DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 13-15 have been cancelled; Claims 4-6, 16-18, and 22 are withdrawn as non-elected claims; Claim 23 is added as new claim; Claims 1-3, 7-12, 19-21, and 23 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito al (US-PG-pub 2019/0106768 A1, thereafter PG’768) in view of Jones et al (WO-9641026 A1, thereafter WO’026).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, PG’768 teaches a manufacturing process method for processing lithium ion battery scrap includes recovering metals from a feed stream by leaching to form a slurry including a pregnant leach liquor of soluble metal salts and a solid residue and the leaching step of leaching lithium ion battery scrap and subjecting the resulting leached solution to solid-liquid separation to obtain a first separated solution (abstract and claims of PG’768). PG’768 specify applying leaching process for lithium ion battery scrap obtained through crashing/sieving is added to a leaching solution such as a sulfuric acid solution to leach the scrap. A leached solution thus obtained is subjected to solid-liquid separation using a known apparatus and method such as a filter press or thickener to obtain a first separated solution from which solids contained in the leached solution are removed. (Fig.1 and par.[0034] of PG’768), which reads on all of the essential process steps including sulfuric acid leaching, separating, extracting, and value metal recovering as recited in the instant claims. PG’768 further specify applying adding extracting agents (par.[0020] of PG’768) as claimed in the instant claims 11-12. PG’768 specify adding ammonia to the first separated solution and/or the second separated solution to adjust the pH to remove iron and/or aluminum (par.[0052] and [0056] of PG’768) and PG’768 indicates pH range 4.0-6.0 (Abstract and examples of PG’768), which overlaps the claimed pH range of 4.5 or more as recited in the instant claim 1. Overlapping in pH range creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the pH range from the disclosure of PG’768 in order to obtain the optimized metal recovering result (Abstract, examples and claims of PG’768). Since the extraction step is after precipitation step, therefore, comprising the dose of the pregnant leach solution with ammonia would be inherently exist in the solution of PG’768. MPEP 2112 III&IV.
Although PG’768 indicates adding ammonia can be added to the first separated solution to adjust the pH, but PG’768 does not specify ammonium sulphate recovery step as claimed in the instant claim 1. However, applying ammonium sulphate recovery step after leaching process is a well-known technique as demonstrated by WO’026. WO’026 teaches a manufacturing process for the extraction of a metal from Concentra rate (Abstract and claims of WO’026). WO’026 indicates that treating the raffinate to recover ammonium sulphate after Ni/Co leaching (Page 44, lins.26-31 of WO’026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the well-known technique, that is applying an ammonium sulphate recovery step, as demonstrated by WO’026 in the process of PG’768 in order to build up in the circle (Page 44, lins.26-31 of WO’026).
Regarding claims 2 and 19-20, PG’768 specify leaching feed stream including Li, Cu, Fe, Al, Mn, Co, and Ni and metal recovering (Fig.1 and examples of PG’768), which reads on the claimed limitations in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 7, PG’768 specify that the “lithium ion battery scrap that can be used may include so-called battery refuse, a mixture of the battery refuse and positive electrode materials with aluminum foils or positive electrode active materials, and materials obtained by roasting, chemically treating, crashing and/or sieving the battery refuse as required, and so on” (par.[0030] of PG’768), which reads on the pretreating process as recited in the instant claims since sieving is a pretreating beneficiation step.
Regarding claims 9-10, PG’768 provides example of applying sulfuric acid leaching without adding extra pressure at 70oC (par.[0070]-[0077] of PG’768).
Regarding claim 21, PG’768 specify that: “More particularly, each valuable metal can be recovered by firstly recovering iron and aluminum, subsequently recovering manganese and copper, then cobalt, and then nickel, and finally leaving lithium in the aqueous phase.” (par.[0005] of PG’768), which reads on the claimed limitation as claimed in the instant claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’768 in view of WO’026 and further in view of Johnson et al (US-PG-pub 2017/0233848 A1, thereafter PG’848).
Regarding claim 8, PG’768 specify that the “lithium ion battery scrap that can be used may include so-called battery refuse, a mixture of the battery refuse and positive electrode materials with aluminum foils or positive electrode active materials, and materials obtained by roasting, chemically treating, crashing and/or sieving the battery refuse as required, and so on” (par.[0030] of PG’768), but PG’768 in view of WO’026 does not specify applying one or more classification step as claimed in the instant claim. However, applying proper classification/floatation step in a Li-bearing material recovering is a well-known technique as demonstrated by PG’848. PG’848 teaches a manufacturing process for recovery of lithium from lithium bearing mica rich minerals (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’848). PG’848 specify that lepidolite in pegmatite bodies can be separated from the gangue minerals by flotation, or classification (par.[0086] of PG’848). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the well-known technique, that is applying proper classification/floatation step in a Li-bearing material recovering, as demonstrated by PG’848 in the process of PG’768 in view of WO’026 in order to obtain the optimized metal recovering result (Abstract, par.[0086] and examples of PG’848).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’768 in view of WO’026 and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 111842411 A, with on-line translation, thereafter CN’411).
Regarding claim 23, WO’026 indicates that treating the raffinate to recover ammonium sulphate after Ni/Co leaching (Page 44, lins.26-31 of WO’026). It is noted that PG’768 in view of WO’026 does not specify removing water from the leaching solution to cause crystallization of the ammonium sulphate as claimed in the instant claim. However, removing water from the leaching solution to recover the crystallization of the ammonium sulphate is a well-known technique as demonstrated by CN’411. CN’411 teaches manufacturing process of for recycling high-purity aluminum oxide iron scandium vanadium titanium oxide and rare earth element by red mud (Abstract, Technical field and claims of CN’411). CN’411 teaches that “The liquid is sent to the MVR (Mechanical Vapor Recompression) evaporator for evaporation and crystallization to recover ammonium sulfate” (Abstract, examples, and claims of CN’411). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the well-known technique, that is removing water from the leaching solution to recover the crystallization of the ammonium sulphate, as demonstrated by CN’411 in the process of PG’768 in view of WO’026 in order to recover the crystallization of the ammonium sulphate (Abstract, (Abstract, examples, and claims of CN’411).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments to the art rejection to Claims 1-3, 7-12, 19-21, and 23 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the arguments related to the newly added claim 23, the Examiner’s position has been stated as above.
The Applicant’s arguments have been summarized as following: (refer to the Advisory action dated on 1/7/2026):
A, WO’026 does not teach or suggest an ammonium sulfate recovery step following Li recovery; WO’026 explicitly recommends the removal of ammonium sulfate only if Ni raffinate is present. A Li or other raffinate is not mentioned. the suggested combination only the Ni step gives the skilled person reason to remove ammonium sulfate if a Ni raffinate is present.
B, Neither PG'768 nor WO'026 disclose the removal of ammonium sulfate after the extraction of Li.
C, claim 19 is separately patentable over the suggested combination since claim 19 indicates Ni extraction and claim 23 applying dehydration in order to effect crystallization.
In response,
Regarding the argument A, PG’768 specify adding ammonia to the first separated solution. As pointed in the rejection in the previous office action dated 5/27/2025 and 10/30/2025, WO’026 teaches a manufacturing process for the extraction of a metal from Concentra rate (Abstract and claims of WO’026). WO’026 indicates that treating the raffinate to recover ammonium sulphate after Ni/Co leaching (Page 44, lins.26-31 of WO’026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the well-known technique, that is applying an ammonium sulphate recovery step, as demonstrated by WO’026 in the process of PG’768 in order to build up in the circle (Page 44, lins.26-31 of WO’026). It is noted that the Applicant argued against the combined prior arts individually, one should not show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, PG’768 in view of WO’026 is applied to the instant claims 1-3, 7, 9-12 and 19-21; and PG’848 is further cited for claim 8. The reason and motivation for the combination can the previous office action dated 5/27/2025 and 10/30/2025. WO'026 does not exclude Li or other raffinate in the process.
Regarding the argument B, WO’026 indicates that treating the raffinate to recover ammonium sulphate after Ni/Co leaching (Page 44, lins.26-31 of WO’026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply ammonium sulphate removing after Li extraction.
Regarding the argument C, PG'768 teaches leaching feed stream including Li, Co, and Ni and metal recovering (Fig.1 and examples of PG'768), which reads on the limitation as claimed in the instant claim 19.
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734