DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. Claims 1, 5-15 are currently pending. Claims 9-10 have been withdrawn as being drawn to non elected inventions. Claims 1, 5-8 and 11-15 are currently under examination. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Concerning claims 6 and 13 applicants specification does not provide enough support to indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the inventor had possession of the claimed combination of the indicated monomers of the composition and the indicated polymer. Applicants specification paragraph 0091 indicates that the composition comprises the copolymer comprising the one or more high refractive index first monomer and the one or more second monomers comprising a reactive side chain and one or more additional polymers or copolymers. Applicants specification does not provide support for a composition of the unpolymerized monomers in combination with the indicated polymer only for the polymer of these monomers with the indicated polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune (JP 2009-051972 A; all citations refer to the English machine translation which is provided).
Concerning claim 1, and 5 Yoshimune teaches a carbazole containing polymer that is made from a monomer having a structure of (paragraph 0014-0016)
Where R is a hydrogen, a methyl or a hydroxymethyl group R2 to R9 may be a hydrogen atom (paragraph 0018) and X is (paragraph 0019)
Where n and m are each an integer of 0 or more (paragraph 0021). Specific examples of the carbazole containing monomer include n-allyl carbazole, N-acryloylcarbazole, n-methacryloylcarbazole, carbazoyl ethoxy ethyl acrylate carbazoyl ethoxyethyl methacrylate, carbazoyl(2-methylethyl)acrylate carbazoyl (2-methyl ethyl)methacrylate (paragraph 0021). The polymer is indicated to be made from another copolyemrizable monomer examples of which include (meth)acrylic acid, methyl (meth)acrylate, ethyl (meth)acrylate, n-propyl (meth)acrylate, isopropyl (meth)acrylate, n-butyl (meth)Acrylate, isobutyl (meth)Acrylate, t-butyl (meth)acrylate, methyl 2-ethylehxyl (meth)methacrylate cuc;pjexu; (meth)acrylate, 2- (hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate, styrene , vinyl toluene, butadiene, isoprene, acrylonitrile, and vinyl acetate (paragraph 0023) with the preferred comonoemrs being (meth)acrylic acid, methyl (meth)Acryalte, cyclohexyl methacrylate, benzyl methacrylate, styrene N-benzilic maleimide and dimethyl2,2’ [oxybis (methylene)}bis-2-proenoate which are preferable in that transparency is good and heat resistance is hardly impaired (paragraph 0023). It should be noted that all but 2 of these preferable monomers are monomers which are listed for the claimed one or more second monomers. Yoshimune further teaches that the method of the polymerization is preferably a solution polymerization (paragraph 0026) which includes a solvent (paragraph 0027). In producing the polymer Yoshimune indicated that a polymerization initiator may be added if necessary and a chain transfer agent may be added as necessary (paragraphs 0028-0029).
Yoshimune teaches an exemplary method that includes a formulation of carbazoylethyl acrylate, methacrylic acid, mercaptopropionic acid, t-butylperoxy-2-ethylhexanoate and toluene (paragraph 0054).
It should be noted that a composition consisting of the indicated components is given its broadest reasonable interpretation that the composition can be mixed with other components that are not considered to be a part of the composition as is required by the formulation of claim 7.
As such the formulation of Yoshimune teaches a composition that consists of carbazoylethyl acrylate, methacrylic acid and a solvent of toluene which is an aromatic hydrocarbon in a formulation that further comprises mercaptopropionic acid and t-butylperoxy-2-ethylhexanoate.
As such the difference between the claimed composition and the composition of Yoshimune is that the composition of Yoshimune uses carbazoylethyl acrylate instead of one the claimed high refractive index monomers.
However as is stated above Yoshimune teaches thatspecific examples of the carbazole containing monomer include n-allyl carbazole, N-acryloylcarbazole, n-methacryloylcarbazole, carbazoyl ethoxy ethyl acrylate carbazoyl ethoxyethyl methacrylate, carbazoyl(2-methylethyl)acrylate carbazoyl(2-methyl ethyl)methacrylate which are indicated to be alterative carbazole containing monomers to carbazoyl ethyl acrylate (paragraph 0021). As such these compounds are substantially equivalent and interchangeable with one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to alter the composition of Yoshimune to include the one or more high refractive index monomers comprising an aromatic heterocycle instead of carbozyolyethyl acrylate in the exemplary formulation because Yoshimune teaches that the claimed aromatic heterocycle monomers are alternatives to the exemplary carbazoylethyl acrylate and so these monomers are substantially equivalent and interchangeable with one another.
Concerning claim 7 Yoshimune teaches the composition of claim 1 and the exemplary formulation which is discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Yoshimune does not specifically teach that the formulation includes one or more solvents in addition to the solvent of the composition of claim 1
Yoshimune further teaches that the solvent of the polymerization can be a single solvent or a combination of two or more solvents (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to alter the formulation of Yoshimune to include an additional solvent to give the claimed formulation because Yoshimune teaches that two or more solvents can be used for the polymerization solution.
5. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimune (JP 2009-051972 A; all citations refer to the English machine translation which is provided) as is further evidenced by Vesta Chemicals “Enox TBPO”, 2025 accessed at https://vestachem.com/chemicals/enox-tbpo/ on 04/12/2025.
Concerning claim 8 Yoshimune teaches the formulation of claim 7 as is indicated above.
Yoshimune does not specifically teach that one of the claimed components is present in the formulation.
However Yoshimune teaches that the formulation includes t-butylperoxy-2-ethylhexanoate (paragraph 0054).
Vesta Chemicals provides evidence that t-butylperoxy-2-ethylhexanoate is known as a crosslinking agent (pg 1 paragraph 1) and as such would be a crosslinker.
As such the formulation of Yoshimune taught in the discussion of claim 7 would have the claimed limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6, 11-15 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 112(a) as is stated in the rejections provided above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims are allowable over the prior art of record as the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the claimed components with the claimed one or more additional polymers of claims 6 and 13, or teach or fairly suggest the claimed composition of claim 11.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues with regard to the rejection over 112(a) that claim 6 has been amended to include all the limitations of base claim 1 and claim 13 has been rewritten to include all of the limitations of base claim 11.
This argument is not found to be persuasive as this does not point to applicants originally filed specification for the support for the composition of the indicated monomers solvent and one or more additional polymers. As no indication of this support has been provided the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5 and 7-8 over the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
8. Claims 1, 5-8, 13 are rejected. Claims 11-12, 14-15 are allowable. Claims 6 and 13 are allowable over the prior art of record but are rejected under 112(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID L MILLER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/LING SIU CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763