DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-14-2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The rest of the augments they fall for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu 20160381610 in view of Blasiak 6108538 further in view of Park 20180279193.
As to claim 1, Pu discloses a terminal [102-106, 300], comprising: processing circuitry, which in operation, performs a power-related measurement on at least one radio cell and generates a measurement result based on the performed power-related measurement on at least one radio cell of a network, and generates a measurement results based on the performed power-related measurements [step 206] (see par. 0051-0053),
a transmitter, which in operation, in response to at least one reporting trigger condition being fulfilled, reports measurement result generated by the processing circuitry (see par. 0021, 0036, 0039), wherein
the processing circuitry, in operation, in response to a conditional handover command message received from a base station: determines whether a measurement-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied based on a first threshold and results of measurements performed by the processing circuitry (see par. 0036-0039, 0113), and
performs a conditional handover based on at least one of the determination of whether the measurement-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied and the determination of whether the location-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied (see par. 0023, 0112-0119). Pu fails to disclose non-terrestrial radio carrier. In an analogous art, Blasiak discloses a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (see fig. 1), determines whether a location-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied based on position information [508] (see col. 8, lines 43-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add a non-terrestrial radio carrier combine to Pu for the simple purpose of extending the coverage of the communications and avoid dead spots. Please note all handovers depend on conditions, and from a plurality of determinations made by the terminal base station. If the conditional handover command is going to be interpreted as a handover command that include conditions for execution for the UE to determine, then in an analogous art, Park discloses a conditional handover command message received from a base station: determines whether a measurement-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied based on a first threshold and results of measurements performed by the processing circuitry [a source base station may transmit a handover command, to a wireless device, indicating a handover execution condition for a handover] [1710] (see par. 0271, 0288); performs a conditional handover based on at least one of the determination of whether the measurement-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied and the determination of whether the location-based conditional handover trigger condition is satisfied [1720-1740] (see par. 0288-0290). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of assuring that the handoff met all the conditions; thereby, allowing a dependable smooth handoff between cells.
As to claim 2, Pu discloses the terminal according to claim 1, the processing circuitry, in operation, applies at least one positive or negative power offset to the at least one reporting trigger condition, and wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, determines the offset from configuration information received from a serving base station to which the terminal is connected, or determines the offset based on the difference between the generated measurement result and a previously generated measurement result, or wherein one offset is determined for a serving radio cell and another offset is determined for a neighbor radio cell, or wherein one offset is determined for each of the at least one reporting trigger condition (see par. 0037-0040, 0054).
As to claim 3, Pu discloses the terminal according to claim 1, the processing circuitry, in operation, determines a difference between the generated measurement result and a previously generated measurement result, and applies the determined difference to the generated measurement result to generate adjusted measurement result [determining such as increasing or decreasing, slope, etc.], wherein the processing circuitry determines whether or not to report the measurement result based on the at least one report trigger condition and the adjusted measurement results (see par. 0047-0048, 0050, 0133-0135).
As to claim 5, Pu discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the measurement results are usable [claiming the possibility not a requirement] by a serving base station, to which the terminal is connected, to determine whether to initiate the procedure to handover the terminal from its current serving radio cell, controlled by the serving base station, to another radio cell, and the at least one trigger condition is configured such that it is fulfilled when an initiation of a procedure to handover the terminal from the current serving radio cell to another cell could be [claiming the possibility not a requirement] decided by the serving base station (see par. 0030-0033).
As to claim 6, Pu discloses the terminal according to claim 1, comprising a receiver [304] (see par. 0058-0060), which in operation, receives the conditional handover command message, wherein the conditional handover command message comprises at least one handover accept condition to be fulfilled for the terminal to perform the handover [a serving base station may render a decision to perform a handover] (see par. 0031-0032), and wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, determines whether the handover accept condition is fulfilled, and in case the handover accept condition is fulfilled, performs a handover according to the received conditional handover command message [handover complete] (see par. 0031, 0042).
Regarding claim 13 is the corresponding method claim of device claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as shown above.
Regarding claim 20 is the corresponding integrated circuit claim of device claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as shown above.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu in view of Blasiak and Park, further in view of Xu 20160205600.
As to claim 21, the previous references disclose everything as explained above except for wherein the position information indicates a position of the terminal with respect to a cell edge. In an analogous art, Xu discloses wherein the position information indicates a position of the terminal with respect to a cell edge (see par. 0177). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings to have a reliable handover and avoiding service interruptions.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647