DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 6/6/2025. Claims 1, 3-13, 16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argued the limitation “in response to an image related to a file or a thumbnail image corresponding to the file being selected, determine whether a size of a first peripheral area which is a peripheral area of the selected image or the selected thumbnail image and used to display an enlarged thumbnail image obtained by enlarging the selected thumbnail image is smaller than a predetermined value (feature A), in response to determining the size of the first peripheral area is smaller than the predetermined value, move the selected image or the selected thumbnail image to an end of an operation screen for displaying the image or the thumbnail image (feature B)”, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sakata teaches at col. 13:12-51: fig. 5, the display screen is made up of three areas: a file name display area occupying almost the upper half of the left side of the screen, a reduced image display area occupying the lower side of the file name display area 501, and a selected image display area occupying almost the right half of the screen. A reduced image or thumbnail in area 502 can be selected instead of specify the file name and the selected image is displayed area 503.
Regarding the argument on page 9 that “Since the thumbnail images 321 to 325 of Ikeda displayed within the shelf panel 320 are already in the left side of the display screen 300 (analogous to "an end of an operation screen" of the application), there is no need for Ikeda to move the thumbnail images 321 to 325 (to the left side of the display screen 300), and there is no need for Ikeda to determine whether a peripheral area of the selected thumbnail images 321 to 325 is smaller than a predetermined value”, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim recites “in response to determining the size of the first peripheral area is smaller than the predetermined value, move the selected image or the selected thumbnail image to an end of an operation screen for displaying the image or the thumbnail image”, the claim does not specify “to the left side of the display screen”.
Ikeda et al. teaches at para. 101: the shelf panel 320 provides a thumbnail area in which a list of thumbnail images corresponding to the images to be sequentially displayed in the slide panel 310. Thus, selected images to be displayed sequentially in panel 310 to an end of an operation screen of fig. 3: 311, 312, 313 etc.; para. 131, 277: if the y coordinate of the thumbnail image display area of the shelf panel 320 is less than the predetermined threshold (low), the setting is made so as to move the preceding thumbnail image display area to the center of the shelf panel 320. For example, as shown in FIG. 4B, if ten thumbnail images 11 through 20 are displayed in the shelf panel 320 and a y coordinate 410 of the display area is less than the predetermined threshold (low), the setting is made so as to display thumbnail images 1 through 10 arranged before the thumbnail images 11 through 20 shown in FIG. 4B onto the thumbnail image display area of the shelf panel 320; para. 285: the display areas can be changed into appropriate layouts.) The argued limitation is broad. The combination of references does teach the argued limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (US 6593938) in view of Ikeda et al. (US 20080187248) and further in view of Dmitrieva et al. (20110268336).
Fig. 2, of the current application, shows a thumbnail image 440 is displayed in the selection screen 430. The limitation of claim 1: “a first peripheral area which is a peripheral area of the selected image” is therefore, the selection screen 430. The selected image/thumbnail image is displayed in the selection screen shown as a star image equal to the size of the selected thumbnail image.
Fig. 2 also shows the enlarged thumbnail image 450 of the selected thumbnail image 440 is displayed in the operation screen 400.
As per claim 1, Sakata et al. (US 6593938) teaches
an information processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to: display an image related to a file or a thumbnail image corresponding to the file (fig. 5: icons/thumbnail images displayed in area 502 corresponding to the file: “Fotos” in the file name display area 501);
in response to an image related to a file or a thumbnail image corresponding to the file being selected, (col. 13:12-51: fig. 5, the display screen is made up of three areas: a file name display area occupying almost the upper half of the left side of the screen, a reduced image display area occupying the lower side of the file name display area 501, and a selected image display area occupying almost the right half of the screen. A reduced image or thumbnail in area 502 can be selected instead of specify the file name and the selected image is displayed area 503; col. 14:16-31: by specifying a predetermined command from the menu, or double-clicking the image itself, the image currently displayed in tile selected image display area 503 can be fully displayed on the display screen while concealing the file name display area 501 and the reduced image display area 502 behind the selected image display area 503);
determine whether a size of a first peripheral area which is a peripheral area of the selected image or the thumbnail image and used to display an enlarged thumbnail image obtained by enlarging the selected thumbnail image is smaller than a predetermined value (col. 14, line 1-38: the selected images may be displayed in the following modes: a standard display mode for displaying the selected image of a standard size, a full screen display mode for scaling up or down the display frame of the selected image to display the entire frame of the selected image, and a variable magnification display mode for displaying the selected image enlarged or reduced to predetermined magnification desired by the operator; figs. 5-7: selected icons are enlarged and displayed in sequential order);
in response to determining the size of the first peripheral area is smaller than the
predetermined value, move the selected image or the selected thumbnail image to an end of an operation screen for displaying the image or the thumbnail image (col. 13:35-47: a desired image can also be selected by moving the cursor onto the corresponding reduced image and clicking the button of the mouse 212 or the like, instead of specifying the file name in the file name display area; col. 15:24-29: move the cursor onto either of the icons and click the button of the mouse 212 or the like to switch the arrangement of the images displayed on the work area; col. 24:54-61: a number of images as to make the joined image into a rectangular shape can be set, but the present invention is not limited by these cases, and such combinations of images as to form unique shapes other than rectangles may be set. Further, plural images such as four images, five images, six images, seven images, eight images, nine images and so on may be so joined that a panorama of landscape type can be formed. Thus, selected images can be joined to be displayed on the screen, one after another (which is equivalent to move the selected image or the selected thumbnail image to an end of an operation screen) or arranged for being displayed in certain way).
display the enlarged thumbnail image in a second peripheral area which is a peripheral area of the image related to the file or the thumbnail image after the movement (col. 14:1-31: the selected image display area 503 is an area for displaying an image of the image data file selected by specifying the file name in the file name display area 501, or by specifying the corresponding thumbnail in the reduced image display area 502. The selected images may be displayed in the following modes: a standard display mode for displaying the selected image of a standard size, a full-screen display mode for scaling up or down the display frame of the selected image to display the entire frame of the selected image, and a variable magnification display mode for displaying the selected image enlarged or reduced to predetermined magnification desired by the operator. In this case, the thumbnail image area is smaller than the second large area 503 and the selected thumbnail is displayed in the second area; col. 15:24-29: move the cursor onto either of the icons and click the button of the mouse 212 or the like to switch the arrangement of the images displayed on the work area).
Sakata et al. does not explicitly teach the underlined limitation: move the selected image or the selected thumbnail image to an end of an operation screen for displaying the image or the thumbnail image.
Ikeda et al. teaches
in response to determining the size of the first peripheral area is smaller than the
predetermined value, move the selected image or the selected thumbnail image to an end of an operation screen for displaying the image or the thumbnail image (para. 101: the shelf panel 320 provides a thumbnail area in which a list of thumbnail images corresponding to the images to be sequentially displayed in the slide panel 310. Thus, selected images to be displayed sequentially in panel 310 to an end of an operation screen of fig. 3: 311, 312, 313 etc.; para. 131, 277: if the y coordinate of the thumbnail image display area of the shelf panel 320 is less than the predetermined threshold (low), the setting is made so as to move the preceding thumbnail image display area to the center of the shelf panel 320. For example, as shown in FIG. 4B, if ten thumbnail images 11 through 20 are displayed in the shelf panel 320 and a y coordinate 410 of the display area is less than the predetermined threshold (low), the setting is made so as to display thumbnail images 1 through 10 arranged before the thumbnail images 11 through 20 shown in FIG. 4B onto the thumbnail image display area of the shelf panel 320; para. 285: the display areas can be changed into appropriate layouts.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sakata et al. and the moving image to the different screen in order to effectively allow users to better view, interact, and/or analyze the available data.
Even if Sakata and Ikeda do not explicitly teach the “in response” step,
Dmitrieva et al. teaches at para. 97-100: a small image (or likeness) of each of the other images 306-1 to 306-3 may be displayed in a smaller format (e.g., as icons) for a user's convenience in selecting images. This may be useful when all images corresponding with a certain examination may not be displayed in the viewing area (equivalent to the first peripheral area is smaller than a predetermined value). Accordingly, a user may select one of the smaller images to view as an enlarged rendering of the selected image. Thus, by selecting an image (e.g., using a double click of a mouse, etc.), a user may cause the process to magnify the image. Further, a magnification view setting may be provided so that, selected views may be displayed in a window that may be larger than windows which display the other images (e.g., smaller views, icons, etc. Figs. 3-4: icons 306-1 to 306-3 are displayed in sequence).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sakata, Ikeda et al. and the moving image to the different screen in order to effectively allow users to better view, interact, and/or analyze the available data – See Dmitrieva, para. 67.
As per claim 3, Sakata et al. teaches
accept a position at which the image related to the file or the thumbnail image is to be displayed from a user, display the image or the thumbnail image at the accepted position, and in a case where the enlarged thumbnail image is displayed, move the image related to the file or the thumbnail image from the position (col. 25:55-65: as with the scale-up button of the first embodiment, the scale-up button is a button to enlarge the size of images displayed on the joining work area. The images are enlarged to predetermined magnification each time the scale-up button is pressed, i.e., when the operator moves the cursor onto the scale-up button to click the button of the mouse or the like one time. The images are thus enlarged on the joining work area at a predetermined magnification rate, and displayed on the joining work area).
As per claim 4, Sakata et al. teaches
display that the image related to the file or the thumbnail image is displayed at the position (fig. 5: the selected image display area 503 is an area for displaying an image of the image data file selected by specifying the file name in the file name display area 501, or by specifying the corresponding thumbnail in the reduced image display area 502).
As per claim 5, Sakata et al. teaches
in a case where the selection of the image related to the file or the thumbnail image is canceled, move the image related to the file or the thumbnail image to the position (fig. 9: the thumbnails 1002 and 1003 shown on the right thumbnail panel are selected and the enlarged images are displayed in the window 701 and the cancel button would cancel the display in the 701 area; col. 16:19-26: the desired image A is dragged to, and dropped in the neighborhood of another image B displayed in a position in which the operator wants to replace the image A with the image B, as shown in FIG. 10b. As a result, the desired image A is moved to the position in which the image B has been located, while the image B is moved to the original position of the desired image A, as shown in FIG. 10c. Thus, equivalent to cancelling, the cancelled image is moved to the original position).
As per claim 6, Sakata et al. teaches
wherein the thumbnail image is displayed in a selection screen area which is an area for displaying the thumbnail image, in a state of being associated with the image related to the file selected by a user (fig. 9: the thumbnails 1002 and 1003 shown on the right thumbnail panel are selected and the enlarged images are displayed in the window 701).
As per claim 7, Sakata et al. teaches
display an image related to another file different from the image related to the file selected by the user while avoiding the selection screen area (col. 16:19-26: the desired image A is dragged to, and dropped in the neighborhood of another image B displayed in a position in which the operator wants to replace the image A with the image B, as shown in FIG. 10b. As a result, the desired image A is moved to the position in which the image B has been located, while the image B is moved to the original position of the desired image A, as shown in FIG. 10c. Thus, any image in a different file or folder can be selected for displayed int the 503 area of fig. 5).
As per claim 8, Sakata et al. teaches
in a case where the thumbnail image is selected, move the selection screen area (col. 33:5-9: The operator then presses the button of the mouse 212 or the like. and moves (drags) the cursor to the other point 1312 on the image 1302 by moving the mouse 212 with maintaining pressed state of the button).
As per claim 9, Sakata et al. teaches
display an aggregation of instruction units that accept instructions from a user, and in a case where the user selects the image related to the file or the thumbnail image, change the display of the aggregation of the instruction units displayed in the second peripheral area (col. 15:30-51: FIG. 7 shows a case where the icon 711 shown in FIG. 8 has been selected. The three images 751, 752 and 753 are displayed on the work area 701 in the same arrangement as the icon 711, i.e., by aligning these images in the vertical direction. On the other hand, FIG. 8 shows a case where the icon 710 has been selected. Thus, the arrangement of images can be changed by such a simple operation as to select the icon.).
As per claim 10, Sakata et al. teaches
in a case where the user selects the image related to the file, reduce the display of the aggregation of the instruction units or not display the aggregation of the instruction units (fig. 7: reduction, enlargement, etc.; fig. 18: joining part etc.).
As per claim 11, Sakata et al. teaches
in a case where the user selects the file, move the aggregation of the instruction units according to the display of the enlarged thumbnail image (col. 25:61-65: the images are thus enlarged on the joining work area 701 at a predetermined magnification rate, and displayed on the joining work area 2301. This makes it easy for the operator to specify joining points).
As per claim 16, Sakata et al. teaches
wherein the thumbnail image is displayed in a selection screen area which is an area for displaying the thumbnail image, in a state of being associated with the image related to the file selected by a user (fig. 9: the thumbnails 1002 and 1003 shown on the right thumbnail panel are selected and the enlarged images are displayed in the window 701; col. 13, line 43 to col. 14, line 15: a desired image can also be selected by moving the cursor onto the corresponding reduced image and clicking the button of the mouse 212 or the like, instead of specifying the file name in the file name display area. The selected image display area 503 is an area for displaying an image of the image data file selected by specifying the file name in the file name display area 501, or by specifying the corresponding thumbnail in the reduced image display area 502. The selected images may be displayed in the following modes: a standard display mode for displaying the selected image of a standard size, a full screen display mode for scaling up or down the display frame of the selected image to display the entire frame of the selected image, and a variable magnification display mode for displaying the selected image enlarged or reduced to predetermined magnification desired by the operator),
display an image related to another file different from the image related to the file selected by the user while avoiding the selection screen area (fig. 5: the display screen is made up of three areas: a file name display area 501
occupying almost the upper half of the left side of the screen, a reduced image display area 502 occupying the lower side
of the file name display area 501, and a selected image display area 503 occupying almost the right half of the screen. Thus, a user can select a different file while avoiding the selection screen area/thumbnail area).
Claims 12-15 claim similar subject matter as of claim 1 and are rejected based on the same subject matter as of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okamoto et al. (US 20070220438) teaches at para. 6: an icon generating device includes a mode selecting section and an icon generating section. The mode selecting section allows a user to select one display mode for each data file from among a plurality of display modes. The icon generating section generates icon data of each data file, for displaying an icon of the corresponding data file in the display mode selected for the corresponding data file. The icon generating section outputs the generated icon data of each data file.
Hunleth (US 20060184966) teaches at para. 85: the media item images can be cover art associated with each movie selection. Although the size of the blocks in FIG. 17 is too small to permit detailed illustration of this relatively large group of selection item images, in implementation, the level of magnification of the images is such that the identity of the movie can be discerned by its associated image, even if some or all of the text may be too small to be easily read.
Kang (US 20180367330) teaches at para. 72: for convenience of a user, the size or color of an image indicating a control mode located at the center of the screen may be displayed to be distinguished from the other images, and an icon may be displayed to become smaller as the icon moves away from the center of the screen.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINH BLACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2163 7/1/2025
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163