction (Paragraph 0021 states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side to side direction”), the tilt assembly comprising a tilt lock (Lever 128 is a locking mechanism) having a locked configuration, in which the tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction (Paragraph 0037 states that “The hydraulic systems further provide a hydraulic lock for securing the seat support and seat in any tilted position while also providing a simple mechanism for automatically leveling the seat support and seat.”), and an unlocked configuration, in which the tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction (The abstract states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side to side direction”).
Dickie fails to teach an extension arm assembly configured to be removably coupled to the base, wherein the extension arm assembly is configured to extend upward from the base and away from the seat when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base, and wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a pair of handles configured to be grasped by the user's hands.
Halbridge teaches an analogous chair exercising apparatus that does teach an extension arm assembly (Figure 1, exercise apparatus 30) configured to be removably coupled to the base (the abstract states “the exercise apparatus includes a support assembly adapted to removably attach to the pedestal”), wherein the extension arm assembly is configured to extend upward from the base and away from the seat when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base (attachment assembly 50 can extend upward and away from the base when grabbed by the user), and wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a pair of handles configured to be grasped by the user's hands (figure 21 depicts a pair of handgrips 94).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dickie with the teachings of Halbridge and include an extension arm assembly configured to be removably coupled to the base, wherein the extension arm assembly is configured to extend upward from the base and away from the seat when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base, and wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a pair of handles configured to be grasped by the user's hands to allow for engagement of the assembly with the user, in turn providing the user the ability to exercise during the use of the chair (abstract).
Regarding claim 17, modified Dickie discloses the chair of claim 16, wherein the extension arm assembly comprises a plurality of pins (Manual removable engagement 146 depicts on figure 3 is located on both sides. Furthermore, column 13 line 24 states “The structure to accomplish rotation 164 and pivot 165 can be conventional pins, collars and the like.” The connection depicted in figure 4 depicts a pinned connection.), and wherein the base comprises a plurality of holes configured to removably receive the pins therein when the extension arm assembly is coupled to the base (Figure 3, apertures 142).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dickie in view of Lindgren et al. 6,174,031
Regarding claim 4, modified Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1. Dickie fails to teach wherein the wobble lock comprises: a lock protrusion; and a wobble activation lever configured to move between a locked position, in which a portion of the wobble activation lever engages the lock protrusion, and an unlocked position in which the portion of the wobble activation lever is disengaged from the lock protrusion. Lindgren discloses an analogous office chair that does teach wherein the wobble lock (Lock handle assembly 14) comprises: a lock protrusion (locking bracket 34 acts as a protrusion as it receives the locking handle); and a wobble activation lever (Handle 41) configured to move between a locked position, in which a portion of the wobble activation lever engages the lock protrusion, and an unlocked position in which the portion of the wobble activation lever is disengaged from the lock protrusion (Column 4 line 17 states that “The handle 41 is rotatably supported by the housing 43 to permit a user to rotate the handle 41 between locked and unlocked positions and thereby actuate the tilt lock mechanism 12”). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of modified Dickie to include wherein the wobble lock comprises: a lock protrusion; and a wobble activation lever configured to move between a locked position, in which a portion of the wobble activation lever engages the lock protrusion, and an unlocked position in which the portion of the wobble activation lever is disengaged from the lock protrusion as this wobble lock setup allows for the permitting and preventing the tilting of the connected chair (Column 2 line 33).
Claims 5, 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dickie in view of Chadwick et al. 2006/0006715
Regarding claim 5, modified Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1. Dickie fails to disclose wherein the wobble assembly further comprises: a wobble housing; a wobble pin disposed at least partially within the wobble housing; and one or more resilient members disposed within the wobble housing and at least partially surrounding the wobble pin; wherein the wobble pin is configured to tilt relative to the wobble housing when the seat is tilted relative to the vertical axis, and wherein the one or more resilient members are configured to be resiliently deformed by the wobble pin when the seat is tilted relative to the vertical axis. Chadwick disclose an analogous office chair that does disclose wherein the wobble assembly further comprises: a wobble housing (Tilt control housing 16); a wobble pin disposed at least partially within the wobble housing (rotatable shaft 48); and one or more resilient members disposed within the wobble housing and at least partially surrounding the wobble pin (Tilt spring 58); wherein the wobble pin is configured to tilt relative to the wobble housing when the seat is tilted relative to the vertical axis (Paragraph 0045 states that “Preferably both the follower 48 and drive 46 shafts are hexagonal-shaped rods, which facilitates a rigid connection to the links 52, 52 while permitting rotation thereof within the tilt control housing 16”), and wherein the one or more resilient members are configured to be resiliently deformed by the wobble pin when the seat is tilted relative to the vertical axis (Paragraph 0047 states that “The tilt spring 58 controls the rate and amount of tilt of the seat 12 and backrest 14. As the drive links 52 rotate, such as when a person sits on the seat, the drive shaft 46 is rotated thereby, which creates a torsional load on the tilt spring 58”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of modified Dickie to include wherein the wobble assembly further comprises: a wobble housing; a wobble pin disposed at least partially within the wobble housing; and one or more resilient members disposed within the wobble housing and at least partially surrounding the wobble pin; wherein the wobble pin is configured to tilt relative to the wobble housing when the seat is tilted relative to the vertical axis, and wherein the one or more resilient members are configured to be resiliently deformed by the wobble pin when the seat is tilted relative to the vertical axis as the use of this resilient member would help to control the rate of tilt of the seat (0044).
Regarding claim 9, modified Dickie discloses the chair of claim 1. Dickie fails to disclose wherein the seat support assembly further comprises a first tilt assembly configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a front-to-back direction while inhibiting tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction, the first tilt assembly comprising a first tilt lock having a locked configuration, in which the first tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction, and an unlocked configuration, in which the first tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction. Chadwick discloses an analogous office chair that does teach wherein the seat support assembly (The entire assembly depicted in figure 11 is used to support the seat) further comprises a first tilt assembly (Tilt control assembly 35) configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a front-to-back direction while inhibiting tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction (Paragraph 0050 states that “As a person sits down, the seat 12 and backrest 14 move back and downwards, according to the weight of the person, to a position at which the seat 12 and backrest 14 are generally level, or tilted slightly back. As the user leans back, placing more weight against the backrest 14, the seat 12 and backrest 14 will further tilt to a fully tilted position, corresponding to the position illustrated in FIG. 12.”), the first tilt assembly comprising a first tilt lock having a locked configuration, in which the first tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction (Paragraph 0063 states that “ushing the tilt lever 41 inwardly activates the tilt locking assembly 104, which comprises a tilt limiter member 105 that blocks rotation of the hexagonal shaped follower shaft 48 when activated by the tilt lever 41.”), and an unlocked configuration, in which the first tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction (Paragraph 0062 states that ”The tilt lever 41 is pulled outwardly to release the limiting device.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seat support assembly seen in modified Dickie to include wherein the seat support assembly further comprises a first tilt assembly configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in a front-to-back direction while inhibiting tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction, the first tilt assembly comprising a first tilt lock having a locked configuration, in which the first tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction, and an unlocked configuration, in which the first tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction as this setup for the facilitation of a tilt limiter between free and locked positions (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, modified Dickie in view of Chadwick discloses the chair of claim 9, wherein the first tilt assembly is disposed between the height adjustment assembly and the wobble assembly in the direction of the vertical axis (Figure 3 depicts the tilt control assembly, which comprises the bottom half of housing 16, above the vertically adjustable column of 20 and below the wobble assembly including the parallel arms of 30 and 32.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination to include wherein the first tilt assembly is disposed between the height adjustment assembly and the wobble assembly in the direction of the vertical axis as this arrangement allows for the locking mechanism to be directly coupled with the seat movement system.
Regarding claim 14, Dickie teaches the chair of claim 1. Dickie discloses further comprising: a seatback configured to support the user's back thereon, the seatback coupled to the seat and configured to tilt along with the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction (Paragraph 0021 states that “Tilt assembly 10 is configured to allow seat 16 to tilt relative to base 14 and backrest 18 in the forward and backward direction as well as in the side-to-side direction.”); Dickie fails to teach and a pair of armrests configured to support the user's arms thereon, the armrests coupled to the seat and configured to tilt along with the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction. Chadwick does disclose and a pair of armrests configured to support the user's arms thereon, the armrests coupled to the seat and configured to tilt along with the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction (Paragraph 0008 states that “While many chairs provide adjustable armrests, the armrests should tilt proportionately to the seat and backrest”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify modified Dickie to include and a pair of armrests configured to support the user's arms thereon, the armrests coupled to the seat and configured to tilt along with the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction as this allows for the user to remain comfortable at any position of the chair (0008).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dickie in view of Chadwick, further in view of Global Furniture Group et al. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEB_yBM9zP8
Regarding claim 11, modified Dickie in view of Chadwick teach the chair of claim 9. The combination fails to teach wherein the seat support assembly further comprises a second tilt assembly configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction while inhibiting tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction, the second tilt assembly comprising a second tilt lock having a locked configuration, in which the second tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to- back direction, and an unlocked configuration, in which the second tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction. Global Furniture Group discloses an analogous chair containing three levers that does teach wherein the seat support assembly further comprises a second tilt assembly configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction while inhibiting tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction (At around the 1 minute and 50 second mark of the video, the demonstrator shows the activation of a second tilt assembly that also allows front to back motion), the second tilt assembly comprising a second tilt lock having a locked configuration, in which the second tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to- back direction, and an unlocked configuration, in which the second tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction (It is obvious that this second lever also contains a locking system as when the demonstrator pulls up on the lever, the seat is able to move in a front to back manner, when the lever is pushed back down, the seat is locked into place and tilting is inhibited.).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of modified Dickie and Chadwick to include wherein the seat support assembly further comprises a second tilt assembly configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction while inhibiting tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the side-to-side direction, the second tilt assembly comprising a second tilt lock having a locked configuration, in which the second tilt lock inhibits tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to- back direction, and an unlocked configuration, in which the second tilt lock allows tilting of the seat relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction as this second lever provides the chair with an additional dimensional adjustment method to provide additional comfort to the user.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of modified Dickie in view of Chadwick and Global Furniture Group disclose the chair of claim 11. Global Furniture Group further discloses wherein the second tilt assembly is disposed between the wobble assembly and the seat in the direction of the vertical axis (Pausing at the 22 second mark illustrates the second tilt assembly (right most lever) located above the height adjustment assembly and below a wobble assembly in which the seat is supported by.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of modified Dickie in view of Chadwick and Global Furniture Group disclose the chair of claim 11. Global Furniture Group further discloses wherein the first tilt assembly is configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction over a first range of motion (The 2 minute 50 second mark demonstrates the first lever allowing the seat to tilt with respect to a small range of motion), and wherein the second tilt assembly is configured to allow the seat to tilt relative to the vertical axis in the front-to-back direction over a second range of motion that is different from the first range of motion (The 1 minute 50 second mark demonstrates the second lever allowing for the seat to move in a much larger range of motion.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dickie, further in view of Park et al. 2021/0361523
Regarding claim 18, modified Dickie discloses the chair of claim 16 and the extension arm assembly. The combination fails to teach further comprising: one or more leg support bars configured to support the user's legs thereon; and one or more foot support bars configured to support the user's feet thereon. Park teaches an analogous massage chair that does disclose further comprising: one or more leg support bars configured to support the user's legs thereon; and one or more foot support bars configured to support the user's feet thereon (Figure 1 depicts ankle holder 33 which contains two sets of bars that both have the ability to support both the feet and the legs). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the removably coupled extension arm assembly exercise apparatus 30 of modified Dickie to include further comprising: one or more leg support bars configured to support the user's legs thereon; and one or more foot support bars configured to support the user's feet thereon as this allows for both feet to be held above or within the footrest to allow for whole body stretching to occur (0051).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dickie, further in view of Mengshoel et al. 4,767,160
Regarding claim 19, modified Dickie discloses the chair of claim 16. The combination fails to disclose wherein the base further comprises: a hub centered on the vertical axis; a plurality of first legs extending outward from the hub, each first leg having a first length from a base end to an opposite free end of the first leg; and a pair of second legs extending outward from the hub, each second leg having a second length from a base end to an opposite free end of the second leg, wherein the second length is greater than the first length. Mengshoel discloses an analogous chair device that does disclose wherein the base (Chair frame 14) further comprises: a hub centered on the vertical axis (Supporting column 13); a plurality of first legs extending outward from the hub, each first leg having a first length from a base end to an opposite free end of the first leg (Figure 1 illustrates branches 7,8,9 having their own length); and a pair of second legs extending outward from the hub, each second leg having a second length from a base end to an opposite free end of the second leg, wherein the second length is greater than the first length (Branches 5 and 6 both have their own length greater than the first legs). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify modified Dickie with the teachings of Mengshoel to include wherein the base further comprises: a hub centered on the vertical axis; a plurality of first legs extending outward from the hub, each first leg having a first length from a base end to an opposite free end of the first leg; and a pair of second legs extending outward from the hub, each second leg having a second length from a base end to an opposite free end of the second leg, wherein the second length is greater than the first length as this provides an overall counter force to balance the forward force the user chair would experience while the user stretches.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of modified Dickie in view of Mengshoel discloses the chair of claim 19. Mengshoel further discloses wherein the base further comprises a horizontal support extending between the free ends of the second legs (Figure one depicts a horizontal support in cushion 2 extending between the free ends of the second legs). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination to include wherein the base further comprises a horizontal support extending between the free ends of the second legs as this provides additional reinforcement towards a counterforce that balances the forward force the user chair would experience while the user stretches.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 16 under 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior art.
Conclusion
/ROHAN PATEL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785