DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-13, 15-19, and 26 are allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of the present amendments to include “wherein the plurality of battery modules have in each case at least one module- internal exhaust gas duct received in the housing interior and the integrated exhaust gas duct comprises a plurality of inner openings at the inner wall surface, wherein each module-internal exhaust gas duct communicates respectively with a one inner opening, wherein each module-internal exhaust gas duct is connected directly to the corresponding inner opening,” the branched exhaust configuration of the primary reference, Chen, no longer directly applies. In addition, none of the cited references, alone or in combination support a configuration where, among a plurality of battery modules, each module-internal exhaust gas duct constitutes an inner opening which meets an integrated exhaust gas duct extending transverse to the thickness direction and parallel to the inner wall surface and the outer wall surface inside the housing wall sandwiched between the inner wall surface and the outer wall surface (emphasis added). This transverse term, which is understood to require effectively an angular relationship between the module internal exhaust gas duct (represented as 21 within Fig. 2 of the present specification) and the integrated exhaust duct (represented as 11 within Fig. 2 of the present specification). This is important because while, for example, ventilation channels are well-known in the art (see, for example, the primary reference Chen), even when they form a plurality of passages, a plurality of passages forming a series of these angles while meeting the previous “housing wall” and “outer wall” terms would not have been expected by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date. Further search and consideration have not presented evidence of a sufficient rationale to combine or modify the previously cited references to achieve this configuration.
Claims 1, 4-13, 15-19, and 26 are allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen, et. al. (US2019088981A1), in view of Stein, et. al. (DE102014213916A1), and Yamashita, et. al. (US 20170373287 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches a battery housing (cell can 802, see YFig. 15-16) for receiving a battery module (cell core 1) in a housing interior (lower housing 803) for forming a traction battery for a motor vehicle (“[0051] application of the lithium slurry battery in the field of electric vehicles and large-scale energy storage”), comprising: a housing section for in part delimiting the housing interior (“[0164] inner chamber of the cell can 804” more specifically the white space between the outer boundary of the cell can lid 802 and the battery cell cores 1), the housing section being at least a part of a housing wall forming the outer shape of the battery housing (see Fig. 15, 16, wherein the housing section comprises the pressure regulating valve 809 and the branch exhaust pipe 10), the housing wall extending in a thickness direction between an inner wall surface facing the housing interior and an outer wall surface opposite the inner wall surface (see Fig. 15, 16); wherein the housing section comprises an integrated exhaust gas duct (branch exhaust pipe 810, main exhaust pipe 811) that is integrated into the housing section (see Fig. 15, 16) so as to divert into the environment media that, in the case of a defect of a battery module, escapes from said battery module (Gas pressure regulating valve 809; “[0164] When the air pressure P 1 of the inner chamber of the cell can 804 is greater than 2 atmosphere pressure, the gas in the inner chamber of the cell can 804 will be discharged through the gas pressure regulating valve 809 on the top lid of the cell can 802”); wherein the integrated exhaust gas duct is integrated within the housing wall forming the outer shape of the battery housing (see Fig. 16); wherein the integrated exhaust gas duct extends transverse to the thickness direction and parallel to the inner wall surface and the outer wall surface inside the housing wall sandwiched between the inner wall surface and the outer wall surface (see Fig. 16, wherein the main exhaust pipe 811 runs parallel to the outer boundary of the cell can 802); wherein the integrated exhaust gas duct comprises at least one outer opening at the outer wall surface by way of which the media that escapes in the event of a defect are discharged outward with respect to the battery housing (gas pressure regulating valve 809); and wherein the housing interior receives a battery module (cell core 1) that preferably comprises a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (here “preferably is an optional limitation, indicating these are not required to be cylindrical) that are held together mechanically (Fig. 15-16 shows the four cell cores 1 are held together within the shells 702wherein at least one module-internal exhaust gas duct), wherein at least one module-internal exhaust gas duct is received in the housing interior (exhaust valve 711) is received in the housing interior and the integrated exhaust gas duct comprises at least one inner opening (see discussion below).
Regarding an “inner opening,” Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification includes the openings of the branches of the branch exhaust pipe 810 to the broader main exhaust pipe 811 are “inner openings,” as the inner opening 12 shown at Fig. 3 of the instant specification is an opening found between two pathways (although the shape formed by the path of Fig. 2-3 is more akin to a “T” shape). However, the inner opening and pathways of Chen are implied, rather than directly disclosed.
Fig. 15 – 16 of Chen.
Stein teaches a battery system having an improved degassing system. Stein at [0001]. A plurality of battery cells 14 are connected via degassing valves 18 to a degassing path 28, wherein this path forms an inner opening which connects to an integrated gas duct (degassing collector 20) held within the housing 16. Id. at [0083 - 88], Fig. 4. Further, this inner opening is covered by a protective element 32 and a seal 30, the protective element designed to “laterally cover the entire degassing path 28,” or the contact seal 30 on the cell cover 17. Id. This reads upon “the integrated exhaust gas duct comprises at least one inner opening wherein each module-internal exhaust gas duct communicates respectively with an inner opening.” This protective element may have a “predetermined breaking point,” and may be made of a temperature resistant, chemical resistant material. Id. Finally, Stein teaches “thus, opening of the degassing valves at a defined internal pressure, for example at 4 bar, can be made possible. Since the flow resistance through these openings formed in this way is very low, the enclosure can fill very quickly with the degassing emission. In addition, in this way a defined position of a degassing emission emerging from the module housing can be achieved.” Id. at [0051].
Fig. 5 of Stein.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the battery of Chen to include the degassing path 28 and seal 30 of Stein, such that the integrated exhaust gas duct comprises at least one inner opening at the inner wall surface that connects the exhaust duct to the housing interior (degassing path 28, seal 30) and at least one outer opening at the outer wall surface (the exhaust valve of Chen), wherein at the integrated gas duct comprises at least one inner opening (see above), wherein each module-internal exhaust gas duct communicates respectively with an inner opening, because Stein teaches a benefit to temperature and chemical resistance, and permitting gas to more quickly fill the exhaust gas duct in case of emergency.
However, modified Chen is silent as to “wherein the housing interior receives a battery module that comprises a plurality of cylindrical battery cells that are held together mechanically.”
Yamashita teaches a battery cell 2 and battery module 20, wherein each cell comprises a cylinder, as taught by Fig. 1. Yamashita at Fig. 1, [0039 – 44].
Fig. 1 of Yamashita.
Yamashita teaches “[0035] A cell support member 5 clamps and supports the battery module 21 in cooperation with the cell support member 31 . . . each battery cell 2 whose end portion is accommodated and supported by the accommodation support portion and the negative electrode terminal 2 b is exposed to the exhaust passage 10 . In addition, the cell support member 5 is provided with the total negative electrode terminal portion 50 electrically connected to the busbar 5 b.” Further, Yamashita teaches an exhaust duct which forms an L shape, wherein the exhaust duct 3 “[0041] has a function of separating the cell mounting chamber 11 and the exhaust passage 10 as separate spaces. Therefore, the exhaust duct 3 does not allow the temperature control fluid to flow into the exhaust passage 10 , but functions to prevent the gas ejected from each battery cell 2 from flowing into the cell mounting chamber 11 by unsealing the corresponding safety valve 2 d.” In other words, the structure of Yamashita provides a plurality of cylindrical cells that are held together mechanically, comprising an integrated gas duct, wherein the fixing structure of the cells allows for both electrical interconnection while each feeding into the integrated gas duct. Yamashita at [0057] (“[0057] According to this configuration, in the exhaust duct 3 , a part for supporting each cell and a part for ejecting the gas can be provided in one portion. Therefore, the battery pack 1 provided with the exhaust duct 3 having both of the function as the exhaust duct 3 and the function of holding and positioning the multiple battery cells 2 can be provided.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery housing of Chen, such that it comprises a plurality of cylindrical battery cells that are held together mechanically as in Yamashita, such that the cells communicate with the integrated exhaust duct, in order to provide the benefit of improved fixation as well as exhaust performance.
Claim 14 is obvious over Chen, in view of Stein and Yamashita.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725