DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 11-20, 22, and 24-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 19, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bijor et al. (US 2015/0228000), Lewis et al. (US 2018/0083961, hereinafter “Lewis ‘961”), Danciu (US 2015/0242597), and Nijim (US 2012/0054808).
Regarding claim 1, Bijor teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by a computing device, that the computing device is within a threshold distance of a playback device ([0013], “A device of the user can communicate with an audio system of the transport vehicle in order to control the use and output of media from a network service using the account of the user. In this way, examples described herein provide a mechanism to enable the user to control the media being outputted (or played) in the driver's vehicle during the duration of the transport service.” [0020], “The system can detect or determine that an event has occurred for enabling the user to control the media to be outputted on the output device of the driver.” [0021], “In other examples, the event can be detected in response to the user's device or driver's device being within a predetermined proximity of one another.” [0044], “Because the driver's device 120 can be connected to an output device in the driver's vehicle (via an auxiliary cable, cassette tape cable, or wirelessly through Bluetooth, etc.), when the media 143 is provided to the driver's device 143, it can be played using the output device in the driver's vehicle (e.g., speakers).” Figs. 1, 2A);
requesting, by the computing device, a delegate token from a media server to allow the playback device to access media items in a playback queue ([0058], “When the user makes the request to have media control, the media management component 134 can identify the user's token for the account with the media service provider associated with or that provides the media application (255).” [0059], “The media management component 134 can transmit the user's token for the media service provider (or, in another variation, a temporary token corresponding to the user's token) to the driver's device (260). The driver's service application, which includes a software development kit for a media application corresponding to the media service provider, can use the token to have access to and/or communicate with the media service provider. In this manner, the driver's service application can have access to media associated with the user's account with the media service provider so long as the driver's service application has the user's token.” [0031], “one or more components of the transport arrangement system 130 can be implemented on a computing device, such as a server, laptop, PC, etc., or on multiple computing devices that can communicate with driver devices and client devices over one or more networks.” [0043], “As discussed, according to some examples, the user's token 141 can be provided to the driver's service application 122 in response to the user indicating that he or she wants media control. The driver's device 120 can receive the media 134 associated with the user's media service account, such as a song or a playlist of songs.” Figs. 1, 2B),
receiving the delegate token from the media server ([0058], “When the user makes the request to have media control, the media management component 134 can identify the user's token for the account with the media service provider associated with or that provides the media application (255).” [0059], “The media management component 134 can transmit the user's token for the media service provider (or, in another variation, a temporary token corresponding to the user's token) to the driver's device (260). The driver's service application, which includes a software development kit for a media application corresponding to the media service provider, can use the token to have access to and/or communicate with the media service provider. In this manner, the driver's service application can have access to media associated with the user's account with the media service provider so long as the driver's service application has the user's token.” [0031], “one or more components of the transport arrangement system 130 can be implemented on a computing device, such as a server, laptop, PC, etc., or on multiple computing devices that can communicate with driver devices and client devices over one or more networks.” Figs. 1, 2B);
the playback device uses the delegate token received from the computing device to access the media items in the playback queue ([0043], “As discussed, according to some examples, the user's token 141 can be provided to the driver's service application 122 in response to the user indicating that he or she wants media control. The driver's device 120 can receive the media 134 associated with the user's media service account, such as a song or a playlist of songs.” [0059], “The driver's service application, which includes a software development kit for a media application corresponding to the media service provider, can use the token to have access to and/or communicate with the media service provider. In this manner, the driver's service application can have access to media associated with the user's account with the media service provider so long as the driver's service application has the user's token.” Figs. 1, 2B); and
initiating, by the computing device, playback of the media items, by a media application, on the playback device ([0059], “The driver's service application, which includes a software development kit for a media application corresponding to the media service provider, can use the token to have access to and/or communicate with the media service provider. In this manner, the driver's service application can have access to media associated with the user's account with the media service provider so long as the driver's service application has the user's token.” [0060], “The transport arrangement system 130 can detect or receive a trigger corresponding to an event for initiating media control at the driver's device for the user (265). In response, the transport arrangement system 130 can transmit a message to the driver's device to cause the driver's device to output media using the user's account and relinquish media control to the user (270). The driver can agree to or allow the user to have media control at this time (e.g., by providing input responding to the message). The user can control the output of the media and which media to be outputted by operating the media application on her client device, which causes the driver's device to receive the media (e.g., streamed music) from the media service provider based on the user's control.” Figs. 1, 2B).
Bijor does not expressly teach requesting, by the computing device, creation of the delegate token from the media server. Bijor also does not expressly teach the media server configured to create the delegate token in response to receiving an identifier of the playback device. While Bijor teaches receiving the delegate token from the media server ([0058]-[0059], Fig. 2B), Bijor does not expressly teach receiving, by the computing device, the delegate token from the media server. Bijor also does not expressly teach transferring, by the computing device, the delegate token to the playback device, wherein the transferring includes sending one or more transmissions from the computing device to the playback device, and the one or more transmissions include both the playback queue and the delegate token.
Lewis ‘961 teaches:
requesting, by a computing device, creation of a delegate token from a media server ([0047], “In some implementations, the token can be generated by server 102 and/or user device 108. … In some implementations where the token is generated by server 102, user device 108 can request the token from server 102, and server 102 can generate the token in response to the request and transmit the token to user device 108.”);
a media server configured to create the delegate token ([0047], “In some implementations, the token can be generated by server 102 and/or user device 108. … In some implementations where the token is generated by server 102, user device 108 can request the token from server 102, and server 102 can generate the token in response to the request and transmit the token to user device 108.”);
receiving, by the computing device, the delegate token from the media server ([0027], [0050], “At 308, user device 108 can transmit the token to user device 110. … Note that, in instances where the token is generated by server 202, user device 108 can receive the token from server 202 (e.g., from a transmission from server 202 at block 304, and/or at any other suitable time), and can then transmit the token to user device 110.” Figs. 3, 5);
transferring, by the computing device, the delegate token to a playback device ([0027], [0050], “At 308, user device 108 can transmit the token to user device 110. … Note that, in instances where the token is generated by server 202, user device 108 can receive the token from server 202 (e.g., from a transmission from server 202 at block 304, and/or at any other suitable time), and can then transmit the token to user device 110.” Figs. 3, 5),
wherein the transferring includes sending one or more transmissions from the computing device to the playback device, and the one or more transmissions include the delegate token ([0027], [0050], “At 308, user device 108 can transmit the token to user device 110. … Note that, in instances where the token is generated by server 202, user device 108 can receive the token from server 202 (e.g., from a transmission from server 202 at block 304, and/or at any other suitable time), and can then transmit the token to user device 110.” Figs. 3, 5).
In view of Lewis ‘961’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bijor to include requesting, by the computing device, creation of the delegate token from the media server, the media server configured to create the delegate token, receiving, by the computing device, the delegate token from the media server, and transferring, by the computing device, the delegate token to the playback device, wherein the transferring includes sending one or more transmissions from the computing device to the playback device, and the one or more transmissions include the delegate token. The modification would serve to produce an improved system enabled with an alternative and/or supplemental means of sending the delegate token to the playback device.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the media server is configured to create the delegate token in response to receiving an identifier of a playback device. The combination also does not expressly teach the one or more transmissions include both the playback queue and the delegate token.
Danciu teaches a media server is configured to create a token in response to receiving an identifier of a playback device ([0037], “The user can use the user device 105 to determine an IP address of the playback device 108, e.g., via a wireless network 152, or by manual entry.” [0053], “At block 302, processing logic receives an indication that a user of a user device wishes to play a content item on a playback device. The indication may be associated with a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier for a playback device. For example, an indication may be generated by the user device when the user submits a request to stream a video from the content sharing service using a smart phone or a tablet (e.g. by adding a video to a playlist). In response, the user device may submit an authorization request to a token server. The request may include a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier (e.g., an IP address, a name, etc.) for a playback device.” [0058], “At block 306, upon verification of the content ID, the user credential with the user ID, processing logic generates a token for the content ID, the user ID and the playback device identifier.”).
In view of Danciu’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination such that the media server is configured to create the delegate token in response to receiving an identifier of a playback device. The modification would serve to ensure that only authorized devices are enabled for playback of content.
While the combination teaches the one or more transmissions include the delegate token (Lewis ‘961: [0027], [0050]), the combination does not expressly teach the one or more transmissions include both the playback queue and the delegate token.
Nijim teaches one or more transmissions including a playback queue ([0038], “As stated above, in order to allow for the time stamped playlist to be synchronized with other user devices, the time stamped playlist may be stored in a place accessible by other user devices. Consistent with embodiments of the invention, the time stamped playlist may be synchronized between user devices without having to store the time stamped playlist on list server 125. For example, the most recent time stamped playlist may be synchronized directly between user devices over wired or wireless (e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc.) connections between the user devices. In other words, the time stamped playlist may be transmitted to a second user device directly over a local wired or wireless network (e.g. a home Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth, etc.) from a first user device. The first user device may comprise STB 150 or DVR 152, for example, and the second user device may comprise a mobile device (e.g. portable device 165).”).
In view of Nijim’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination such that the one or more transmissions include both the playback queue and the delegate token. The modification would provide a supplemental and/or alternative means of sharing media playlists between devices. The modification would thereby enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 8, Bijor teaches one or more non-transitory media having instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to facilitate a plurality of operations ([0078], [0082], Figs. 9-10). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, Bijor teaches a system comprising one or more processors configured to cause a plurality of operations ([0078], [0082], Figs. 9-10). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 3, the combination further teaches
receiving, by the computing device, a device identifier from the playback device, wherein:
requesting the delegate token is based on the device identifier, the delegate token indicates the device identifier (Danciu: [0037], “The user can use the user device 105 to determine an IP address of the playback device 108, e.g., via a wireless network 152, or by manual entry.” [0053], “At block 302, processing logic receives an indication that a user of a user device wishes to play a content item on a playback device. The indication may be associated with a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier for a playback device. For example, an indication may be generated by the user device when the user submits a request to stream a video from the content sharing service using a smart phone or a tablet (e.g. by adding a video to a playlist). In response, the user device may submit an authorization request to a token server. The request may include a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier (e.g., an IP address, a name, etc.) for a playback device.” [0058], “At block 306, upon verification of the content ID, the user credential with the user ID, processing logic generates a token for the content ID, the user ID and the playback device identifier.”), and
the delegate token allows the playback device to access the media items through a media service account corresponding to the computing device (Bijor: [0059], “The driver's service application, which includes a software development kit for a media application corresponding to the media service provider, can use the token to have access to and/or communicate with the media service provider. In this manner, the driver's service application can have access to media associated with the user's account with the media service provider so long as the driver's service application has the user's token.” Figs. 1, 2B).
Regarding claim 4, the combination further teaches
wherein the delegate token is configured to be usable only by the playback device to access the media items in the playback queue (Bijor: [0038], “Once the designated client service application 112 is linked with the media application 114 (e.g., the user's transport service account and the user's media service account is linked), the media management component 134 can access the token 141 for that user and provide the token 141 (or an associated temporary token) to the driver device 120 when the user requests media control. The media management component 134 can provide the token 141 to the driver device 120 of the driver that has been arranged to provide the transport service for the user. In this manner, the driver device 120 can now act as a slave device for the user's client device 110 during the transport service. User inputs provided on the user's client device 110 can be provided to the media service provider 140, and the media service provider 140 can cause corresponding actions to be performed on the driver device 120, thereby giving the user's device client 110 control over a functionality of the driver device 120 (e.g., the media play back functionality).” [0045], “Once the transport service is complete, the user can be prevented from having media control of the driver's device or vehicle. The media management component 134 can detect triggers or events that indicate that the media control is to be relinquished back to the driver. … In responsze to detecting the event, the transport arrangement system 130 can notify the driver's service application 122 to delete or remove the user's token 141. Deleting or removing the token 141 can revoke the user's media control.”), and further comprising
automatically transferring playback of the media items from the computing device to the media application on the playback device based on the delegate token (Bijor: [0038], [0044], “The user can operate the media application 114 on her client device 110 to play, arrange, and/or queue up a song(s) or playlist(s) from the media application 114. When the user provides inputs by operating the media application 114, the associated media service provider 140 can receive the inputs from the media application 114, and cause the appropriate media 143 (such as a particular song) to be provided or streamed to the driver's device 122.” [0052], “The detection of the event can be a trigger in which the system 130 passes control of the output of media from the driver's device 120 to the client's device 110. For example, while the user is waiting for the driver for pick up, the user can continue to consume media on her client device 110 using the media application 114. Typically, the media can be outputted to a speaker or earphones connected to the client device 110. When the system 130 detects the event (e.g., the driver is about to pick up the user or the client device 110 and the driver device 120 are within proximity of one another), the system 130 can then provide the user with control over the media to be outputted to the driver's device (220).”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination further teaches
wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to determining, by the computing device, that the computing device is proximate to the playback device based on a separation between the computing device and the playback device being within a separation limit that differs from the threshold distance (Bijor: [0021], “In other examples, the event can be detected in response to the user's device or driver's device being within a predetermined proximity of one another. Proximity can be determined using one or more of (i) GPS information corresponding to the current locations of the devices, or (ii) device aware resources, local on the respective devices, such as Bluetooth or other short-range wireless receivers (e.g., Wi-Fi), which detect other devices when in range (e.g., within ten feet). The system can detect the occurrence of the event by determining the distance between the current locations of the user's device and the driver's device (e.g., the proximity) and comparing the distance to a threshold distance. If the distance is less than the threshold distance, the system can determine that the devices are proximate to each other and determine that the transport service is about to begin.” [0042], “When the distance is equal to or less than a predefined distance, the client device 110 and/or the driver device 120 can determine that the two devices are proximate to each other and notify the media management component 134 of the event. In response to determining the event, the media management component 134 can then cause the driver device 120 to output media that is controlled by the user via the media application 114 on the user's device 110 (and therefore, output the media to the speakers of the vehicle).”).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, the combination teaches the limitations specified above, and teaches wherein requesting the delegate token from the media server comprises
sending, by the computing device, a media asset request to the media server, the media asset request including:
identifiers for the media items of the playback queue (Lewis ‘961: [0058], “the request can include an identifier corresponding to a media content item stored on server 102.” Fig. 4), and
an account identifier that identifies a user account used to enqueue the media items in a playback queue (Bijor: [0044], “The user can operate the media application 114 on her client device 110 to play, arrange, and/or queue up a song(s) or playlist(s) from the media application 114.” [0046]-[0047], [0058], “If the user subscribes or has previously subscribed to the media control feature, the user can request to operate the media application on her device to control the media to be played back in the driver's vehicle. When the user makes the request to have media control, the media management component 134 can identify the user's token for the account with the media service provider associated with or that provides the media application (255).”);
a device identifier for the computing device (Lewis ‘961: [0057], “process 400 can store an identifier of a user device in response to receiving a request to access the display device that includes the token corresponding to the display device.” [0058], “In some implementations, process 400 can verify that the user device is included in the ACL stored at block 402.” Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, the combination further teaches
wherein the receiving of the delegate token is in response to the media server receiving the identifier without information regarding the computing device being within the threshold distance (Danciu: [0037], “The user can use the user device 105 to determine an IP address of the playback device 108, e.g., via a wireless network 152, or by manual entry.” [0053], “At block 302, processing logic receives an indication that a user of a user device wishes to play a content item on a playback device. The indication may be associated with a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier for a playback device. For example, an indication may be generated by the user device when the user submits a request to stream a video from the content sharing service using a smart phone or a tablet (e.g. by adding a video to a playlist). In response, the user device may submit an authorization request to a token server. The request may include a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier (e.g., an IP address, a name, etc.) for a playback device.” [0058], “At block 306, upon verification of the content ID, the user credential with the user ID, processing logic generates a token for the content ID, the user ID and the playback device identifier.” That is, the media server receives the identifier and without receiving “information regarding the computing device being within the threshold distance.”), and
wherein the delegate token is configured to be usable only by the playback device to access the media items through a media service account corresponding to the computing device (Bijor: [0038], “Once the designated client service application 112 is linked with the media application 114 (e.g., the user's transport service account and the user's media service account is linked), the media management component 134 can access the token 141 for that user and provide the token 141 (or an associated temporary token) to the driver device 120 when the user requests media control. The media management component 134 can provide the token 141 to the driver device 120 of the driver that has been arranged to provide the transport service for the user. In this manner, the driver device 120 can now act as a slave device for the user's client device 110 during the transport service. User inputs provided on the user's client device 110 can be provided to the media service provider 140, and the media service provider 140 can cause corresponding actions to be performed on the driver device 120, thereby giving the user's device client 110 control over a functionality of the driver device 120 (e.g., the media play back functionality).” [0045], “Once the transport service is complete, the user can be prevented from having media control of the driver's device or vehicle. The media management component 134 can detect triggers or events that indicate that the media control is to be relinquished back to the driver. … In response to detecting the event, the transport arrangement system 130 can notify the driver's service application 122 to delete or remove the user's token 141. Deleting or removing the token 141 can revoke the user's media control.” [0044], “The user can operate the media application 114 on her client device 110 to play, arrange, and/or queue up a song(s) or playlist(s) from the media application 114.”).
Regarding claim 25, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach wherein the computing device transfers the delegate token to the playback device in response to determining that the playback device is not authorized to playback the media items.
Lewis ‘961 teaches sending a token to a device in response to determining the device is not authorized to playback media items ([0027], “In some such implementations, the server can receive requests to present particular media content items on the display device and can determine whether the user device that transmitted the request is included in the ACL associated with the display device based on the token. The server can then cause the requested media content item to be presented on the display device if it is determined that the user device is included in the ACL. The mechanisms described herein can thereby allow a first user device to transfer an authentication token to a second user device to authenticate the second user device to the display device, and can allow the second user device to request particular content items to be presented on the display device through the server. Upon authenticating the second user device to the display device with the transferred authentication token, the second user device can then, for example, receive media playback control of the display device.” [0049], “At 306, user device 108 can detect and invite user device 110 to be authenticated to communicate with the display device.”).
In view of Lewis ‘961’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination wherein the computing device transfers the delegate token to the playback device in response to determining that the playback device is not authorized to playback the media items. The modification would aid in ensuring that only authorized devices are able to access media content. The modification would thereby improve system security.
Regarding claim 27, the combination further teaches wherein the media server creates the delegate token in response to receiving an identifier of the playback device while not receiving data indicating the computing device is within the threshold distance of the playback device (Danciu: [0037], “The user can use the user device 105 to determine an IP address of the playback device 108, e.g., via a wireless network 152, or by manual entry.” [0053], “At block 302, processing logic receives an indication that a user of a user device wishes to play a content item on a playback device. The indication may be associated with a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier for a playback device. For example, an indication may be generated by the user device when the user submits a request to stream a video from the content sharing service using a smart phone or a tablet (e.g. by adding a video to a playlist). In response, the user device may submit an authorization request to a token server. The request may include a content ID for the content item, a user credential that may include or identify a user ID for the user, and a playback device identifier (e.g., an IP address, a name, etc.) for a playback device.” [0058], “At block 306, upon verification of the content ID, the user credential with the user ID, processing logic generates a token for the content ID, the user ID and the playback device identifier.” That is, the media server receives the identifier without “receiving data indicating the computing device is within the threshold distance of the playback device.”).
Claim(s) 2, 7, 14, 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bijor, Lewis ‘961, Danciu, Nijim, and Kuang et al. (US 2015/0128194).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach receiving, by the computing device, a device identifier of the playback device, wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to recognizing the device identifier of the playback device.
Kuang teaches receiving, by a computing device, a device identifier of a playback device, wherein playback on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to recognizing the device identifier of the playback device ([0165], “Multiple spaces have multiple playback devices, the mobile terminal receives a broadcast message broadcast by one of the multiple playback devices, the mobile terminal sends the scan request message to the playback device, and then the mobile terminal receives the scan response message sent by the playback device, which indicates that the mobile terminal is near to the playback device, thereby determining that the mobile terminal is located in a space in which the playback device is located, that is, the mobile terminal is positioned by using Bluetooth functions of the mobile terminal and the playback device.” [0222], “When detecting that a current location changes from the bedroom to the living room, the smart phone automatically disconnects a data link to the playback device 1 in the bedroom, and the movie played on the smart phone automatically pauses and a Wi-Fi direct connection is established to the playback device 2 in the living room. If the connection is established successfully, the movie played on the mobile phone continues to be played, and is pushed, by using the Wi-Fi display technology, to the playback device 2 in the living room for synchronous playback.”).
In view of Kuang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include receiving, by the computing device, a device identifier of the playback device, wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to recognizing the device identifier of the playback device. The modification would facilitate playback of preferred content on playback devices. The modification would enhance convenience for users.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, by the computing device, a broadcast signal from the playback device, the broadcast signal comprising a device identifier of the playback device, wherein playback of the media items on the playback device by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to recognizing the device identifier of the playback device.
Kuang teaches receiving, by a computing device, a broadcast signal from a playback device, the broadcast signal comprising a device identifier of the playback device, wherein playback on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to recognizing the device identifier of the playback device ([0165], “Multiple spaces have multiple playback devices, the mobile terminal receives a broadcast message broadcast by one of the multiple playback devices, the mobile terminal sends the scan request message to the playback device, and then the mobile terminal receives the scan response message sent by the playback device, which indicates that the mobile terminal is near to the playback device, thereby determining that the mobile terminal is located in a space in which the playback device is located, that is, the mobile terminal is positioned by using Bluetooth functions of the mobile terminal and the playback device.” [0222], “When detecting that a current location changes from the bedroom to the living room, the smart phone automatically disconnects a data link to the playback device 1 in the bedroom, and the movie played on the smart phone automatically pauses and a Wi-Fi direct connection is established to the playback device 2 in the living room. If the connection is established successfully, the movie played on the mobile phone continues to be played, and is pushed, by using the Wi-Fi display technology, to the playback device 2 in the living room for synchronous playback.”).
In view of Kuang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include receiving, by the computing device, a broadcast signal from the playback device, the broadcast signal comprising a device identifier of the playback device, wherein playback of the media items on the playback device by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to recognizing the device identifier of the playback device. The modification would facilitate playback of preferred content on playback devices. The modification would enhance convenience for users.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach, wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to determining, via one or more processors, that (a) the computing device is currently playing the playback queue and (b) the playback device is not currently playing the playback queue.
Kuang teaches wherein playback of media items by the media application on a playback device is initiated automatically in response to determining that a computing device is currently playing content and the playback device is not currently playing the content ([0006], “Embodiments of the present invention provide a method and a mobile terminal for switching a playback device, so that a mobile terminal can automatically switch a playback device during a displacement process, so that the playback device is switched automatically instead of manually, thereby improving a speed of switching the playback device, and also saving time for a user.” [0191], “as shown in FIG. 3, an embodiment of the present invention further provides a method for switching a playback device, used in a mobile terminal, where the mobile terminal, at least one first playback device located in a first space, and at least one second playback device located in a second space form a wireless local area network,….” [0192], “301: The mobile terminal determines that the mobile terminal is moved from the first space in which the mobile terminal is located to the second space, and acquires an identifier and playback progress information of first multimedia content played by the first playback device.” [0193], “302: The mobile terminal sends a wake-up command to the second playback device.” [0194], “The wake-up command is used to wake the second playback device up.” [0200], “304: The mobile terminal sends, to the second playback device, a playback command carrying the identifier and the playback progress information of the first multimedia content.” [0201], “The playback command is used to trigger the second playback device to play the first multimedia content from a start point that is determined according to the playback progress information.”).
In view of Kuang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to determining, via one or more processors, that (a) the computing device is currently playing the playback queue and (b) the playback device is not currently playing the playback queue. The modification would serve facilitate switching of content playback on multiple devices for users. The modification would thereby enhance the user experience.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach, prior to initiating playback of the media items on the playback device by the media application on the playback device: stopping, by the computing device, playback of a currently playing media item of the media items; recording, by the computing device, a time offset in the currently playing media item where playback is stopped; and storing, by the computing device, the time offset in corresponding media item data.
Kuang teaches, prior to initiating playback on a playback device:
stopping, by a computing device, playback of a currently playing media item ([0222], “When detecting that a current location changes from the bedroom to the living room, the smart phone automatically disconnects a data link to the playback device 1 in the bedroom, and the movie played on the smart phone automatically pauses and a Wi-Fi direct connection is established to the playback device 2 in the living room. If the connection is established successfully, the movie played on the mobile phone continues to be played, and is pushed, by using the Wi-Fi display technology, to the playback device 2 in the living room for synchronous playback.”);
recording, by the computing device, a time offset in the currently playing media item where playback is stopped; and storing, by the computing device, the time offset in corresponding media item data ([0017], “The playback progress information is used to indicate a time point, at which the first multimedia content played by the first playback device reaches, when the mobile terminal determines that the mobile terminal is moved from the first space in which the mobile terminal is located to the second space.” [0127], “The mobile terminal sends, to the second playback device, the playback command carrying the identifier and the playback progress information of the first multimedia content, where the playback command triggers the second playback device to determine the start point and then play the multimedia content from the start point.” [0203], [0222]).
In view of Kuang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, prior to initiating playback of the media items on the playback device by the media application on the playback device: stopping, by the computing device, playback of a currently playing media item of the media items; recording, by the computing device, a time offset in the currently playing media item where playback is stopped; and storing, by the computing device, the time offset in corresponding media item data. The modification would facilitate playback of preferred content on playback devices. The modification would enhance convenience for users.
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bijor, Lewis ‘961, Danciu, Nijim, Kuang, and Lee et al. (US 2013/0115974).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise detecting a position and orientation of the computing device using one or more sensors, and wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to the computing device being in a resting position based at least on the position of the computing device.
Kuang teaches detecting a position of a computing device using one or more sensors, wherein playback of media items by a media application on a playback device is initiated automatically in further response to the computing device being in a resting position based at least on the position of the computing device ([0165], “Multiple spaces have multiple playback devices, the mobile terminal receives a broadcast message broadcast by one of the multiple playback devices, the mobile terminal sends the scan request message to the playback device, and then the mobile terminal receives the scan response message sent by the playback device, which indicates that the mobile terminal is near to the playback device, thereby determining that the mobile terminal is located in a space in which the playback device is located, that is, the mobile terminal is positioned by using Bluetooth functions of the mobile terminal and the playback device.” [0222], “When detecting that a current location changes from the bedroom to the living room, the smart phone automatically disconnects a data link to the playback device 1 in the bedroom, and the movie played on the smart phone automatically pauses and a Wi-Fi direct connection is established to the playback device 2 in the living room. If the connection is established successfully, the movie played on the mobile phone continues to be played, and is pushed, by using the Wi-Fi display technology, to the playback device 2 in the living room for synchronous playback.”).
In view of Kuang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include detecting a position of the computing device using one or more sensors, and wherein playback of the media items by the media application on the playback device is initiated automatically in response to the computing device being in a resting position based at least on the position of the computing device. The modification would facilitate playback of preferred content on playback devices. The modification would enhance convenience for users.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach detecting an orientation of the computing device using one or more sensors.
Lee teaches detecting an orientation of a computing device using one or more sensors ([0092], “Referring to FIG. 3C, when the mobile terminal 100 is moved from the position of FIG. 3B to a position of FIG. 3C as the user continues to move, a device 200B and a device 200C may correspond to devices which are located the closest to the mobile terminal 100. However, when the user is facing device 200B, the user may desire to continuously play the contents on device 200B rather than on device 200C. Therefore, the mobile terminal 100 may select the device 200B as a target device from the plurality of devices 200A to 200C based on the sensed position and orientation, and transmit a signal to the device 200B for controlling the device 200B to continuously play the contents which are being played by the device 200A.” [0093], Figs. 3A-3D).
In view of Lee’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include detecting an orientation of the computing device using one or more sensors. The modification would further facilitate playback of preferred content on appropriate playback devices. The modification would enhance convenience for users.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bijor, Lewis ‘961, Danciu, Nijim, and Jantunen et al. (US 2014/0302773).
Regarding claim 22, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the computing device is configured to: communicatively access the playback device prior to the determining that the computing device is within the threshold distance of the playback device; and determine that the computing device is within the threshold distance of the playback device is based on a threshold distance value stored at the computing device.
Jantunen teaches wherein a computing device is configured to:
communicatively access a device prior to determining that the computing device is within a threshold distance of the device ([0074], “The device 401 detects the presence of the neighboring devices 403 via an ad-hoc network 405 and communicates with them via short broadcast messages.” Fig. 4A); and
determine that the computing device is within the threshold distance of the device based on a threshold distance value stored at the computing device ([0074], “The device 401 detects the presence of the neighboring devices 403 via an ad-hoc network 405 and communicates with them via short broadcast messages. The ad-hoc network 405 provides short range radio connectivity over which the devices communicate in connectionless fashion to learn of the presence of other devices. In one embodiment, the multi-device manager 107 of each of the devices may interact with the connectivity and positioning sensors 115 of the other devices to determine their position. As shown, the neighboring devices 403a and 403b are closer to device 401 than devices 403c-403e. The device 401 may compare the respective distances to each of its neighboring devices based on a maximum threshold distance value and determine that the user intends to create a multi-device presentation with the two devices that lie within the threshold distance.” Fig. 4A).
In view of Jantunen’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the computing device is configured to: communicatively access the playback device prior to the determining that the computing device is within the threshold distance of the playback device; and determine that the computing device is within the threshold distance of the playback device is based on a threshold distance value stored at the computing device. The modification would serve to facilitate determination of optimal nearby devices.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bijor, Lewis ‘961, Danciu, Nijim, and Lewis et al. (US 2016/0077710, hereinafter “Lewis ‘710”).
Regarding claim 24, the combination further wherein the media items are included in the playback queue, and wherein initiating playback of the media items comprises initiating playback of the playback queue at a speaker (Bijor: [0019], “In this manner, the driver's device can use the user's token to play or output the media associated with the user's account. The driver's mobile computing device can be coupled (e.g., using an auxiliary cable or via Bluetooth) to a speaker system, such as the speakers of the vehicle or another speaker source (e.g., a portable speaker system), thereby enabling the user's media to be played back by speakers coupled to the driver's device.” [0043], “The driver's device 120 can receive the media 134 associated with the user's media service account, such as a song or a playlist of songs.”).
However, the combination does not expressly teach initiating playback of the playback queue at a speaker of the playback device.
Lewis ‘710 teaches wherein playback of media items on a playback device is performed at a speaker of the playback device ([0022], “Output of media content can be obtained using visual devices such as display screens, audio devices such as audio player devices and speakers, force output devices such as motors or other actuators, etc.” [0059], “In block 322, the method checks whether the user has selected the continue option provided with the notification (or the user has otherwise commanded the continuation of output of the media content data). … If the user has selected a continue option, then in block 324 the method commands the stream of media content data to be output on the second (e.g., next) device starting at the place marker and starting with the received buffered content data.”).
In view of Lewis ‘710’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein playback of the media items on the playback device is performed at a speaker of the playback device. The modification would produce an improved system enabled with an alternative and/or supplemental output means for content presentation.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Bijor, Lewis ‘961, Danciu, Nijim, and Vinukonda et al. (US 2018/0205742).
Regarding claim 26, the combination further
wherein the transferring comprises sending a first data item to the playback device and sending a second data item to the playback device,
wherein the first data item includes the delegate token (Lewis ‘961: [0027], [0050], “At 308, user device 108 can transmit the token to user device 110. … Note that, in instances where the token is generated by server 202, user device 108 can receive the token from server 202 (e.g., from a transmission from server 202 at block 304, and/or at any other suitable time), and can then transmit the token to user device 110.” Figs. 3, 5), and
wherein the second data item is distinct from the first data item and includes the playback queue (Nijim: [0038], “As stated above, in order to allow for the time stamped playlist to be synchronized with other user devices, the time stamped playlist may be stored in a place accessible by other user devices. Consistent with embodiments of the invention, the time stamped playlist may be synchronized between user devices without having to store the time stamped playlist on list server 125. For example, the most recent time stamped playlist may be synchronized directly between user devices over wired or wireless (e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc.) connections between the user devices. In other words, the time stamped playlist may be transmitted to a second user device directly over a local wired or wireless network (e.g. a home Wi-Fi network, Bluetooth, etc.) from a first user device. The first user device may comprise STB 150 or DVR 152, for example, and the second user device may comprise a mobile device (e.g. portable device 165).”).
However, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the transferring comprises sending a first data item to the playback device concurrently with sending a second data item to the playback device.
Vinukonda teaches transferring comprises sending a first data item concurrently with sending a second data item, wherein the first data item includes a token, and wherein the second data item is distinct from the first data item and includes a playlist ([0014], “After a determination is made to authorize access to the content (via geographic, user, etc. validation(s)), a secure token is generated and associated with the IP address used by the user device in making the content access request. …The secure token is provided to the user device (having the IP address) from which the content access request is received, in response to the received content access request. In one example, the secure token is transmitted with a content master playlist comprising information for retrieving any of a number of variant media playlist.”).
In view of Vinukonda’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the transferring comprises sending a first data item to the playback device concurrently with sending a second data item to the playback device. The modification would serve to improve the efficiency of content distribution to client devices.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426