DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action responding to applicant’s supplemental amendment filed on 5/19/2025. Claims 1-8 and 10, 12-21 have been amended. Claim 9 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The 112 rejection has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferdinand (WO 02/38096 A2).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (base 12 with hook-engageable material 22 formed of a needled traditional woven textile which inherently possesses a degree elasticity, page 4 lines 25-26) with a front side (20), a rear side (16) situated opposite the front side (16), and at least one functional element (28) arranged on the front side (20) and connected to the elastic sheet material (12, 22),
wherein at least one limiting element (14) for limiting an elasticity of the elastic sheet material (12, 22) is arranged on the rear side (16) of the elastic sheet material (12) opposite the at least one functional element (24),
wherein the at least one functional element (24) comprises a cushion (wound dressing material 24 is interpreted to correspond to claimed limitation cushion, page 4 lines 26-27 describes wound dressing material 24 can be an absorbent material, for example, a standard cotton gauze material).
Regarding claim 2, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the at least limiting element (14) has an outer contour which corresponds to the outer contour (Figure 1 illustrates edge of limiting element 14 corresponds to edge of functional element 28) of the at least one functional element (28).
Regarding claim 3, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the at least one limiting element (14) is materially bonded (see Figure 1) to the elastic sheet material (12, 22).
Regarding claim 4, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprises textile (page 4 lines 25-26 discloses material 22 is a needled traditional woven textile material).
Regarding claim 5, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the limiting element (14) comprises an inelastic textile (material hooks 14 is well-known to be formed by inelastic textile material).
Regarding claim 6, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the least one limiting element (14) comprises a plurality of limiting elements and the plurality of limting elements (page 4 lines 19-20 describes hooks 14 which implies a plurality thereof) are arranged separated from one from another on the elastic sheet material (12, 22).
Regarding claim 7, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the at least one limiting element (14) has a flexible form (flexible to conform to the shape/contour of finger).
Regarding claim 8, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the at least one functional element (28) is applied to the elastic sheet material (12, 22) by an additive production process (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed bandage (10) made of the elastic sheet material (12, 22) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Ferdinand reference, presented above, disclose applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising all features recited in these claims, wherein the bandage has a sheath-like form with a closed cross section (see Figure 1).
Regarding independent claim 12, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed method for producing the elastic sheet material according to claim 1, the method comprising
arranging the at least one functional element (28) on the front side (20);
connecting the at least one functional element (28) to the elastic sheet material (12); and
arranging the at least one limiting element (14) on the rear side (16) of the elastic sheet material (12) opposite the at least one functional element (28).
Regarding independent claim 13, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed method for producing the elastic sheet material according to claim 1, wherein the at least one functional element (28) is applied to the elastic sheet material (12, 24) in an additive production process (see Figure 4).
Regarding independent claim 14, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed method for producing the elastic sheet material according to claim 1, wherein the limiting element (14) is connected to the elastic sheet material (12, 22) over its entire surface area (entire surface area of limiting element is connected to elastic sheet (12, 22).
Regarding independent claim 15, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed method for producing the elastic sheet material according to claim 12, wherein the at least one functional element (28) is arranged inside an outer contour of the at least one limiting element (14).
Regarding independent claim 16, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed method for producing the elastic sheet material according to claim 12, wherein the at least one limiting element (14) is materially bonded to the elastic sheet material (12, 22).
Regarding independent claim 17, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (base 12 with hook-engageable material 22 formed of a needled traditional woven textile which inherently possesses a degree elasticity), the elastic sheet material having:
a front side (20);
a rear side (16) situated opposite the front side (20); and
at least one functional element (28) arranged on the front side (20) and connected to the elastic sheet material (12, 22);
wherein a limiting element (14) for limiting an elasticity of the elastic sheet material (12, 22) is materially bonded to the rear side (16) of the elastic sheet material (12, 22) opposite the at least one functional element (28), the limiting element (14) having an outer contour which corresponds to an outer contour of the at least one functional element (28), wherein the at least one functional element (28) comprises a cushion (wound dressing material 24 is interpreted to correspond to claimed limitation cushion, page 4 lines 26-27 describes wound dressing material 24 can be an absorbent material, for example, a standard cotton gauze material).
Regarding independent claim 18, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material according to claim 17, wherein the limiting element (14) has a flexible form (see Figure 1).
Regarding independent claim 19, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material according to claim 17, wherein the at least one functional element (28) is applied to the elastic sheet material (12, 22) by an additive production process (Figure 4).
Regarding independent claim 20, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material (12, 22) comprising a textile (page 4 lines 25-26 describe base 12 with hook-engageable material 22 formed of a needled traditional woven textile which inherently possesses a degree elasticity), the elastic sheet material (12, 22) having:
a front side (20);
a rear side (16) situated opposite the front side (20); and
at least one functional element (28) arranged on the front side (20) and connected to the elastic sheet material (12, 22);
wherein a plurality of limiting elements (page 4 lines 19-20 describes hooks 14 which implies a plurality thereof) for limiting the elasticity of the elastic sheet material (12, 22) are materially bonded to the rear side (16) of the elastic sheet material (12, 22) arranged separate from one another on the elastic sheet material (12, 22) opposite the at least one functional element (28), wherein the at least one functional element (28) comprises a cushion (wound dressing material 24 is interpreted to correspond to claimed limitation cushion, page 4 lines 26-27 describes wound dressing material 24 can be an absorbent material, for example, a standard cotton gauze material).
Regarding independent claim 21, Figure 1 in Ferdinand discloses applicant’s claimed elastic sheet material according to claim 20, wherein the plurality of limiting elements (14) comprises inelastic textile (material hooks 14 is well-known to be formed by inelastic textile material).
Conclusion
/CAMTU T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786