DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 8/19/2026. As directed, claim 1 and 22 has been amended and claims 3, 4, 6,9, and 21 have been canceled. Thus claims 1,2, 5, 7, 8, 10-20, and 22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (2013/0180530) in view of Wijesundara et al. (11,679,047), Patrick (9,661,928), Liang (5,429,585), and further in view of Hibler (2010/0282704).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a support cushion able to provide vibrational therapy and ameliorate the incidence of pressure ulcers, the support cushion comprising an open or closed cell support structure (fig. 36B, [0011] lines 1-5, [0098] lines 1-4, [0174]); a cavity (as shown, in figs. 5, 22, and 36, the cushion is U-shaped having a central recess/cavity within two vertical walls) formed within the support structure; at least one vibrational device (58, para.[0100], and/or bladder assembly 140 zones 220-228; [0136]) located within the cavity imparting vibration to the support structure([0100] lines 1-15, zones [0035]; as shown, the vibration devices are within the recess/cavity); a controller (i.e. 312, 257, 302,) controlling operation of the vibrational device to adjust one or more of intensity, duration and location of vibrations in a predetermined manner according to a selected programmed of any one of a number of selectable programmed (para. [0035 & 0137, [0170]: these selective zones may vibrate at a selected frequency and/or amplitude and may be actuated at fixed intervals or times), and at least one sensor adapted to measure a weight distribution of a user on the support cushion (pressure sensor 306, fig. 30, 34 ([0024] disclose distributing the body pressure of the user around the pad and [0172] last 5 lines, [0142], and [0152]-[0154] disclose adjusting the pad via pressure detected from the sensors to distribute the body pressure detected); and the controller is configured to analyze signals from that sensor ([0172] last 5 lines, [0142], and [0152]-[0154] disclose analyzing sensor signals including with algorithms to distribute the body pressure detected).
Choi discloses a controller (i.e. 312) and an algorithm ([0165] lines 1-5, [0142]) and substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the computer application program is executable by a processor on a mobile computing device wirelessly connected to the controller to select the program and receive data from the controller, the computing device comprising a graphical user interface. However, Wijesundara discloses the computer application program is executable by a processor on a mobile computing device (34) (col. 7 lines 15-20 disclose the GUI 34 can run on a mobile device such as a phone) connected to the controller (30) to select the program (col. 7 lines 1-15, col. 8 lines 1-35 disclose the GUI can select and toggle between pressure modulation programs) and receive data from the controller (col. 7 lines 15-23 disclose receiving sensor data), the computing device comprising a graphical user interface (GUI 34; col. 7 lines 1-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the program of Choi connected on a mobile computing device as taught by Wijesundara to provide the advantage of enhanced display, selection, and ease of use.
The modified Choi discloses a GUI on a mobile phone and connected to a controller (col. 7 lines 1-20 of Wijesundara) and discloses wireless connectivity (col. 10 lines 50-55 of Wijesundara) but does not specifically disclose the GUI having wireless connectivity. However, Patrick discloses the graphical user interface (32, 34) wirelessly connected to the controller (24) (col. 3 lines 1-20, 50-53). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the GUI of the modified Choi wirelessly connected to the controller as taught by Patrick to provide the advantage of enhanced mobility and portability for enhanced versatility and convenience.
Choi discloses at least one sensor (pressure sensor 306, fig. 30, 34) but does not specifically disclose the sensor is embedded in the cushion to adjust one or more of intensity, duration, and location of the vibrations depending on the measured weight distribution and a control panel incorporated into the support structure and connected to the controller, the control panel having an interface which allows selection of the selected program. However, Liang teaches the sensor (5) is embedded in the cushion (fig. 5 shows the sensor embedded) able to adjust one or more of intensity or duration (i.e. on/off) of the vibrations depending on the measured weight distribution (col. 3 lines 40-55 disclose the sensor can be used to adjust the vibrator on/off depending on the weight applied thereon thereby controlling intensity and/or duration) and a control panel (2) incorporated into the support structure (col. 3 lines 1-10) and connected to the controller (switches, circuits, etc.; col. 3 lines 10-20), the control panel having an interface which allows selection of the selected programme (col. 3 lines 35-50. Col. 4 lines 1-10 disclose the control panel include power socket 25 and switch 5 as interface which control powering on of the device thereby enabling selection of a program. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cushion and vibrators of Choi to include a control panel and turn off when not in use determined by weight sensing as taught by Liang to provide the advantage of enhanced power savings.
Choi substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the at least one vibrational device is a cycloidal vibration device imparting cycloidal vibrational therapy to a user positioned upon the support cushion. However, Hibler teaches in a cycloidal vibration device imparting cycloidal vibrational therapy to a user positioned upon the support cushion ([0033]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibration of the modified Choi to be cycloidal as taught by Liang to provide the advantage of enhanced vibration effect as disclosed by Hibler in [0033].
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the controller is a microprocessor device ([0121]) programmed to control the vibrational device, the vibrational device operating according to the selected program (para. [0035 & 0137]).
Regarding claim 5, Choi disclose the selected program is customizable to adjust the intensity and/or duration and/or location of vibrations according to input from a sensor ( para. [0035, 0137]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Choi discloses an indication is provided if a prolonged disproportionate distribution of weight on the support cushion is sensed, the computer application provides visual and/or audio reminders for movement of the user (para. [0167]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Choi discloses wherein the computer application program provides on the graphical user interface (34) a display of a map of the weight distribution of the support cushion as sensed by the at least one sensor (col. Lines 1-10, 25-67 of Wijesundara disclose displaying pressure distribution in the cavities).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Choi discloses the computer application program records, and/or provides on the graphical user interface, a pressure distribution history log of the support cushion as sensed by the at least one sensor (col. 7 lines 25-40 of Wijesundara disclose providing historical data).
Regarding claim 13, Choi substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the sensor is comprised of four sets of sensing devices, the four sets of sensing devices arranged in a quadrant layout. However, Wijesundara teaches the sensor is comprised of four sets of sensing devices, the four sets of sensing devices arranged in a quadrant layout (as shown in figs. 4a-5B the sensors are arranged in each quadrant of the rectangle). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sensors of Choi in all 4 quadrants as taught by Wijensundara a such would enable enhanced and uniform sensing for enhanced precision.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Choi substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the quadrant layout of the sensing devices monitors center of gravity of the user to determine a symmetry of posture. However Patrick teaches the sensing devices monitors center of gravity of the user to determine a symmetry of posture (col. 3 lines 20-55). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of the modified Choi to monitor center of gravity for symmetry as taught by Patrick to provide the advantage of enhanced feedback for enhanced therapy.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Choi discloses the symmetry of posture is determined by a set of ratios between the sensing devices arranged in the quadrant layout (col. 3 lines 20-55 of Patrick discloses determining differences in pressure distribution thereby including a ratio).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Choi teaches the controller turns off the at least one vibrational device when the at least one sensor determines that no user is present on the support cushion (col. 3 lines 15-33, 40-55 of Liang disclose turning on the devices only when in use (i.e. pressure switch 5 is pressed against the user’s body).
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses the support cushion is adapted for use as one of the following: seat cushion; wheelchair cushion; backrest lumbar cushion; pet-bed cushion; mattress cushion (para. [0010,0174, 0176)]).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the support structure is comprised of one or more of; latex, polymer materials, multi-density foam, memory foam, anti- pressure gel (para. [0023, 0092]).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the at least one cavity is sized and shaped to receive at least one vibrational device (para.[0010]).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wijesundara et al and Patrick and Liang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hyde (2017/0164876).
Regarding claim 12, Choi substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the at least one sensor is comprised of at least one set of sensing device pairs, each of the sensing device pairs comprising at least one proximity sensor and one accelerometer. However Hyde teaches sensing device pairs, each of the sensing device pairs comprising at least one proximity sensor and one accelerometer ([0272] lines 1-5, [0241]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the sensors of Choi in pairs as taught by Hyde a such would enable enhanced and sensing for enhanced precision.
Regarding claim 17, Choi substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the support cushion and/or the at least one vibrational device comprises at least one rechargeable battery as a power source. However Hyde teaches a rechargeable battery ([0088]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power source of Choi to be a rechargeable Battey as taught by Hyde to provide the advantage of reduced waste and cost savings.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, Wijesundara, Patrick, Liang, and Hibler, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farha (2020/0016019).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Choi substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the cycloidal vibration device comprises a brushless servo motor. However Farha teaches a servo motor ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of the modified Choi to be a servo motor as taught by Farha to provide the advantage of enhanced feedback ad adaptability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 2nd through last paragraph that Liang teaches away from an external controller. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Choi as primary reference already discloses a controller 312 and the modified Choi discloses a GUI on a mobile phone and connected to a controller (col. 7 lines 1-20 of Wijesundara). Liang is relied on for a sensor (5) and control panel (2) embedded in the cushion. Liang does not teach away from embedding a sensor and control panel in a cushion. Thus modifying the cushion and vibrators of Choi to include a control panel and turn off when not in use determined by weight sensing as taught by Liang would provide the advantage of enhanced power savings and does not teach away.
Applicant argues on page 9 last paragraph through page 10 2nd to last paragraph that the first four references do not teach cycloidal vibration. However, it is noted that Hibler is relied on for this teaching. Thus the combination including Hibler teaches this limitation as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 10 last paragraph that Hyde is non-analogous art. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Both Hyde and the modified Choi are directed to the same problem to be solved of effective sensing of body movement of a user. Thus Hyde is analogous art.
Conclusion
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785