DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 4780533 B2.
JP 4780533 B2 teaches a method as claimed.
The method comprises:
A passivation step of supplying a passivation gas of supplying a sulfur containing compound (sulfide) to a chamber 2 containing a substrate 6 to form a film 9 on the substrate; and
An adhesion removal step of removal a sulfur containing adhesion 10 adhering onto the inner surface of the chamber 2 by introduction a cleaning gas into the chamber and reacting the adhesion with the cleaning gas.
JP 4780533 B2 teaches that the atmosphere or the atmosphere with added water vapor is used for cleaning. The referenced process is readable on the claimed adhesion removal step because the atmosphere contains the claimed gasses, such as hydrogen, methane and ammonia (which are inherent parts of the atmosphere), which are readable on the claimed cleaning gas.
See at least Figure 1 and the related description and the description at Cleaning operation of film forming apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4780533 B2.
JP 4780533 B2 as applied above teaches the claimed method except for the specific recitation of the claimed pressure and temperature.
However, since JP 4780533 B2 does not require any specific requirements to the temperature and to the atmosphere used, it would have been obvious to use atmosphere in the method of JP 4780533 B2 at room temperature (20-22 C) and normal pressure (101 kPa) to reduce the operation coast.
Thus, the claimed pressures and temperatures would be obviously met when the atmosphere at room temperature and normal pressure is used in the method of JP 4780533 B2.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4780533 B2 in view of JP 2016207789.
JP 4780533 B2 as applied above teaches the claimed method except for the specific recitation of the use of hydrogen sulfide for the deposition of the sulfur containing film.
However, JP 2016207789 teaches that it was known to use hydrogen sulfide for the deposition of the sulfur containing films. See at least an Abstract.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize hydrogen sulfide for the deposition of the sulfur containing films in the method of JP 4780533 B2 in order to use a known method for its known purpose since JP 2016207789 teaches that it was known to use hydrogen sulfide for the deposition of the sulfur containing films.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following documents have been made of the record:
JP 2018-188339, US 2017/0098550, US 2013/0287664, US 4,622,210.
The prior art applied/cited in the previous Office actions is still considered to be the closest prior art with respect to the amended claims.
The prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest a method comprising each and every limitation recited by claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended claim 1 to recite:
“An adhesion removal method consisting of:
reacting a sulfur-containing adhesion with a cleaning gas consisting of a hydrogen- containing compound gas or consisting of a hydrogen-containing compound gas and an inert gas, wherein the hydrogen-containing compound gas is at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogen gas, a hydrocarbon gas, and ammonia gas, the sulfur-containing adhesion adhering onto at least one of an inner surface of a chamber and an inner surface of a pipe connected to the chamber, thereby removing the sulfur-containing adhesion”.
The amended claims have been examined.
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 have been allowed.
Claims 5, 6, 9 and 11 are rejected.
Please, note that the rejected claims are still written in the open language “comprising”.
Thus, claims do not exclude any other processing steps.
The language of the claims does not exclude any other process conducted at the same time with the step(s) recited by the claims.
The language of the claims does not exclude the process of JP 4780533.
Thus, JP 4780533 B2 teaches the method recited by claims 5 and 11.
Claim 9 is obvious over the teaching of JP 4780533.
Claim 6 is obvious over JP 4780533 B2 in view of JP 2016207789.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711