DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 10/24/25 and RCE filed 12/23/25. Claim(s) 1, 17-18, 24, 26, 28, and 32-33 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and claims 12-13 and 20 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-11, 14-19, and 21-33 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 15-16, 18-19, 21-23, and 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzanpour (WO2017120680) in view of Endo (2017/0071814).
With respect to claim 1, Arzanpour discloses a self-supported device (5000, fig 10) for guiding motions of a target joint of a target body (hip in fig 10 and see pg. 12), the device comprising: a base structure (56, fig 10); a motion generator (60-65, 86-90; figs 9-10) connected to the base structure (see figs 9-10), the motion generator comprising a network of joints and linkages (see joints 57-59 and links 60-62 fig 9), the base structure rigidly supporting the motion generator (see pg. 12); a motion transfer system (59, 62, 67, fig 9) comprising at least one linear motion joint (see 61 moves as linear motion 84/85, fig 10); a load bearing system (66-68, fig 9) connected to the base structure (connected via 65 seen in fig 9), the load bearing system comprising a structure that includes at least a moving plate (sliding component 66, fig 9) connected to the motion transfer systems and a network of joints and links configured to constrain and/or actuate the plate to rotate about a center of rotation of the load bearing system (see pgs. 12-13 where the motion transfer actuates the rotary joints and the sliding plate as described in the description), the structure of the load bearing system being configured to support structural loads and transfer the structural loads through the device (see pg. 7, lines 10-13); and a target interface system (69-70, fig 9) connected to the moving plate of the load bearing system (see connection to 66 in fig 9) and configured to be mounted to the target body (see mounted onto the user’s leg and pg. 12, lines 6-7); wherein the motion transfer system is connected to the motion generator at one end (see the connections of 60 to actuator 59 via 56 in fig 9), and to the load bearing system at an opposite end (see 60 connected to 66 via 65 at the other end in fig 9), and wherein the center of rotation of the load bearing system approximately corresponding to a center of rotation of the target joint of the target body (see the rotation at 87 being the same as the rotation of the hip 52 in fig 10); and wherein the moving plate of the load bearing system rotates with one DOF about the center of rotation of the load bearing system (see rotation 89 in fig 10), but lacks wherein the moving plate of the load bearing system rotates with two DOF.
However, Endo teaches an exoskeleton device (1, fig 1) comprising a plate (8R/8L, fig 1) connected via a ball joint (see [0038]) to links (7R/7L, fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the self-supported device (part 80) and moving plate (66) of Arzanpour to include a ball joint for 2DOF as taught by Endo so as to provide multiple degrees of freedom so the user can move more comfortably with less rigidity.
With respect to claim 2, the modified Arzanpour shows at least one actuator (62, fig 9 of Arzanpour) and at least one driver (see pg. 10, lines 10-15 of Arzanpour) in communication with the at least one actuator, a controller (28, fig 7 of Arzanpour) comprising an input unit, an output unit and a processing unit (see pg. 7, lines 14-15 of Arzanpour) , the controller sending output signals to command the at least one driver of the at least one actuator (see pg. 7, lines 10-34 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 4, the modified Arzanpour shows a position of the center of rotation of the load bearing system being adjustable by adjusting a connection point between the links of the load bearing system (note the position of the center of rotation of load bearing is adjustable via the adjustable straps 54 and 70 in fig 7 of Arzanpour) such that the center of rotation of the load bearing system approximately corresponds to a center of rotation of the target joint of the target body (note the load bearing system rotates with the knee and hip and thus the center of rotation corresponds to the joints).
With respect to claim 5, the modified Arzanpour shows the structure of the load bearing system is a passive structure (see pg. 11, lines 19-34 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 6, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion transfer system comprises at least one rotary joint (joints 59 and 67 with rotation as shown in fig 10 of Arzanpour) and a network of linkages connecting the at least one linear-motion joint to the at least one rotary joint (see connection to rotary joints via base 56 in fig 9 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 7, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion transfer system converts a motion actuated by the at least one actuator to the load bearing system (actuated by 62; see pg. 12, lines 13-15 of Arzanpour) and provides corresponding rotational motion of the at least one DOF of the load bearing system and through the target interfacing system to the target joint of the target body (see pg. 12, lines 15-34 of Arzanpour; note the actuator allows motion of joint 59).
With respect to claim 8, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion generator is active and the at least one actuator is positioned within the motion generator (see actuators 60-61 are active in the motion generator fig 9 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 9, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion generator is passive (responses 88-89 of motion generator is passive when the motor is driven; see pg. 12, lines 31-34 of Arzanpour), the at least one actuator is positioned within the motion transfer system (see 62 in the motion transfer system of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 10, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion transfer system (note the motion assistance system 5000 in fig 10 of Arzanpour comprises two devices 2000 for either side) further comprises at least one additional actuator (62, fig 9 of Arzanpour), a driver (see pg. 10, lines 10-15 of Arzanpour) being in communication to the at least one additional actuator (see pg. 7 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 11, the modified Arzanpour shows the output unit of the controller sending signals to the driver of at least one additional actuator (see pg. 7, lines 10-34 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 15, the modified Arzanpour shows the at least one driver of the at least one actuator is in communication with the controller by wired connections or wirelessly (see pg. 10, lines 1-6 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 16, the modified Arzanpour shows the target interfacing system is adjustable (strap 54 in fig 9 and pg. 11, lines 20-23 of Arzanpour) to allow connection between the load bearing system and the target body to be flexible and compliant without restricting rotational motion of either the load bearing system or the target joint of the target body (note the adjustable strap allows the body and the system to be fitted to the particular user specific for his or her needs).
With respect to claim 18, the modified Arzanpour shows a motion assistance system, the system comprising the self-supported device for guiding motions of a target joint as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); and at least one additional joint system (the joint system of claim 1 is one hip joint and the additional joint system is the other hip joint (the motion assistance system 5000 in fig 10 of Arzanpour comprises two devices 2000 for either side; symmetrical sides of the exoskeleton) connected in series to the self-supported device (see connection to device and in series via belt 54 in fig 9 of Arzanpour) to allow an additional at least one DOF (hip motion) corresponding to at least one additional target joint (second hip), the at least one additional joint system being connected to the base structure of the load bearing system of the self-supported device (see connection to base 56/55 in fig 9 of Arzanpour would be duplicated), a position of a connection between the self-supported device and the additional joint system being adjustable (adjustable via belt 54 in fig 9 of Arzanpour) the at least one additional joint system comprising a network of links (links 60-62 fig 9 of Arzanpour), a connection point between some of the links being adjustable to adjust a position of the at least one additional joint system with respect to the self-supported device (see attaching portion 54 and 70 in fig 9 of Arzanpour allows adjusting).
With respect to claim 19, the modified Arzanpour shows the one additional joint system is a rotary joint system (using fig 9 for describing; joint 59, fig 9 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 21, the modified Arzanpour shows at least one additional self-supported device (two or more guiding and detecting devices connected in series; see pg. 12, lines 23-31 of Arzanpour) for allowing motions of at least one additional target joint (ankle and knee; see fig 22 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 22, as best understood, the modified Arzanpour shows at least one additional joint system (joints 59 and 67, fig 9 of Arzanpour) connected in series with the at least one additional self-supported device (see pg. 12, lines 23-31 of Arzanpour) to allow an additional two or more DOFs at the additional target joints (knee joint DOF and ankle joint DOF).
With respect to claim 23, the modified Arzanpour shows at least one actuator (62, fig 9 of Arzanpour) and at least one driver (see pg. 10, lines 10-15 of Arzanpour) in communication with the at least one actuator, a controller (28, fig 7 of Arzanpour) comprising an input unit, an output unit and a processing unit (see pg. 7, lines 14-15 of Arzanpour) , the controller sending output signals to command the at least one driver of the at least one actuator (see pg. 7, lines 10-34 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 25, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion transfer system (note the motion assistance system 5000 in fig 10 of Arzanpour comprises two devices 2000 for either side) further comprises at least one additional actuator (62, fig 9 of Arzanpour), a driver (see pg. 10, lines 10-15 of Arzanpour) being in communication to the at least one additional actuator (see pg. 7 of Arzanpour).
With respect to claim 28, Arzanpour discloses a self-supported device (5000, fig 10) for guiding motions of a target joint of a target body (hip in fig 10 and see pg. 12), the device comprising: a base structure (56, fig 10); a motion generator (60-65, 86-90; figs 9-10) connected to the base structure (see figs 9-10), the motion generator comprising a network of joints and linkages (see joints 57-59 and links 60-62 fig 9), the base structure rigidly supporting the motion generator (see pg. 12); a motion transfer system (actuators 59 and 67 fig 9) comprising at least two rotary joints (joints 59 and 67 with rotation as shown in fig 10), wherein axes of rotation of the at least two rotary joints are not parallel (see motions of 89 and 87 in fig 10 being perpendicular); a load bearing system (66-68, fig 9) connected to the base structure (connected via 65 seen in fig 9), the load bearing system comprising a structure that includes at least a moving plate (sliding component 66, fig 9) connected to the motion transfer systems and a network of joints and links configured to constrain and/or actuate the plate to rotate about a center of rotation of the load bearing system (see pgs. 12-13 where the motion transfer actuates the rotary joints and the sliding plate as described in the description), the structure of the load bearing system being configured to support structural loads and transfer the structural loads through the device (see pg. 7, lines 10-13); and a target interface system (69-70, fig 9) connected to the moving plate of the load bearing system (see connection to 66 in fig 9) and configured to be mounted to the target body (see mounted onto the user’s leg and pg. 12, lines 6-7); wherein the motion transfer system is connected to the motion generator at one end (see the connections of 65 to actuator 59 in fig 9), and to the load bearing system at an opposite end (see 65 connected to 66 at the other end in fig 9), and wherein the center of rotation of the load bearing system approximately corresponding to a center of rotation of the target joint of the target body (see the rotation at 87 being the same as the rotation of the hip 52 in fig 10); and wherein the moving plate of the load bearing system rotates with one DOF about the center of rotation of the load bearing system (see rotation 89 in fig 10) , but lacks wherein the moving plate of the load bearing system rotates with two DOF.
However, Endo teaches an exoskeleton device (1, fig 1) comprising a plate (8R/8L, fig 1) connected via a ball joint (see [0038]) to links (7R/7L, fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the self-supported device (part 80) and moving plate (66) of Arzanpour to include a ball joint for 2DOF as taught by Endo so as to provide multiple degrees of freedom so the user can move more comfortably with less rigidity.
With respect to claim 29, Arzanpour discloses axes of rotation of the at least two rotary joints are perpendicular (see motions of 89 and 87 in fig 10 being perpendicular).
With respect to claim 30, the modified Arzanpour shows the motion transfer system further comprising at least one linear-motion joint (see 61 moves as linear motion 84/85, fig 10) and a network of linkages connecting the at least one linear-motion joint to the at least two rotary joints (see connection to rotary joints via base 56 in fig 9).
With respect to claim 31, the modified Arzanpour shows at least one actuator and at least one driver in communication with the at least one actuator (not drawn in figs but see pg. 16), a controller (28, fig 7) comprising an input unit, an output unit and a processing unit (see SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION on pg. 2), the controller sending output signals to command the at least one driver of the at least one actuator (see SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION on pg. 2).
With respect to claim 33, the modified Arzanpour shows a motion assistance system, the system comprising the self-supported device for guiding motions of a target joint as claimed in claim 28 (see claim 28 rejection above); and at least one additional joint system (the joint system of claim 1 is one hip joint and the additional joint system is the other hip joint (the motion assistance system 5000 in fig 10 of Arzanpour comprises two devices 2000 for either side; symmetrical sides of the exoskeleton) connected in series to the self-supported device (see connection to device and in series via belt 54 in fig 9 of Arzanpour) to allow an additional at least one DOF (hip motion) corresponding to at least one additional target joint (second hip), the at least one additional joint system being connected to the base structure of the load bearing system of the self-supported device (see connection to base 56/55 in fig 9 of Arzanpour would be duplicated), a position of a connection between the self-supported device and the additional joint system being adjustable (adjustable via belt 54 in fig 9 of Arzanpour) the at least one additional joint system comprising a network of links (links 60-62 fig 9 of Arzanpour), a connection point between some of the links being adjustable to adjust a position of the at least one additional joint system with respect to the self-supported device (see attaching portion 54 and 70 in fig 9 of Arzanpour allows adjusting).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzanpour and Endo as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Guo (CN106956243).
With respect to claim 14, the modified Arzanpour shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the actuator and the driver are positioned remotely from the self-supported device, the motion transfer system comprising a pulley-cable system to transfer motions of the actuator to the load bearing system, the driver being in communication with the actuator by wired connection.
However, Guo teaches an self-supported device (II-VI, fig 1 fig 1) with a motion transfer system (II-IV; fig 1), an actuator (driver; 4, fig 2) and driver (driver winding drum; 5, fig 2), wherein the actuator and the driver are positioned remotely from the self-supported device (see 4 and 5 within backpack I in fig 2 and [0041]), the motion transfer system comprising a pulley-cable system (see wire rope 6 running from I through II-VI) to transfer motions of the to the load bearing system, the driver being in communication with the actuator by wired connection (see wired connection between 4 and 5 in fig 2 and [0042] of translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the driver and actuator of the modified Arzanpour with the driver, actuator, and pulley as taught by Guo so as to replace one known drive system for another to allow movement of the limb and make the hip structure less cumbersome by placing the actuator and driver on the user’s back.
Claim(s) 3, 17, 24, 26, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzanpour and Endo as applied to claims 1, 2, and 28 in view of Caires (2015/0025423).
With respect to claims 3, 17, 24, 26, and 32, Arzanpour discloses a controller (see SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION on pg. 2) and a motion detection and feedback system (35, fig 7) that comprises a plurality of sensors to measure a position and/or orientation of the network of joints and links (see pg. 7), the controller being in communication with the motion detection and feedback system to receive signals from the plurality of sensors wherein the motion detection and feedback system acts as a motion capture device (see pg. 19), but is silent regarding measuring the forces and/or torques acting between the network of joints and links and the forces and/or torques acting between the self-supported device and the self-supported device's environment.
However, Caires teaches an exoskeleton (1, fig 1) with a control system (1000, fig 31) and a motion detection and feedback system (sensors of 1020-1024, fig 31) that comprises a plurality of sensors to measure the forces/torques acting between the network of joints and links and the forces/torques acting between the self-supported device and its environment (see [0207]), the controller being in communication with the motion detection and feedback system to receive the signals from the plurality of sensors wherein the motion detection and feedback system acts as a motion capture device (see [0205-207 and [0219]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Arzanpour to include the measuring of forces and/or torques of Caires so as to control the self-supported system in a feedback loop that allows continuous sensing and output of action based on the user’s needs (see [0025] of Caires).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arzanpour, Endo, and Caires as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Zoss (2013/0231595).
With respect to claim 27, the modified Arzanpour shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the motion detection and feedback system additionally comprises a machine vision device that is in communication with the controller.
However, Zoss teaches an exoskeleton (100, fig 1) comprising a motion detection and feedback system (sensors; 215-216, camera; 218; see [0020]) comprising a machine vision device (camera; 218, fig 1) that is in communication with a controller (CPU; 220 and [0020-21]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motion detection feedback system of the modified Arzanpour to include a machine vision device as taught by Zoss so as to provide additional feedback about the position in three dimensions (see [0023] of Zoss).
Response to Arguments
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 1-11, 14-19, and 21-33 have been addressed in the above rejections.
Examiner attempted to contact Applicant about a potential Examiner’s Amendment to place the application in condition for allowance but was unable to reach anyone with the provided correspondence information. Examiner suggests filing a Power of Attorney and Internet Communication Authorization Form to help move this application forward.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E BALLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785