DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/24/2026 has been entered. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1, 9, and 8 have been amended. Claims 1, 4-9, and 15-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-10, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With respect to item II.A. of Applicant’s response, this is simply a statement regarding the claims and specification and does not provide an argument.
With respect to item II.B. of Applicant’s response, the Examiner cannot concur. Applicant asserts the cited portions of the Islam reference are “directed to inter-camera spatial calibration” and therefore “do not disclosing using a recognized visible calibration target or scene feature to determine the claimed array-level configuration, much less a configuration that includes arranging the plurality of imaging devices in different types and grouping, including infra-red/color groupings and spherical arrays”. A review of the amended claim language shows the claim language recites “at least one of” with respect to: 1) groups of a certain number of imaging devices; 2) groups of infra-red and color imaging devices; and 3) arrays of imaging devices in a spherical structure. The claim language only requires one of the three cited groups. Islam discloses a certain number of imaging device as recited by item 209 of FIG. 2 and cited in the rejection. Therefore, Islam discloses the claim language.
With respect to item II.C. of Applicant’s response, as noted above Islam discloses the limitation as explained in the response to item II.B of Applicant’s response.
With respect to item II.D. of Applicant’s response, as noted above Islam discloses the limitation as explained in the response to item II.B of Applicant’s response.
With respect to item II.E. of Applicant’s response, Examiner cannot concur. The cited accuracy as motivation to combine Islam and Liu is valid for using mounted cameras, as disclosed by Liu, with the invention disclosed by Islam. As explained by paragraph [0003] of Liu cited in the Office Action, providing cameras with the ability to move through mounting them on robots or motion stages allows the machine vision system to perform vision tasks with increased accuracy.
With respect to item III. of Applicant’s response, as noted above Islam discloses the limitation as explained in the response to item II.B of Applicant’s response.
With respect to item IV. of Applicant’s response, as noted above Islam discloses the limitation as explained in the response to item II.B of Applicant’s response.
For the reasons listed above, the 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 15, and 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. US 2021/0012534 A1, hereafter Islam, in view of Liu et al. US 2019/0308326 A1, hereafter Liu, further in view of Rowell et al. US 2019/0158813 A1, hereafter Rowell.
Regarding claim 1, Islam discloses a machine vision and control system to capture images using camera and to calibrate the cameras using the images (method and system for performing automatic camera calibration for a scanning system) [title], the machine vision and control system comprising:
a machine vision system including:
a plurality of imaging devices to capture or detect one of (1) visible calibration target or (2) feature within a scene or capture volume for volumetric data capture (3D calibration target; control circuit receives a first set of calibration images via the communication interface from the first camera, wherein the first set of calibration images capture the first set of faces of the polyhedron and capture the first set of 2D calibration patterns disposed respectively on the first set of faces 201; control circuit receives a second set of one or more calibration images via the communication interface from the second camera, wherein the second set of one or more calibration images capture the additional face of the polyhedron 203) [abstract; FIG. 2];
a processor (control circuit may include one or more processors) [0035] to determine a configuration of the plurality of imaging devices using the captured or detected visible calibration target or feature (control circuit determines, based on first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates, a transformation function for describing a spatial relationship between the first camera and the second camera 209) [FIG. 2],
wherein the determined configuration includes arranging the plurality of imaging devices in an array of different types and groupings of imaging devices including at least one of groups of a certain number of imaging devices, groups of infra-red and color imaging devices, and arrays of imaging devices in a spherical structure to perform the volumetric capture (control circuit determines, based on first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates, a transformation function for describing a spatial relationship between the first camera and the second camera 209) [FIG. 2],
the processor to automatically calibrate the plurality of imaging devices using the arrangement of the plurality of imaging devices in an array of different types and groupings of imaging devices (camera calibration according to steps 201-209) [0045]; and
a control system (robot operation system 101) including motorized device (robot) [0023],
wherein the processor automatically adjusts, positions, aligns, and calibrates the motorized device of the control system using the arrangement of the plurality of imaging devices in an array of different types and groupings of imaging devices (after camera calibration has been performed and when an object other than the 3D pattern is disposed on a first surface of the platform, control circuit generates a 3D model for representing the object, wherein the 3D model is generated based on the transformation function, based on images of the object 211; 3D model of may facilitate an ability of a robot to interact with the object; picking up the object) [FIG. 2; 0023; 0024].
However, while Islam discloses using a pattern to determine a camera configuration to generate a 3D object for a robot to interact with the corresponding real world object, Islam fails to explicitly disclose automatically adjust, position, align, and calibrate lens parameters, including focus and aperture; motorized device mounts on which the plurality of imaging devices is placed, wherein the processor automatically adjusts, positions, aligns, and calibrates the motorized device mounts of the control system using the arrangement of the plurality of imaging devices in an array of different types and grouping of imaging devices.
Liu, in an analogous environment, discloses motorized device mounts on which the plurality of imaging devices is placed (robot 105 with a camera 110 mounted thereon; in some embodiments, more than one camera can be used) [0038; 0084], wherein the processor automatically adjusts, positions, aligns, and calibrates the motorized device mounts of the control system using the arrangement of the plurality of imaging devices in an array of different types and grouping of imaging devices (the motion controller can be the machine vision master…the motion controller can control the pose and movement of the robot and to cause the machine vision processor to acquire images…cause the machine vision processor to perform the calibration described herein) [0039].
Islam and Liu are analogous because they are both related to calibration of cameras for machine vision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mounted cameras, as disclosed by Liu, with the invention disclosed by Islam, the motivation being accuracy [0003].
Further, Rowell, in an analogous environment, discloses the processor automatically adjusts, positions, aligns, and calibrates lens parameters needed including focus and aperture (real time camera setting 902…video sequences captured using camera configurations comprising one or more camera setting (e.g., baseline, zoom, focus aperture; slight changes to the position of one or more lenses…an auto re-calibration process that modifies 3D calibration metadata in real time to correct for changes in the position of one or more camera module components) [0119; 0135].
Islam and Liu and Rowell are analogous because they are related to calibration of a plurality of cameras. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lens auto adjustment for calibration, as disclosed by Rowell, with the invention disclosed by Islam and Liu, the motivation being compensating for intrinsic lens parameters [0004].
Regarding claim 4, Islam, Liu, and Rowell address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses the control system manually activates or initiates a control process of the processor, wherein the control process includes adjusting, positioning, aligning, and calibrating (control system 115 can manipulate the pose of robot 105, e.g., based on analysis of image data from camera 110) [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the control process, as disclosed by Liu, with the invention disclosed by Islam, the motivation being accuracy [0003].
Regarding claim 8, Islam, Liu, and Rowell address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Islam further discloses lenses electronically connected to the plurality of imaging devices (lens) [0030].
Claims 9 are drawn to a method implemented by the control system of claims 1, and are therefore rejected in the same manner as above.
Regarding claim 15, Islam, Liu, and Rowell address all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses wherein adjusting, positioning, aligning, and calibrating the plurality of imaging devices comprises manually activating or initiating adjusting, positioning, aligning, and calibrating of the plurality of imaging devices (control system 115 can manipulate the pose of robot 105, e.g., based on analysis of image data from camera 110) [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the control process, as disclosed by Liu, with the invention disclosed by Islam, the motivation being accuracy [0003].
Regarding claim 18-19, non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims 18-20 are drawn to the instructions corresponding to the method of claims 9 and 16. Therefore, non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims 18-19 correspond to method claims 9 and 16 and are rejected for the same reasons of unpatentability as used above.
Claims 5, 6, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam and Liu in view of Yi-Ping Hung “A Simple Real-Time Method for Calibrating a Camera Mounted on A Robot For Three Dimensional Machine Vision”, hereafter Hung.
Regarding claim 5, Islam, Liu, and Rowell address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, the combination fails to disclose the processor continuously aligns and calibrates the control system according to defined conditions.
Hung, in an analogous environment, discloses the processor continuously aligns and calibrates the control system according to defined conditions (off-line stage…using observations of the calibration objects directly as described in section III.A…calibrate the robot as accurately as possible) [section IV].
Islam and Liu and Hung are analogous because they are both related to calibrating a camera mounted on a robot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use offline calibration, as disclosed by Hung, with the invention disclosed by Islam and Liu, the motivation being improving calibration accuracy [section I].
Regarding claim 6, Islam and Liu and Hung address all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Liu further discloses the defined conditions include when the system is not recording any images (off-line stage…using observations of the calibration objects directly as described in section III.A…calibrate the robot as accurately as possible) [section IV].
Claims 16 and 17 are drawn to a method implemented by the control system of claims 5 and 6, and are therefore rejected in the same manner as above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam and Liu in view of De Villiers et al. US 9,330,463 B2, hereafter De Villiers.
Regarding claim 7, Islam, Liu, and Rowell address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the motorized device mounts include one of (1) Brushless DC Motor (BLDC) or (2) Synchronous Servo Motor (SSVM).
De Villiers, in an analogous environment, discloses wherein the motorized device mounts include one of (1) Brushless DC Motor (BLDC) or (2) Synchronous Servo Motor (SSVM) (the mechanical actuator 18 is movable by servo motors) [column 3, lines 36-38].
Islam and Liu and De Villiers are analogous because they are both related to calibrating cameras on robot arms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the servo motor, as disclosed by De Villiers, with the invention disclosed by Islam and Liu, to obtain the predictable result of using various types of motors in the robot arms.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485