DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 were previously pending and subject to final action filed 05/13/2025. In the response filed on 08/13/2025, claims 1, 4 13 and 18 were amended. Therefore, claims 1-19 are currently pending and subject to the final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/13/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recite the limitation of “and wherein the processor is configured to change a normal of the oral scan data so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data,”
Claim 4 recite the limitation of “a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data”
Claim 13 recite the limitation of “a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data”
Claim 18 recite the limitation of “and wherein a normal of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are changed so that the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are represented as reverse data of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data,”
Paragraph [0090] of specification filed on 08/19/2021 recites that as illustrated in Fig. 4, a normal of the oral scan data 10 is change; However, it is unclear what is a “normal” oral scan data 10. The specification does not appear to provide any references to allow the understanding a “normal oral scan data 10 vs a oral scan data according to one skilled in the art.
Dependent claims 2-3, 14-17, and 19 are rejected for fully incorporating the dependencies of their bases.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite the limitation of “and wherein the processor is configured to change a normal of the oral scan data so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data,”
Claim 4 recite the limitation of “a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data”
Claim 13 recite the limitation of “a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data”
Claim 18 recite the limitation of “and wherein a normal of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are changed so that the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are represented as reverse data of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data,”
Paragraph [0090] of specification filed on 08/19/2021 recites that as illustrated in Fig. 4, a normal of the oral scan data 10 is change; However, it is unclear what is a “normal” oral scan data 10. The specification does not appear to provide any references to allow the understanding a “normal oral scan data 10 vs an oral scan data according to one skilled in the art. For the purpose of examination, the examiner has interpreted a “normal” oral scan data as standard scan data.
Dependent claims 2-3, 14-17, and 19 are rejected for fully incorporating the dependencies of their bases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azernikov (US PGPUB: 20140278279 A1) in view of Kopelman (US PGPUB: 20150320320 A1) in view of FISKER (WO 2012/083960 Al, Pub Date: Jun. 28, 2012, hereinafter “Fisker”) in view of FISKER (US 20130209965 A1, Pub Date: Aug 15, 2013, hereinafter Fisker-9965).
Regarding independent claim 1, Azernikov teaches: a processor; (Azernikov – [0038] FIG. 5, a typical intra-oral scanning system (500) suitable for scanning a tooth preparation comprises a base unit (501) that serves as a housing for a microprocessor or computer)
a storage device: (Azernikov − [0031] storage and retrieval of digital 3D (three-dimensional) models)
and an oral scanner configured to scan an oral object (Azernikov − [0038] generated from images obtained by intra-oral scanning, or by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth. FIG. 5, a typical intra-oral scanning system (500) suitable for scanning;) and an impression model; (Azernikov − [0039] The impression may be scanned directly, for example by a table-top or box scanner. Images can be obtained by intra-oral scanning and using a table-top or box scanner to scan impression directly.)
wherein the processor is configured to: cause the storage device a storage unit configured to store oral scan data of the oral object which represents an oral model or an inside of a mouth of a patient obtained from the oral scanner (Azernikov − [0031 [0058] [0039] Intra-oral imaging technologies and products are currently available for use in scanning a patient's mouth to design a restoration. Examples include FastScan.RTM. (IOS Technologies, Inc.), CEREC.RTM. (Sirona), E4D (D4D Technologies), True Definition Scanner (3M ESPE), Trios.RTM. (3Shape), and iTero.TM. (Cadent/Align Technologies, Inc.). The intra-oral scanners may provide accurate acquisition and transfer of patient oral image information from the dental chair to the restoration designer. The impression may be scanned directly, for example by a table-top or box scanner.)
and selectively store impression scan data of the oral object which represents an impression model that is a frame of the oral model according to a preset determination condition; (Azernikov – [0039] Alternatively, the impression may be used to form a stone model which may then be scanned in the same manner. an impression of the preparation to be restored may be obtained by traditional impression making processes used in dental restoration, including forming an impression by the use of trays. The impression may be scanned directly, for example by a table-top or box scanner. Alternatively [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model. [0058] Fig. 17 searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704) Gingival (702) is the determination condition for selecting designed restorations of patient oral records.)
wherein the oral object is obtained by the impression model whose impression has been taken. (Azernikov – [0038] A 3D model (404') of a preparation (401'), as seen in FIG. 4b, FIG. 4b, may be generated from images obtained by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth.)
Azernikov teaches determination condition but does not explicitly teach guide selective storage of impression scan data
However, Kopelman teaches: determine whether the oral scan data corresponds to the determination condition and guide selective storage of the impression scan data; (Kopelman − [0037] AOI identifying module 115 is responsible for identifying areas of interest (AOIs) from intraoral scan data (e.g., intraoral images) and/or virtual 3D models generated from intraoral scan data. Areas indicative of receding gum, unclear margin line. Receding gum is gingival. The AOI identifying module 115 may, in identifying an AOI, and some or all of which may be stored in data store 110. [0072] At block 215, processing logic identifies one or more candidate intraoral areas of interest from the first intraoral image.)
and control a selection area corresponding to the determination condition, among the impression scan data, to be partially applied to a corresponding area of the oral scan data to obtain final scan data (Kopelman − Fig. 2A, 2B. At block 230, processing logic compares the second intraoral image to the first intraoral image. To compare intraoral images, processing logic determines an alignment between the intraoral images based on geometric features shared by these intraoral images. This may identify areas of interest such as tooth wear, cavities, and so forth (determination condition). [0133] FIG. 6 illustrates a screen shot 600 of an intraoral scan application. [0078] At block 248, a virtual 3D model of the dental site is generated. The virtual model 3D may be generated as discussed above. The virtual 3D model may be a virtual or digital model showing the surface features of the target area.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov and Kopelman as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. Adding the teaching of Kopelman provide Azernikov with area of interest module. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: to be partially applied to a corresponding area of the oral scan data so that the selection area in the oral scan data is supplemented by the impression scan data to obtain final scan data.
However, Fisker teaches: among the impression scan data, to be partially applied to a corresponding area of the oral scan data to obtain final scan data. (Fisker – [pdf page 3 ll. 24-28] providing first 3D representation of an objection, obtaining a second 3D representation by scanning modified object (impression scan data) and replacing a first subset of the first 3D representation with data from the second 3D representation (impression scan data) and updating the first 3D representation to represent the modified object (the final scan data).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kopelman and Fisker as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, and wherein the processor is configured to change a normal of the oral scan data so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the oral scan data.
However, Fisker-9965 teaches: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, (Fisker-9965 − the narrow bore is not clearly seen in Fig. 5C.)
and wherein the processor is configured to change a normal of the oral scan data so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the oral scan data. (Fisker-9965 − [0280] FIG. 5D shows an example of a screenshot of the 3D scan of the tooth 501 in FIG. 5C. In this screenshot the bore 508 of the damaged tooth 501 is clearly seen. The scan has been reversed compared to in FIG. 5C so that the scan of the narrow bore can be seen.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kopelman, Fisker and Fisker-9965 as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Azernikov teaches: wherein the determination condition comprises at least one of a plurality of conditions, comprising unclear indication of a margin line, presence of a post area or presence of an area comprising metal in the oral scan data. (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model.)
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Azernikov teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to allow a simulation unit to receive, from the storage device, information on areas neighboring the selection area and to automatically simulate the selection area before the selection area is applied to be replaced. (Azernikov – [0028] FIG. 17 shows a work flow diagram for generating restoration proposals. [0033] In an embodiment, a method for compact and descriptive representation of teeth shape and generation of automatic designs within CAD. CAD is simulation unit.)
Regarding independent claim 18, Azernikov teaches: A combined oral and impression scanning method comprising:
a first oral scan data storage step of storing first oral scan data by scanning an outer surface of an oral object, which represents an oral model, comprising an upper jaw model and a lower jaw model; (Azernikov − [0040] A plurality of scans may be obtained in order to form a suitable image of the patient's oral anatomy. For example, occlusal, lingual and buccal scans may be taken of the preparation and the opposing jaw. Fig. 6 show upper and lower jaw.)
a second oral scan data storage step of storing second oral scan data by scanning an inside of the oral object in a state in which the upper jaw model and the lower jaw model have been isolated from each other; (Azernikov − [0040-0041] A plurality of scans may be obtained in order to form a suitable image of the patient's oral anatomy. For example, occlusal, lingual and buccal scans may be taken of the preparation and the opposing jaw. Fig. 6 show upper and lower jaw. Fig. 7 show inside of the oral object.)
by scanning an impression model that is a frame of the oral model, (Azernikov − [0039] Alternatively, the impression may be used to form a stone model which may then be scanned in the same manner. an impression of the preparation to be restored may be obtained by traditional impression making processes used in dental restoration, including forming an impression by the use of trays. The impression may be scanned directly, for example by a table-top or box scanner.)
wherein the oral object is obtained by the impression model whose impression has been taken. (Azernikov – [0038] A 3D model (404') of a preparation (401'), as seen in FIG. 4b, FIG. 4b, may be generated from images obtained by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth.)
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: a selection area impression scan data comparison step of obtaining impression scan data of a selection area of the oral object comprising an occlusion state of the upper jaw model and the lower jaw model and comparing the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data
However, Kopelman teaches: a selection area impression scan data comparison step of obtaining impression scan data of a selection area of the oral object comprising an occlusion state of the upper jaw model and the lower jaw model and comparing the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data; (Azernikov − [0041] The AOI identifying module 115 may then compare the first virtual model to the second virtual model to determine a change in the dental site and identify an AOI to represent the change. [0076] The intraoral area of interest may be hidden or occluded in many views of the dental site.)
and a selection area impression scan data replacement application step of applying the impression scan data to the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data (Kopelman − [0037] AOI identifying module 115 is responsible for identifying areas of interest (AOIs) from intraoral scan data (e.g., intraoral images) and/or virtual 3D models generated from intraoral scan data. Areas indicative of receding gum, unclear margin line. Receding gum is gingival. The AOI identifying module 115 may, in identifying an AOI, and some or all of which may be stored in data store 110. [0072] At block 215, processing logic identifies one or more candidate intraoral areas of interest from the first intraoral image.)
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: by partially replacing the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov and Kopelman as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. Adding the teaching of Kopelman provide Azernikov with area of interest module. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: to be partially applied to a corresponding area of the oral scan data so that the selection area in the oral scan data is supplemented by the impression scan data to obtain final scan data.
However, Fisker teaches: by partially replacing the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data so that the selection area in the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data is supplemented by the impression scan data. (Fisker – [pdf page 3 ll. 24-28] providing first 3D representation of an objection, obtaining a second 3D representation by scanning modified object (impression scan data) and replacing a first subset of the first 3D representation with data from the second 3D representation (impression scan data) and updating the first 3D representation to represent the modified object (the final scan data).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kopelman and Fisker as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, and wherein a normal of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are changed so that the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are represented as reverse data of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data.
However, Fisker-9965 teaches: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, (Fisker-9965 − the narrow bore is not clearly seen in Fig. 5C.)
and wherein a normal of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are changed so that the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data are represented as reverse data of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the first oral scan data and the second oral scan data. (Fisker-9965 − [0280] FIG. 5D shows an example of a screenshot of the 3D scan of the tooth 501 in FIG. 5C. In this screenshot the bore 508 of the damaged tooth 501 is clearly seen. The scan has been reversed compared to in FIG. 5C so that the scan of the narrow bore can be seen.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kopelman, Fisker and Fisker-9965 as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 18, Azernikov teaches: wherein in the first oral scan data storage step, the upper jaw model and the lower jaw model face each other in a way to be occluded. (Azernikov − [0040] A plurality of scans may be obtained in order to form a suitable image of the patient's oral anatomy. For example, occlusal, lingual and buccal scans may be taken of the preparation and the opposing jaw.)
Claim(s) 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azernikov (US PGPUB: 20140278279 A1) in view of Kopelman (US PGPUB: 20150320320 A1) in view of FISKER (US 20130209965 A1, Pub Date: Aug 15, 2013, hereinafter Fisker-9965).
Regarding independent claim 4, Azernikov teaches: A combined oral and impression scanning system comprising:
an oral scan data storage step of storing oral scan data by scanning an oral object which represents an oral model or an inside of a mouth of a patient; (Azernikov − [0038] generated from images obtained by intra-oral scanning, or by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth. FIG. 5, a typical intra-oral scanning system (500) suitable for scanning;)
an impression mode change step of changing a mode of the oral scan data into an impression mode by determining the oral scan data so that the oral scan data corresponds to selectively stored impression scan data which represents an impression model that is a frame of the oral model; (Azernikov − [0039] Alternatively, the impression may be used to form a stone model which may then be scanned in the same manner. an impression of the preparation to be restored may be obtained by traditional impression making processes used in dental restoration, including forming an impression by the use of trays. The impression may be scanned directly, for example by a table-top or box scanner. Alternatively [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model. [0058] Fig. 17 searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704) Gingival (702) is the determination condition for selecting designed restorations of patient oral records.)
wherein the oral object is obtained by the impression model whose impression has been taken. (Azernikov – [0038] A 3D model (404') of a preparation (401'), as seen in FIG. 4b, FIG. 4b, may be generated from images obtained by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth.)
Azernikov does not explicitly teach a selection area replacement application step of partially obtaining scan data of a selection area among the impression scan data
However, Kopelman teaches: a selection area replacement application step of partially obtaining scan data of a selection area among the impression scan data and applying the impression scan data to the oral scan data having the changed impression mode; (Kopelman − [0037] AOI identifying module 115 is responsible for identifying areas of interest (AOIs) from intraoral scan data (e.g., intraoral images) and/or virtual 3D models generated from intraoral scan data. Areas indicative of receding gum, unclear margin line. Receding gum is gingival. The AOI identifying module 115 may, in identifying an AOI, and some or all of which may be stored in data store 110. [0072] At block 215, processing logic identifies one or more candidate intraoral areas of interest from the first intraoral image.)
and a final scan datum acquisition step of changing again, into an oral mode which is an initial mode, (Kopelman − [0077] At block 245, processing logic determines whether the intraoral scan session is complete. If so, the method continues to block 248. If additional intraoral images are to be taken and processed, the method returns to block 220.) the impression mode of the oral scan data to which the impression scan data has been applied in the selection area and obtaining a final scan data, (Kopelman − [0078] At block 248, a virtual 3D model of the dental site is generated. The virtual model 3D may be generated as discussed above. The virtual 3D model may be a virtual or digital model showing the surface features of the target area.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, and Kopelman as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, and wherein in the impression mode change step, a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the oral scan data.
However, Fisker-9965 teaches: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, (Fisker-9965 − the narrow bore is not clearly seen in Fig. 5C.)
and wherein in the impression mode change step, a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the oral scan data. (Fisker-9965 − [0280] FIG. 5D shows an example of a screenshot of the 3D scan of the tooth 501 in FIG. 5C. In this screenshot the bore 508 of the damaged tooth 501 is clearly seen. The scan has been reversed compared to in FIG. 5C so that the scan of the narrow bore can be seen.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kopelman, and Fisker-9965 as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 4, Azernikov teaches further comprising a prosthetics production step of transmitting the final data to a design program so that prosthetics is fabricated. (Azernikov − [0058] After obtaining the final restoration proposal, the method may further comprise the step of forming a physical dental restoration from the restoration proposal, such as by a computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) process (1708) for milling restorations.)
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 4, Azernikov teaches wherein the oral object comprises an oral model or an inside of a mouth of a patient. (Azernikov − [0038] A 3D model (404') of a preparation (401'), as seen in FIG. 4b, may be generated from images obtained by intra-oral scanning, or by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth.)
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 4, Azernikov teaches further comprising an impression scan data storage determination step of selectively storing the impression scan data depending on whether the oral scan data comprises a preset determination condition after the oral scan data storage step. (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model. [0058] Fig. 17 searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704) Gingival (702) is the determination condition for selecting designed restorations of patient oral records.)
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 7, Azernikov teaches: wherein the determination condition comprises at least one of a plurality of conditions, comprising unclear indication of a margin line, presence of a post area or presence of an area comprising metal in the oral scan data. (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model.)
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 8, Azernikov teaches: wherein the impression scan data comprises data stored by selectively scanning only a portion corresponding to a portion of oral scan data corresponding to the determination condition in an impression model. (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model.)
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 4, Azernikov does not explicitly teach: the margin line is unclear
However, Kopelman teaches: wherein: the impression mode change step comprises indicating a margin line in the impression scan data by using an impression material when it is determined that indication of the margin line is unclear in the oral scan data in the oral scan data storage step, and the margin line is applied to the oral scan data and indicated when the final scan data is obtained. (Kopelman − [0037] AOI identifying module 115 is responsible for identifying areas of interest (AOIs) from intraoral scan data (e.g., intraoral images) and/or virtual 3D models generated from intraoral scan data. Areas indicative of receding gum, unclear margin line. Receding gum is gingival. The AOI identifying module 115 may, in identifying an AOI, and some or all of which may be stored in data store 110. [0072] At block 215, processing logic identifies one or more candidate intraoral areas of interest from the first intraoral image.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kopelman, and Fisker-9965 as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 4, Azernikov teaches: wherein the oral scan data storage step comprises a post area scan step of converting a mode of the post area into an impression mode when it is determined that the selection area is a post area by scanning the oral object and applying the selection area by replacing previously stored impression scan data. (Azernikov – [0058] The method further comprises obtaining a margin line of at least one preparation from the scan data (1702); encoding a margin line (1703); searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704); optionally, indexing the previously designed restorations by similarity measurement for efficient retrieval of one proposal or a plurality of proposals; retrieving at least one design proposal that comprises a 3D image of the proposal; aligning the design proposal with the 3D image of the preparation model (1705);)
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 11, Azernikov teaches: wherein the post area scan step comprises: a display step of displaying the post area; (Azernikov – [0076] second computing device comprises a display module for viewing the restoration proposal)
an impression mode change step of selectively obtaining oral scan data of the post area, converting a mode of the oral scan data into the impression mode, and obtaining impression scan data; (Azernikov – [0058] The method further comprises obtaining a margin line of at least one preparation from the scan data (1702); encoding a margin line (1703); searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704); optionally, indexing the previously designed restorations by similarity measurement for efficient retrieval of one proposal or a plurality of proposals; retrieving at least one design proposal that comprises a 3D image of the proposal; aligning the design proposal with the 3D image of the preparation model (1705);)
and an embossing scan data application step of obtaining embossing scan data of the post area by changing the impression mode and applying the embossing scan data to the impression scan data by partially replacing the impression scan data. (Azernikov – [0058] Optionally, indexing the previously designed restorations by similarity measurement for efficient retrieval of one proposal or a plurality of proposals; retrieving at least one design proposal that comprises a 3D image of the proposal; aligning the design proposal with the 3D image of the preparation model (1705);)
Claim(s) 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azernikov (US PGPUB: 20140278279 A1) in view of Kim (US PGPUB: 20160157967 A1) in view of FISKER (WO 2012/083960 Al, Pub Date: Jun. 28, 2012, hereinafter “Fisker”) in view of FISKER (US 20130209965 A1, Pub Date: Aug 15, 2013, hereinafter Fisker-9965).
Regarding independent claim 13, Azernikov teaches: A combined oral and impression scanning method comprising:
an oral scan data acquisition step of obtaining, by a scanner, oral scan data of an oral object comprising a post area,; (Azernikov − [0038] generated from images obtained by intra-oral scanning, or by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth. FIG. 5, a typical intra-oral scanning system (500) suitable for scanning;)
wherein the oral object represents an oral model or an inside of a mouth of a patient; (Azernikov − [0031 [0058] [0039] Intra-oral imaging technologies and products are currently available for use in scanning a patient's mouth to design a restoration. Examples include FastScan.RTM. (IOS Technologies, Inc.), CEREC.RTM. (Sirona), E4D (D4D Technologies), True Definition Scanner (3M ESPE), Trios.RTM. (3Shape), and iTero.TM. (Cadent/Align Technologies, Inc.). The intra-oral scanners may provide accurate acquisition and transfer of patient oral image information from the dental chair to the restoration designer.)
a selection area designation step of designating the post area as an object area for an impression scan; (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model. [0058] Fig. 17 searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restored-ions for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704) Gingival (702) is the determination condition for selecting designed restorations of patient oral records. )
to correspond to an impression scan data which represents an impression model that is a frame of the oral model (Azernikov – [0039] Alternatively, the impression may be used to form a stone model which may then be scanned in the same manner. an impression of the preparation to be restored may be obtained by traditional impression making processes used in dental restoration, including forming an impression by the use of trays. The impression may be scanned directly, for example by a table-top or box scanner. Alternatively [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model. [0058] Fig. 17 searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704) Gingival (702) is the determination condition for selecting designed restorations of patient oral records.)
an impression scan data acquisition step of obtaining impression scan data of the selection area designated as the object area for the impression scan; (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] (2) accessing a case repository of similar previously designed restoration cases, where each case comprises a digital 3D model of a shape and a shape identifier that can be indexed and searched efficiently by similarity; [0041] identify margin line of a scanned model of a patient record. Gingival (702) is the determination condition for identifying margin line in patient 3D model. [0058] Fig. 17 searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704) Gingival (702) is the determination condition for selecting designed restorations of patient oral records.)
and a data aligned step of aligning the oral scan data and the obtained impression scan data of the selection area. (Azernikov − [0031] [0058] retrieving at least one design proposal that comprises a 3D image of the proposal; aligning the design proposal with the 3D image of the preparation model (1705))
wherein the oral object is obtained by the impression model whose impression has been taken. (Azernikov – [0038] A 3D model (404') of a preparation (401'), as seen in FIG. 4b, FIG. 4b, may be generated from images obtained by scanning a physical impression from the patient's mouth.)
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: oral scan data is reversed
However, Kim teaches: an impression mode change step of changing a mode of the oral scan data into an impression mode so that the oral scan data is reversed; (Kim − [0030] FIG. 4 is an exemplary view illustrating a reversing process for dimensionalizing an image matching groove in a primarily scanned image according to the first embodiment of the present invention;)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov and Kim as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. Adding the teaching of Kim provide Azernikov with reserve images of oral scans. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: so that the selection area in the oral scan data is supplemented by the impression scan data.
However, Fisker teaches: a data aligned step of aligning the oral scan data and the obtained impression scan data of the selection area so that the selection area in the oral scan data is supplemented by the impression scan data. (Fisker – [pdf page 3 ll. 20-28] aligning the first and second 3D representation and replacing a first subset of the first 3D representation with data from the second 3D representation (impression scan data) and updating the first 3D representation to represent the modified object (the final scan data).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kim and Fisker as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Azernikov does not explicitly teach: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, and wherein in the impression mode change step, a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the oral scan data.
However, Fisker-9965 teaches: wherein the selection area is a portion not clearly represented based on only the oral scan data, (Fisker-9965 − the narrow bore is not clearly seen in Fig. 5C.)
and wherein in the impression mode change step, a normal of the oral scan data is changed so that the oral scan data is represented as reverse data of the oral scan data to correspond to the impression scan data, and the impression scan data is aligned to the reverse data of the oral scan data. (Fisker-9965 − [0280] FIG. 5D shows an example of a screenshot of the 3D scan of the tooth 501 in FIG. 5C. In this screenshot the bore 508 of the damaged tooth 501 is clearly seen. The scan has been reversed compared to in FIG. 5C so that the scan of the narrow bore can be seen.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kim, Fisker and Fisker-9965 as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 13, Azernikov teaches: wherein the impression scan data is obtained by scanning an impression model which is a frame of an oral model through a scanner. (Azernikov − [0038] A 3D model (404') of a preparation (401'), as seen in FIG. 4b, may be generated from images obtained by intra-oral scanning,)
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 13, Azernikov teaches: wherein in the impression scan data acquisition step, the post area is obtained in an embossing form. (Azernikov − [0058] the method further comprises obtaining a margin line of at least one preparation from the scan data (1702); encoding a margin line (1703); searching a case repository (FIG. 3) of previously designed restorations for design proposals that are based on similarity measurements with the margin line of the preparation (1704);)
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 15, Azernikov does not explicitly teach: further comprising a re-reverse step of reversing again the oral scan data and impression scan data aligned in the data aligned step when the impression mode is released.
However, Kim teaches: further comprising a re-reverse step of reversing again the oral scan data and impression scan data aligned in the data aligned step when the impression mode is released. (Kim − [0024] obtaining an integrated scanned image considering a vertical dimension by reversing the second image matching groove so that an image of the second image matching groove is dimensionalized from the primarily scanned image,)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Azernikov, Kim, Fisker and Fisker-9965 as each invention relates to designing dental restoration by utilizing digital imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve intraoral scanning of a patient oral objects.
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 16, Azernikov does not explicitly teach: re-reverse step and obtaining final scan data by combining the oral scan data and the impression scan data.
However, Kim teaches: further comprising a final scan datum acquisition step of replacing the oral scan data with the impression scan data of the selection area in the re-reverse step and obtaining fina