Examiner’s Note
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 16 January, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed 16 January, 2026 has been fully considered but is moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a vehicle is moving” which is suggested to be amended to “[[a]]the vehicle is moving”.
Claim 6 recites “a method” which is suggested to be amended to “[[a]]the method”.
Claim 15 recites “a global navigation satellite system” which is suggested to be amended to “the GNSS”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundak et al. (US 2017/0192103 A1 “KUNDAK”), in view of Willis et al. (US 2011/0202225 A1 “WILLIS”).
Regarding claim 1, KUNDAK discloses (Examiner’s note: What KUNDAK does not disclose is ) a method for estimating an attitude of a vehicle (a vehicle orientation detection system 100 [0006]), comprising:
baseline length data 134 (which may be stored in a memory) that describes a surveyed distance 102 between the antenna 103-1 and 103-2 [0018 & FIG. 1])
and responsive to the detecting:
obtaining, by the computer (an on-board computing device comprising a processor and a memory [0042]), a direction of movement of at least one of the first antenna and the second antenna (the “orientation” of a vehicle refers to heading or attitude of the vehicle, or both. System 100 includes a GNSS receiver system 105 that comprises two or more GNSS receivers [0014]) using a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) having a plurality of satellites (the GNSS receivers 102-1, 102-2 begin tracking a satellite signal from at least one satellite 101 [0015]),
calculating, by the computer, an integer ambiguity fix corresponding to a relative position vector of the first and second antenna using the direction of movement and the separation of the first and second antenna (the integer ambiguity resolution function includes: an initialization logic that calculates float ambiguities and covariances based on the differenced carrier phases, the attitude measurements, and the baseline length data [0041])
and determining, by the computer, the attitude of the vehicle, including validating candidate values of the attitude obtained from the GNSS (a validation logic that selects resolved integer values associated with at least the first baseline between the at least two GNSS receivers from the set of integer candidate arrays based at least in part on the attitude measurements and baseline length data from the plurality of aiding sources; and an estimator coupled to the integer ambiguity resolution, wherein the estimator, based on the resolved integer values and measurements from the GNSS receiver system, generates an attitude measurement and a heading measurement [0041 & FIG. 4]) by analysing residuals in respect of the relative position vector (using these inputs, residual computation logic 310 computes a set of residuals including: RMS measurement residuals (R1) which comprise the root-mean-square of the measured difference carrier phases 120 minus estimated carrier phases with resolved integers; baseline residuals (R2) which comprise the difference between an estimated baseline length and the survey baseline length 134; attitude residuals (R3) which comprise the difference between estimated Euler angles and the Euler angles as measured by the attitude aiding sensors 132 of aiding sources 130; and a squared norm ratio (R4) [0027])
KUNDAK further discloses that the attitude aiding sensors 132 are implemented as inertial aiding sources or inertial navigation sensors (INS) [0018].
In a same or similar field of endeavor, WILLIS teaches that the simplest way to determine if the trajectory of the vehicle is straight, is to calculate the standard deviation of the variance of the vehicle heading for several consecutive GPS samples and compare it with a threshold value. If the measured heading variance is less than a preset threshold variance, it can be said that the vehicle is traveling in a straight line [0176]. The heading estimates from the GPS unit are only valid if the vehicle has a non-zero velocity [0177]. Furthermore, WILLIS teaches that turning error compensation calculation needs to know the angular velocity (turn rate) and the angular acceleration (turn rate over time) of the vehicle, to perform the required calculations; these can be obtained from a gyroscope [0372]. Further still, WILLIS teaches Locator Location subsystem 5 provides information on such things as the coordinates (latitude and longitude), speed, elevation, time, heading, and other geo-spatial information for Locator 10 system. The Location subsystem 5 is connected to its antenna 8 [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KUNDAK to include the teachings of WILLIS, because doing so would ensure that the obtained measurements would be accurate, thereby improving robustness and reliability of the detection system, as recognized by WILLIS. Furthermore, doing so would detect when a vehicle took aggressive evasive action, thereby generating reports of such incidents. In addition, both of the prior art references, KUNDAK and WILLIS, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, vehicle navigation systems.
Regarding claim 2, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses wherein the determining the attitude of the vehicle includes analysing integer residuals (using these inputs, residual computation logic 310 computes a set of residuals including: RMS measurement residuals (R1) which comprise the root-mean-square of the measured difference carrier phases 120 minus estimated carrier phases with resolved integers; baseline residuals (R2) which comprise the difference between an estimated baseline length and the survey baseline length 134; attitude residuals (R3) which comprise the difference between estimated Euler angles and the Euler angles as measured by the attitude aiding sensors 132 of aiding sources 130; and a squared norm ratio (R4) [KUNDAK 0027], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the determining the attitude of the vehicle includes applying a threshold that is dependent on expected noisiness of measurements (RMS threshold T1 that might be assigned different priority and value based on for example, if the aiding sources 130 comprise relatively inexpensive inertial sensors 132 [KUNDAK 0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 4, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 3, the residuals for the resolved integers are recalculated at every new epoch with new carrier phase measurements, and residuals are saved in the memory. If a certain number of past residuals (z-k out of z) in the memory no longer satisfy the specified subset of thresholds, then the resolved integers are deleted and operation is switched to Mode M1. If they continue to satisfy the specified subset of thresholds, then the resolved integers are maintained and operation in Mode M3 is maintained [KUNDAK 0033]).
Regarding claim 5, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting that the vehicle is moving and not turning comprises estimating a movement speed of the vehicle (the heading estimates from the GPS unit are only valid if the vehicle has a non-zero velocity [WILLIS 0177], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); (Locator Location subsystem 5 provides information on such things as the coordinates (latitude and longitude), speed, elevation, time, heading, and other geo-spatial information for Locator 10 system. The Location subsystem 5 is connected to its antenna 8 [WILLIS 0056], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses a method according to claim 1, wherein detecting that the vehicle is moving and not turning comprises estimating a yaw rate of the vehicle (turning error compensation calculation needs to know the angular velocity (turn rate) and the angular acceleration (turn rate over time) of the vehicle, to perform the required calculations; these can be obtained from a gyroscope [WILLIS 0372], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising storing a calculated integer ambiguity fix (the integer ambiguity resolution function includes: an initialization logic that calculates float ambiguities and covariances based on the differenced carrier phases, the attitude measurements, and the baseline length data [KUNDAK 0041], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1). The Examiner further noted that the citation as disclosed by KUNDAK implies that ambiguity values are stored.
Regarding claim 9, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising defining a search space for possible candidate values of the attitude and evaluating all possible candidates within the search space with respect to the relative position vector (Initialization Logic 115 functions to restrict the search space over which integer estimation logic 116 operates using the baseline length data 133 [KUNDAK 0020]).
Regarding claim 14, KUNDAK discloses a vehicle (a vehicle orientation detection system 100 [0006]) comprising:
a first antenna and a second antenna having a separation to each other, wherein the separation is equal to a constant d (baseline length data 134 (which may be stored in a memory) that describes a surveyed distance 102 between the antenna 103-1 and 103-2 [0018 & FIG. 1])
and a movement estimation device comprising a computer (an on-board computing device comprising a processor and a memory [0042]) configured to:
and responsive to the detection:
obtain a direction of movement of at least one of the first antenna and the second antenna (the “orientation” of a vehicle refers to heading or attitude of the vehicle, or both. System 100 includes a GNSS receiver system 105 that comprises two or more GNSS receivers [0014]) using a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) having a plurality of satellites (the GNSS receivers 102-1, 102-2 begin tracking a satellite signal from at least one satellite 101 [0015]),
calculate an integer ambiguity fix corresponding to a relative position vector of the first and second antenna using the heading and the separation of the first and second antenna (the integer ambiguity resolution function includes: an initialization logic that calculates float ambiguities and covariances based on the differenced carrier phases, the attitude measurements, and the baseline length data [0041])
and determine the attitude of the vehicle, including validating candidate values of the attitude obtained from the GNSS (a validation logic that selects resolved integer values associated with at least the first baseline between the at least two GNSS receivers from the set of integer candidate arrays based at least in part on the attitude measurements and baseline length data from the plurality of aiding sources; and an estimator coupled to the integer ambiguity resolution, wherein the estimator, based on the resolved integer values and measurements from the GNSS receiver system, generates an attitude measurement and a heading measurement [0041 & FIG. 4]) by analysing residuals in respect of the relative position vector (using these inputs, residual computation logic 310 computes a set of residuals including: RMS measurement residuals (R1) which comprise the root-mean-square of the measured difference carrier phases 120 minus estimated carrier phases with resolved integers; baseline residuals (R2) which comprise the difference between an estimated baseline length and the survey baseline length 134; attitude residuals (R3) which comprise the difference between estimated Euler angles and the Euler angles as measured by the attitude aiding sensors 132 of aiding sources 130; and a squared norm ratio (R4) [0027])
KUNDAK further discloses that the attitude aiding sensors 132 are implemented as inertial aiding sources or inertial navigation sensors (INS) [0018].
In a same or similar field of endeavor, WILLIS teaches that the simplest way to determine if the trajectory of the vehicle is straight, is to calculate the standard deviation of the variance of the vehicle heading for several consecutive GPS samples and compare it with a threshold value. If the measured heading variance is less than a preset threshold variance, it can be said that the vehicle is traveling in a straight line [0176]. The heading estimates from the GPS unit are only valid if the vehicle has a non-zero velocity [0177]. Furthermore, WILLIS teaches that turning error compensation calculation needs to know the angular velocity (turn rate) and the angular acceleration (turn rate over time) of the vehicle, to perform the required calculations; these can be obtained from a gyroscope [0372]. Further still, WILLIS teaches Locator Location subsystem 5 provides information on such things as the coordinates (latitude and longitude), speed, elevation, time, heading, and other geo-spatial information for Locator 10 system. The Location subsystem 5 is connected to its antenna 8 [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of KUNDAK to include the teachings of WILLIS, because doing so would ensure that the obtained measurements would be accurate, thereby improving robustness and reliability of the detection system, as recognized by WILLIS. Furthermore, doing so would detect when a vehicle took aggressive evasive action, thereby generating reports of such incidents.
Regarding claim 15, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the vehicle of claim 14, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are configured to communicate with a global navigation satellite system to provide raw satellite observables (the GNSS receivers 102-1, 102-2 begin tracking a satellite signal from at least one satellite 101 [KUNDAK 0015], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the separation is square to the attitude of the vehicle (on an aircraft where antenna 103-1 and 103-2 are mounted on opposite wings [KUNDAK 0029]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUNDAK, in view of WILLIS, and further in view of Parikh et al (“Implementation of a Least Mean Square Approach for a Low-Cost Short Baseline Attitude Determination”, cited in Applicant IDS “PARIKH”).
Regarding claim 8, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the method of claim 7,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, PARIKH teaches performing static test to analyze attitude for the case where the platform is stationary, using the direct method and LMS estimation [pg. 823]. The integer ambiguities are resolved during system initialization process while the platform is stationary [pg. 820] which are used in attitude estimation [pg. 821].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KUNDAK to include the teachings of PARIKH, because doing so would improve accuracy of GPS-based attitude determination, as recognized by PARIKH. In addition, both of the prior art references, KUNDAK and PARIKH, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, usage of GPS antennas for attitude determination.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUNDAK, in view of WILLIS, and further in view of Kindo et al. (US 2016/0313738 A1 “KINDO”).
Regarding claim 16, KUNDAK/ WILLIS discloses the vehicle of claim 14,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, KINDO teaches that the speed sensor is a detector to detect the speed of the vehicle V. The speed sensor may be, for example, a wheel speed sensor that is provided at a wheel of the vehicle V, a drive shaft to rotate integrally with the wheel or the like and that detects the rotational speed of the wheel is used. The speed sensor sends the detected vehicle speed information (wheel speed information), to the ECU 10 [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KUNDAK to include the teachings of KINDO because doing so would accurately detect current state of the vehicle, thereby enabling system functions and further processing, as recognized by KINDO. In addition, both of the prior art references, KUNDAK and KINDO, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, vehicle navigation and systems.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Whitehead (US 2007/0075896 A1) is considered pertinent art for the disclosure overall, and in particular the details of a method and system for determining at least one attitude angle of a rigid body. The method comprising: receiving a plurality of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellite signals with a plurality of antennas; establishing at least one pair of antennas such that each antenna of the plurality of antennas is included in at least one antenna pair; computing single- or double-difference phases corresponding to one or more GNSS satellites for each of the pairs of antennas; and constructing a single Differential Carrier Phase Attitude (DCPA) equation based on known geometry constraints of each of the pairs of antennas. The method also includes determining a solution for the DCPA equation based on a cost function, the solution yielding at least one integer ambiguity value and the at least one attitude angle.
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 February 21, 2026