DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-48 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strong (US 2014/0340731, of record) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Petsch (US 2010/0141729, of record) herein after referred to as D2, Still further in view of Lei (US 20130017668) herein after referred to as D3.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j); the method comprising: directing a laser beam from a laser source onto a surface of the workpiece ([0012]), wherein the laser beam comprises projected light ([0076]).
D1 does not expressly teach the projected light having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm.
However, in [0076], D1 does teach (1030nm) which is part of the IR range).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0017]) a laser system having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm. ([0017]; 1.1 μm and 9.2 μm which includes the aforementioned ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
However, D1 in view of D2 does not teach wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an etching processes wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j); the method comprising: directing a laser beam from a laser source onto a surface of the workpiece ([0012]), wherein the laser beam comprises projected light ([0073]).
D1 does not expressly teach the projected light having a selected wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm However, in [0076], D1 does teach (1030nm) which is part of the IR range).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0017]) a laser system operating in the range of 1.4 μm to about 3 μm ([0017]; 1.1 μm and 9.2 μm which includes the aforementioned ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048]); wherein removing the material produces an ablation region on the one or more layers of the electrochromic device, the ablation region having at least one edge ([0077-0080]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein the edge is approximately orthogonal to the one or more layers ([0103]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein the edge has a stepped or tapered profile ([0086-0087]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein removing the material forms a bus bar pad expose region ([0092]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein: the workpiece comprises an electrochromic device including an electrochromic stack disposed between a first transparent conductive layer (115), distal from the laser source (480), and a second transparent conductive layer (130), proximal to the laser source; and removing the material ([0046]) comprises removing a portion of the second transparent conductive layer (130) and a portion of the electrochromic stack (125) to expose a surface of the first transparent conductive layer (115) without damaging the first transparent conductive layer (115) ([0083]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein the bus bar pad expose region ([0092]) comprises an exposed portion of the surface of the first transparent conductive layer (115).
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], and [0091]); wherein the selected near-infrared wavelength is within a range of 1.8 μm to 2.2 μm.
D1 does not expressly teach the projected light having a selected wavelength in a range of about 1.8 μm to about 2.2 μm However, in [0076], D1 does teach (1030nm) which is part of the IR range).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0017]) a laser system operating in the range of 1.8 μm to about 2.2 μm ([0017]; 1.1 μm and 9.2 μm which includes the aforementioned ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein the laser beam removes the material from the workpiece by ablation ([0077-0080]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein removing the material does not comprise moving the laser beam in a raster scan ([0077]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
D1 does not expressly teach wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0048-0049]); a laser system wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein the laser source is configured to deliver a pulsed laser beam, each pulse having an energy in a range of about 0.2 to 1500 mJ ([0076]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0091]); wherein each pulse has a duration of from about 1 ns to about 100 ns ([0077]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the pulsed laser beam has a pulse repetition rate of about 1 to 100,000 Hz ([0077]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the workpiece includes a large-area float glass substrate ([0008]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the float glass substrate ([0106]) has a surface area greater than 40 square feet ([0106]; carries out on a large-area substrate).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches a material removal system, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); comprising: a laser source (480) configured to direct a laser beam onto a surface of a workpiece (476/478/481), wherein the laser beam comprises projected light ([0076]), and a workpiece holder (477); wherein: the laser source (480) and the workpiece holder (477) are configured such that, during operation, the laser beam (480) ablates material from the workpiece (476/478/481; [0076]).
D1 does not expressly teach the projected light having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm. However, in [0076], D1 does teach (1030nm) which is part of the IR range).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0017]) a laser system having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm ([0017]; 1.1 μm and 9.2 μm which includes the aforementioned ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
However, D1 in view of D2 does not teach wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an etching processes wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 19, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the workpiece comprises an electrochromic device (fig. 1A) or a partially fabricated electrochromic device on a transparent substrate (105), and the material (110, 115, 125, 130) comprises one or more layers of the electrochromic device (Fig. 1A).
With regard to claim 20, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein removing the material produces an ablation region on the one or more layers of the electrochromic device, the ablation region having at least one edge ([0077-0080]).
With regard to claim 21, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 20, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the edge is approximately orthogonal to the one or more layers ([0103]).
With regard to claim 22, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 20, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the edge has a stepped or tapered profile ([0087]).
With regard to claim 23, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein removing the material forms a bus bar pad expose region ([0092]).
With regard to claim 24, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 23, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j, 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein: the workpiece comprises an electrochromic device ([0004]) including an electrochromic stack disposed between a first transparent conductive layer ([0007]), distal from the laser source (480), and a second transparent conductive layer (130), proximal to the laser source (480); and removing the material comprises removing a portion of the second transparent conductive layer (130) and a portion of the electrochromic stack (125) to expose a surface of the first transparent conductive layer (115) without damaging ([0083]) the first transparent conductive layer (115).
With regard to claim 25, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 24, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the bus bar pad expose region ([0092]) comprises an exposed portion of the surface of the first transparent conductive layer (115).
With regard to claim 26, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 does expressly disclose a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
D1 does not expressly teach wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0048-0049]); a laser system wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 27, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the laser source is configured to deliver a pulsed laser beam, each pulse having an energy in a range of about 0.2 to 1500 mJ ([0076]).
With regard to claim 28, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 27, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein each pulse has a duration of from about 1 ns to about 100 ns ([0077]).
With regard to claim 29, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 27, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the pulsed laser beam has a pulse repetition rate of about 1 to 100,000 Hz ([0077]).
With regard to claim 30, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the workpiece includes a large-area float glass substrate ([0106]; carries out on a large-area substrate).
With regard to claim 31, D1 teaches a structure, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); comprising: a substrate (105); and an electrochromic device (125) disposed on the substrate, the electrochromic device including one or more layers ([0012]) configured as an electrochromic stack disposed between a first transparent conductive layer (115), distal from a laser source, a second transparent conductive layer (130), proximal to the laser source (480), and an ablation region ([0010]); wherein: the ablation region is produced by directing a laser beam onto a surface of the electrochromic device in order to remove a portion of the second transparent conductive layer (130) and a portion of the electrochromic stack (125) without damaging the first transparent conductive layer (115).
D1 does not expressly teach the projected light having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm. However, in [0076], D1 does teach (1030nm) which is part of the IR range).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0017]) a laser system having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm. ([0017]; 1.1 μm and 9.2 μm which includes the aforementioned ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
However, D1 in view of D2 does not teach wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an etching processes wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 32, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 31, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the ablation region has at least one edge ([0077-0080]).
With regard to claim 33, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 32, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the edge is approximately orthogonal to the one or more layers ([0103]).
With regard to claim 34, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 32, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the edge has a stepped or tapered profile ([0087]; the taper is a stepped contour).
With regard to claim 35, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 31, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the ablation region comprises a bus bar pad expose region ([0092]).
With regard to claim 36, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 35, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the bus bar pad expose region ([0092]) comprises an exposed portion of the first transparent conductive layer (115).
With regard to claim 37, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 31, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); further comprising a large-area float glass substrate ([0106]; carries out on a large-area substrate).
With regard to claim 38, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 37, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the float glass substrate ([0106]) has a surface area greater than 40 square feet ([0106]; carries out on a large-area substrate).
With regard to claim 39, D1 teaches a method of fabricating an optical device, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); the method comprising: removing material from the optical device (200) by directing a laser beam from a laser source onto a surface of the optical device, the optical device comprising a substrate (105) and an electrochromic stack ([0012]), the electrochromic stack being disposed between a first transparent conductive layer (115), distal from the laser source (480), and a second transparent conductive layer (130), proximal to the laser source (480); wherein removing the material comprises removing a portion of the second transparent conductive layer (130) and a portion of the electrochromic stack without damaging the first transparent conductive layer (115); wherein the laser beam comprises projected light ([0076]).
D1 does not expressly teach the projected light having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm. However, in [0076], D1 does teach (1030nm) which is part of the IR range).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0017]) a laser system having dual wavelengths, a selected first wavelength in a range of about 1.4 μm to about 3 μm. ([0017]; 1.1 μm and 9.2 μm which includes the aforementioned ranges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
However, D1 in view of D2 does not teach wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an etching processes wherein the projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with projected light simultaneously having dual wavelengths as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 40, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 39, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein removing the material produces an ablation region on the electrochromic stack, the ablation region having at least one edge ([0077-0080]).
With regard to claim 41, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 40, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the material comprises one or more layers of the optical device and the at least one edge is approximately orthogonal to the one or more layers ([0103]).
With regard to claim 42, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 40, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the edge has a stepped or tapered profile ([0087]; stepped contour).
With regard to claim 43, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 39, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein removing the material forms a bus bar pad expose region ([0092]).
With regard to claim 44, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 43, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the bus bar pad expose region ([0092]) comprises an exposed portion of the surface of the first transparent conductive layer (115).
With regard to claim 45, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 39, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the laser source (480) comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
D1 does not expressly teach wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches in at least ([0048-0049]); a laser system wherein the laser source comprises a thulium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 1.95 μm or a holmium laser operating at a selected wavelength of about 2.05 μm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with desired wavelengths of light as taught by D2, for the purpose of further processing and fabricating thin film devices while maintaining desired transmittance and absorption characteristics.
With regard to claim 46, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 39, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the laser source is configured to deliver a pulsed laser beam, each pulse having an energy in a range of about 0.2 to 1500 mJ ([0076]).
With regard to claim 47, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 46, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein each pulse has a duration of from about 1 ns to about 100 ns ([0077]).
With regard to claim 48, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 46, wherein D1 further teaches a method of removing material from a workpiece, in at least (Fig. 1a/1b, and 4j; and [0003-0004], [0048], [0076], [0077], and [0091]); wherein the pulsed laser beam has a pulse repetition rate of about 1 to 100,000 Hz ([0077]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881