DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment, the previously set forth claim objections have been withdrawn. Please see below for new grounds of claim objections, necessitated by Amendment.
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the Amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are moot. Applicant has amended the claims to recite new combinations of limitations. Applicant's arguments are directed at the amendment. Please see below for new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 20-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“one or more internal fin” in claims 21 and 22 appears to be an error for “one or more internal fins”,
“the one or more evaporator region” in claim 20, appears to be an error for “the one or more evaporator regions”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZABEK (US 20190051809 A1: Previously cited) in view of AKACHI (JP 04347492 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, ZABEK discloses a monolithic oscillating heat pipe (OHP) device (see Figure 3(a)), said device comprising:
a monolithic body (see the lower drawing in Figure 3(a));
an oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit (103) comprising a plurality of OHP circuit channels (113) that are integrally formed within the body (see 103 in Figure 4 cf. Figure 3(a) & (b)), the OHP circuit structured and operable to isothermally spread throughout the body heat from at least one heat source (102) disposed on at least one heat source region (evaporator section: Figure 3(a) : cf. Figure 4) of the body and in thermally conductive contact with a portion of the OHP circuit (see Figure 3(a) : cf. Figure 4); and
a pumped fluid (PF) circuit (circuit of 104) integrally formed within the body and in thermally conductive contact with at least portion of the OHP circuit internally within the body (see in Figures 3(a) & (b) and 4 where 104 and the body are connected together so as to make up a single unit, wherein 104 in thermally conductive contact with at least portion 131 of the OHP circuit 103 internally within the body) , the PF circuit (circuit of 104) structured and operable to remove heat from the portion of the OHP circuit in which the PF circuit is in thermally conductive contact with (see Q˙ in Figure 4 and ¶ [0038]).
ZABEK does not teach a plurality of planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuits, each planar OHP circuit integrally formed internally within the body and each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and in thermally conductive contact with at least portion of each of the corresponding two planar.
However, it’s old and well known in the art to have the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit and the pumped fluid (PF) circuit formed internally within one body, as evidenced by AKACHI, see AKACHI’s Figures 4 and 5 where the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit (1) and the pumped fluid (PF) circuit (7) are formed internally within one body.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) device of ZABEK with the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit and the pumped fluid (PF) circuit are formed internally within the body, since as evidenced by AKACHI, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of having a compact oscillating heat pipe (OHP) device while preventing any mechanical failure due to the welding of two different bodies.
Moreover, ZABEK in view of AKACHI teaches all of the claimed features except for a second planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit that placed on the other side of the planar PF circuit. It is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI B. Since applicant has not disclosed that placing a second planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit within the system does anything more than produce predictable results (i.e. providing a second heat distribution surface for a second heat source), the mere duplication of the planar oscillating heat pipe in the device is not considered to have patentable significance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify ZABEK in view of AKACHI to include teach a plurality of planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuits, each planar OHP circuit integrally formed internally within the body and each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and in thermally conductive contact with at least portion of each of the corresponding two planar, in order to predictably provide providing a second heat distribution surface for a second heat source.
ZABEK in view of AKACHI as modified above teaches each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits internally within the body, each PF circuit structured and operable to remove heat from the portion of each of the corresponding planar OHP circuits in which each PF circuit is in thermally conductive contact with (Examiner notes that duplication the planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit of ZABEK in view of AKACHI will result to have the planar PF circuit disposed between the two the planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit where the PF circuit structured and operable to remove heat from the portion of each of the corresponding planar OHP circuits in which each PF circuit is in thermally conductive contact with).
Regarding claim 2, ZABEK further discloses wherein the channels of at least one of the plurality planer OHP circuits (103, as modified above) cross the at least one heat source region multiple times (see in Figures 3(b) and 4 where the plurality of channels 113 crosses the heat source region (i.e. evaporator section) multiple times).
Regarding claim 3, ZABEK further discloses wherein each PF circuit (circuit of 104) comprises: a heat exchange portion (portion that is connected to 122 ) integrally formed within a portion of the body (the portion 122: see Figure 3 (a)), wherein the heat exchange portion is in thermally conductive contact with at least a portion corresponding two of the OHP circuits (see Figure 3 (a) cf. Figure 4); an inlet fluidly connected to the heat exchange portion; and an outlet fluidly connected to the heat exchange portion (see the inlet and the outlet of 104 represented by arrows in Figure 3(a)).
Regarding claim 4, ZABEK further discloses wherein the PF circuit heat exchange portion (portion that connected 122) comprises: at least one of: a plurality lumens, and at least one chamber (see Figure 3(a) where heat exchange portion of 104 comprises at least one chamber where the conduit is placed).
ZABEK’s Figure 3(a) annotated by Examiner
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZABEK (US 20190051809 A1: Previously cited) in view of AKACHI (JP 04347492 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NAKAMIZO (JP 2003302180 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 21, ZABEK does not teach wherein one or more of the OHP circuit channels of each of the plurality of the planar OHP circuits comprise one or more internal fin integrally formed within the body and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels integrally formed within the body.
NAKAMIZO teaches one or more OHP circuit channels (1: see Figures 1-4) comprise one or more internal fin (10) integrally formed within the body (body of 1) and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels integrally formed within the body (see in Figures 1-4 where 10 are protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the one or more of the OHP circuit channels of ZABEK in view of AKACHI with one or more of the OHP circuit channels of each of the plurality of the planar OHP circuits comprise one or more internal fin integrally formed within the body and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels integrally formed within the body, as taught by NAKAMIZO, to enhance heat conduction, which further increases the heat-exchange capacity of the working medium through changing phase.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZABEK (US 20190051809 A1: Previously cited) in view of AKACHI (JP 04347492 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 12, ZABEK discloses a monolithic oscillating heat pipe (OHP) device (see Figure 3(a)), said device comprising:
a monolithic body (see the lower drawing in Figure 3(a));
an oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit (103) integrally formed within the body (see 103 in Figure 4 cf. Figure 3(a) & (b)), and comprising a plurality of channels (113) integrally formed within the body (see 113 in Figure 4 cf. Figure 3(a) & (b)), the OHP circuit structured and operable to isothermally spread throughout the body heat from at least one heat source (102) disposed on at least one heat source region (evaporator section : Figure 3(a) : cf. Figure 4) of the body and in thermally conductive contact with a portion of at least one the OHP circuit (see Figure 3(a) : cf. Figure 4); wherein the OHP circuit channels of the at least one planar OHP circuit in which the heat source in thermally conductive contact cross the at least one heat source region multiple times (see in Figures 3(b) and 4 where the plurality of channels 113 crosses the heat source regions (i.e. evaporator section) multiple times); and
a pumped fluid (PF) circuit (circuit of 104) structured and operable to remove heat from the OHP circuit (see Q˙ in Figure 4 and ¶ [0038]), the PF circuit (circuit of 104) comprising: a heat exchange portion (portion that is connected to 122 ) integrally formed within a portion of the body (the portion 122: see Figure 3 (a)), and in thermally conductive contact with at least a portion of the OHP circuit internally within the body (see Figure 3 (a) cf. Figure 4), the heat exchange portion comprising at least one of: a plurality lumens, and at least one chamber (see Figure 3(a) where heat exchange portion of 104 comprises at least one chamber where the conduit is placed), an inlet fluidly connected to the heat exchange portion; and an outlet fluidly connected to the heat exchange portion (see the inlet and the outlet of 104 represented by arrows in Figure 3(a)).
ZABEK does not teach a plurality of planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuits, each planar OHP circuit integrally formed internally within the body and each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and structured and operable to remove heat from each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits.
However, it’s old and well known in the art to have the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit, the pumped fluid (PF) circuit and the heat exchange portion formed internally within one body, as evidenced by AKACHI, see AKACHI’s Figures 4 and 5 where the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit (1), the pumped fluid (PF) circuit (7) and the heat exchange portion between (1) and (7) are formed internally within one body.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) device of ZABEK with the oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit, the pumped fluid (PF) circuit and the heat exchange portion are formed internally within the body, since as evidenced by AKACHI, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of having a compact oscillating heat pipe (OHP) device while preventing any mechanical failure due to the welding of two different bodies.
Moreover, ZABEK in view of AKACHI teaches all of the claimed features except for a second planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit that placed on the other side of the planar PF circuit. It is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI B. Since applicant has not disclosed that placing a second planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit within the system does anything more than produce predictable results (i.e. providing a second heat distribution surface for a second heat source), the mere duplication of the planar oscillating heat pipe in the device is not considered to have patentable significance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify ZABEK in view of AKACHI to include teach a plurality of planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuits, each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and structured and operable to remove heat from each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits, in order to predictably provide providing a second heat distribution surface for a second heat source.
ZABEK in view of AKACHI as modified above teaches each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and structured and operable to remove heat from each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits (Examiner notes that duplication the planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit of ZABEK in view of AKACHI will result to have the planar PF circuit disposed between the two the planar oscillating heat pipe (OHP) circuit where the PF circuit structured and operable to remove heat from each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZABEK (US 20190051809 A1: Previously cited) in view of AKACHI (JP 04347492 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of NAKAMIZO (JP 2003302180 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 22, ZABEK does not teach wherein one or more of the OHP circuit channels of each of the plurality of the planar OHP circuits comprise one or more internal fin integrally formed within the body and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels integrally formed within the body.
NAKAMIZO teaches one or more OHP circuit channels (1: see Figures 1-4) comprise one or more internal fin (10) integrally formed within the body (body of 1) and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels integrally formed within the body (see in Figures 1-4 where 10 are protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the one or more of the OHP circuit channels of ZABEK in view of AKACHI with one or more of the OHP circuit channels of each of the plurality of the planar OHP circuits comprise one or more internal fin integrally formed within the body and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels integrally formed within the body, as taught by NAKAMIZO, to enhance heat conduction, which further increases the heat-exchange capacity of the working medium through changing phase.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
In view of the amended claim, applicant response, and further consideration, claim 20 is allowed over prior art since the prior art taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious “one or more planar pumped fluid (PF) circuit integrally formed internally within the body, each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and in thermally conductive contact with at least a portion of each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits internally within the body” while simultaneously teach a plurality of internal fins integrally formed within the body and protruding radially inward from, and extending longitudinally along at least a portion of a length of an interior of a wall of the plurality of the OHP circuit channels of each planar OHP circuit wherein the fins are disposed only in one or more evaporator regions of the OHP circuit channels, in combination with the other limitations recited as specified in the independent claim(s).
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 11 and 19 are containing allowable subject matter since ZABEK in view of AKACHI and NAKAMIZO fails to teach “one or more planar pumped fluid (PF) circuit integrally formed internally within the body, each planar PF circuit disposed between a corresponding two of the planar OHP circuits and in thermally conductive contact with at least a portion of each of the corresponding two planar OHP circuits internally within the body” while simultaneously teach the one or more internal fin is disposed only in one or more evaporator regions of the one or more OHP circuit channels and have a selected longitudinal length extending longitudinally along the at least a portion of the length of the interior of the wall of the one or more OHP circuit channels that is based on a size of the one or more respective evaporator regions.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763