DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 is substantially the same limitation as one of the newly added limitations of independent claim 7 from which claim 15 depends. The only difference between claim 15 and claim 7 is that claim 7 (last 2 lines) requires that the connection is “surrounded” by coupling between the heat transfer units, and is not exposed outside. Claim 15 recites these limitations almost verbatim, except recites “completely surrounded… and is not exposed outside” The plain meaning of something being “surrounded” is to be enclosed on all sides, i.e. “completely surrounded” has the same meaning as “surrounded.” Moreover, the connection unit not being exposed outside is also indicative of being completely surrounded. The limitations of claim 15 have the same interpretation as the last two lines of claim 7, and therefore, claim 15 doesn’t further limit claim 7.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7, 10, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka (JP H1047581 A), hereinafter Morioka, in view of Van Dijck (US 5002716 A), hereinafter Van Dijck.
Regarding claim 7, 14, and 15, Morioka discloses a block heater assembly comprising:
a plurality of block heaters (Figure 2 shows two adjacent block heaters), each of the block heaters comprising at least one heating element (“heating element 3” all citations from machine translation appended to foreign reference) configured to supply predetermined heat to a gas line (“The present invention relates to pipes, tubes, etc., through which fluids such as gases and liquids flow (hereinafter referred to as pipes). The present invention relates to a pipe heating device for heating a pipe”);
a plurality of heat transfer units disposed between the gas line and the heating element to transfer heat to the gas line, the plurality of heat transfer units comprising a first heat transfer unit and a second heat transfer unit (“a heat equalizing material 5” and “soaking material 5” and “the soaking material and soaking material of the heating device of the present invention are not limited to aluminum, but may be any metal such as copper, gold and silver having a higher heat conductivity than that of the pipe material”);
a connection unit disposed between heat transfer units of the plurality of heat transfer units (“The heat equalizing material 5a in the R portion is attached to the heat equalizing material 5 in a state where the heat equalizing material 5a and the heat equalizing material 5 are overlapped in a state where heat conduction is secured”);
wherein one surface of the connection unit contacts the surface of the gas line (Figure 2).
Morioka does not disclose:
wherein concave portions are disposed at opposite ends of the heat transfer unit,
wherein heat transfer units are coupled to each other through engagement of the concave portions,
wherein the connection unit is press-fitted into a coupling groove on one side of the first heat transfer part and a coupling groove on one side of the second heat transfer part,
wherein a width of the connection unit is equal to a sum of a first width of a coupling recess at the one side of the first heat transfer unit and a second width of a coupling recess at the one side of the second heat transfer unit,
wherein the connection unit overlaps a concave portion formed at the one side of the first heat transfer unit and a concave portion formed at the one side of the second heat transfer unit and is fastened thereto through press-fitting;
wherein each of the concave portion has “[“ or “U” shaped cross section;
wherein the connection unit is completely surrounded by coupling between the first heat transfer unit and the second heat transfer unit and is not exposed outside.
However, Emerson teaches:
wherein convex portions or concave portions are disposed at opposite ends of the heat unit,
wherein heat units are coupled to each other through engagement of the concave portions,
wherein the connection unit is press-fitted into a coupling groove on one side of the first heat part and a coupling groove on one side of the second heat part,
wherein a width of the connection unit is equal to a sum of a first width of a coupling recess at the one side of the first heat unit and a second width of a coupling recess at the one side of the second heat unit, and
wherein the connection unit overlaps a concave portion formed at the one side of the first heat unit and a concave portion formed at the one side of the second heat unit and is fastened thereto through press-fitting;
wherein each of the concave portion has “[“ or “U” shaped cross section;
wherein the connection unit is completely surrounded by coupling between the first heat transfer unit and the second heat transfer unit and is not exposed outside (“A first portion of a heat-recoverable connecting collar 9 comprising a nickel-titanium alloy which exhibits the property of memory, is slid into the annular recess 10, and surrounds the pipe 11 of one insulated pipe 7 while in its expanded, martensitic state. The axial length of the recess 10 is substantially equal to half the axial length of the unrecovered collar 9. The second insulated pipe 8 is brought into abutting contact with the first insulated pipe, such that a second portion of the expanded collar 9 is slid into the annular recess 12, and thus surrounds the pipe 13 of the second insulated pipe 8. The axial length of the recess 12 is substantially equal to half of the axial length of the unrecovered collar 9 so that the ends of the collar abut the insulation at the ends 16 of the annular recesses, 10 and 12” column 6, line 22).
In view of Van Dijck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection unit of Morioka to include features of the connection unit as is taught in Van Dijck because Van Dijck states “Hitherto, the end portion of an insulated pipe has been bared of insulation to facilitate joining to the bared end portion of another insulated pipe by for example welding, brazing or soldering. It is then necessary to reinsulate the bared pipes in the region of the joint” (column 1, line 28) and “The invention obviates the necessity of reinsulating the joint region of an insulated pipe” (abstract). Therefore, including the features of Van Dijck will obviate the necessity of reinsulating (such as element 2a of Morioka) and thus simplify joining.
Regarding claim 10, Morioka, as modified by Van Dijck, discloses the block heater assembly according to claim 7,
wherein the connection unit is made of a material exhibiting identical thermal conductivity to the plurality of heat transfer units (5 and 5a are “heat equalizing material” or “soaking material” of aluminum, or any metal such as copper, gold and silver having a higher heat conductivity than that of the pipe material).
Regarding claim 11, Morioka, as modified by Van Dijck, discloses the block heater assembly according to claim 10, wherein the connection unit includes at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), silver (Ag) and tungsten (W) (“the soaking material and soaking material of the heating device of the present invention are not limited to aluminum, but may be any metal such as copper, gold and silver having a higher heat conductivity than that of the pipe material”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fruck (US 4400019 A)
Espetvedt (US 3126035 A)
Steinhauser (US 20070045275 A1) “The conductors 64 are also adapted, as described in greater detail below, for connection to an adjacent heat trace section 52 or to an adjacent connector 54” paragraph [0052]
Song (WO 2011016643 A2)
Nomoto (US 20110163081 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762