DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander (US 20180161020 A1) in view of Rowe (US 20220257221 A1).
For claim 1, Friedlander teaches A system for cell collection, the system comprising:
a collection mechanism [110] being transformable between a collection state having an expanded diameter and a retrieval state where the diameter is less than that of the collection state; [Figs. 1-2]
a conveyance mechanism [120-130] having a distal end to which the collection mechanism is attached, and designed to place the collection mechanism at a site of interest for cell collection; [Figs. 1-2, Fig. 11]
and an activation mechanism [123, 133, 137] to transform the collection mechanism between the collection state and the retrieval state, and to permit the collection mechanism to move from the retrieval state to the collection state independent of movement of the conveyance mechanism. [110 can expand as in Figs. 4a-b while sheath 120 remains in a fixed position within / upon a specific anatomy and, as such, 110 can be considered to move ‘independently’ of 120 via 123, 133, 137 under BRI]
Friedlander fails to teach the collection mechanism including tines and the activation mechanism including a sheath.
Rowe teaches a cell collection device [abstract] including a cell collection mechanism including first and second portions of tines retractable to different diameters [tabs 126 in Fig(s). 9 which can each individually splay outward from a sheath as the needle advances as in ¶69] and an activation mechanism including a movable sheath [sheath of Fig(s). 9 in ¶69] configured to slide relative to the conveyance mechanism to selectively retract the tines to permit retrieval and collection states. [tabs 126 can individually retract when covered by sheath in ¶69]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the collection and activation mechanisms of Friedlander to incorporate the tines and sheath of Rowe in order to aid in directing collected samples through the device for subsequent retrieval. As motivated by Rowe ¶69.
For claim 2, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the activation mechanism is designed to control transformation of the cell collection mechanism between at least two of the collection state, the retrieval state and a navigation state. [Figs. 1-2, Fig. 11]
For claim 3, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the cell collection mechanism includes:
an expandable material having a cell collection surface; [112, 115]
and a plurality of rings [proximal collar of 118; 119 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of a ‘ring’; see also 158, 159] spaced along the expandable material and situated circumferentially around the expandable material, [Fig. 5, Fig. 10]
wherein the expandable material is designed to expand from a first circumference less than a circumference of the plurality of rings to a second circumference greater than the circumference of the plurality of rings. [Fig. 4, Fig. 10b, Fig. 11b]
For claim 4, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the cell collection mechanism is a tubular construction with a plurality of struts to allow the cell collection mechanism to bow. [tubular construction with ribs 115 (i.e., struts) is/are central inventive feature(s) detailed throughout the majority (if not the entirety) of the disclosure of Friedlander — see at least Fig. 2]
For claim 5, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 4,
wherein the cell collection mechanism is designed to bow upon application of a axial force applied linearly along a central axis. [Fig. 4a then Fig. 4b]
For claim 6, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 4,
wherein the cell collection mechanism is designed to bow upon application of an internal force applied radial outward. [Fig. 4b]
For claim(s) 7-8, Friedlander fails to teach the tubular construction designed to bow from heat energy.
Rowe teaches a sampling system [Fig. 38] with a tubular construction [602, 606] designed to bow / expand upon application of heat energy. [¶106]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Friedlander to incorporate the heat-set shape memory of Rowe (e.g., to heat-set fins 115 of Friedlander to bow/expand as in Rowe ¶106) in order to ensure adequate sample collection. As motivated by Rowe ¶106.
For claim 9, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the cell collection mechanism is constructed with a plurality of creases and bends that are expandable into a shape for cell collection in the collection state and retracted for the retrieval state. [Fig. 5b where fins 115 and ribs 112 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of a plurality of ‘creases and bends’]
For claim 10, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the cell collection mechanism is a tubular construction with a plurality slots [113, 123] to allow an internal expandable material to push through and expand out when in the collection state. [Fig. 2]
Friedlander fails to teach the tubular construction comprising stainless steel.
Rowe teaches a sampling device comprising stainless steel. [¶60, ¶63, ¶88]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the collection mechanism of Friedlander to comprise stainless steel as taught by Rowe as a simple substitution of one element for another to achieve predictable results (flexibility and strength for sampling).
For claim 11, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 10,
wherein the internal expandable material retracts into the plurality slots and within the tubular construction when in the retrieval state. [Fig. 4b then Fig. 4a]
For claim(s) 12, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the cell collection mechanism is constructed from a plurality of tines that fan out from a central axis when in the collection state. [ribs 112 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of ‘tines’]
For claim 13, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 12,
wherein the fan out of the plurality of tines is controlled by at least one of an expandable material [115], a slidable sheath [120 and 130], heat energy, or a combination thereof.
For claim 14, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 12,
wherein distal ends of the plurality of tines can retract to a smaller diameter than a remainder of the plurality of tines in the retrieval state. [Fig. 4B]
For claim 15, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the cell collection mechanism includes a mandrel rod [central shaft of 118-119], and a plurality of arms [115] for sampling.
For claim 17, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 1,
further including an anchoring device [126] adjacent to the collection mechanism to minimize movement of the collection mechanism. [¶124]
For claim 18, Friedlander teaches The system of claim 17,
wherein the anchoring device includes an expandable body. [125 and proximal portion of 130 near/within 125-126 — in that such portions increase in length as the device is operated — then constitute(s), under BRI, a form of an ‘expandable body’]
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander in view of Rowe and Gerrans (US 8668654 B1).
For claim 16, Friedlander fails to teach an imaging device.
Gerrans teaches a cell collection system comprising an imaging device. [18]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Friedlander to incorporate the imaging device of Gerrans in order to assist in proper positioning of the cell collection device. As motivated by Gerrans col. 6 ll. 50-60.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander in view of Rowe, Gerrans, and Lee (US 20130158429 A1).
For claim 19, Friedlander teaches A cell collection device, the device comprising:
a cell collection mechanism [110] having a proximal end and a distal end,
the cell collection mechanism being transformable between at least one of a navigation state, a collection state, and a retrieval state; [Figs. 1-2, Figs. 10-11]
an expandable material having a cell collection surface; [112, 115]
and at least three rings [proximal collar of 118; 119, and 136] spaced along the expandable material and situated circumferentially and externally around the expandable material, [Figs. 4-5, Fig. 10]
wherein the expandable material is designed to expand from a first circumference less than a circumference of the at least three rings to a second circumference greater than the circumference of the at least three rings; [Fig. 4, Fig. 10b, Fig. 11b]
and a conveyance mechanism [120-130] having a proximal end and a distal end,
the distal end of the conveyance mechanism coupled to the proximal end of the cell collection mechanism. [Figs. 1-2]
Friedlander fails to teach the rings spaced to provide room to expand the expandable material and rigid enough to maintain their shape during the expansion.
Gerrans teaches a sampling device [abstract] comprising a series of rings [24] which are spaced to allow an expandable material [16, 28] to expand through the rings where the rings are rigid enough to maintain their shape during expansion. [Fig(s). 2A showing the ring maintaining its shape during expansion]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the three rings of Friedlander to incorporate the structure of the rings of Gerrans in order to aid in device navigation and positioning. As motivated by Gerrans col. 10 ll. 5-15.
Friedlander fails to teach the conveyance mechanism disposed in a sheath.
Lee teaches a cell collection device [abstract] including a conveyance mechanism [140-150] partly disposed within a movable sheath. [140] [where the slits in 140 are at least some form of a type of conveyance mechanism partly disposed within the sheath of Lee under BRI]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the activation mechanism of Friedlander to include the sheath and sheath movement of Lee in order to improve manufacturing and ease of use while allowing for more efficient and accurate sampling. As motivated by Lee ¶¶2-6.
In consideration of Examiner’s interpretation and citation for the ‘anchoring device’ in claim(s) 17-18, and in earnest and good faith advancement of prosecution, claim(s) 17-18 is/are alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedlander and Rowe.
If, arguendo, Friedlander fails to teach an anchoring mechanism, then:
Rowe teaches a cell collection system comprising an anchoring device. [Figs. 30-34]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Friedlander to incorporate the anchoring device of Rowe in order to aid in tissue acquisition by ensuring that the collection device remains at the target tissue. As motivated by Rowe ¶94.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection. Inasmuch as Applicant argues that Friedlander and Rowe do not make obvious the amended claim(s), Examiner respectfully submits that such an argument is a mere allegation of patentability but does not detail why Rowe does not teach the features cited above.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791