DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 19 September 2025, the applicants amended claims 1, 8, 15, and 21, canceled claims 3, 10, and 17 and added claims 24-26.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-16 and 19-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the applicants allege, "neither of the cited references, when considered alone or in combination, appear to describe or render obvious the use of a multi-part publisher comprising an outer subscriber, parser iterator, and body part publisher" (page 13) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "an outer subscriber that operates to control flow of a multi-part data item as a stream of data parts provided by an upstream publisher; a parser iterator that operates to produce events from upstream; and a body part publisher that processes the stream of data parts received from the upstream publisher via the outer subscriber, for use by an inner subscriber". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest the functional aspects of the outer subscriber, iterator, body part publisher. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests the multi-part publisher including control of flow of data, iteratively parsing MIME content, and writing the MIME content to storage
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole (See 2141.02 "Differences Between Prior art and Claimed Invention).
According to the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims pertain to a publisher and subscriber pipeline intended for multipart MIME data. Brown discloses an outer subscriber as a routing application provides outbound message to the enhancement server process to parse and the routing application receiving the outbound email from the mail server (fig. 4, ¶0081). Brown discloses a parser iterator as the multipart MIME parser that loops and evaluates if there are more components to process; iteratively parse the multipart components; correspondingly processes the components such as "text/plain", "text/HTML" "message/deliverystatus", and other MIME components to save as variables in a temporary file (Brown, ¶0175-0177). Overall, Brown further discloses a process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Although, Brown does not explicitly disclose outer subscriber controlling the flow of multi part data. Carofiglio discloses consumers avoid flooding issues by requesting frames from producers as needed (Carofiglio, ¶0015). The cited prior art suggests the outer subscriber is responsive to consumer requests, the parser iterator iteratively processes multipart MIME components, and the bodypart publisher parsing for MIME components and writing them to storage.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest the functional aspects of the outer subscriber, iterator, body part publisher. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests the multi-part publisher including control of flow of data, iteratively parsing MIME content, and writing the MIME content to storage.
The applicants allege, "Brown ... does not appear to describe or render obvious, for example, wherein an outer subscriber can attach an inner subscriber to a body part publisher instance, by invoking subscribe on the body part publisher instance, wherein until the inner subscriber invokes or requests a new data body part, the parser is not required to produce new events from upstream, and is effectively suspended" (page 13) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "the inner subscriber is attached to the body part publisher instance by invoking subscribe on the body part publisher instance ... wherein until the inner subscriber invokes or requests a new data body part the parser iterator is not required to produce new events from upstream and is effectively suspended". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest a control of the flow between bodypart publisher and inner subscriber. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art discloses or suggests the parser awaits a request from the subscriber to process and publish more data
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole (See 2141.02 "Differences Between Prior art and Claimed Invention).
According to the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims pertain to controlling the flow of data by having a subscriber request the publisher effectively making the publisher wait for the subscriber request. Brown discloses the parser, outer subscriber, and body part publisher as explained above, but may not explicitly describe the flow control. Further, Carofiglio discloses: consumer/subscriber retrieves from the producer/publisher based on demand of consumption and avoiding flooding issues; the producer notifies consumer of cached frame; and producer notifies consumer of cached frame but waits for consumer to retrieve the cached frame to avoid flooding issues (Carofiglio, ¶0015, ¶0030). Additionally, Meijer discloses observer is attached to Observable collection via the notify property by calling the Add method (Meijer, ¶0039). Therefore, the cited prior art of record clearly discloses or suggests invocation of a subscription to the publisher instance and the parser / publisher does not request or process new data until a request is received from inner subscriber.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest a control of the flow between bodypart publisher and inner subscriber. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art discloses or suggests the parser awaits a request from the subscriber to process and publish more data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-16, and 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2002/0078158 A1) in view of Carofiglio et al. (US 2020/0329113 A1), and further in view of Meijer et al. (US 2011/0138403 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Brown discloses: a system for parsing multi-part data content, for use with a microservices or other computing environment, comprising:
a computer including one or more processors, that provides access to a microservices or other computing environment, for use with software applications (i.e., computer software environment for generating enhanced e-mail message in Brown, fig. 4, ¶0078);
wherein the system supports processing of streams involving one or more publishers and subscribers, wherein a publisher publishes a stream of data (i.e., mail server directs outbound e-mail to routing application in Brown, ¶0079, fig. 4), and
a subscriber consumes the data (i.e., recipient of the enhanced email in Brown, ¶0079, fig. 4); and
a multi-part publisher (i.e., rich media enhancement server process parsing the MIME content to extract attributes in Brown, fig. 21, ¶0169)
that operates to parse multi-part data content (i.e., multipart parsing to create enhanced email message in Brown, fig. 4, ¶0174),
wherein the multi-part publisher comprises: an outer subscriber (i.e., routing application; the routing application provides outbound message to the enhancement server process to parse; the routing application receiving the outbound email from the mail server in Brown, fig. 4, ¶0081);
a parser iterator that operates to produce events from upstream (i.e., multipart MIME parser; loop evaluates if there are more components to process; iteratively parse the multipart components; correspondingly processes the components such as "text/plain", "text/HTML" "message/deliverystatus", and other MIME components to save as variables in a temporary file in Brown, ¶0175-0177); and
a body part publisher that processes the stream of data parts received from the upstream publisher via the outer subscriber (i.e., multipart MIME parser correspondingly processes the components such as "text/plain", "text/HTML" "message/deliverystatus", and other MIME components to save as variables in a temporary file in Brown, ¶0176),
for use by an inner subscriber (i.e., rich media builder process; stringifies the MIME portions injected via a temporary file in Brown, ¶0191-0192),
until completion of the stream of data parts from the upstream publisher, whereupon the parser iterator produces an end part event (i.e., a method returning to previous recursion level after processing to an end of parts to process suggests an indication of an end event in Brown, ¶0177).
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses:
[an outer subscriber] that operates to control flow of a multi-part data item as a stream of data parts provided by an upstream publisher (i.e., consumers avoid flooding issues by requesting frames from producers as needed in Carofiglio, ¶0015), including that:
the inner subscriber is associated with a request for the multi-part data item to be provided as the stream of data parts (i.e., service subscription, request for a stream of data from a publisher to be consumed by multiple consumer services in Carofiglio, ¶0019);
the outer subscriber initially requests one or more of the data parts from the upstream publisher (i.e., retrieving content from local node by sending interest packets for relevant application frames in Carofiglio, ¶0018);
wherein the body part publisher continues to receive additional data parts of the multi-part data item from the upstream publisher, controlled by subsequent requests from the inner subscriber (i.e., consumer/subscriber retrieves from the producer/publisher based on demand of consumption and avoiding flooding issues in Carofiglio, ¶0015, ¶0030),
wherein until the inner subscriber invokes or requests a new data body part the parser iterator is not required to produce new events from upstream and is effectively suspended (i.e., producer is caching frames and notifies consumer of cached frame in Carofiglio, ¶0030), and
wherein the body part publisher waits for a request from the inner subscriber to request more data chunks, (i.e., producer notifies consumer of cached frame but waits for consumer to retrieve the cached frame to avoid flooding issues in Carofiglio, ¶0030).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
Brown discloses a module to parse the multipart MIME message (¶0177). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses: wherein the inner subscriber operates on the stream of data parts via the multi-part publisher (i.e., an observer ingesting data from the observable collection via the Observable interface in Meijer, ¶0039).
Brown discloses determining the MIME type as part and determining if there are more parts of message to be processed suggest a header event (¶0176, ¶0177fig. 23). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses:
in response to the parser iterator producing an end headers event, a body part publisher instance is created for use with the one or more data parts (i.e., responsive to source including one or more event streams, generate multiple nested event streams in Meijer, ¶0062), and
the inner subscriber is attached to the body part publisher instance by invoking subscribe on the body part publisher instance (i.e., observer is attached to Observable collection via the notify property by calling the Add method in Meijer, ¶0039)
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses: the body part publisher notifies the inner subscriber that processing of the stream of data parts has completed (i.e., pulling items from a producer of a collection can return with false notifying the subscribing element that the processing of the collection is done in Meijer, ¶0035).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, and further in view of Meijer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Meijer to improve upon those of Brown in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language.
With respect to claim 2, Brown discloses: the system of claim 1, wherein the multi-part data item is a Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions (MIME) data item (i.e., outbound email is multipart MIME encoded in Brown, ¶0174).
With respect to claim 4, Brown discloses: the system of claim 1, so that it can operate on a stream of streams of data chunks (i.e., enhancement server receives outbound messages for enhancement from the mail server; listening on IP address / port for SMTP connections and requests, correspondingly instantiating independent threads to process the requests in Brown, ¶0124, ¶0125).
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses: wherein:
the outer subscriber operates to control a flow of data chunks (i.e., consumers avoid flooding issues by requesting frames from producers as needed in Carofiglio, ¶0015);
the body part publisher operates as an instance that sends data chunks to the inner subscriber (i.e., producer service notifies and send data frames to the consumer service in Carofiglio, ¶023); and
the inner subscriber operates as an entity attached to the body part publisher (i.e., consumer subscribes to the producer service in Carofiglio, ¶025).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
With respect to claim 6, Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses: the system of claim 1, wherein an outer subscriber can initially request one or more data parts from an upstream component (i.e., producing service may pull or retrieve the content request in Carofiglio, ¶0029),
wherein the system can request one data part at a time, to reduce backpressure (i.e., consumers avoid flooding issues by requesting frames from producers as needed in Carofiglio, ¶0015).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
With respect to claim 7, Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses: the system of claim 1, wherein the microservices or other computing environment is provided within a cloud computing environment that provides access to cloud, database, or other systems or services (i.e., a distributed microservices environment with plurality of microservices in publish-subscribe patterns in Carofiglio, ¶0002).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
With respect to claim 8, the limitation(s) of claim 8 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 11, the limitation(s) of claim 11 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
With respect to claim 21, Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail and multipart parsing operation that is repeated recursively (¶0192, ¶0175). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses: the system of claim 1,
wherein until the inner subscriber invokes or requests a new data part, the parser iterator is not required to produce new events from the upstream, and is suspended (i.e., consumers avoid flooding issues by requesting frames from producers as needed in Carofiglio, ¶0015); and
wherein subsequently the parser iterator will observe data parts and attempt to invoke drain on the inner subscriber (i.e., producer sends notification to consumer service that new data frames are available in Carofiglio, ¶0021),
wherein the body part publisher will wait for a request from the inner subscriber to request more data (i.e., to avoid flooding issues, producers await requests from consumers to mitigate backpressure in Carofiglio, ¶0015).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
With respect to claim 22, Brown discloses: the system of claim 21, wherein when the body part publisher is drained, then the body part publisher operates to receive a next data part, including if the parser iterator indicates there are no more events (i.e., MIME parsing operation invocations execute until no further parts remain and the method exits to the previous recursion level for more parts in Brown, ¶0177)
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses: then requesting further data parts from the upstream (i.e., consumers avoid flooding issues by requesting frames from producers as needed; suggests that the consumers request data corresponding to the rate of completing processing in Carofiglio, ¶0015).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
With respect to claim 23, Brown discloses: the system of claim 21, and the outer subscriber waits for more data parts to be received from the upstream (i.e., enhancement server receives outbound messages for enhancement from the mail server; listening on IP address / port for SMTP connections and requests, correspondingly instantiating independent threads to process the requests in Brown, ¶0124, ¶0125).
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses: wherein upon the parser producing an end part event, the body part publisher notifies the inner subscriber that processing has completed (i.e., pulling items from a producer of a collection can return with false notifying the subscribing element that the processing of the collection is done in Meijer, ¶0035).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, and further in view of Meijer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Meijer to improve upon those of Brown in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language.
With respect to claim 24, Brown discloses: the system of claim 1 the body part publisher operates as an instance that sends data chunks that belong to a MIME data (i.e., an operation to write the MIME component into storage in Brown, ¶0176).
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses:
wherein the upstream publisher operates as a source to provide new data chunks as provided by a socket reader (i.e., Rsocket application frames a producer provides to a consumer in Carofiglio, ¶0020);
the outer subscriber e operates to control the flow of data chunks (i.e., producer controls data flow and responds to consumer request to avoid flooding issues in Carofiglio, ¶0015).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses: the inner Subscriber operates as an entity attached to the body part publisher, to operate in a manner of a nested list, on a stream of streams of data chunks. (i.e., operation that receives nested event streams suggesting a stream of streams in Meijer, ¶0059).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, and further in view of Meijer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Meijer to improve upon those of Brown in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language.
With respect to claim 25, Brown discloses: the system of claim 1, an order of events emitted by a multi-part MIME or other data content parser (i.e., MIME parts are written in a recursive order in Brown, ¶0175-176).
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses:
wherein the system coordinates requirements imposed by an order of events issued by the upstream publisher (i.e., utilizes sequence operators to preserve causality suggesting sequencing of the events preserved downstream; flatten operation adheres to the sequencing of the events in Meijer, ¶0043, ¶0060);
an order of events issued to downstream subscribers (i.e., causality is preserved downstream to the flatten operation in Meijer, ¶0043, ¶0060).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, and further in view of Meijer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Meijer to improve upon those of Brown in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language.
With respect to claim 26, Brown discloses: the system of claim 1, wherein when the body part publisher is drained, then the body part publisher can receive a next chunk of data (i.e., determining if the MIME parts have all been processed enabling processing of new multipart messages in Brown, ¶0175),
wherein if the parser iterator says there are no more events, then body part publisher can request further chunks from upstream (i.e., after determining no more parts for the corresponding multipart component, returning to a previous recursion level in Brown, ¶0177),
wherein the outer subscriber can wait for more data body parts (i.e., enhanced email operation awaits receipt of new multipart messages in Brown, ¶0166).
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Carofiglio, in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues (¶0030), discloses: data can again be received from upstream (i.e., after receiving a notification of published content, consumer can decide for itself how long to wait till requesting more content in Carofiglio, ¶0040).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio to improve upon those of Brown in order to improve upon message processing systems by allowing consumers to retrieve data at their own pace without flooding or having backpressure issues.
Brown discloses process for generating enhanced email message corresponding to the different MIME part type elements to generate the e-mail (¶0192). Brown and Carofiglio do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Meijer, in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language (¶0003-0004), discloses:
wherein once the parser iterator produces an end part event, then the body part publisher can notify the inner subscriber that the processing has completed (i.e., MoveNext method returns a false indicating the end of the items in the collection enabling notifying the observer of completed pull of collection in Meijer, ¶0035);
until receipt of an on complete event (i.e., a MoveNext method returns a false indicating the end of the items in the collection enabling notifying the observer of completed pull of collection in Meijer, ¶0035).
Based on Brown in view of Carofiglio, and further in view of Meijer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Meijer to improve upon those of Brown in order to providing parallel processing, anticipation of errors and a simplified asynchronous and event-based programming language.
Conclusion
Sherman Lin
1/2/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447