DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed September 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9, 20, 21, and 26 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1-5, 10-19, 22-25, and 27-30 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on September 24, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-16, 19, 22-24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge) (WIPO International Publication # WO 2020/092715 A1) in view of HUANG et al. (hereinafter Huang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0037478 A1), and further in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0072340 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Edge teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) and user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 2 and 13), comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 13); one or more transceivers (transceiver, figure 13); and one or more processors (processor, figure 13) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
receiving a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration, the PRS configuration specifying PRS occasions having a first bandwidth, the first bandwidth, PRS occasions having a second bandwidth, and the second bandwidth ([0049]; “…indicate to the UE…increased PRS bandwidth, increased PRS subframes per positioning occasions…”; [0067]; [0145]; “…PRS (e.g., for OTDOA, RTT or AOD positioning) may be characterized and defined by a number of parameters, as described previously, comprising: (i) a reserved block of bandwidth (BW); (ii) the configuration index… (iii) the duration NPRs …”; [0146]; ; teaches different configuration for different bandwidth and the new PRS configuration may use increased PRS bandwidth and PRS transmission on new frequencies, and higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions in order to use a second PRS occasions configuration to be measure and reported);
performing one or more time-based measurements of one or more first PRS occasions transmitted by a first transmission-reception point (TRP), the one or more first PRS occasions having the first bandwidth ([0062]; [0067]; “…PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth…”; [0073]; teaches the UE performs time measurements using position methods such as OTDOA, ECID, AOA, RTT, AOD, based on received PRS having a first bandwidth sent by a TRP); and
perform one or more angle-based measurements of one or more second PRS occasions transmitted by the first TRP, the one or more second PRS occasions having the second bandwidth ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches the UE performs an angle-based measurement, such as AoA or RSRP measurements, when AoA or AoD are used of a second occasions)
However, Edge does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS configuration further specifies a switching pattern indicating first time periods during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and second time periods during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth; and performing measurements according to the switching pattern (although Edge does suggest switching between PRS configurations indicating bandwidth information and time interval for the PRS).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches and suggests wherein the PRS configuration (PRS configuration information) further specifies a switching pattern (measurement configuration) indicating first time periods (measurement window/duration) during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions (PRS sets; [0010]; “…where a PRS is sent in a form of a PRS resource set, each PRS resource set…”) having the first bandwidth (a first frequency) and second time periods (measurement window/duration) during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions (PRS sets) having the second bandwidth (a second frequency); and performing measurements according to the switching pattern ([0148]; [0215]-[0219]; “…a PRS measurement window configuration to a terminal, where the PRS measurement window configuration includes a receiving periodicity and window duration in the receiving periodicity, and the window duration is used for receiving a PRS…”; [0230]; teaches a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency as taught by Huang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge for the purpose of improving a capability of receiving and processing a DL PRS in order to improve positioning accuracy, as suggested by Huang.
However, Edge, as modified by Huang, does not explicitly disclose performing only one or more angle-based measurements of one or more second PRS occasions transmitted by the first TRP (although Edge does suggest performing angle-based measurements of the PRS occasions having a different bandwidth).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches performing only one or more angle-based measurements of one or more second PRS occasions transmitted by the first TRP ([0018]; “…the second positioning measurement result includes an angle of arrival AOA of the second PRS…”; [0146]; [0148] teaches the UE performing only an angle-based measurement, such as AOA, of the second PRS, the second PRS having a second, different bandwidth from the first PRS; figure 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE performing only an angle-based measurement, such as AOA, of the second PRS, the second PRS having a second, different bandwidth from the first PRS as taught by Wang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang, for the purpose of quickly and accurately determining a location of a terminal without occupying a large quantity of frequency domain resources in a licensed spectrum, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 2, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein the first bandwidth is larger than the second bandwidth ([0067]; teaches the second PRS bandwidth is increased therefore the second bandwidth is wider than the first).
Regarding claim 3, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches performing one or more angle-based measurements of the one or more first PRS occasions in addition to the one or more time-based measurements of the one or more first PRS occasions ([0062]; [0067]; teaches performing AoA or RSRP measurements and OTDA and RSTD measurements).
Regarding claim 4, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches reporting the one or more time-based measurements of the one or more first PRS occasions to a positioning entity; and reporting the one or more angle-based measurements of the one or more second PRS occasions to the positioning entity (location server, figure 1A; LMF, figure 2; [0063]; [0064]; teaches reporting the measurements to the location server).
Regarding claim 5, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein: the one or more time-based measurements comprise one or more reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements, one or more time-of-arrival (ToA) measurements, one or more transmission-to-reception (Tx-Rx) time difference measurements, one or more reception-to-transmission (Rx-Tx) time difference measurements, or any combination thereof, and the one or more angle-based measurements comprise one or more reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements, one or more angle-of-arrival (AoA) measurements, one or more angle-of-departure (AoD) measurements, or any combination thereof ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches performing AoA or RSRP measurements and OTDA and RSTD measurements).
Regarding claim 10, Edge discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose wherein: the switching pattern is a one-time switching pattern for a set of the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and a set of the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern, the switching pattern is a switching pattern for all the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and all the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern, or the switching pattern is a repeating switching pattern for all the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and all the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang further teaches and suggests wherein: the switching pattern (PRS configuration information) is a one-time switching pattern (measurement configuration) for a set of the PRS occasions (PRS sets; [0010]; “…where a PRS is sent in a form of a PRS resource set, each PRS resource set…”) having the first bandwidth (a first frequency) and a set of the PRS occasions (PRS sets) having the second bandwidth (a second frequency) that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern ([0148]; [0215]-[0219]; “…a PRS measurement window configuration to a terminal, where the PRS measurement window configuration includes a receiving periodicity and window duration in the receiving periodicity, and the window duration is used for receiving a PRS…”; [0230]; teaches a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency as taught by Huang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of improving a capability of receiving and processing a DL PRS in order to improve positioning accuracy, as suggested by Huang.
Regarding claim 11, Edge discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose receiving a first PRS configuration for PRS occasions having the first bandwidth; and receiving a second PRS configuration for PRS occasions having the second bandwidth, wherein all PRS occasions of the first PRS configuration and all PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration are for the same positioning frequency layer for the first TRP.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang further teaches and suggests receiving a first PRS configuration (PRS configuration information) for PRS occasions (PRS sets; [0010]; “…where a PRS is sent in a form of a PRS resource set, each PRS resource set…”) having the first bandwidth (a first frequency); and receiving a second PRS configuration (configuration information) for PRS occasions (PRS sets) having the second bandwidth (a second frequency), wherein all PRS occasions of the first PRS configuration and all PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration are for the same positioning frequency layer for the first TRP ([0148]; [0215]-[0219]; “…a PRS measurement window configuration to a terminal, where the PRS measurement window configuration includes a receiving periodicity and window duration in the receiving periodicity, and the window duration is used for receiving a PRS…”; [0230]; teaches a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency as taught by Huang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of improving a capability of receiving and processing a DL PRS in order to improve positioning accuracy, as suggested by Huang.
Regarding claim 12, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration that overlap PRS configurations of the first PRS configuration in time are muted ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; [0145]; “…PRS (e.g., for OTDOA, RTT or AOD positioning) may be characterized and defined by a number of parameters, as described previously, comprising: (i) a reserved block of bandwidth (BW); (ii) the configuration index… (iii) the duration NPRs; (iv) an optional muting pattern; and (v) a muting sequence periodicity…which can be implicitly included as part of the muting pattern…”; teaches different configuration patterns for different bandwidth and different possible positioning measurements as part of a muting pattern).
Regarding claim 13, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein: the first PRS configuration is associated with a first type of measurement report, the second PRS configuration is associated with a second type of measurement report, the first type of measurement report comprises a time-based or a time-and-angle-based measurement report or a time-only measurement report, and the second type of measurement report comprises an angle-only measurement report ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches performing AoA or RSRP measurements and OTDA and RSTD measurements and reporting the measurements to the location server).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Edge teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity (gNB, figure 2 and 11) and network entity, comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 11); one or more transceivers (communication module, figure 11); and one or more processors (processor, figure 11) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 2 and 13), a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration, the PRS configuration specifying PRS occasions having a first bandwidth, the first bandwidth, PRS occasions having a second bandwidth, and the second bandwidth ([0049]; “…indicate to the UE…increased PRS bandwidth, increased PRS subframes per positioning occasions…”; [0067]; [0145]; “…PRS (e.g., for OTDOA, RTT or AOD positioning) may be characterized and defined by a number of parameters, as described previously, comprising: (i) a reserved block of bandwidth (BW); (ii) the configuration index… (iii) the duration NPRs …”; [0146]; ; teaches different configuration for different bandwidth and the new PRS configuration may use increased PRS bandwidth and PRS transmission on new frequencies, and higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions in order to use a second PRS occasions configuration to be measure and reported);
receiving, from the UE, a first measurement report comprising one or more time-based measurements of one or more first PRS occasions having the first bandwidth, the one or more first PRS occasions transmitted by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) in the first bandwidth ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches the UE performs time measurements using position methods such as OTDOA, ECID, AOA, RTT, AOD, based on received PRS sent by a TRP); and
receiving, from the UE, a second measurement report comprising one or more angle-based measurements of one or more second PRS occasions, the one or more second PRS occasions transmitted by the first TRP in the second bandwidth ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches the gNB obtains an angle-based measurement, such as AoA or RSRP measurements, when AoA or AoD are used of a second occasions).
However, Edge does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS configuration further specifies a switching pattern indicating first time periods during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and second time periods during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth; and the one or more time-based measurements obtained according to the switching pattern (although Edge does suggest switching between PRS configurations indicating bandwidth information and time interval for the PRS).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches and suggests wherein the PRS configuration (PRS configuration information) further specifies a switching pattern (measurement configuration) indicating first time periods (measurement window/duration) during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions (PRS sets; [0010]; “…where a PRS is sent in a form of a PRS resource set, each PRS resource set…”) having the first bandwidth (a first frequency) and second time periods (measurement window/duration) during which the UE is expected to measure the PRS occasions (PRS sets) having the second bandwidth (a second frequency); and the one or more time-based measurements obtained according to the switching pattern ([0148]; [0215]-[0219]; “…a PRS measurement window configuration to a terminal, where the PRS measurement window configuration includes a receiving periodicity and window duration in the receiving periodicity, and the window duration is used for receiving a PRS…”; [0230]; teaches a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency as taught by Huang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge for the purpose of improving a capability of receiving and processing a DL PRS in order to improve positioning accuracy, as suggested by Huang.
However, Edge, as modified by Huang, does not explicitly disclose receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the UE, a second measurement report comprising only one or more angle-based measurements of one or more second PRS occasions (although Edge does suggest performing angle-based measurements of the PRS occasions having a different bandwidth).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the UE, a second measurement report comprising only one or more angle-based measurements of one or more second PRS occasions ([0018]; “…the second positioning measurement result includes an angle of arrival AOA of the second PRS…”; [0146]; [0148]; teaches the network device receives from the UE only an angle-based measurement, such as AOA, of the second PRS, the second PRS having a second, different bandwidth from the first PRS; figure 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the network device receives from the UE only an angle-based measurement, such as AOA, of the second PRS, the second PRS having a second, different bandwidth from the first PRS as taught by Wang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang, for the purpose of quickly and accurately determining a location of a terminal without occupying a large quantity of frequency domain resources in a licensed spectrum, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 15, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein the first bandwidth is larger than the second bandwidth ([0067]; teaches the second PRS bandwidth is increased therefore the second bandwidth is wider than the first).
Regarding claim 16, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches estimating a location of the UE based on the one or more time-based measurements; and refining the location of the UE based on the one or more angle-based measurements ([0051]; [0062]; [0067]; teaches estimating the location of the UE based on the performing OTDA and RSTD measurements and refining the location based on the AoA or RSRP measurements).
Regarding claim 19, Edge discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE, a first PRS configuration for the first TRP, the first PRS configuration specifying the first bandwidth and first PRS occasions, including the one or more first PRS occasions, having the first bandwidth; and transmitting, to the UE, a second PRS configuration for the first TRP, the second PRS configuration specifying the second bandwidth and second PRS occasions, including the one or more second PRS occasions, having a second bandwidth.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang further teaches and suggests transmitting, to the UE, a first PRS configuration (PRS configuration information) for the first TRP (TRP; [0150]), the first PRS configuration specifying the first bandwidth (a first frequency) and first PRS occasions (PRS sets), including the one or more first PRS occasions (PRS sets), having the first bandwidth; and transmitting, to the UE, a second PRS configuration (PRS configuration information) for the first TRP, the second PRS configuration specifying the second bandwidth (a second frequency) and second PRS occasions (PRS sets), including the one or more second PRS occasions, having a second bandwidth (a second frequency) ([0148]; [0149]; [0215]-[0219]; “…a PRS measurement window configuration to a terminal, where the PRS measurement window configuration includes a receiving periodicity and window duration in the receiving periodicity, and the window duration is used for receiving a PRS…”; [0230]; teaches a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency as taught by Huang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of improving a capability of receiving and processing a DL PRS in order to improve positioning accuracy, as suggested by Huang.
Regarding claim 22, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein all PRS occasions of the first PRS configuration and all PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration are for the same positioning frequency layer for the first TRP ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches the new PRS configuration may use increased PRS bandwidth and PRS transmission on new frequencies, and higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions in order to use a second PRS occasions configuration to be measure and reported).
Regarding claim 23, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration that overlap PRS configurations of the first PRS configuration in time are muted ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; [0145]; “…PRS (e.g., for OTDOA, RTT or AOD positioning) may be characterized and defined by a number of parameters, as described previously, comprising: (i) a reserved block of bandwidth (BW); (ii) the configuration index… (iii) the duration NPRs; (iv) an optional muting pattern; and (v) a muting sequence periodicity…which can be implicitly included as part of the muting pattern…”; teaches different configuration patterns for different bandwidth and different possible positioning measurements as part of a muting pattern).
Regarding claim 24, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein: the first PRS configuration is associated with a first type of measurement report, the second PRS configuration is associated with a second type of measurement report, the first type of measurement report comprises a time-and-angle-based measurement report or a time-only measurement report, and the second type of measurement report comprises an angle-based measurement report ([0062]; [0067]; [0073]; teaches performing AoA or RSRP measurements and OTDA and RSTD measurements and reporting the measurements to the location server).
Regarding claim 27, Edge discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose wherein: the switching pattern is a one-time switching pattern for a set of the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and a set of the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern, the switching pattern is a switching pattern for all the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and all the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern, or the switching pattern is a repeating switching pattern for all the PRS occasions having the first bandwidth and all the PRS occasions having the second bandwidth that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Huang further teaches and suggests wherein: the switching pattern (PRS configuration information) is a one-time switching pattern (measurement configuration) for a set of the PRS occasions (PRS sets; [0010]; “…where a PRS is sent in a form of a PRS resource set, each PRS resource set…”) having the first bandwidth (a first frequency) and a set of the PRS occasions (PRS sets) having the second bandwidth (a second frequency) that are scheduled after reception of the switching pattern ([0148]; [0215]-[0219]; “…a PRS measurement window configuration to a terminal, where the PRS measurement window configuration includes a receiving periodicity and window duration in the receiving periodicity, and the window duration is used for receiving a PRS…”; [0230]; teaches a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PRS configuration information specifying pattern in which a first measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a first frequency and a second measurement window/duration during which the UE is expected to measure PRS sets having a second frequency as taught by Huang with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of improving a capability of receiving and processing a DL PRS in order to improve positioning accuracy, as suggested by Huang.
Regarding claim 28, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, further teaches wherein: the network entity comprises a base station (gNB, figure 1A) serving the UE, and the base station forwards the first measurement report and the second measurement report to a location server (location server, figure 1A) ([0065]; teaches the gNB forwards the reports to a location server, LMF).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge) (WIPO International Publication # WO 2020/092715 A1) in view of HUANG et al. (hereinafter Huang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0037478 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0072340 A1), and further in view of CHA et al. (hereinafter Cha) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0020648 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose determining whether a line-of-sight (LOS) condition associated with at least one of the one or more time-based measurements has changed based on the one or more angle-based measurements; and pruning the at least one of the one or more time-based measurements based on determining that the LOS condition has changed more than a threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches and suggests determining whether a line-of-sight (LOS) condition associated with at least one of the one or more time-based measurements has changed based on the one or more angle-based measurements; and pruning the at least one of the one or more time-based measurements based on determining that the LOS condition has changed more than a threshold ([0420]; teaches determining LOS conditions for determining timing measurements and pruning based on the LOS condition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining LOS conditions for determining timing measurements as taught by Cha with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of performing timing measurements based on the PRS configurations, as suggested by Cha.
Regarding claim 18, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose determining a quasi-co-location (QCL) relation for a subsequent PRS occasion having the first bandwidth based on the one or more time-based measurements.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches and suggests determining a quasi-co-location (QCL) relation for a subsequent PRS occasion having the first bandwidth based on the one or more time-based measurements ([0387]; [0390]; [0435]; teaches determining QCL type for PRS occasions having PRS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining QCL type for PRS occasions having PRS resources as taught by Cha with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of performing timing measurements based on the PRS resources, as suggested by Cha.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge) (WIPO International Publication # WO 2020/092715 A1) in view of HUANG et al. (hereinafter Huang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0037478 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0072340 A1), and further in view of SI et al. (hereinafter Si) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0050163 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, discloses the UE performs time measurements using position methods based on received PRS, but may not explicitly disclose wherein: the first PRS configuration specifies a first number of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for PRS occasions of the first PRS configuration, the first bandwidth comprises the first number of BWPs, the second PRS configuration specifies a second number of BWPs for PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration, and the second bandwidth comprises the second number of BWPs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Si teaches and suggests wherein: the first PRS configuration specifies a first number of bandwidth parts (BWPs) for PRS occasions of the first PRS configuration, the first bandwidth comprises the first number of BWPs, the second PRS configuration specifies a second number of BWPs for PRS occasions of the second PRS configuration, and the second bandwidth comprises the second number of BWPs ([0049]; [0093]; [0094]; teaches the PRS configuration specifies the number of BWP for PRS resources and frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the PRS configuration specifies the number of BWP for PRS resources and frequency as taught by Si with the method for performing measurements of PRS occasions as disclosed by Edge, as modified by Huang and Wang, for the purpose of reporting measurement results in all or part of the BWPs, as suggested by Si.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed March 28, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 10-19, 22-25, and 27-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of HUANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0037478 A1).
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
December 22, 2025