Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on May 12, 2026. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: There are two instances where M = 1, when it should be Mv =1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0098904), herein referred to as “Hindy”, in view of Muruganathan et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0291441), herein referred to as “Murganathan”. The Hindy reference claims priority to, and has support in, provisional application 62/986601. The Muruganathan reference claims priority to, and has support in, provision application 63/050550.
Regarding Claim 1,
Hindy teaches: A user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a base station via the transceiver, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a port selection codebook
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Note: The reference signals used to determine channel conditions are being interpreted as the “configuration information”.
wherein the configuration information includes a codebook type parameter indicating the port selection codebook and a parameter associated with a number of vectors Mv, wherein the number of vectors Mv is associated with whether to apply frequency domain basis vectors to the port selection codebook
and transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, the CSI report.
[0036] In order to reduce the UL feedback overhead, a Discrete Fourier transform (“DFT”)-based CSI compression of the spatial domain is applied to L dimensions per polarization, where L<N.sub.1N.sub.2. Similarly, additional compression in the frequency domain is applied, where each beam of the frequency-domain precoding vectors is transformed using an inverse DFT matrix to the delay domain, and the magnitude and phase values of a subset of the delay-domain coefficients are selected and fed back to the gNB as part of the CSI report.
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Note: The parameter here is the Type-II port-selection codebook. The frequency-domain precoding vectors are fed back to the base station as part of the CSI report, which includes the parameter aforementioned.
Hindy does not explicitly disclose identify a value of Mv based on the parameter, identify a first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and identify a second codebook when the value of M is 1, identify the CSI report based on the first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and based on the second codebook when the value of M is 1.
However, Muruganathan discloses identify a value of Mv based on the parameter, identify a first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and identify a second codebook when the value of M is 1, identify the CSI report based on the first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and based on the second codebook when the value of M is 1.
Note: Screenshot from PGPub for easier reading of mathematical equations. Here, FD basis vectors can be chosen depending on the size of N3 (where the threshold is 19). In particular then, Mv can be 2 given by the index i1,6,i here in paragraph [0049](refer to Applicant’s specification paragraph [0260]), and Mv can be 1 given the equation in paragraph [0045], where Applicant uses algebra to invert/substitute this equation and stating that Mv can “implicitly” be 1 (see Applicant’s specification paragraph [0252]).
Hindy and Muruganathan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hindy to include the concept of having a value of a vector M identifying different codebooks as taught by Muruganathan so as to aid in transmitting the CSI report.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the base station.
Hindy teaches: A base station (BS) in a communication system, the BS comprising: a transceiver; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: determine configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a port selection codebook
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Note: The reference signals used to determine channel conditions are being interpreted as the “configuration information”.
wherein the configuration information includes a codebook type parameter indicating the port selection codebook and a parameter associated with a number of vectors Mv, wherein the number of vectors Mv is associated with whether to apply frequency domain basis vectors to the port selection codebook
[0036] In order to reduce the UL feedback overhead, a Discrete Fourier transform (“DFT”)-based CSI compression of the spatial domain is applied to L dimensions per polarization, where L<N.sub.1N.sub.2. Similarly, additional compression in the frequency domain is applied, where each beam of the frequency-domain precoding vectors is transformed using an inverse DFT matrix to the delay domain, and the magnitude and phase values of a subset of the delay-domain coefficients are selected and fed back to the gNB as part of the CSI report.
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Note: The parameter here is the Type-II port-selection codebook. The frequency-domain precoding vectors are fed back to the base station as part of the CSI report, which includes the parameter aforementioned.
transmit a user equipment (UE) via the transceiver, the configuration information, and receive, from the UE via the transceiver, the CSI report based on the configuration information
[0036] In order to reduce the UL feedback overhead, a Discrete Fourier transform (“DFT”)-based CSI compression of the spatial domain is applied to L dimensions per polarization, where L<N.sub.1N.sub.2. Similarly, additional compression in the frequency domain is applied, where each beam of the frequency-domain precoding vectors is transformed using an inverse DFT matrix to the delay domain, and the magnitude and phase values of a subset of the delay-domain coefficients are selected and fed back to the gNB as part of the CSI report.
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Hindy does not explicitly disclose wherein the first codebook is identified when the value of Mv is 2 and the second codebook is identified when the value of Mv is 1, wherein the CSI report is based on the first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and based on the second codebook when the value of Mv is 1.
However, Muruganathan discloses wherein the first codebook is identified when the value of Mv is 2 and the second codebook is identified when the value of Mv is 1, wherein the CSI report is based on the first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and based on the second codebook when the value of Mv is 1.
Note: Screenshot from PGPub for easier reading of mathematical equations. Here, FD basis vectors can be chosen depending on the size of N3 (where the threshold is 19). In particular then, Mv can be 2 given by the index i1,6,i here in paragraph [0049](refer to Applicant’s specification paragraph [0260]), and Mv can be 1 given the equation in paragraph [0045], where Applicant uses algebra to invert/substitute this equation and stating that Mv can “implicitly” be 1 (see Applicant’s specification paragraph [0252]).
Hindy and Muruganathan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hindy to include the concept of having a value of a vector M identifying different codebooks as taught by Muruganathan so as to aid in transmitting the CSI report.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Hindy teaches: A method performed by user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station via the transceiver, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a port selection codebook
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Note: The reference signals used to determine channel conditions are being interpreted as the “configuration information”.
wherein the configuration information includes a codebook type parameter indicating the port selection codebook and a parameter associated with a number of vectors Mv, wherein the number of vectors Mv is associated with whether to apply frequency domain basis vectors to the port selection codebook
and transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, the CSI report.
[0036] In order to reduce the UL feedback overhead, a Discrete Fourier transform (“DFT”)-based CSI compression of the spatial domain is applied to L dimensions per polarization, where L<N.sub.1N.sub.2. Similarly, additional compression in the frequency domain is applied, where each beam of the frequency-domain precoding vectors is transformed using an inverse DFT matrix to the delay domain, and the magnitude and phase values of a subset of the delay-domain coefficients are selected and fed back to the gNB as part of the CSI report.
[0045] As depicted, the base unit 121 may transmit a set of reference signals 113 which are received at the remote unit 105. The remote unit 105 uses the set of reference signals 113 to determine channel conditions of the wireless communication link 111 between the remote unit 105 and the base unit 121. Based on the determined channel condition, the remote unit 105 transmits a CSI report 115 to the base unit 121, where the CSI report 115 includes a Type-II port-selection codebook, as described in greater detail below.
Note: The parameter here is the Type-II port-selection codebook. The frequency-domain precoding vectors are fed back to the base station as part of the CSI report, which includes the parameter aforementioned.
Hindy does not explicitly disclose identifying a value of Mv based on the parameter, identifying a first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and identifying a second codebook when the value of Mv is 1, identifying the CSI report based on the first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and based on the second codebook when the value of Mv is 1.
However, Muruganathan discloses identifying a value of Mv based on the parameter, identifying a first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and identifying a second codebook when the value of Mv is 1, identifying the CSI report based on the first codebook when the value of Mv is 2 and based on the second codebook when the value of Mv is 1.
Note: Screenshot from PGPub for easier reading of mathematical equations. Here, FD basis vectors can be chosen depending on the size of N3 (where the threshold is 19). In particular then, Mv can be 2 given by the index i1,6,i here in paragraph [0049](refer to Applicant’s specification paragraph [0260]), and Mv can be 1 given the equation in paragraph [0045], where Applicant uses algebra to invert/substitute this equation and stating that Mv can “implicitly” be 1 (see Applicant’s specification paragraph [0252]).
Hindy and Muruganathan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hindy to include the concept of having a value of a vector M identifying different codebooks as taught by Muruganathan so as to aid in transmitting the CSI report.
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy in view of Muruganathan, held further in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 version 16.2.0 Release 16, “5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for data”, July 2020, herein referred to as “TS 38.214.”
Regarding Claim 4,
Hindy in view of Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
However, TS 32.814 discloses: The UE of Claim 1, wherein, in case that the value of Mv is 1, a frequency basis vector corresponds to a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) vector bf determined by setting indices f = 0 and
n
3
(
0
)
=
0
in bf =
(Section 5.2.2.2.5, Page 85)
(Section 5.2.2.2.5, page 89)
(Section 5.2.2.2.5, Page 90)
Hindy in view of Muruganathan and TS 32.814 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hindy in view of Muruganathan to include the concept of a DFT vector as taught by TS 32.814 so as to aid in transmitting the CSI report.
Regarding Claim 6,
Hindy in view of Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 6.
However, TS 32.814 discloses: The UE of Claim 1, wherein, in case that the value of Mv is 2, the frequency basis vectors correspond to a discrete Fourier (DFT) vector bf determined by setting indices f = 0,1,… M - 1 and n_(3,l) = [n_3^((0) ..... n_3^((Mv - 1)) in bf =
, and wherein n_3^((0)) = 0 and remaining n_3^((1)) ..... n_3^((M - 1)) are indicated by a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) index ii,6.
(Section 5.2.2.2.5, Page 85)
(Section 5.2.2.2.5,, page 88)
(Section 5.2.2.2.5, Page 90)
Hindy in view of Muruganathan and TS 32.814 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hindy in view of Muruganathan to include the concept of a DFT vector as taught by TS 32.814 so as to aid in transmitting the CSI report.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 3, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy in view of Muruganathan, held further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, “Enhancements on CSI for Rel-17,” R1-2005248, August 17th-August 28th, 2020, herein referred to as “R1-2005248”.
Regarding Claim 3,
Hindy in view of Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose: The UE of Claim 1, wherein, in case that the value of Mv is= 1, a frequency domain basis vector is an all-one vector [ 1, 1, ... , 1]T.
However, R1-2005248 discloses: The UE of Claim 1, wherein, in case that the value of Mv is= 1, a frequency domain basis vector is an all-one vector [ 1, 1, ... , 1]T.
(Appendix Section A.1, page 14) In the following discussion, as mentioned in Section 2.2.2 and Section 2.3.1, we will consider an example where M = K = 1, L = P /2 and the restricted frequency domain basis set only includes a frequency basis with all the elements being 1.
Hindy in view of Muruganathan and R1-2005248 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to Type II Port Selection codebooks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hindy in view of Muruganathan to include the concept of fixed vectors that is all-ones as taught by R1-2005248 so as to reduce CSI overhead.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Response to Arguments
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 3-4, 6, 9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-20.
The following claims have been canceled: 2, 5, 10, 13, and 17.
There and no new claims.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411